Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Madeira (Funchal) Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Madeira (Funchal) Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Madeira is renowned for its scenic wonders, beautiful flowers, lush vegetation and the tranquility of its island life.
Member Image karelet
5 reviews
Apr 2016
We took a tour to the East side of the Island. Had a great tour, especially to the highest point on the island. Very stunning scenery.
Read karelet's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Markanddonna
4 reviews
Apr 2016
Daniel's Taxi Tour of the Island. Very affordable and an wonderful experience.
Read Markanddonna's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bandakirkham
1 review
Dec 2015
Took the open top bus ourselves and it was great. No need to go on a Cunard excursion and pay the price. Madeira was lovely. Wish we'd stayed longer.
Read bandakirkham's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image philgard
1 review
Nov 2015
Beautiful island. exciting sled ride
Read philgard's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: local taxi
Member Image CruiseMiami
3 reviews
Oct 2015
It was a very nice overview of the island. We stopped in a couple of places to take photos and were able to taste some of the local wine and cheeses.
Read CruiseMiami's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image klare44
1 review
Oct 2015
Good introduction to this island
Read klare44's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Middli
1 review
Oct 2015
Brilliant trip we toured around Funchal and he waited for us at each place, we took a cable car from where the Statue of Jesus was and went down to a small beach where there was a cafe , the sea was rough and very impressive. The toboggan ride was brilliant fast and fun , it's a must do.
Read Middli's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Just a local taxi cost 80 € for two
Member Image ChristinaCruise
1 review
Sep 2015
Madiera is the most beautiful Island. Would love to go back and explore some more. Would even like to live there. A wonderful excursion.
Read ChristinaCruise's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Carlean
1 review
Aug 2015
An amazing tour all up into the mountains. Spectacular views! Must do trip!
Read Carlean's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Marlayna
1 review
Jun 2015
wonderful scenic tour,good guide but it rained
Read Marlayna's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image jocap
8 reviews
May 2015
I think it was the Island Tour....at first it was similar to the tour on the Ho Ho buses, but eventually we headed inland to the mountains, for Madeira wine and chestnut cake. Enjoyable.
Read jocap's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image travelbug1025
3 reviews
Apr 2015
We were picked up as agree and visited the Island of Madeira all the way to Porto Moniz. Lava pools were interesting, Beautiful vistas. Nice drive, excellent guide and dinner (had the ugly fish which was excellent)
Read travelbug1025's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: DanielMadeirataxis
Member Image sunlover57
1 review
Apr 2015
Tour guide was excellent. Toboggan ride awesome. Cable car ride fantastic. Worth the money. Encompassed a lot in 4.5 hours. We stayed to shop and did not take bus back to port. No shuttle that day because of parade which was nice to see from our friend's balcony. Beautiful city.
Read sunlover57's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jo and Rob
10 reviews
Mar 2015
Very good value local tour company gave us a guided tour of the west of the island. We were always ahead of the ship tour and avoided the crowds. On request we also went Madeira tasting. Excellent independent excursion.
Read Jo and Rob's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: Madeira Island Tours
Member Image ELBOSS
2 reviews
Mar 2015
It probably worked out cheaper booking with cruise. Saw most of the Island great views. The people who turned up in Taxis had to queue longer than coach travellers.
Read ELBOSS's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sam4881
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

I took an island tour to get an overview of Madeira, mission accomplished! Our tour guide was very informative without being overly talkative. The tour took us up to a very high point with great views, stopped at a beautiful golf course for coffee and snacks, and gave us a driving tour from the golf course back to and around Funchal. It was an enjoyable experience!

Read sam4881's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image roothy123
4 reviews
Aug 2014
Taxi tour, 4 of us, to Eirra do Serrado, Cabo Girao, Monte, the fishing village, and one more place. Half day. Short stops all places, as we wanted time to spend in Funchal as well as the tour. Enjoyed it, recommend it. Also liked walking around in the Old Town area of Funchal , looking at painted door, Sao Tiago fort, etc.
Read roothy123's full Insignia cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Vancscribbler
5 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Beautiful island...a real surprise how large the city was, how clean and modern and what great vistas and scenery... with banana plants growing almost everywhere.

Read Vancscribbler's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Eduardo O
1 review
Dec 2013

Very poor.

Read Eduardo O's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Sailer Stan
1 review
Oct 2013

Great tour especially the wine tasting experience..........should have booked a later( pm) excursion hour due to inclement weather....the sun comes out at noon".

Read Sailer Stan's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image goofysguy
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013

Super tour. Lasted all day. We could not have seen anymore in the time that we had. Great value. Booked it online and saved even more. Was able to pay for it with paypal which added more convenience and security.

Read goofysguy's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maderia Happy Tours
Member Image mammamia1
1 review
Jan 2013
Not what was described
Read mammamia1's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HeinBloed
15 reviews
Jan 2013
http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=1775054 - Here you find pictures of the tour. It was just wonderful. The tour operator did exactly what we wanted: a restaurant without other tourists... very local... very good... very cheap! The tour includes wine tasting, food, Cabo Girao...
Read HeinBloed's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Bendix Tours
Member Image andrewseven
1 review
Dec 2012
Recommended tour which gives you a great view of the island, splendid mountain roads with lots of fhoto sites.
Read andrewseven's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.