Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Madeira (Funchal) Cable Car Excursion Reviews

Madeira (Funchal) Cable Car cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Ride in a modern cable car 1,800 feet up to Monte. The trip offers spectacular views of the seafront promenade and Madeira's capital city.
Member Image sam4881
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Great views of the city!

Read sam4881's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Noelville
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Just a nice activity. You can see magnificent views of the city and port

Read Noelville's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image B717200AGENT
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

HEAVENLY!!!!!!!

Read B717200AGENT's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rossi1948
1 review
Dec 2013

Caught the cable car up to Monte and came down the hill in the sledge - great fun but not if you are easily scared. Just as easty to get a taxi from the sip and go up yourself then pick up a taxi at the bottom of the hill.

Read Rossi1948's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image dothon21
1 review
Sep 2013

excellent views dubious about getting on and off

Read dothon21's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image critics0001
10 reviews
Apr 2013
OK, they should have bought the tickets earlier so that we did not have too stand and wait.
Read critics0001's full Seabourn Sojourn cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image gkpots
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
Cable car was good, you could do it easily without booking on board .
Read gkpots's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sycamoregirl
1 review
Feb 2013
Efficiently run, stunning views. Again, pestered to buy photographs.
Read Sycamoregirl's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image mammamia1
1 review
Jan 2013
perfectly alright
Read mammamia1's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pathmeister
1 review
Nov 2012
This was one of my favorite ports, and just a magnificent island with picturesque views. The tour to the cable cars was excellent, we the bus ride to the top of one of the islands was magnificent (and somewhat dangerous), with lots of winding roads!
Read pathmeister's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image highcees
2 reviews
Apr 2012
Smooth, clean gondolas and an absolutely spectacular view. Also enjoyed a half-day tour inland with Strawberry Tours who took us to the Valley of the Nuns. Enchanting.
Read highcees's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Kasuta
1 review
Mar 2012
There was a long line, in spite of us being from an organized group. However, it was nice to look around while waiting for our turn. A photographer took our picture in the cable car before leaving. When we arrived at the top, the photo was ready, a large size photo in a nice packaging. The views from the quite long cable car ride are beyond any description: the ocean below, the ships in the port, the red tiled rooves, the vegetation... we were speechless.
Read Kasuta's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image HappyOnWater
1 review
Oct 2011
Que to board cable cars was well over an hour long - so we gave up without riding.
Read HappyOnWater's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.