Madeira (Funchal) Cable Car Excursion Reviews

Madeira (Funchal) Cable Car cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Ride in a modern cable car 1,800 feet up to Monte. The trip offers spectacular views of the seafront promenade and Madeira's capital city.
Member Image Lynholmes
1 review
Sep 2016
Toboggan ride was fun, spoilt a bit by the guys pushing insisting on a tip at the end of the ride. I am afraid of heights but decided to do the cable car ride down and I am so glad I did as it was amazing. It was just a shame there was so much devastation after the arson attacks a few weeks previously.
Read Lynholmes's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image FISO_Vids
1 review
Sep 2016
Pre planned and exactly what we expected (have travelled there before).
Read FISO_Vids's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: private
Member Image Jenferris
1 review
Sep 2016
Taken on bus and did wicker basket down mountain the back up by bus and did cable car. After this we spent free time in town to explore. Best do excursion for this as others were ripped off by taxis and you had to wait for cable car and basket ride till tours went. A fun day
Read Jenferris's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dizzybare
1 review
Aug 2016
Cancelled due to fire on th island
Read dizzybare's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image fran49
1 review
Jun 2016
Enjoyed my cable car ride
Read fran49's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Burnley
1 review
Jun 2016
You go up!!
Read Burnley's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image frank london
1 review
Apr 2016
we walked outside the cruise terminal and booked with a vendor there for a cable car ride and an open top bus tour of funchal - we had a super time
Read frank london's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ja2nowak
1 review
Apr 2016
We just walked to the cable car and then down to the toboggan ride. Both were good. I would do the cable car again (round trip for $15 euros) but will skip the Toboggan next time. Still it was worth doing once.
Read ja2nowak's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MommaMickey
7 reviews
Oct 2015
The cable car is very gentle. The view is just agnifienct and the ride relaxing. Loved it
Read MommaMickey's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Middli
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Great fun
Read Middli's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image RezyGlo
1 review
Oct 2015
Great experience despite the rain. Great scenery and photo opportunities.
Read RezyGlo's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jilly1966
1 review
Jul 2015
Loved Madeira the cables car are fab as you get a good view of the city from above .if you go to the cable cars you can pay there it was € 15 euro return or €10 one way . When you get to the top there is a shop with a cafe in it so you can stay there for a while and explore further up the mountain by foot
Read Jilly1966's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Blueyesblonde
1 review
May 2015
You can walk to the cable car but taxis or buses are availble if preferred.
Read Blueyesblonde's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ELBOSS
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Scary for those scared of heights. Once again queues but went smoothly the views from the cable car are amazing! Look back and see your cruise ship in the distance. I recommend this attraction.
Read ELBOSS's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PegasusGM
10 reviews
Mar 2015
The cable car was worth doing even if we did nothing else. The views were magnificent and the our only complaint was that the botanical garden was not open.
Read PegasusGM's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sam4881
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Great views of the city!

Read sam4881's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Noelville
reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Just a nice activity. You can see magnificent views of the city and port

Read Noelville's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image B717200AGENT
4 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

HEAVENLY!!!!!!!

Read B717200AGENT's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rossi1948
1 review
Dec 2013

Caught the cable car up to Monte and came down the hill in the sledge - great fun but not if you are easily scared. Just as easty to get a taxi from the sip and go up yourself then pick up a taxi at the bottom of the hill.

Read Rossi1948's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image dothon21
1 review
Sep 2013

excellent views dubious about getting on and off

Read dothon21's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image critics0001
10 reviews
Apr 2013
OK, they should have bought the tickets earlier so that we did not have too stand and wait.
Read critics0001's full Seabourn Sojourn cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image gkpots
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
Cable car was good, you could do it easily without booking on board .
Read gkpots's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sycamoregirl
2 reviews
Feb 2013

Efficiently run, stunning views. Again, pestered to buy photographs.

Read Sycamoregirl's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image mammamia1
1 review
Jan 2013
perfectly alright
Read mammamia1's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pathmeister
1 review
Nov 2012
This was one of my favorite ports, and just a magnificent island with picturesque views. The tour to the cable cars was excellent, we the bus ride to the top of one of the islands was magnificent (and somewhat dangerous), with lots of winding roads!
Read pathmeister's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?