Grand Turk Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Grand Turk Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
An island tour is one of the most efficient ways to learn about the historical heartbeat of Grand Turk -- the capital island of Turks and Caicos.
Member Image TwiceAYearCruiser
1 review
Nov 2016
Albert was very knowledgeable. Appreciated his depth of background information.
Read TwiceAYearCruiser's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image spotsadog
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Interesting and thorough tour.
Read spotsadog's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JRoo2013
3 reviews
Oct 2016
Hummer Wild Life tour was excellent. One of the best tours I have taken in ten years of cruising and one of the best islands I have visited in the caribbean.
Read JRoo2013's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jvert7
1 review
Sep 2016
grand turk by Hummer
Read Jvert7's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Rusty219
1 review
Aug 2016
Great tour and enjoyable guide
Read Rusty219's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image neveragainpride
1 review
Aug 2016
same old thing...stop where we can sell you something
Read neveragainpride's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image shagram
2 reviews
May 2016
Took a tour of this small island and learned of their history.
Read shagram's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tracey/Thom
4 reviews
May 2016
Short 2 hour tour in a mini van. Nice way to see the whole island, salt mines, wild donkeys etc.
Read Tracey/Thom's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image greyx4
1 review
Apr 2016
The trolly tour was nice for the price. It was interesting to see the island and the donkeys.
Read greyx4's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Clawman
3 reviews
Apr 2016
We walked off the pier and found an independent excursion. We paid $25 pp (Ships price was $50pp) and had a 4 hour tour of the island. We did need to walk just past the cruise property to board the trolly. We traveled on a trolly type vehicle where we were given a guided tour of the island. The tour guide was a local to the island and was a wealth of knowledge. We had 3 different stops where we were able to shop local items and we also visited the light house at the opposite site of the island! Highly recommended!
Read Clawman's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Island Tours
Member Image M's Girl
1 review
Mar 2016
The tour guide was very informative, and it was a great way to learn about the island. Streets were really bumpy in some places, but overall, a great tour.
Read M's Girl's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image bestofXs
4 reviews
Jan 2016
Walked off the HAL Oosterdam on 1/31 and into the cruise line built village of the typical retail shops & a Jimmy Buffet Margaritaville. Spotted a person for the Island Trams Limited behind a kiosk. For $25 per adult, they offered a 2 hour tour of the island. We were told to go to the beach and find the meeting place & pay. About 1/2 hour later we were told to walk out into the parking lot & then outside the village compound. Found the waiting open-air trams after about a 10 minute walk. We were each given a bottle of cold water. Slow drive, past a replica of John Glenn's space capsule Friendship 7, then into downtown Cockburn Town. Stopped for 20 minutes near the Turks & Caicos National Museum (but not enough time to visit it) Went past the many salt ponds and the unique Turks Head Cactus. Our driver told us that there was a 40% excise tax to bring a car to Grand Turks & gas was $6 a gallon. Most of the buildings were boarded up or very 3rd world quality. Next a drive to the north end of the island to visit the Lighthouse which has a $3 entrance fee. No one on our tram paid to go in. The highlight of our tour was the wild donkeys that came to be feed. The donkeys used to be used to pull the salt out of the ponds, but they were let loose after their services were no longer needed. And they have definitely multiplied! They are everywhere, they even manage to open gates and get in residential gardens.
Read bestofXs's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Island Trams Limited
Member Image Gadfly19
2 reviews
Jan 2016
Always interesting to drive around a new island and see the life style. The beach was a disappointment.
Read Gadfly19's full Voyager cruise review
Provider: Voyages of Discovery
Member Image Manatee Mom
3 reviews
Dec 2015
It was a very overcast day and our 3rd time to Grand Turk so we decided to grab a taxi and take an island tour. It was very interesting and I'm glad we did it, it was very interesting learning the history of the Island. But if I had a choice of a beach day or Island tour I would pick beach day
Read Manatee Mom's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image BenjiRodney
12 reviews
Oct 2015
Coast to Coast open air safari. Rodney was a great guide and explained all that we were seeing. This was a great way to see the island and the people were so friendly. Would do this again.
Read BenjiRodney's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruiser galore
1 review
Oct 2015
Very thorough.
Read Cruiser galore's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image wadainker
1 review
Oct 2015
Outstanding way to see the island. Booked outside of Princess and got a private van for 4 at same price as ship tour. Stopped where we wanted, included an hour for lunch and shopping Marigot and then at the beach to see the airplanes land and takeoff.
Read wadainker's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Bernard's Tours
Member Image Jlzahar7
1 review
Aug 2015
Not much to see on grand turk but dod enjoy the 1.5 hpur tram tour and the lighthouse as well as the history or the island
Read Jlzahar7's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Direct with tour operator
Member Image Cruise_Dog
2 reviews
Aug 2015
An enjoyable excursion to visit an island we've never seen before.
Read Cruise_Dog's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Toussaint
1 review
Jul 2015
Nothing on the island. We will never go their again.
Read Toussaint's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jollybecute
1 review
Jun 2015
It was very bad. The food was very bad and very salty. The place where we stop for a taste of the Island cuisine was dirty, the toilet has no running water to wash your hands and no water to plush. Not acceptable!
Read jollybecute's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image floatingflowers
2 reviews
Jun 2015
I booked the Coast to Coast Grand Turk Safari. It was a very nice tour around the island, with stops at gift shops, an area with local marine life, and a lighthouse. The tour guide was very informative about the island and it's history.
Read floatingflowers's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Newfie and a Yank
1 review
Jun 2015
The best things about the whole tour was the Church, Museum, Salt Flats and the history of the John Glenn landing of Freedom 7 near there. It was more of a tour of homes we could buy instead of what history there is to see. Will go on the Dune buggy or just the beaches next time.
Read Newfie and a Yank's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TammyE
1 review
May 2015
We took the Safari Truck. Great excursion with 3 stops. On for shopping, one by the water were our guide showed us how to get conch out of the shell and the last to the lighthouse where the scenery was beautiful and you get to feed stray donkeys.
Read TammyE's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Amy63
1 review
May 2015
My advice-skip the tours and hang out in Margartiaville! Our tour consisted of driving around the very poor island, and stopping for some lunch of island specialties. At the end you could choose to be dropped off a beach, or back to the port.
Read Amy63's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?