Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Costa Maya Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore one of the island's "best kept secrets" in Mexico by touring the Mayan Ruins. Learn about myths, legends, and Mayan culture while enjoying its beautiful landscape.
Member Image ChristineIsOnVacation
1 review
Dec 2015
Kohunlich took two hours each way on an air-conditioned bus. Slept both ways, very relaxing. The tour guide was very informative. We wish we had more time to spend at the ruins, but we chose this one so we can climb the ruins.
Read ChristineIsOnVacation's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bdavid1278
1 review
Dec 2015
Kohunlich ruins - excellent experience.
Read bdavid1278's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image goodguy014
1 review
Dec 2015
Very interesting.
Read goodguy014's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Willem999
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Chaccoben is really impressive. The guide was very knowledgeable, gave tons of information. There was plenty of time to see everything on yourself and climb on top of the temples
Read Willem999's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jparish623
1 review
Aug 2015
Book your trip with Native Choice and request David as your guide! We were amazed by his knowledge and passion for what he does. This guy is like an encyclopedia of Ruins. The price was worth every penny and more. I would book this ten times over. Avoid the crowds of the ship excursions where they herd you like cattle and use this company. You will love them!
Read Jparish623's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image klndry
1 review
Apr 2015
If you don't go to the Ruins, you missed out. Fantastic, history lesson. The bus ride was informative. We learned a lot about what appeared to be a very low populated area. The ruins were just great. Do it.
Read klndry's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image stegret
1 review
Apr 2015
This is a very educational tour if you like world history. It is a 1 hour ride to the ruins, but our guide, Diana, kept us entertained with informative facts about the area and the Mayan culture. Once there, the tour was a easy walk through the park, and again, Diana continued to provide us with interesting facts.
Read stegret's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image deetrvl
1 review
Mar 2015
Another long bus ride but with working air conditioning made such a difference on the return. We enjoyed touring Kohunlich very much. Reggie was a great guide and I think the time allotted was perfect. The bathrooms were clean and the lunch adequate for a sack lunch. No complaints.
Read deetrvl's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image roobrie
3 reviews
Mar 2015

Go to Kohunlich Mayan ruins if you can. The long (2 hour each way) trip is well worth it.
Our guide led us around the ruins, giving us time at the major points to climb the steps, take pictures and just simply enjoy the advanced architecture that this so-called stone age people built over 1000 years ago.

You can walk through the rooms, examine their sleeping platforms, look close at their large stone faces and wonder what kind of ball game was played on the ball court and for what stakes?
Be careful if you walk around the dried up reservoir area. I found a semi-circle of stones in one section and it has a 2 foot depression that might actually be deeper during a wet period.

To appreciate the Mayans accomplishments I recommend "The Lost Secrets of Maya Technology" by James A. O'Kon. (New Page Press, 2012).   Go and have a good time. I ordered the vegetarian box lunch on the return bus ride and found it very good. The chicken box smelled good too. You eat on the bus, so I do not recommend getting a beer unless it is a twist off. The orange drink was refreshing.

Read roobrie's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image rosenc1c
4 reviews
Mar 2015

Native choice did a great job and the entire day was very educational. It just wasn't everyone's idea of fun to take an educational excursion.

Read rosenc1c's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image academytim
1 review
Mar 2015

We went to the Kohunlich ruins and had a great time. Our tour guide was very informative and made the 2 hour bus ride there enjoyable. We loved being able to actually climb onto the ancient ruins. We got a lot of good pictures and videos here as well.

Read academytim's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image new2cruisex2
1 review
Feb 2015

Best stop of the trip. Beautiful beaches. We booked a tour through "The Native Choice" a local company that we learned about on this site. We went to the Chochuban Mayan Ruins in the jungle. A great experience and much more personalbe than the large NCL mega bus group at a lower cost as well. We were in awe of the scenery and the ruins were incredible. The guides were very knowlegable and provided a lot of history with the extensive tour.

Read new2cruisex2's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image tomatoboy
1 review
Jan 2015

Very good tour guide, very nice park to explore ruins. It was very hot and humid and misquotes were troublesome for a few in our group.

Read tomatoboy's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image kimlovesfl
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

I booked a tour of Chacchoben through The Native Choice before we left, and I cannot recommend this trip highly enough. Our guide was Ivan, and he was wonderful and very informative. The ruins are beautiful, and we even saw monkeys! The trip from just outside the port (about a 15 minute walk) to Chacchoben takes about an hour, and you see the true rural Mexico on this trip. Our bus stopped on the way back to buy pineapple from one of the women selling it along the street.

If you don't have an excursion booked for Costa Maya, don't even bother to get off the ship. The town of Mahahual has almost nothing in it.

Read kimlovesfl's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image Jimbohio
1 review
Dec 2014

Limited time here as well, but truly magnificent to witness these structures! We had PERFECT weather and not many tourists here during our visit. Great photos! The ship (Vision of the Seas) pressured our tour-guide to return to port early so they could leave port on time.

Read Jimbohio's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image zuluharry
2 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2014
These ruins have been expertly restored. One hour bus ride to the ruins, 2 1/2 hours at the ruins, one hour bus ride back to the ship. Guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable about Mayan history
Read zuluharry's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image emmyleemarie123
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

This was a great excursion but the bus ride was VERY long, I believe 3 hours each way. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and really got into it. The bag lunch provided was not good. You may want to bring food with you if you can.

Read emmyleemarie123's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cfgh23
1 review
Dec 2013

Very insightful and thorough tour of the extensive Mayan Ruins. We had visited the Mayan Ruins at Belize in February and these were much more extensive.

Read cfgh23's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruiz3r19
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Great tour guide--Daniel. Very interesting. Learned a lot of information. Beach was nice.

Read Cruiz3r19's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cdfoxmd@gmail.com
1 review
Nov 2013

The 2.25 hour ride each way was a bit long. The ruins are, in fact in ruins and are being restored/rebuilt. Our guide, though pleasant was so talkative and slow that we saw about 1/4 of the ruins before we had to leave. I suppose he had to deal with people in good shape and those with canes. We climbed up and down and took pictures. I am sure there are much better Mayan sites.

Read cdfoxmd@gmail.com's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kruzhappy
1 review
Mar 2013
Hand down the best excursion I've ever taken. A little pricey at $89, but was such a good tour of the Chacchoben ruins.
Read kruzhappy's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Netta7
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Went with Native Choice to ruins and then to a beach/kayak resort for a relaxing lunch and afternoon. A private tour for the 4 of us was $110 more than if we took the group tour with Native Choice. I am glad we went private as there were 3 ships in port the day we were there. Wonderful day with a great guide -- Enrique in a very comfortable new car - Ford Edge.
Read Netta7's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image lilacskies
1 review
Feb 2013
Excellent tour guide and interesting to see the ruins. Was super hot and humid which made it a little challenging to enjoy.
Read lilacskies's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ObjectsinMirror
1 review
Feb 2013
We chose the Chacchoben Mayan ruins excursion. Great time! We met our tour guide, Elizabeth at the pier, and boarded an air conditioned bus, for an hour ride into countryside. Elizabeth was awesome, very knowledgeable and informative along the ride there, at the ruins site itself and even on way back. She provided many interesting facts, was so friendly and made this tour memorable. Our kids learned a lot more then we expected them to. The Chacchoben ruins were beautiful, and we were glad we chose to take the kids to see them in Costa Maya.
Read ObjectsinMirror's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HokiePoq
12 reviews
Jan 2013
Our Mayan guide, Luis, was great. The ruins featured the best preserved Mayan masks of all the ruins. I was able to climb several of these as they are lower than Lamarai.
Read HokiePoq's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.