Costa Maya Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore one of the island's "best kept secrets" in Mexico by touring the Mayan Ruins. Learn about myths, legends, and Mayan culture while enjoying its beautiful landscape.
Member Image myob93
2 reviews
Feb 2017
We booked the Mayan Experience thru the Native Choice. Great excursion, highly recommend
Read myob93's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image KAF82
1 review
Jan 2017
Excellent Excursion. We booked the later trip and although I was a long bus ride it was definitely worth it. The ruins are amazing, our guide was great (Roberto). It was very easy to find the location to meet us with the tour, the bus was comfortable, and everything was orderly.
Read KAF82's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Snixies
1 review
Jan 2017
Kohunliche and Dzibanche - about a 2 hour coach ride to get there but so worth it. The ruins at both are magnificent and there is an aura at each site - both are in the middle of the jungle and off the beaten track - Kohunliche more than Dzibanche I think. You can climb the temples at both to get spectacular views. I just loved both of these, and even people who had been to Chitchen Itza said these were better.
Read Snixies's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image EnviroChick14
1 review
Jan 2017
Visited Mayan Ruins and then had lunch with a Mayan Family. Amazing experience!
Read EnviroChick14's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Yatsailor
1 review
Jan 2017
Wonderful tour of Choccoben ruins and lunch at a Mayan village. Hugo was an excellent guide at the ruins, and the lunch and experience after was worth the trip. Native Choice tours is about a 6 block walk beyond the port/shopping area, but well worth the walk.
Read Yatsailor's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Native Choice Tours
Member Image LarBear
5 reviews
Jan 2017
Kolcunich Maya ruins. Short walk outside of port, short wait. Long drive. Driver's english wasn't too good, but good enough. Ruins very interesting and well preserved. You can climb on the ruins, which is unusual in Mexico. Some ruins in Belize are higher, but this was still excellent.
Read LarBear's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer
Member Image bdrsuccess
1 review
Dec 2016
Interesting ruins, great guide, loved beach resort decent buffet drinks included.
Read bdrsuccess's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image essby
1 review
Dec 2016
They were very efficient and ontime. Had to walk to their offic (about 10 minute walk) Stopped for an authenntic/excellent lunch and went kayaking in a beautiful lagoon after.
Read essby's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shoretours
Member Image baileybrad
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Outstanding in every way. David Villagomez, our guide, was knowledgeable and personable. Clean and new buses. Felt very safe with this company. Ruins were impressive to see and hear about. High recommend.
Read baileybrad's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image romcomwriter
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Long bus ride but excellent tour. Well worth the money.
Read romcomwriter's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image coachjohnp
1 review
Dec 2016
A short walk to tour operator location and then 45 minute bus ride to ruins. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Not rushed at all. Back in plenty of time to get back on the ship
Read coachjohnp's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image den32837
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Excellent tour...I was only member of tour group that thought to bring small umbrella in shoulder bag, so I enjoyed it more than most.
Read den32837's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Tarheel_Cruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
Costa Maya, Mexico. We did the COSTA MAYA CHACCHOBEN MAYAN RUINS AND BACALAR KAYAK EXCURSION. We had to walk four blocks from the dock security area to the Native Choice offices … why they couldn’t meet us at the dock security area is a mystery to me. The tour itself was kind of ho hum after the ruins in Belize and the Bacalar part was a waste because we couldn’t kayak due to high winds. However, our guide Rose made up for it with her knowledge of the Mayan culture in Mexico which is somewhat different than Belize. Pictures: http://s218.photobucket.com/user/GaryMelillo/library/Cruise%202016%20-%20Panama%20Canal%20-%20NCL/8%20-%20Costa%20Maya%20Mexico?sort=4&page=1
Read Tarheel_Cruiser's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Native Choice (Shore Excursioneer)
Member Image frenchlovers
1 review
Dec 2016
Small group in van with native-Mayan tour guide. We learned so much on the trip out to the Chacchoban ruins and back. Personal attention and just a great tour!
Read frenchlovers's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: CruCon
Member Image jadorecourtx3
1 review
Oct 2016
We visited Chaccoben Mayan Ruins, they were absolutely incredible. The ruins are about 50 minutes from the pier each way and you are transported in a very large and comfortable air conditioned bus equipped with a bathroom. Complimentary water bottles are constantly offered but it is essential to bring tons of bug spray!! The ruins are covered in mosquitos and Zika is found on mainland Mexico and throughout the Caribbean. These ruins are not to be missed!
Read jadorecourtx3's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bostonphil
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Wonderful excursion but for the heat and humidity. Very informative and interesting. I would have given it 5 stars but for the weather. You will be doing a lot of walking and standing. This was a problem for me as I have foot and leg problems.
Read bostonphil's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mishorourke12@outlook.com
1 review
Sep 2016
Dianna was our guide. She was a great guide for the 10 family members who took the tour. Diana is very informative and gave the tour with such pride. She had the children really interested in the history. When we arrived at Chacchoben she took us to the end of the tour and worked backwards which was great because we carried out our climb in peace and missed all the crowds. Watch out for the Red Ants so do wear socks. The tour lasted about 4 hours in total and was very interesting thanks to Dianna
Read mishorourke12@outlook.com's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Toucan Tours
Member Image Skygoddess45
1 review
Sep 2016
Great guide! needed to sell disposable ponchos! We got soaked!
Read Skygoddess45's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Darwal70
1 review
Sep 2016
It's an hour drive and well worth it. Our guide was great and very knowledgeable. Enjoyed the ruins.
Read Darwal70's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Diva01saling
1 review
Jun 2016
This tour was very educational however it rained us out but the tour guide did the best she could with the conditions.
Read Diva01saling's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alibubba
5 reviews
Jun 2016
Very long bus ride. Good information at site.
Read alibubba's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HelenGu
1 review
May 2016
Our guide was wonderful and we had a great time on this.
Read HelenGu's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jallyns@gmail.com
1 review
Apr 2016
This was nice and concise. If you want to see some new ruins that are still being excavated its cool. It is small so dont expect something you may see at Copan or Tulum.
Read jallyns@gmail.com's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ClevelandCruisin
1 review
Apr 2016
Boxed lunch was a joke. Temps were HOT!!!
Read ClevelandCruisin's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image thomasjacobus@aol.com
1 review
Apr 2016
informative
Read thomasjacobus@aol.com's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?