Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Costa Maya Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore one of the island's "best kept secrets" in Mexico by touring the Mayan Ruins. Learn about myths, legends, and Mayan culture while enjoying its beautiful landscape.
Member Image emmyleemarie123
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

This was a great excursion but the bus ride was VERY long, I believe 3 hours each way. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and really got into it. The bag lunch provided was not good. You may want to bring food with you if you can.

Read emmyleemarie123's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cfgh23
1 review
Dec 2013

Very insightful and thorough tour of the extensive Mayan Ruins. We had visited the Mayan Ruins at Belize in February and these were much more extensive.

Read cfgh23's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruiz3r19
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Great tour guide--Daniel. Very interesting. Learned a lot of information. Beach was nice.

Read Cruiz3r19's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cdfoxmd@gmail.com
1 review
Nov 2013

The 2.25 hour ride each way was a bit long. The ruins are, in fact in ruins and are being restored/rebuilt. Our guide, though pleasant was so talkative and slow that we saw about 1/4 of the ruins before we had to leave. I suppose he had to deal with people in good shape and those with canes. We climbed up and down and took pictures. I am sure there are much better Mayan sites.

Read cdfoxmd@gmail.com's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kruzhappy
1 review
Mar 2013
Hand down the best excursion I've ever taken. A little pricey at $89, but was such a good tour of the Chacchoben ruins.
Read kruzhappy's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Netta7
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Went with Native Choice to ruins and then to a beach/kayak resort for a relaxing lunch and afternoon. A private tour for the 4 of us was $110 more than if we took the group tour with Native Choice. I am glad we went private as there were 3 ships in port the day we were there. Wonderful day with a great guide -- Enrique in a very comfortable new car - Ford Edge.
Read Netta7's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image lilacskies
1 review
Feb 2013
Excellent tour guide and interesting to see the ruins. Was super hot and humid which made it a little challenging to enjoy.
Read lilacskies's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ObjectsinMirror
1 review
Feb 2013
We chose the Chacchoben Mayan ruins excursion. Great time! We met our tour guide, Elizabeth at the pier, and boarded an air conditioned bus, for an hour ride into countryside. Elizabeth was awesome, very knowledgeable and informative along the ride there, at the ruins site itself and even on way back. She provided many interesting facts, was so friendly and made this tour memorable. Our kids learned a lot more then we expected them to. The Chacchoben ruins were beautiful, and we were glad we chose to take the kids to see them in Costa Maya.
Read ObjectsinMirror's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HokiePoq
8 reviews
Jan 2013
Our Mayan guide, Luis, was great. The ruins featured the best preserved Mayan masks of all the ruins. I was able to climb several of these as they are lower than Lamarai.
Read HokiePoq's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SouthavenMSCruiser
1 review
Jan 2013
Visited the Cachobeen ruins with an independant compay. They did a fantastic job. We really enjoed learing about the culture of the myan peoples. Lilia our tour guide did a fantastic job with lots of visual aides along the way. Even tsted an allspice leaf. Learned a lot and had a great time.
Read SouthavenMSCruiser's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image davidnsteph
2 reviews
Dec 2012
Enjoyable visit to a small Mayan temple, and stopover for a snack/lunch at a Mayan home. We had home made tamales, toured the gardens, and saw a rope-making demonstration.
Read davidnsteph's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Blnde at
1 review
Dec 2012
It did take 2 hours in and 2 out.....but the ruins where wonderful. Kuhnliach The bagged lunch was fun. Our guide was brilliant.
Read Blnde at's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dredly
4 reviews
Dec 2012
We had an excellent guide. Excursion was a bit rushed- skipped parts of ruins due to time constraints. Beware of 2 hr bus ride to reach ruins. Ruins are small and unspectacular but you can at least climb up many of them. Buses are air-conditioned but beware that there are no bathrooms on them. When we reached the ruins, there was a huge line-up to use the washroom faciliies. Because the women's line up was twice as long as the men's, they kicked the men out of the men's room to allow the women to use the men's room and told the men to use the bushes?!? Women-those porcelin things on the wall with water in them are not sinks.
Read dredly's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image yokelridesagain
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Went to Chacchoben with an independent operator, departure point was within easy walking distance of port. We had a private van for our large party (14) at no extra cost. The ruins are very nice for children of all ages--saw some wildlife (spider monkeys, etc.) in additional to the archaeologic site. Most ruins can be climbed, at least part way. There is one portion of the tour where you climb a set of uneven stone steps up and down (about 3 flights of stairs worth), but this could be skipped for someone with mobility limitations. The tour guide was great and allowed us to move at our own pace, linger for photos, etc. At the time of our trip, there was quite a bit of construction on the road to the ruins, and several parties coming back (including the main ship excursion) got held up for 30 minutes or so. Tip would be to make sure your guide leaves before the Disney bus if you're on a private tour.
Read yokelridesagain's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image yaya4Kylie!!
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
Our excursion was Mayans Through the Ages - don't know if that is an accurate 'title', but it was great to see the culture.
Read yaya4Kylie!!'s full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image phoenixbws
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2012
Very good tour. Two hours to get there, rushed 2 hour tour followed by another 2 hour trip. The guide was great!
Read phoenixbws's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Georgiapeach46
1 review
Jan 2012
Nice air conditioned bus. Very interesting...got to sample food cooked in a pit. We enjoyed this tour but realized our poor these people are. The bus had a cooler with water, cokes and beer. Our guide was good and informative.
Read Georgiapeach46's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bluewater723
1 review
Jan 2012
The Khunlich Mayan Ruins in Costa Maya was my favorite. I would recommend it to anyone going to that port. The site is a good example of Maya architecture and has many interesting features.
Read bluewater723's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rhioghnach
1 review
Nov 2011
Fantastic tour and access to well-preserved Mayan Ruins. Our University of Mexico faculty guide was the consummate professor and clearly explained his extensive knowledge of the ruins and made the trip a fantastic experience. My mom-in-law was using a walker, but the site facilities were sufficient for her to get fairly close to all of the ruins, but not all of them--she was especially not able to make her way up to the main temple, but she didn't mind. Our tour guide made special efforts to answer her questions and help her learn as much as she wanted to learn about the history of the site.
Read rhioghnach's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.