Costa Maya Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore one of the island's "best kept secrets" in Mexico by touring the Mayan Ruins. Learn about myths, legends, and Mayan culture while enjoying its beautiful landscape.
Member Image essby
1 review
Dec 2016
They were very efficient and ontime. Had to walk to their offic (about 10 minute walk) Stopped for an authenntic/excellent lunch and went kayaking in a beautiful lagoon after.
Read essby's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shoretours
Member Image baileybrad
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Outstanding in every way. David Villagomez, our guide, was knowledgeable and personable. Clean and new buses. Felt very safe with this company. Ruins were impressive to see and hear about. High recommend.
Read baileybrad's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image romcomwriter
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Long bus ride but excellent tour. Well worth the money.
Read romcomwriter's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image coachjohnp
1 review
Dec 2016
A short walk to tour operator location and then 45 minute bus ride to ruins. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Not rushed at all. Back in plenty of time to get back on the ship
Read coachjohnp's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image den32837
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Excellent tour...I was only member of tour group that thought to bring small umbrella in shoulder bag, so I enjoyed it more than most.
Read den32837's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Tarheel_Cruiser
1 review
Dec 2016
Costa Maya, Mexico. We did the COSTA MAYA CHACCHOBEN MAYAN RUINS AND BACALAR KAYAK EXCURSION. We had to walk four blocks from the dock security area to the Native Choice offices … why they couldn’t meet us at the dock security area is a mystery to me. The tour itself was kind of ho hum after the ruins in Belize and the Bacalar part was a waste because we couldn’t kayak due to high winds. However, our guide Rose made up for it with her knowledge of the Mayan culture in Mexico which is somewhat different than Belize. Pictures: http://s218.photobucket.com/user/GaryMelillo/library/Cruise%202016%20-%20Panama%20Canal%20-%20NCL/8%20-%20Costa%20Maya%20Mexico?sort=4&page=1
Read Tarheel_Cruiser's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Native Choice (Shore Excursioneer)
Member Image jadorecourtx3
1 review
Oct 2016
We visited Chaccoben Mayan Ruins, they were absolutely incredible. The ruins are about 50 minutes from the pier each way and you are transported in a very large and comfortable air conditioned bus equipped with a bathroom. Complimentary water bottles are constantly offered but it is essential to bring tons of bug spray!! The ruins are covered in mosquitos and Zika is found on mainland Mexico and throughout the Caribbean. These ruins are not to be missed!
Read jadorecourtx3's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bostonphil
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Wonderful excursion but for the heat and humidity. Very informative and interesting. I would have given it 5 stars but for the weather. You will be doing a lot of walking and standing. This was a problem for me as I have foot and leg problems.
Read bostonphil's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mishorourke12@outlook.com
1 review
Sep 2016
Dianna was our guide. She was a great guide for the 10 family members who took the tour. Diana is very informative and gave the tour with such pride. She had the children really interested in the history. When we arrived at Chacchoben she took us to the end of the tour and worked backwards which was great because we carried out our climb in peace and missed all the crowds. Watch out for the Red Ants so do wear socks. The tour lasted about 4 hours in total and was very interesting thanks to Dianna
Read mishorourke12@outlook.com's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Toucan Tours
Member Image Skygoddess45
1 review
Sep 2016
Great guide! needed to sell disposable ponchos! We got soaked!
Read Skygoddess45's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Darwal70
1 review
Sep 2016
It's an hour drive and well worth it. Our guide was great and very knowledgeable. Enjoyed the ruins.
Read Darwal70's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Diva01saling
1 review
Jun 2016
This tour was very educational however it rained us out but the tour guide did the best she could with the conditions.
Read Diva01saling's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alibubba
5 reviews
Jun 2016
Very long bus ride. Good information at site.
Read alibubba's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HelenGu
1 review
May 2016
Our guide was wonderful and we had a great time on this.
Read HelenGu's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jallyns@gmail.com
1 review
Apr 2016
This was nice and concise. If you want to see some new ruins that are still being excavated its cool. It is small so dont expect something you may see at Copan or Tulum.
Read jallyns@gmail.com's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ClevelandCruisin
1 review
Apr 2016
Boxed lunch was a joke. Temps were HOT!!!
Read ClevelandCruisin's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image thomasjacobus@aol.com
1 review
Apr 2016
informative
Read thomasjacobus@aol.com's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lu Bear
2 reviews
Feb 2016
Visited Mayan Ruins and then had lunch prepared by a local Mayan family. Our guide, also of Mayan descent, was very well versed in the culture and offered great information. He made sure we were back to the ship in plenty of time as well.
Read Lu Bear's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image Elf40
2 reviews
Jan 2016
We loved these ruins in a park like setting. Only 4 tour buses went to this site that day and it was wonderful as there weren't a lot of people around. We were just at Machu Pichu last fall and I wasn't sure why my husband wanted to go see these ruins after that but went along anyways. Our guide was extremely knowledgable and the scenery was gorgeous!! I was very happy we went to these ruins!!!!
Read Elf40's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ChristineIsOnVacation
1 review
Dec 2015
Kohunlich took two hours each way on an air-conditioned bus. Slept both ways, very relaxing. The tour guide was very informative. We wish we had more time to spend at the ruins, but we chose this one so we can climb the ruins.
Read ChristineIsOnVacation's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bdavid1278
1 review
Dec 2015
Kohunlich ruins - excellent experience.
Read bdavid1278's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image goodguy014
1 review
Dec 2015
Very interesting.
Read goodguy014's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Willem999
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Chaccoben is really impressive. The guide was very knowledgeable, gave tons of information. There was plenty of time to see everything on yourself and climb on top of the temples
Read Willem999's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jparish623
1 review
Aug 2015
Book your trip with Native Choice and request David as your guide! We were amazed by his knowledge and passion for what he does. This guy is like an encyclopedia of Ruins. The price was worth every penny and more. I would book this ten times over. Avoid the crowds of the ship excursions where they herd you like cattle and use this company. You will love them!
Read Jparish623's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image klndry
1 review
Apr 2015
If you don't go to the Ruins, you missed out. Fantastic, history lesson. The bus ride was informative. We learned a lot about what appeared to be a very low populated area. The ruins were just great. Do it.
Read klndry's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?