Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Costa Maya ATV Adventure Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya ATV Adventure cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy an incredible ride on your own ATV along the beaches and lush green jungle of Mexico's Costa Maya region.
Member Image fishluvcheerios
1 review
Mar 2015
Our ATV part of the day was cut short because of an accident with the group ahead of us. The time back at the resort was very nice and relaxing. Beautiful scenery. There were kayaks available to paddle out to a blow up obstacle course floating in the water, a lot like the show Wipeout. It was really challenging, but entertaining. You can get a massage on the beach there, but neither of the ladies seemed to be trained at all. Both my boyfriend and I have gotten many massages before and we both thought they had no idea what they were doing at certain points in the massage. It's still a pretty good, relaxing experience. Just know what to expect. Drinks are included, but you have to pay for the food, which was ok. Be very careful shopping at the port. The salespeople are very pushy and they try to rip you off. We got something in Costa Maya that they originally wanted $80 for, we said no way and got him down to $50. We got to the next port at Cozumel and the same thing was marked with no haggling for $29. Same thing with another item I got there. They really price gouge you there.
Read fishluvcheerios's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image juneo23
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2015

Costa Maya is a great port. Plenty to do right of the boat. Our excursion had a meeting area right at the end of the pier with a dedicated line up and good signage. The excursion complex is amazing. A fantatis beach area with plenty to do or just lay down and relax in the sun. The ATV's are in great shape. The trails an absolute blast.

Read juneo23's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mitch4000
1 review
Feb 2015

This adventure was the best. The guides arranged our group with the first time riders to the rear with a second guide so we were able to really fly down the open trails. It started with some jungle trails that open up to some straight trails that had us really going fast. Then we would stop a minute for us to bunch back up. Then on to the beach for some riding and a break for photo opportunities. After an hour or more of riding we ruturned to their compound on the beach for an open bar and free snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boarding. The only extra charge was for food. There were lounge chairs for sunning or relaxing in the shade, or you could relax in the very large open hut having your favorite drink. The venders sold some really beautiful items with a painter showing and selling his artwork.

Read mitch4000's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image edenracer
1 review
Jan 2015

It was supposed to be an hour trip, we did it in half the time. There idea of a trail is taking a machete and cutting down some trees. They don't use earth moving equipment to prep the trail, so be prepared to run over a lot of rocks and tree stumps. Very Rough!

Read edenracer's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Some Mexican guy
Member Image sbachleda
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Our cruise line snorkel tour was cancelled due to wind and rain so we booked a local ATV tour. The was called ATV Track and was a ton of fun. The ATV's were new and in perfect mechanical condition. They had an automatic transmission so no need to worry about shifting gears. It rained very hard that day so the trail was muddy and covered in water up to 2.5 feet deep in places. Also lots of mosquitos. Bring repellant if you do this. Our guides were very careful to explain everything to us and made sure that we all kept together on the trail. Our adult sons thought it was the best tour ever. My wife and I are in our 60's and enjoyed it as well. My wife had a bit of a hard time in a couple of spots due to the mud and high water from all the torrential rain. If you only do this once, do this tour.

Read sbachleda's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Last Minute Tours
Member Image cusecruise
1 review
Dec 2012
We did the ATV adventure with Orlando as our guide. It was pouring rain at the port but fortunately cleared up by the time we got to the ATV site. After a brief intro to the ATVs we set out with Orlando as our guide. After a ride through the mangroves, we headed to the beach for a fun ride. Word to the wise, take wraparound sunglasses if you have them or take their goggles to wear. I wore my prescription glasses without goggles as they would not fit over my glasses, there were a couple places where the sand kicked up and it was pretty hard to see. After the ATV ride, we got to spend "30 minutes" at the beach but they were Mexican minutes so it was more like an hour. Snorkel equipment was available for those that wanted to use it. When we returned to the port we went to Carlos and Charlies/Senor Frogs for a bite to eat as we did not have enough time to go into town. This was the low-point of our visit as the food was very, very expensive. For a couple beers, fajitas and some fried cheese with tip we paid $60 US. Way too much for Mexico but we were captive in port without any other options. If we go to Costa Maya again we'll go to town to get some real Mexican food.
Read cusecruise's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LadybugTraveler
1 review
Dec 2012

SO FUN! We loved our ATV tour. It takes you along these gorgeous, basically un-developed waters, and you get to go really fast along the shoreline. It was awesome. (Plus there's a part when you're going through the forest in the beginning, and we had these huge puddles to plow through...other people went slow though, so you only have to go fast if you want to.) At the end, you come back to a small private beach and lounge, snorkel, have a drink. We had plenty of time to shop and enjoy the cruise area, too. Tip - If you just walk out of the port area about half a block, there are a ton of more tourist shops, and these are much less expensive than the ones directly in the port area.

Read LadybugTraveler's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kathyb19
1 review
Mar 2012
We took a 30 minute bus ride to the site and were given instructions on driving the ATV's. It wasn't hard. We followed our guide through thickets of mangroves, mud, water and dirt roads. It lasted about an hour and we had time to sit on the beach.
Read kathyb19's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jumpingemini
1 review
Jan 2012
Not many fish to see and we were horded together in tight groups and kept bumping into each other.
Read jumpingemini's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruisinlulu
2 reviews
Jan 2012
We were shuttled to Uvero Beach--extremely clean, nice restaurant/bar. The surf was a bit rough to swim/snorkel, but we had a great time watching the pelicans and other waterfowl. Rentals of speed boats and other water recreation was available at an added fee. Food was good. People very friendly and accommodating.
Read cruisinlulu's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image gfetters
2 reviews
Dec 2011

Awesome experience. Highly recommended. Book an early excursion. Fewer passengers with you and you get more time with the Dolphins.

Read gfetters's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rgandcrew
1 review
Oct 2011

Paid $30 for a 1 hr snorkel trip. Boat very rickety and operators on the rude side but the water was WONDERFUL and it was decent snorkeling. We stopped after Rina so I'm sure water wasn't in best condition for snorkeling. The beach was wonderful. We could have stayed there all week.

Read rgandcrew's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.