Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Costa Maya ATV Adventure Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya ATV Adventure cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy an incredible ride on your own ATV along the beaches and lush green jungle of Mexico's Costa Maya region.
Member Image edenracer
1 review
Jan 2015

It was supposed to be an hour trip, we did it in half the time. There idea of a trail is taking a machete and cutting down some trees. They don't use earth moving equipment to prep the trail, so be prepared to run over a lot of rocks and tree stumps. Very Rough!

Read edenracer's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Some Mexican guy
Member Image sbachleda
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Our cruise line snorkel tour was cancelled due to wind and rain so we booked a local ATV tour. The was called ATV Track and was a ton of fun. The ATV's were new and in perfect mechanical condition. They had an automatic transmission so no need to worry about shifting gears. It rained very hard that day so the trail was muddy and covered in water up to 2.5 feet deep in places. Also lots of mosquitos. Bring repellant if you do this. Our guides were very careful to explain everything to us and made sure that we all kept together on the trail. Our adult sons thought it was the best tour ever. My wife and I are in our 60's and enjoyed it as well. My wife had a bit of a hard time in a couple of spots due to the mud and high water from all the torrential rain. If you only do this once, do this tour.

Read sbachleda's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Last Minute Tours
Member Image cusecruise
1 review
Dec 2012
We did the ATV adventure with Orlando as our guide. It was pouring rain at the port but fortunately cleared up by the time we got to the ATV site. After a brief intro to the ATVs we set out with Orlando as our guide. After a ride through the mangroves, we headed to the beach for a fun ride. Word to the wise, take wraparound sunglasses if you have them or take their goggles to wear. I wore my prescription glasses without goggles as they would not fit over my glasses, there were a couple places where the sand kicked up and it was pretty hard to see. After the ATV ride, we got to spend "30 minutes" at the beach but they were Mexican minutes so it was more like an hour. Snorkel equipment was available for those that wanted to use it. When we returned to the port we went to Carlos and Charlies/Senor Frogs for a bite to eat as we did not have enough time to go into town. This was the low-point of our visit as the food was very, very expensive. For a couple beers, fajitas and some fried cheese with tip we paid $60 US. Way too much for Mexico but we were captive in port without any other options. If we go to Costa Maya again we'll go to town to get some real Mexican food.
Read cusecruise's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LadybugTraveler
1 review
Dec 2012

SO FUN! We loved our ATV tour. It takes you along these gorgeous, basically un-developed waters, and you get to go really fast along the shoreline. It was awesome. (Plus there's a part when you're going through the forest in the beginning, and we had these huge puddles to plow through...other people went slow though, so you only have to go fast if you want to.) At the end, you come back to a small private beach and lounge, snorkel, have a drink. We had plenty of time to shop and enjoy the cruise area, too. Tip - If you just walk out of the port area about half a block, there are a ton of more tourist shops, and these are much less expensive than the ones directly in the port area.

Read LadybugTraveler's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image kathyb19
1 review
Mar 2012
We took a 30 minute bus ride to the site and were given instructions on driving the ATV's. It wasn't hard. We followed our guide through thickets of mangroves, mud, water and dirt roads. It lasted about an hour and we had time to sit on the beach.
Read kathyb19's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jumpingemini
1 review
Jan 2012
Not many fish to see and we were horded together in tight groups and kept bumping into each other.
Read jumpingemini's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruisinlulu
2 reviews
Jan 2012
We were shuttled to Uvero Beach--extremely clean, nice restaurant/bar. The surf was a bit rough to swim/snorkel, but we had a great time watching the pelicans and other waterfowl. Rentals of speed boats and other water recreation was available at an added fee. Food was good. People very friendly and accommodating.
Read cruisinlulu's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image gfetters
2 reviews
Dec 2011

Awesome experience. Highly recommended. Book an early excursion. Fewer passengers with you and you get more time with the Dolphins.

Read gfetters's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rgandcrew
1 review
Oct 2011

Paid $30 for a 1 hr snorkel trip. Boat very rickety and operators on the rude side but the water was WONDERFUL and it was decent snorkeling. We stopped after Rina so I'm sure water wasn't in best condition for snorkeling. The beach was wonderful. We could have stayed there all week.

Read rgandcrew's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.