Icy Strait Wildlife Tour Excursion Reviews

Icy Strait Wildlife Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture into the pristine wilds of Icy Strait to see some of Alaska’s most popular and iconic wildlife, such as grizzly bears, bald eagles and black-tailed deer.
Member Image Julisa
1 review
Jul 2016
Great scenery and very pleasant and easy walk along a boardwalk. Great guide too but were disappointed not to have seen a bear!
Read Julisa's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image karenbink@aol.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Fun drive, interesting an informative guides. Unfortunately, mother nature did not cooperate as the salmon were NOT running therefore, no bears---which was what we went for. Nonetheless, we saw lots of fresh bear Poop!! So we know there were watching us. We felt safe as we had 2 armed guards to protect us.
Read karenbink@aol.com's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lnoonan
1 review
Jul 2016
This fascinating 90-minute tour was led by a retired science teacher. We learned about Icy Strait Point and its history as we hiked along the rocky shore and then through the forest on the island. We also heard about the various types of rocks found along the shore, the flowers and plants of the forest, as well as the varieties of trees in the forest. This was a fantastic tour, and I enjoyed every moment of it.
Read lnoonan's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image katisdale
6 reviews
Jun 2016
We took the tram that went to the forest and the beach. If you are interested in doing one of the active excursions like the zip line I recommend that you do not book on the ship. Book one of the cheaper excursions and they give out coupons so you can get a lower price on one or more of the more expensive excursions.
Read katisdale's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Racbolt
1 review
Jun 2016
Did not enjoy the Bear Search tour - we didnt see any bears and were bitten by mosquitos.
Read Racbolt's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Happy Holidaymaker
1 review
Jun 2016
The trip was informative. If we had high powered binoculars we may have had a glimps of bears, but it is wildlife and they don't appear to order and that has to be expected
Read Happy Holidaymaker's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Roger_le_Frog
3 reviews
Jun 2016
We were lucky enough to see a Bear and some interesting birds as well as to learn a bit about the Native culture.
Read Roger_le_Frog's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jane2357
2 reviews
May 2016
Learned a great deal about the native people from the guide. The native dancing was impressive. Should have also done the zip line - next time.
Read Jane2357's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Archimagirus
1 review
May 2016
No bears, but a nice hike
Read Archimagirus's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image gfgramma
2 reviews
May 2016
Another rainy, cold day but we did see lots of eagles and sea otters playing on the buoys!
Read gfgramma's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Off2seeAlaska
1 review
Aug 2015
Although our guide was likable, in a rough kind of way, I think the spitting of chew out the window might be a little too "authentic" for your average cruiser. The Tongass was lovely, we did get to see a good portion of it that most people likely don't get to. However, we all were there to see brown bears. The guide drove us to bridges. Not sure that's the best way to go, we were a 15 passenger van, not super stealth. Whatever, we knew we might not see them and thats fine. What was awful was that he just wouldn't stop!! Once it became clear that we were out of luck, I think everyone would have been fine with returning to the cannery and grabbing a bite to eat! In his defense I think he felt that he had to try and give us our money's worth. This trip was 6 hours LONG!!! They didn't supply a bottle of water or a snack either. In future they might take a consensus. If it was 3 hrs it would've been fine: Instead we saw no bears and also got kidnapped for our whole day ashore!!
Read Off2seeAlaska's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Brown Bear Lodge
Member Image BobBow1
1 review
Jul 2015
Drove around looking for bears for 4 hours. Saw 1 bear.
Read BobBow1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Shore Excurisions
Member Image smithpw
1 review
Jun 2015
Guide was professional and entertaining.
Read smithpw's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jeni B.D.
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice tram ride to the shore. We saw a lot of bald eagles and a sea lion. Before the excursion we were lucky to see a humpback whale while hanging out on the pier!
Read Jeni B.D.'s full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tucson Guy
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Saw several eagles in the wild.
Read Tucson Guy's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image franl24fan
6 reviews
Jun 2015
Open sided tram about 2 miles thru forest alongside bay. Stop to get off and walk on beach. Guide did good job of explaining plants and wildlife. Some sightings of eagles. Not worth the price.
Read franl24fan's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Frank34
1 review
Jun 2015
We knew it was going to be tricky to see bears in early June, but we went anyway. We saw a few Sitka Black Tailed Deer that we passed by and I pointed out. There were a few ladies in the van that said, "We have those in our backyard in New Jersey." I answered that they were not the same kind of deer. They still seemed unimpressed. We did see bear scat on the roads. Our tour guide was funny and told numerous anecdotes. If we would have seen a bear this would have been an easy five star review, but we did not. So, I will give the tour 3 stars, not because of the guide, but because the animals were not cooperative.
Read Frank34's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image andre4259
5 reviews
Jun 2015
Bear viewing (sorta) The Bears did not appear until we left on the bus. All we saw in the viewing area was lots of bear poop. A lot of poop with an armed guard for protection.
Read andre4259's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image surgie
1 review
May 2015
The bear tour in the afternoon was not one we would repeat. It was 3 1/2 hours in a van with a driver who did not use the microphone so those in the back could not hear. The whole afternoon we saw a total of one deer. The driver said he goes for weeks without seeing bears...so why do they offer this tour? It was 3 1/2 hours we could not get back and would much rather have spent the time doing anything else.
Read surgie's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Misty Bay
Member Image Sharon Thomson
1 review
May 2015
This trip had two parts. The first was bear watching where we saw two big brown bears. The second part was whale watching (Orcas) who swam very close to the boat. Free tea, coffee and hotchocoate is offered on all the boat trips
Read Sharon Thomson's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rollyson
1 review
Aug 2014

We did the whale watch ad wildlife bear hike. We had Gary as our guide on Bear hike. Love him and the hike however didn't see any Bears, this was disappointing however that's how it goes, cant control the wildlife...lol. He was an excellent guide and told bout Icy Strait and the Hoonah people , enjoyed it very much. Whale watch boat ride was nothing less than AMAZING!!!! The crew were so excited, we saw up to 40 Orca whales in what they called ' super pods"...right up next to the boat, it was raining and chilly but everyone was up on deck and had a great time. the shopping area at port was very nice but the merchandise was much more expensive than in other ports.

Read rollyson's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hworrall
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Did Whale watching and Bear search trip. Amazing wildlife sightings. Got to see both whales and bears. But the best part was our tour guide on the Bear search. Native Haida Indian. He was a wonderful story teller and shared so much about their culture.

Read hworrall's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image genealogyfan
3 reviews
Aug 2014

Took the Forest and Nature Tram excursion, which left 15 minutes late. As expected it was slow, laid back and so mostly the rainforest and the water.

Read genealogyfan's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hyker1
8 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2013

We whale-watched in the am and then did the bear viewing. The Native guide aboard the boat was most interesting, but he still pushed for sales on locally mad art/croche. Saw some whale activity, and three bears.

Read hyker1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image deeis50
1 review
Sep 2012
This was by far our favorite excursion! The guide Josh was so generous! We creeped through bush with him carrying a gun searching for bears . We saw and found 9! We got back to the ship and the passengers were talking about their wonderful find of 1 bear on the ships excursions .. Used my tour saver coupon.
Read deeis50's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Teckk outfitters

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?