Icy Strait Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Icy Strait Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend your day in Icy Strait skimming over the cool, blue waters of the North Pacific. See magnificent humpback whales as they emerge to the surface from the comfort of a boat.
Member Image emailbansal
1 review
Aug 2016
Saw Killer Whales
Read emailbansal's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DonMac451
1 review
Jul 2016
I enjoyed the whale watching, but the whale watching boat was a bit over crowded. The weather was bad, but so what. We saw humpback whales, and I enjoyed the scenery.
Read DonMac451's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bigalgreen
2 reviews
Jul 2016
A very nice tour.. but would recommend if possible doing it privately on a small boat.
Read bigalgreen's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image misshousam
1 review
Jul 2016
Tyler and his other crewmember were amazing on the small boat. We saw many animals on a whale excursion. We saw brown bears on shore, humpback whales, sea otters, seals, sea lions, and orcas. This was the best!
Read misshousam's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Excursions
Member Image bobjenzach
1 review
Jun 2016
We had a group of 8 ranging in age from 12-71. Everyone truly enjoyed this excursion. Our captain was very knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife. We saw 6-8 humpback whales from a distance and various other wildlife including seals, otters, and eagles. We highly recommend for children and adults.
Read bobjenzach's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hoonah Travel Adventures
Member Image whitewine82
1 review
Jun 2016
Lovely trip but unfortunately whales were not obliging
Read whitewine82's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Roger_le_Frog
3 reviews
Jun 2016
A lot of whales, I lot of good pictures. I just with the Operator would use a less noisy boat that would allow visitor to get closer without disturbing the animals
Read Roger_le_Frog's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dawg67
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Awesome!
Read Dawg67's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image carolina29212
1 review
Jun 2016
Icy Strait is basically a tourist trap. Traveled to nearby Hoonah for whale watching excursion which was awesome!
Read carolina29212's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Glacier Wind
Member Image Ferballs
1 review
May 2016
Unbelievable ...!!! It brings a tear to my eye just thinking about it. We had the most amazing experience with the whales in their natural habitat. One whale being the queen of all whales and performed for 40 minutes for us. Even the crew were impressed..!! Interesting little port with a lot of varied things to do. We enjoyed the kids interpretation of the start of their culture in the little show they put on....do not miss it. A lot of history there as well. Food was excellent in the local restaurant and don't miss out on the local tour guide...tons of information
Read Ferballs's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image WECoyote
2 reviews
May 2016
We have been spoiled by whale watching in Feb & Mar in Hawaii. With that said it was enjoyable as the weather cooperated during the watch and we did have one whale that breached well over a dozen times for us.
Read WECoyote's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Stephinjoe
1 review
Sep 2015
Even the tour boat captain was amazed at the number of whales and how close they got to the ship. Amazing excursion.
Read Stephinjoe's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image chilled57
1 review
Aug 2015
Fantastic catamaran and crew, they worked really hard to find whales and boy did they find them!!! we ended up in the middle of a pod or two of Orcas, amazing they came close to the boat and there was an adult swimming with her calf. We were told point adolphus is a feeding ground and we just had an abundance. Wow ....
Read chilled57's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ronandannette
5 reviews
Aug 2015
We LOVED Icy Strait and were so impressed with what the local residents, who have developed the port and "own" it, have done. We booked our Whale Watching tour (the exact same one as was being sold on-board) directly at the pier for a sizeable discount. We ate lunch at the Crab Shack and wow, was that food good! We also took the trolly ($5/pp) into the actual town and very much enjoyed a stroll along the working docks. Overall, this was one of the most enjoyable ports we've visited on any cruise to date.
Read ronandannette's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hoonah Visitors Center
Member Image bcqajbk
1 review
Aug 2015
On a windy, gray day with the waters exceptionally rough, Shawn took 6 of us out for a memorable afternoon. Luckily, none of us had a tendency to be sea sick...we were a hearty bunch....but Shawn kept apologizing for the seas! Nevertheless, he was able to take us to the areas that he knew had the best viewing of the day. We spent quite a while watching many many humpback whales then raced over to another area where another tour guide had spotted orcas....it was great. We selected a smaller boat....only 6 passengers...and really loved a personal, interactive experience. Shawn and his wife are retired teachers (they taught in Hoonah), know the area very well, are reliable and helpful. Highly recommend.
Read bcqajbk's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glacier Bay Tour
Member Image amyb26
1 review
Aug 2015
We were lucky and had many many sightings which of course is always a bonus! The pilot and crew gave a great commentary and although it was only a shortish trip it was very enjoyable. The ship anchors at the port of call and you get taken ashore in tenders. However, for our particular trip the whale watching boat picked us up directly from the ship which was great. My daughter and I did the whale watching trip and saw loads of hump backs. We also saw tufted puffins.
Read amyb26's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Newbcruiser1
4 reviews
Jul 2015
We booked whale-watching privately on a 6-person boat and loved every minute of it! The whole day was quite organized and the personalized service was fabulous. We saw about 5 whales up close, and some more at a distance. All were humpbacks. There was also an option for an add-on bear-search after the cruise but we opted to forego that.
Read Newbcruiser1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Misty Bay Lodge
Member Image jpohio
1 review
Jul 2015
Saw a fair number of whales, but liked the whale watching excursion in Juneau much better. If we could do it over we would do the zipline.
Read jpohio's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Evie.v
1 review
Jul 2015
We were on a small boat - 18 people - and when we saw how the boat booked via NCL was crowded, we were happy with the decision. The trip was informative and we saw both humpback whales and dozens of sea otters. A very relaxing tour.
Read Evie.v's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SunLakesBob
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Even though we did see whales, they were closer to the ship the prior two years that we took this excursion
Read SunLakesBob's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image NwCrsr71
1 review
Jul 2015
We saw sea lions, humpbacked whales and a pod of orca's who then ate the sea lions.
Read NwCrsr71's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cruising mom 3
3 reviews
Jul 2015
This excursion was amazing! I now have two all-time favorites (the other is swimming with the dolphins). We saw some sea lions and a sea otter and lots of amazing whales (it was disappointing to have to go). They take around 100 people or more at a time. Don't worry about your seating going out to sea and getting a good versus a bad seat - the viewing takes place on the observation decks and you are free to move around once you get to the viewing spot. They did reserve the front couple of rows for handicapped persons (there weren't any), so it was a bit of a pain trying to find a seat boarding since they were full, and I wasn't able to sit with my husband and daughter going out to the viewing area. They had plenty of binoculars on the seat for your use. We also had a native guide who gave us many interesting details about her life and the area. We had great weather too. RCI kind of undersells this port, and it could be because there was no shopping associated with the cruise line (I honestly don't know why though). I didn't have very high expectations because of the way it was presented by the port shopping guide, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was actually my favorite port - small and quaint with local merchant products available.
Read Cruising mom 3's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ldanna
1 review
Jul 2015
AWESOME! Love this! Saw some great whales and got some good photos! Terri and Shawn are awesome-and very accommodating ! Smooth water!!
Read Ldanna's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glacier wind charters
Member Image SDPenguin
1 review
Jul 2015
Whale watching was good, but a little short since the ship left port earlier in the afternoon. We saw humpbacks, but nothing compared to what we saw in Seward during the Kenai Fjords tour.
Read SDPenguin's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bemartCruiser
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Best excursion I've ever been on. We saw it ALL!... Bears, otters, sealions, and WHALES, WHALES & WHALES! Never realized how loud they were when blowing.
Read bemartCruiser's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: FISHES

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?