Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Icy Strait Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Icy Strait Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend your day in Icy Strait skimming over the cool, blue waters of the North Pacific. See magnificent humpback whales as they emerge to the surface from the comfort of a boat.
Member Image Stephinjoe
1 review
Sep 2015
Even the tour boat captain was amazed at the number of whales and how close they got to the ship. Amazing excursion.
Read Stephinjoe's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image chilled57
1 review
Aug 2015
Fantastic catamaran and crew, they worked really hard to find whales and boy did they find them!!! we ended up in the middle of a pod or two of Orcas, amazing they came close to the boat and there was an adult swimming with her calf. We were told point adolphus is a feeding ground and we just had an abundance. Wow ....
Read chilled57's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ronandannette
5 reviews
Aug 2015
We LOVED Icy Strait and were so impressed with what the local residents, who have developed the port and "own" it, have done. We booked our Whale Watching tour (the exact same one as was being sold on-board) directly at the pier for a sizeable discount. We ate lunch at the Crab Shack and wow, was that food good! We also took the trolly ($5/pp) into the actual town and very much enjoyed a stroll along the working docks. Overall, this was one of the most enjoyable ports we've visited on any cruise to date.
Read ronandannette's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hoonah Visitors Center
Member Image bcqajbk
1 review
Aug 2015
On a windy, gray day with the waters exceptionally rough, Shawn took 6 of us out for a memorable afternoon. Luckily, none of us had a tendency to be sea sick...we were a hearty bunch....but Shawn kept apologizing for the seas! Nevertheless, he was able to take us to the areas that he knew had the best viewing of the day. We spent quite a while watching many many humpback whales then raced over to another area where another tour guide had spotted orcas....it was great. We selected a smaller boat....only 6 passengers...and really loved a personal, interactive experience. Shawn and his wife are retired teachers (they taught in Hoonah), know the area very well, are reliable and helpful. Highly recommend.
Read bcqajbk's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glacier Bay Tour
Member Image amyb26
1 review
Aug 2015
We were lucky and had many many sightings which of course is always a bonus! The pilot and crew gave a great commentary and although it was only a shortish trip it was very enjoyable. The ship anchors at the port of call and you get taken ashore in tenders. However, for our particular trip the whale watching boat picked us up directly from the ship which was great. My daughter and I did the whale watching trip and saw loads of hump backs. We also saw tufted puffins.
Read amyb26's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Newbcruiser1
4 reviews
Jul 2015
We booked whale-watching privately on a 6-person boat and loved every minute of it! The whole day was quite organized and the personalized service was fabulous. We saw about 5 whales up close, and some more at a distance. All were humpbacks. There was also an option for an add-on bear-search after the cruise but we opted to forego that.
Read Newbcruiser1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Misty Bay Lodge
Member Image jpohio
1 review
Jul 2015
Saw a fair number of whales, but liked the whale watching excursion in Juneau much better. If we could do it over we would do the zipline.
Read jpohio's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Evie.v
1 review
Jul 2015
We were on a small boat - 18 people - and when we saw how the boat booked via NCL was crowded, we were happy with the decision. The trip was informative and we saw both humpback whales and dozens of sea otters. A very relaxing tour.
Read Evie.v's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SunLakesBob
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Even though we did see whales, they were closer to the ship the prior two years that we took this excursion
Read SunLakesBob's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image NwCrsr71
1 review
Jul 2015
We saw sea lions, humpbacked whales and a pod of orca's who then ate the sea lions.
Read NwCrsr71's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cruising mom 3
3 reviews
Jul 2015
This excursion was amazing! I now have two all-time favorites (the other is swimming with the dolphins). We saw some sea lions and a sea otter and lots of amazing whales (it was disappointing to have to go). They take around 100 people or more at a time. Don't worry about your seating going out to sea and getting a good versus a bad seat - the viewing takes place on the observation decks and you are free to move around once you get to the viewing spot. They did reserve the front couple of rows for handicapped persons (there weren't any), so it was a bit of a pain trying to find a seat boarding since they were full, and I wasn't able to sit with my husband and daughter going out to the viewing area. They had plenty of binoculars on the seat for your use. We also had a native guide who gave us many interesting details about her life and the area. We had great weather too. RCI kind of undersells this port, and it could be because there was no shopping associated with the cruise line (I honestly don't know why though). I didn't have very high expectations because of the way it was presented by the port shopping guide, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was actually my favorite port - small and quaint with local merchant products available.
Read Cruising mom 3's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ldanna
1 review
Jul 2015
AWESOME! Love this! Saw some great whales and got some good photos! Terri and Shawn are awesome-and very accommodating ! Smooth water!!
Read Ldanna's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glacier wind charters
Member Image SDPenguin
1 review
Jul 2015
Whale watching was good, but a little short since the ship left port earlier in the afternoon. We saw humpbacks, but nothing compared to what we saw in Seward during the Kenai Fjords tour.
Read SDPenguin's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bemartCruiser
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Best excursion I've ever been on. We saw it ALL!... Bears, otters, sealions, and WHALES, WHALES & WHALES! Never realized how loud they were when blowing.
Read bemartCruiser's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: FISHES
Member Image EMS8
1 review
Jul 2015
Teresa met us at the port and then took us to the pier to meet Shawn and board the boat. Saw numerous humpbacks but none of them were very active. Would highly recommend Glacier Wind.
Read EMS8's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Glacier Wind
Member Image mountain granny
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Can't say enough about this port of call. It is THE BEST in the Alaska itinerary of NCL and should be on every cruise line's port. Hoonah, Alaska, the Native town, is run by a Native corporation, and everything there is Native owned and Native created. Not a thing "made in China." The whale watching excursion exceeded our wildest expectations -- we saw a pod of 5 whales blowing and surfacing in an amazing dance, then diving with flukes visible like all the pictures you ever see of whales. This happened three times, and one or two individual whales also surfaced. We saw a sea otter with a pup on her chest. Our excursion was on the American Eagle, and the captain was excellent, as was the Tlinget cultural historian, Kevin, who told us the history of his people in the area, and of how they formed the corporation and invited the cruise lines to make Icy Point Strait a regular port of call. Just an amazing place, and we heard people who did the zip-lining and the scenic drive and the fishing who said the same things. We also walked on the nature trail and the beach trail, visited the wood chip fire where the Native people have two Totems, and have their meetings to make decisions; and shopped for wonderful Alaska-made gifts for ourselves and our families. They are constructing a dock so the big ships can dock right at the port, rather than anchoring out and tendering passengers in -- but either way, it's a really fun and beautiful place to visit.
Read mountain granny's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Happy1211
4 reviews
Jun 2015
We saw many whales and porpoises in addition to other wildlife. Nice boat with opportunity to ride both inside and outside as the situation warranted. Free hot chocolate and coffee helped. The captain allowed children and others to visit the wheelhouse. lots of good reading materials aboard the ship which explained and depicted the many types of whales.
Read Happy1211's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image rhiwderin_ray
1 review
Jun 2015
Expensive as we booked via the cruise line. However whale watching is guaranteed and we saw a group of 7 humpback whales in clear, calm weather conditions plus some bald eagles fishing and harbour seals. The whale watching was followed by a nature trail walk where we saw a bear and a couple of bald eagles. Really enjoyed the commentary and history provided by the native people. 5 star tour.
Read rhiwderin_ray's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image branaman
1 review
Jun 2015
It was ok. Saw some whale humps. Froze our butts off
Read branaman's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sunnygirl12
1 review
Jun 2015
Great day of whale watching. Got up close and personal with beautiful sea life.
Read sunnygirl12's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image normshear
1 review
Jun 2015
Boat was clean, seen some wales
Read normshear's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rhonda26
1 review
Jun 2015
We loved it!! Saw SO MANY whales!!!
Read rhonda26's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image swingking
1 review
Jun 2015
Did the 18-person boat, which is a nice size. Lots of wildlife and a friendly tour guide. Got to see some Sea Lions, Humpback whales, and a pod of Orcas.
Read swingking's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hoona Travel
Member Image Deeliteful
8 reviews
Jun 2015
Great tour.
Read Deeliteful's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Misty Bay Lodge
Member Image Tucson Guy
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Only saw a couple of whales.
Read Tucson Guy's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.