Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Icy Strait Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Icy Strait Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend your day in Icy Strait skimming over the cool, blue waters of the North Pacific. See magnificent humpback whales as they emerge to the surface from the comfort of a boat.
Member Image Evie.v
1 review
Jul 2015
We were on a small boat - 18 people - and when we saw how the boat booked via NCL was crowded, we were happy with the decision. The trip was informative and we saw both humpback whales and dozens of sea otters. A very relaxing tour.
Read Evie.v's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NwCrsr71
1 review
Jul 2015
We saw sea lions, humpbacked whales and a pod of orca's who then ate the sea lions.
Read NwCrsr71's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cruising mom 3
3 reviews
Jul 2015
This excursion was amazing! I now have two all-time favorites (the other is swimming with the dolphins). We saw some sea lions and a sea otter and lots of amazing whales (it was disappointing to have to go). They take around 100 people or more at a time. Don't worry about your seating going out to sea and getting a good versus a bad seat - the viewing takes place on the observation decks and you are free to move around once you get to the viewing spot. They did reserve the front couple of rows for handicapped persons (there weren't any), so it was a bit of a pain trying to find a seat boarding since they were full, and I wasn't able to sit with my husband and daughter going out to the viewing area. They had plenty of binoculars on the seat for your use. We also had a native guide who gave us many interesting details about her life and the area. We had great weather too. RCI kind of undersells this port, and it could be because there was no shopping associated with the cruise line (I honestly don't know why though). I didn't have very high expectations because of the way it was presented by the port shopping guide, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was actually my favorite port - small and quaint with local merchant products available.
Read Cruising mom 3's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ldanna
1 review
Jul 2015
AWESOME! Love this! Saw some great whales and got some good photos! Terri and Shawn are awesome-and very accommodating ! Smooth water!!
Read Ldanna's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glacier wind charters
Member Image SDPenguin
1 review
Jul 2015
Whale watching was good, but a little short since the ship left port earlier in the afternoon. We saw humpbacks, but nothing compared to what we saw in Seward during the Kenai Fjords tour.
Read SDPenguin's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bemartCruiser
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Best excursion I've ever been on. We saw it ALL!... Bears, otters, sealions, and WHALES, WHALES & WHALES! Never realized how loud they were when blowing.
Read bemartCruiser's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: FISHES
Member Image mountain granny
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Can't say enough about this port of call. It is THE BEST in the Alaska itinerary of NCL and should be on every cruise line's port. Hoonah, Alaska, the Native town, is run by a Native corporation, and everything there is Native owned and Native created. Not a thing "made in China." The whale watching excursion exceeded our wildest expectations -- we saw a pod of 5 whales blowing and surfacing in an amazing dance, then diving with flukes visible like all the pictures you ever see of whales. This happened three times, and one or two individual whales also surfaced. We saw a sea otter with a pup on her chest. Our excursion was on the American Eagle, and the captain was excellent, as was the Tlinget cultural historian, Kevin, who told us the history of his people in the area, and of how they formed the corporation and invited the cruise lines to make Icy Point Strait a regular port of call. Just an amazing place, and we heard people who did the zip-lining and the scenic drive and the fishing who said the same things. We also walked on the nature trail and the beach trail, visited the wood chip fire where the Native people have two Totems, and have their meetings to make decisions; and shopped for wonderful Alaska-made gifts for ourselves and our families. They are constructing a dock so the big ships can dock right at the port, rather than anchoring out and tendering passengers in -- but either way, it's a really fun and beautiful place to visit.
Read mountain granny's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Happy1211
3 reviews
Jun 2015
We saw many whales and porpoises in addition to other wildlife. Nice boat with opportunity to ride both inside and outside as the situation warranted. Free hot chocolate and coffee helped. The captain allowed children and others to visit the wheelhouse. lots of good reading materials aboard the ship which explained and depicted the many types of whales.
Read Happy1211's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rhiwderin_ray
1 review
Jun 2015
Expensive as we booked via the cruise line. However whale watching is guaranteed and we saw a group of 7 humpback whales in clear, calm weather conditions plus some bald eagles fishing and harbour seals. The whale watching was followed by a nature trail walk where we saw a bear and a couple of bald eagles. Really enjoyed the commentary and history provided by the native people. 5 star tour.
Read rhiwderin_ray's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image branaman
1 review
Jun 2015
It was ok. Saw some whale humps. Froze our butts off
Read branaman's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sunnygirl12
1 review
Jun 2015
Great day of whale watching. Got up close and personal with beautiful sea life.
Read sunnygirl12's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image normshear
1 review
Jun 2015
Boat was clean, seen some wales
Read normshear's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rhonda26
1 review
Jun 2015
We loved it!! Saw SO MANY whales!!!
Read rhonda26's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image swingking
1 review
Jun 2015
Did the 18-person boat, which is a nice size. Lots of wildlife and a friendly tour guide. Got to see some Sea Lions, Humpback whales, and a pod of Orcas.
Read swingking's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hoona Travel
Member Image Deeliteful
6 reviews
Jun 2015
Great tour.
Read Deeliteful's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Misty Bay Lodge
Member Image Tucson Guy
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Only saw a couple of whales.
Read Tucson Guy's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image msshy
1 review
Jun 2015
saw lots of whales
Read msshy's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Robert Wright
1 review
Jun 2015
Cost a lot for what was seen. Why did we stop here? the cruse ship folks out numbered the locals 4 to 1
Read Robert Wright's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image andre4259
5 reviews
Jun 2015
Bear viewing (sorta) with Whale watching. The Bears did not appear until we left and way more whales than you could ever see!
Read andre4259's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image EndlessTraveler
1 review
Jun 2015
We had a great time with 6 of us and saw whales!
Read EndlessTraveler's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Floyd with F.I.S.H.E.S
Member Image surgie
1 review
May 2015
The whale watching on the morning was fine. Small boat with just 6 passengers which we enjoyed. Saw a handful of whales. We were able to get some nice pictures and the boat provided water and chips for snacks.
Read surgie's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Misty Bay
Member Image cruisetiludrop
3 reviews
May 2015
Went on the 3pm excursion from Hoonah and saw lots of whales including a double breaching very close to the boat. Lucky yes but the captain provides a great outing and I'd recommend going with him. They pick you up in a van to get you to and from Hoonah. Earlier in the day we walked the beach trail into the woods to the left of the shopping area when facing into shore. Saw bald eagles and enjoyed the short (not very strenuous) hike
Read cruisetiludrop's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Icy Strait Whale Adventures
Member Image MKS2015
1 review
May 2015
Wow, did we see whales!! There were two swimming together and the boat captain basically stopped the boat as they swam around us, getting so close, we could actually hear them and feel the spray from the blow holes. At one point, a sea otter swam over to play around them. We also saw a group of sea otters - one with a mother swimming on her back with a baby on her stomach. A fantastic excursion!
Read MKS2015's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image shroff
1 review
May 2015
the trip was for walking tour to see brown bear and then proceed for whale watching. we were kind of disappointed on bear as we could not spot any. but whale watch rewarding and got quite few glipses of whales splashing around
Read shroff's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Potter66
1 review
May 2015
You tender in here, and it’s a short trip. Zip Line was supposed to be really fun but was mucho $$ so we skipped. Also you could skip the Whale Watch if you’ve seen whales migrating in California or in Hawaii, although we did see some, and it was nice to get out on the water. (BONUS – one of our cruising days out of Tracy Arm, we saw Humpback Whales EVERYWHERE off the stern of the ship – for free ☺) This was one of the most rustic ports, if not the most rustic we were in. It’s about a 20 minute walk into town (which only consists of a few buildings) but was worth it because the weather was so nice. We got a coffee, saw lots of bald eagles, and then did the whale watch. Note about the canning museum and some of the shops where the tender drops you: the museum was really cool as some of the buildings here are REALLY old (refurbished, but date to the early nineteenth century) and the shopping for the most part is the usual stuff. Except Lisa’s Native RX is worth a stop if you want some cool options for native art that isn’t run of the mill. Had an excellent lunch at the Landing Zone (I think that’s what it’s called) – it’s where the Zip Line folks “end” and has great views of the Straight and of course the zipliners as they come in for a landing. One of our favorites, even though it was a very relaxed day.
Read Potter66's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mac1227
1 review
May 2015
We had a great time. However if you want to save 150.00 there is a whale that apparently stays near where the boat docks and gives a better show than the tour.
Read mac1227's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rollyson
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

went on boat and we saw up to 40 Orcas!!! the crew were very excited saying this was more whales then they ever see...called it 'super pods" It was raining and chilly but we were all so excited out on deck

Read rollyson's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TSM AND JP
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We went on the Wine and Whales tour to Point Adolphous. We were not disappointed. We saw Lots of whales. Can't tell you how many amazing pictures we took. If you want to see Whales, this is the tour for you.

Read TSM AND JP's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jorgfam
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

We had seen some great reviews of Hoonah Adventure Tours - Whale Watching, so we booked this prior to the cruise directly with them.
This company was friendly and professional. Capt Paul and Zack def. gave us our money's worth. We saw whales, otters, seals, sea lion, eagles and a bear. Crew was very informative about the area.
We spent most of our time in Hoonah, not in Icy Strait. There was a great little restaurant called Chippers that had really good local seafood. Have the Salmon Taco...yumm!!!

Read jorgfam's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hoonah Adventure - Whale Watching
Member Image Don P
5 reviews
Aug 2013

Excellent tour.....very knowledgeable.

Read Don P's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Glacier Point
Member Image Coco Chanel 1
1 review
Aug 2013

Great trip Late time is a must 3:00 because the tenders had trouble in the morning getting people off the ship. You can walk around the port and in the forest. We then walked into Hoonah . Saw the famous eagle's nest and then went on the trip. We saw whales and other sea animals. Great experience.

Read Coco Chanel 1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Hoonah Tours
Member Image islandjacquelin
1 review
Aug 2013

We booked a whale watch excursion privately with Glacier Winds. Shawn and Teresa are both native Alaskans and have lived in Hoonah for many years, Shawn, the captain, grew up there. We saw a large number of humpback whales - some even came so close we could smell their terrible breath, despite our attempts to remain at a distance! No breeching, but lots of great whale tail photos and close encounters with the large, majestic humpbacks. We also saw a number of small deer, eagles and a large eagles nest, along with Dall's porpoise and sea lions. Everything was very well organized with clear instructions and communications in advance. A great experience and a real highlight!

Read islandjacquelin's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Glacier Winds
Member Image JMS18
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Good experience. We saw whales and liked the narrative provided onboard. Also, we loved Icy Strait. They really did a beautiful job on the site. And the shops were the best we saw overall in Alaska. Lovely things, nothing tacky like in the other ports.

Read JMS18's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cop Chef
1 review
Jul 2013

We booked a Whale Watching Tour with Captain Colleen on the Icy Strait Whale Adventure. Capt. Colleen met us at the designated location to begin our tour. But to our regret, Capt. Colleen was there to inform us she and her husband were cancelling our tour because of high waves around the area where the whales were and rather than taking us out and taking our money, they both decided to cancel and fully refund us. For this reason I HIGHLY recommend Icy Strait Whale Adventure, even though we didn't get a chance to go out and see the whales, Captain Colleen came to us and respectfully cancelled the trip for our safety which shows how honest she and her husband are. I would definitely book with them again if we have the opportunity to go back.

Read Cop Chef's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Icy Strait Whale Adventure
Member Image Triciab
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Awesome! Saw lots of whales and even orcas.

Read Triciab's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image matt32
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

The tour was about 2 hours long and the captain drove us around to where the whales were. If he saw a whale off in the distance, he will steer the ship to where he saw the whale.

Read matt32's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image royben
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

FABULOUS !!!

Read royben's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bec_bec2012
1 review
Sep 2012
We had a fantastic time whale watching with Coleen from icey straight whale adventures. We saw tons of whales and Coleen was a great host.
Read bec_bec2012's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Icey straight whale adventures
Member Image deeis50
1 review
Sep 2012
Private captain Paul was awesome! We were surrounded by orcas. But he also did bear watching , eagle watching and took us on a. Shore excursion by boat to show us the layout of hoonah.
Read deeis50's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hookah whale
Member Image suzrai
1 review
Aug 2012
It was wonderful! Shawn of Glacier Winds Charter is a great boat captain and we were lucky to see whales, orca, sea otters, sea lion and his wife Teresa is a pleasure to deal with.
Read suzrai's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Glacier Wind Charters
Member Image trophy_23
2 reviews
Jul 2012
We headed off the ship around 9am on the tender. At the tender dock, we made our way up the very steep ramp where we had a look through the interesting cannery building. There is a shuttle to town ($8pp round trip), but in case anyone is wondering for future cruises, one-way tickets are only available for purchase in town ($5pp) for the return bus back to the tender pier. We found this a bit strange, no one way ticket to town available for those who already had a ride back to the pier pre-arranged. It was a nice enough day so we chose to walk along the seawall path to town. This is where our fun really begins! We pre-booked a whale watch tour with Misty Bay lodge for 11:30am, so after a walk around town to check out the eagle's nest we checked in at the lodge. We then headed down to meet our Captain (Dan) at the dock, turns out some fellow CC'ers were on the first tour and had a great time! We happened to be the only ones booked on the later tour, so we got a total private tour with Hope and Dan. I can't say enough about how great they were. We saw plenty of whales and their boat was very comfortable. I would highly recommend Misty Bay!
Read trophy_23's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Misty Bay Lodge
Member Image LoungeFly
1 review
Jul 2012
We saw two whales! Enough said? The boat was operated by Allen Marine tours. And we went to what is supposed to be the 'hub' of whale activity, and we saw two tails. Needless to say, I was disappointed. It was raining to top it all.. so, overall, not a very enjoyable experience. Maybe it is not season for whale, yet. And the girl at the counter had a canned answer if you ask her, are they seeing any whales - "every season whales are sighted!". That's it. You ask that question any different way, and she says the same thing! I almost wished we did not see any, so we could get our money back! Have seen more whales off the coastline in San Diego! Can't really blame the tour company other than, I wish they had been more truthful about the whales they were seeing. I can't believe that place was swarming with whales earlier in the day or the previous day for that matter!
Read LoungeFly's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Stiletto1958
3 reviews
Jul 2012
The Wine and Whale Evening Cruise was nothing to whine about. What a great evening, the crew were so friendly and as excited to see the whales as we were. I was closer to the whales in the wild than I've been at Sea World in San Diego. A brilliant excursion.
Read Stiletto1958's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image xmasteach
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Captain Paul found lots of whalers and even a brown bear, eagles too. Great trip
Read xmasteach's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hoonah whale excursions
Member Image cndwhite
2 reviews
Jun 2012
What a deal if you don't see a whale you get $100 back. They have never had to give the money back. Whales were seen at many different locals we also got to see a grizzly bear on the way out to see the whales. Free coffee and hot chocolate. The boat has a upper and lower viewing area the upper is open air the lower is enclosed, this came in nice on a 50 degree morning.
Read cndwhite's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image newcruiserATL
1 review
Jun 2012
Saw several humpbacks, seals, otters
Read newcruiserATL's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ebmedic
3 reviews
May 2012
Bad weather this day, so not a pleasant ride. The boat is large and comfortable. Binoculars provided. The crew worked really hard to make it a good experience, but rough seas and rain worked against them. Only one brief whale sighting. This wasn't the crew's fault. Just bad luck.
Read ebmedic's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mrell345
1 review
May 2012
Lots to see and do. Great boat for taking pictures of the many humpback whales, eagles and seals we saw. Coffee was included and we were given a nice Salmon spread to taste on the run back to Icy Strait
Read mrell345's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sarah Ball
1 review
May 2012
Loved Icy Strait Point. We went whale watching with Glacier Winds, which was a great family-run operation. Loved every minute. We didn't have much time to explore the town afterwards, opting for a beer in the restaurant by the cannery after our busy day. It looked like there were some pretty walks nearby. Probably a port where you need to arrange to do something, rather than expect to be entertained by shopping or walking around town.
Read Sarah Ball's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Glacier Winds
Member Image cruzin_ga_gal
11 reviews
May 2012
The whale watching excursion was fun. We had seen many whales and even bear on the edge of the water.
Read cruzin_ga_gal's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Aug 2011
We originally wanted a private excursion but all private vendors were fully booked, so we booked the August 16th 7am excursion with RCI and later switched to the 11 am one. It turned out to be wonderful as we had a boat for 150+ passengers but now there were about 50 passengers. Binoculars were placed on the seats and the marine guide provided us with lots of info regarding marine life. Thanks to the Diamond Concierge, Chris, for switching us to the 11 a.m. tour! Many passengers came back from the 7 a.m. tour and said they didn't see much but we were sooooooo lucky as we saw whale breaching many times. Their tails were beautiful too! Even the marine guide on board said that was one of his most rewarding trips in 3 months! It was unfortunate that we could only take pictures from inside the boat as it was raining very hard...non-stop rain for the whole day! Sorry for the black & white pictures!
Read wismergirl's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.