Icy Strait Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Icy Strait Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend your day in Icy Strait skimming over the cool, blue waters of the North Pacific. See magnificent humpback whales as they emerge to the surface from the comfort of a boat.
Member Image ScotsLady
5 reviews
Aug 2016
Loved this trip with Glacier Winds charters. Only 6 of us in the small boat. Captain was fantastic and went out of his way to make this a memorable trip.
Read ScotsLady's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Glacier Winds
Member Image Pegatha5
1 review
Aug 2016
We booked the combo to same money. Zip lining and whale watching. The zip lining was a HOOT, BUT... they said they would provide goggles for those of us wearing glasses. They were so busy trying to get you strapped in and ready to go that they did not get my sister in law her goggles and in the first few seconds after leaving the platform she lost her glasses. No she did not have a second pair. The whale watching was with two young men. It was on a smaller boat than the giant one for all the other whale watching people. That could have been a great thing had we had some experienced driver and tour guide. They would not get close enough for us to get pictures without telephoto lenses. They would just sit there waiting for the whales to come to us. This was the worst whale watching I have been on.
Read Pegatha5's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rsppa
6 reviews
Aug 2016
boat to whale watching etc... eagles ...
Read rsppa's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image pianomom0105
1 review
Aug 2016
Totally cool to be on the water and seeing whales and brown fur seals. The crew of the boat were very friendly, and the tour director was very well educated as to the wildlife in Alaska. And we found out she graduated from the same university our youngest son did, same year too, but she didn't know him.
Read pianomom0105's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Todolm
1 review
Aug 2016
Just 6 people and our captain Floyd. Fabulous experience...small boat, small group got us up-close-and-personal with humpbacks, orcas, sea lions, sea otters. A fantastic excursion!
Read Todolm's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: F.I.S.H.E.S.
Member Image ibeplato
1 review
Aug 2016
Booked a 2 hour trip through RCL, we saw Humpback whales almost immediately after leaving the dock. Later on we saw eagles, otters, and sea lions. The guides provided information about the animals, and the first nation peoples who inhabited the area.
Read ibeplato's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image emailbansal
1 review
Aug 2016
Saw Killer Whales
Read emailbansal's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DonMac451
1 review
Jul 2016
I enjoyed the whale watching, but the whale watching boat was a bit over crowded. The weather was bad, but so what. We saw humpback whales, and I enjoyed the scenery.
Read DonMac451's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bigalgreen
2 reviews
Jul 2016
A very nice tour.. but would recommend if possible doing it privately on a small boat.
Read bigalgreen's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image misshousam
1 review
Jul 2016
Tyler and his other crewmember were amazing on the small boat. We saw many animals on a whale excursion. We saw brown bears on shore, humpback whales, sea otters, seals, sea lions, and orcas. This was the best!
Read misshousam's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Excursions
Member Image bobjenzach
1 review
Jun 2016
We had a group of 8 ranging in age from 12-71. Everyone truly enjoyed this excursion. Our captain was very knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife. We saw 6-8 humpback whales from a distance and various other wildlife including seals, otters, and eagles. We highly recommend for children and adults.
Read bobjenzach's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hoonah Travel Adventures
Member Image greentulip
1 review
Jun 2016
Whale watching was good. Only comment in search for bear is that the guide would have frightened off any near by bear with his loud voice! He was very funny though.
Read greentulip's full Sun Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image whitewine82
1 review
Jun 2016
Lovely trip but unfortunately whales were not obliging
Read whitewine82's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Roger_le_Frog
3 reviews
Jun 2016
A lot of whales, I lot of good pictures. I just with the Operator would use a less noisy boat that would allow visitor to get closer without disturbing the animals
Read Roger_le_Frog's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dawg67
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Awesome!
Read Dawg67's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image carolina29212
1 review
Jun 2016
Icy Strait is basically a tourist trap. Traveled to nearby Hoonah for whale watching excursion which was awesome!
Read carolina29212's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Glacier Wind
Member Image Ferballs
1 review
May 2016
Unbelievable ...!!! It brings a tear to my eye just thinking about it. We had the most amazing experience with the whales in their natural habitat. One whale being the queen of all whales and performed for 40 minutes for us. Even the crew were impressed..!! Interesting little port with a lot of varied things to do. We enjoyed the kids interpretation of the start of their culture in the little show they put on....do not miss it. A lot of history there as well. Food was excellent in the local restaurant and don't miss out on the local tour guide...tons of information
Read Ferballs's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image WECoyote
2 reviews
May 2016
We have been spoiled by whale watching in Feb & Mar in Hawaii. With that said it was enjoyable as the weather cooperated during the watch and we did have one whale that breached well over a dozen times for us.
Read WECoyote's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Stephinjoe
1 review
Sep 2015
Even the tour boat captain was amazed at the number of whales and how close they got to the ship. Amazing excursion.
Read Stephinjoe's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image chilled57
1 review
Aug 2015
Fantastic catamaran and crew, they worked really hard to find whales and boy did they find them!!! we ended up in the middle of a pod or two of Orcas, amazing they came close to the boat and there was an adult swimming with her calf. We were told point adolphus is a feeding ground and we just had an abundance. Wow ....
Read chilled57's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ronandannette
5 reviews
Aug 2015
We LOVED Icy Strait and were so impressed with what the local residents, who have developed the port and "own" it, have done. We booked our Whale Watching tour (the exact same one as was being sold on-board) directly at the pier for a sizeable discount. We ate lunch at the Crab Shack and wow, was that food good! We also took the trolly ($5/pp) into the actual town and very much enjoyed a stroll along the working docks. Overall, this was one of the most enjoyable ports we've visited on any cruise to date.
Read ronandannette's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hoonah Visitors Center
Member Image bcqajbk
1 review
Aug 2015
On a windy, gray day with the waters exceptionally rough, Shawn took 6 of us out for a memorable afternoon. Luckily, none of us had a tendency to be sea sick...we were a hearty bunch....but Shawn kept apologizing for the seas! Nevertheless, he was able to take us to the areas that he knew had the best viewing of the day. We spent quite a while watching many many humpback whales then raced over to another area where another tour guide had spotted orcas....it was great. We selected a smaller boat....only 6 passengers...and really loved a personal, interactive experience. Shawn and his wife are retired teachers (they taught in Hoonah), know the area very well, are reliable and helpful. Highly recommend.
Read bcqajbk's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glacier Bay Tour
Member Image amyb26
1 review
Aug 2015
We were lucky and had many many sightings which of course is always a bonus! The pilot and crew gave a great commentary and although it was only a shortish trip it was very enjoyable. The ship anchors at the port of call and you get taken ashore in tenders. However, for our particular trip the whale watching boat picked us up directly from the ship which was great. My daughter and I did the whale watching trip and saw loads of hump backs. We also saw tufted puffins.
Read amyb26's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Newbcruiser1
4 reviews
Jul 2015
We booked whale-watching privately on a 6-person boat and loved every minute of it! The whole day was quite organized and the personalized service was fabulous. We saw about 5 whales up close, and some more at a distance. All were humpbacks. There was also an option for an add-on bear-search after the cruise but we opted to forego that.
Read Newbcruiser1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Misty Bay Lodge
Member Image jpohio
1 review
Jul 2015
Saw a fair number of whales, but liked the whale watching excursion in Juneau much better. If we could do it over we would do the zipline.
Read jpohio's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?