Icy Strait Culinary Tour Excursion Reviews

Icy Strait Culinary Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Indulge in the local cuisine of the Icy Strait; taste smoked salmon and crab as you learn about the traditional methods of preparing and preserving the ocean's finest catches.
Member Image lakeforestCA
1 review
Aug 2016
We had so much fun. We learned how to do many different things with salmon and halibut and also how to grill them correctly.
Read lakeforestCA's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rjwaxman
3 reviews
Aug 2016
Jeff the guide was outstanding. A local whose family had been there for generations was incredibly informative and pleasant and offered us insights into how Alaskans manage to eat off the land and from the sea and its coast and life in the community.
Read rjwaxman's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Cruise.Hound
2 reviews
Jun 2016
We went to Alaska's Wild kitchen. We came home with salmon and recipes I have already shared witth family ^ friends.
Read Cruise.Hound's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 1jazzylady
1 review
Jun 2015
Salmon and halibut, very good demonstrations and then we grilled fish.
Read 1jazzylady's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ihbprincess
1 review
May 2015
Recipes shown and stories told-fun. We grilled our own salmon and Halibut.
Read ihbprincess's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image knittinggirl
19 reviews
Sep 2014

Alaska's Wildest Kitchen - Over priced! We had one page of zeroxed recipes with several samples. We would have enjoyed it better if it had been a smaller group. Samples were cooked outside, and we couldn't all reach the grill at the same time.

Read knittinggirl's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider:
Member Image genealogyfan
3 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Highly recommend the excursion “Alaska’s Wildest Kitchen”. We took it at the end of the day and it was great. The woman who taught this has lived in Alaska on the water for 20+ years. Worked on fishing boats, etc.. Gave us 3 recipes of her favorites – Salmon Dip, Salmon Burgers and Fish Soup. Showed us how to make it and we had samples. Then we each got a piece of halibut and salmon and were able to season it ourselves and cook it outside on the fire. It was very interesting too.

Read genealogyfan's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nmp7368
1 review
Jul 2014

Instructor was a kick. She had several stories while fixing salmon dip, salmon patties and boiled fish soup. We had samples of everything, then she cut up a halibut and we were given a piece of halibut and salmon, and we went outside to cook them ourselves. I'd never eaten halibut before and it was really good. I've cooked salmon, but this was really fresh and both were delicious. This was the best meal we had on the cruise.

Read nmp7368's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dave n
1 review
May 2013

We did the ''In Alaska's Wildest Kitchen" trip and had a great time. Learned some good recipes for salmon and halibut then went out to the grill where we cooked and ate our fish. Nice presentation by the host.

Read dave n's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MSO4STATIV
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Great recipes - got a GREAT deal (locked in price) on sockeye salmon that I shipped home!
Read MSO4STATIV's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?