Rome (Civitavecchia) Historic Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Historic Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Rome, the capital city of Italy, is today a living museum. Take a historic tour to learn about Rome's thousands of years of artwork and architecture.
Member Image BigMac1
1 review
Oct 2016
Vatican visit a real highlight
Read BigMac1's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image JWA Edinburgh
1 review
Oct 2016
Very busy but most enjoyable 12hr tour
Read JWA Edinburgh's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MarkCheshire
1 review
Oct 2016
Took 1 hr 15 minutes by coach frm port to Rome. Worth it! You can't see everything in a day but saw enough to make me want to return. Fabulous day.
Read MarkCheshire's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lighthouses2
1 review
Oct 2016
Too much to see in one day. Enjoyed the day, constantly on the go.
Read Lighthouses2's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseSmith123
1 review
Sep 2016
Another very full day as we saw all the highlights of Rome from the Colosseum to the Vatacan. But they got us back to the ship with time to spare and the whole thing cost about the same as "Rome on Your Own" thru NCL.
Read CruiseSmith123's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: CBM Tours
Member Image nbamama
1 review
Aug 2016
We did Best of Rome with ItalyTours.eu. We had only 8 in our group, which made visiting the sites somewhat flexible. We spent three hours at the Vatican with a very knowledgeable tour guide. We also went inside the Colosseum, saw the Pantheon, Trevli fountain, and Circus Maximus. My only complaint was that the Vatican portion of the tour was too long and too detailed. It took away from time at the remaining sites.
Read nbamama's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours.eu
Member Image Carolinepw
1 review
Aug 2016
Excellent guide but felt too long spent at The Vatican - did we really need to spend so long queuing and inside St Peters Basillica and we were not given the option of not going inside. We did not have much time at the Colosseum and did not go into the Forum at all. It was a very long day but the guide was very considerate of the heat.
Read Carolinepw's full TUI Discovery cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Reading Dave
1 review
Aug 2016
Had sufficient time to visit all the required historic sites
Read Reading Dave's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image marikay1961
1 review
Jul 2016
Amazing tour. Great tourguide~ Love Rome, loved the history...except it was so very packed with people! Pick pockets heaven
Read marikay1961's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Noband24
1 review
Jul 2016
Very nice place and like to listen to the orange radio . Nice church but not as nice as Barcelona church . Nice little town best gelato there snicker and oreo were my family and my favourite . The little Italian restaurant was good and so was the white wine they had my parent prefer red wine and I don't .
Read Noband24's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bostonshovel
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Picked up on time and had a full day seeing everything we needed. Tailored to what you want to see. We saw it all from the Colliseum to the Vatican
Read bostonshovel's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: www.pleasantravel.com
Member Image nancez
1 review
Jul 2016
it was great...saw a lot and not rushed
Read nancez's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: rome in limo
Member Image PrincessLady
1 review
Jun 2016
Took two tours with this wonderful family, first Noemi gave our tour of the Vatican. She was helpful and informative. The net day we had a5 hr. tour with her brother in a comfortable van.He showed us the sites and took us to a couple of his favorite spots. Highly recommend Miles and Miles.
Read PrincessLady's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Miles and Miles
Member Image agroves10@msn.com
1 review
Jun 2016
Wanted to book skip the line for the Vatican and Colosseum with a small guided tour
Read agroves10@msn.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Italytours.eu
Member Image Bobilonia
1 review
Apr 2016
Instead of booking a transfer to Rome from Civitecchia, we booked a tour of Rome with dropoff in the city center (the bus returned to the port). We had to ask for permission to do this; however, it would benefit the cruiseline and the passengers desiring an overview of the city if this were offered. It should be considered an option.
Read Bobilonia's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Piddaddy
1 review
Mar 2016
There is too much to see in do in Rome in just one day. Consequently, if you have not been here before, your best bet is to book "Highlights of Rome." You are bussed to most of the major historical sites and then disembark to see such wonders as the Colosseum, the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, the Vatican, the Pantheon, etc.
Read Piddaddy's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Norwaylady
2 reviews
Oct 2015
We booked a trip that was wiseting some of the highlights in Rome. So we went to the vatican, st peters church,Trevi fonten, Colusseum and the ruins. We hade lunsj on a restaurant during the day. The guide were very good, answering questions, telling about Rome and the history. The reasons that we picked this tour was that one of us had been to Rome several times and seen all the big things. And in Rome it is not possible to do it all in one day. So we picked a this tour so it would give a taste of rome.
Read Norwaylady's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
We drove slowly through Rome and enjoyed the fabulous architecture. the walking tour was also very interesting. You must wear 'sensible' shoes though.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BettyBoopUK
1 review
Sep 2015
Excellent. Hard work as full-on but well worth the money and the effort. Highly recommend this company.
Read BettyBoopUK's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: RomeinaLimo
Member Image igrsod
1 review
Aug 2015
Saw the Roman Forum and the Colosseum. Both sites were very interesting and enjoyable. Our guide was so knowledgeable.
Read igrsod's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Keith@Telford
1 review
Aug 2015
Very good but rushed as we had to get back to the ship on time. You cannot do Rome in 1 hour!
Read Keith@Telford's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jeff10
1 review
Aug 2015
Fell in love with Rome, so much history.
Read Jeff10's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image drytoastfan
1 review
Jun 2015
We took the "Imperial Rome" tour. Be advised that it was intensely physically demanding. Several in our group could not make it and we had to split off. Tour guide was not concerned with coordinating toilette stops during the long walks.
Read drytoastfan's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image madmadison
1 review
Jun 2015
Transportation from port was excellent; included WiFi availability on the van. Had a very informative tour guide Marco. Visited the colosseum, Spanish steps, St. Peter's Square, St. Peter's Basilica, and Sistine Chapel. Had a wonderful tour guide of the Vatican area. Had an amazing lunch at a family restaurant near the Vatican selected by Marco.
Read madmadison's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Share a Shore Excursion
Member Image judypalm
1 review
May 2015
This was included in the tour.
Read judypalm's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?