Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Historic Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Historic Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Rome, the capital city of Italy, is today a living museum. Take a historic tour to learn about Rome's thousands of years of artwork and architecture.
Member Image CATHERINECLYNES
1 review
Nov 2014

Again, a frantic tour running behind a very knowledgable guide, but too much was packed into the tour.
Lunch was a joke and the most unpleasant experience. Would rather have had two hours to myself to find a nice restaurant. Had your picture taken (whether you liked it or not) as you entered the restaurant, then you were pressured to buy the photo.
Tour ended by queing for nearly two hours to get inside the vatican.
Would have thought for 96e per person, a priority entrance would have been included.
Then we were only given ten minutes inside because we were late returning to the ship.

Read CATHERINECLYNES's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

The guide drove us around the city. he was very knowledgeable, but we had to skip lots of stops to get to our app't at the Vatican.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JemIB66
5 reviews
Oct 2013

We were taken on a panoramic tour of historic sites in Rome including the Colosseum, Circus Maxim etc. The tour guide was very informative and we were able to stop and take photographs at several locations.

Read JemIB66's full Costa Mediterranea cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image k8ti
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Our Guide was very knowledgeable. A great day out.

Read k8ti's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Norwichgirl
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Very good guide. Taken to see the colosseum , Trevi fountain, Pantheon, St Peter's basilica and the Spanish steps.

Read Norwichgirl's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Rileydog29
1 review
Jul 2013

So hot and busy the trip was slightly spoiled unfortunately. Also the tour guide's English was not very clear so much of her talks were lost. Would go back when cooler and less busy. That wasn't Thomson's fault though!! Can't blame them for the hot weather!!

Read Rileydog29's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image jaycruze
1 review
Jul 2013

A great guide and a great price, for 90 euros, we received train transportation to and from Rome, local transit passes, Express Passes to both Colosseum and the Vatican Museums, guided walking tours of Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and St Peter's. Highly Recommended

Read jaycruze's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Nanagoes
1 review
Jun 2012
Walked from Trevi to and through Forum and then to Colosseum. Guide was wonderful at explaining what we were seeing with knowledge and humor.
Read Nanagoes's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dbmm
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We then visited some ruins outside the Colosseum. It was ok.
Read dbmm's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lisa-uk
5 reviews
Not Rated
May 2012
Civitavettchia -- for Rome. I was shocked at the prices of the private tours and ship excursions. I found a great site called Civita Tours. An escorted bus tour, with brief stops to the main sites costs Euro26 pp or alternatively the 'do it yourself tour' a mere Euro18. If you plan to see the Colliseum, buy your tickets online, print and take. We walked straight through the crowds of hundreds, right up to the turnstiles and were in within 2 minutes! Well worth a visit.
Read lisa-uk's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: CIVITA TOURS
Member Image 2212tillman
1 review
May 2012
No chance to take photos but tour guide was good with the information
Read 2212tillman's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Linda Swanson
1 review
May 2012
Our tour guide was phenomenal. Her knowledge was amazing. Everything about Rome was fantastic, can't wait to go back.
Read Linda Swanson's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.