Rome (Civitavecchia) Historic Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Historic Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Rome, the capital city of Italy, is today a living museum. Take a historic tour to learn about Rome's thousands of years of artwork and architecture.
Member Image Carolinepw
1 review
Aug 2016
Excellent guide but felt too long spent at The Vatican - did we really need to spend so long queuing and inside St Peters Basillica and we were not given the option of not going inside. We did not have much time at the Colosseum and did not go into the Forum at all. It was a very long day but the guide was very considerate of the heat.
Read Carolinepw's full TUI Discovery cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Reading Dave
1 review
Aug 2016
Had sufficient time to visit all the required historic sites
Read Reading Dave's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image marikay1961
1 review
Jul 2016
Amazing tour. Great tourguide~ Love Rome, loved the history...except it was so very packed with people! Pick pockets heaven
Read marikay1961's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Noband24
1 review
Jul 2016
Very nice place and like to listen to the orange radio . Nice church but not as nice as Barcelona church . Nice little town best gelato there snicker and oreo were my family and my favourite . The little Italian restaurant was good and so was the white wine they had my parent prefer red wine and I don't .
Read Noband24's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bostonshovel
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Picked up on time and had a full day seeing everything we needed. Tailored to what you want to see. We saw it all from the Colliseum to the Vatican
Read bostonshovel's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: www.pleasantravel.com
Member Image nancez
1 review
Jul 2016
it was great...saw a lot and not rushed
Read nancez's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: rome in limo
Member Image PrincessLady
1 review
Jun 2016
Took two tours with this wonderful family, first Noemi gave our tour of the Vatican. She was helpful and informative. The net day we had a5 hr. tour with her brother in a comfortable van.He showed us the sites and took us to a couple of his favorite spots. Highly recommend Miles and Miles.
Read PrincessLady's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Miles and Miles
Member Image agroves10@msn.com
1 review
Jun 2016
Wanted to book skip the line for the Vatican and Colosseum with a small guided tour
Read agroves10@msn.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Italytours.eu
Member Image Bobilonia
1 review
Apr 2016
Instead of booking a transfer to Rome from Civitecchia, we booked a tour of Rome with dropoff in the city center (the bus returned to the port). We had to ask for permission to do this; however, it would benefit the cruiseline and the passengers desiring an overview of the city if this were offered. It should be considered an option.
Read Bobilonia's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Piddaddy
1 review
Mar 2016
There is too much to see in do in Rome in just one day. Consequently, if you have not been here before, your best bet is to book "Highlights of Rome." You are bussed to most of the major historical sites and then disembark to see such wonders as the Colosseum, the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, the Vatican, the Pantheon, etc.
Read Piddaddy's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Norwaylady
2 reviews
Oct 2015
We booked a trip that was wiseting some of the highlights in Rome. So we went to the vatican, st peters church,Trevi fonten, Colusseum and the ruins. We hade lunsj on a restaurant during the day. The guide were very good, answering questions, telling about Rome and the history. The reasons that we picked this tour was that one of us had been to Rome several times and seen all the big things. And in Rome it is not possible to do it all in one day. So we picked a this tour so it would give a taste of rome.
Read Norwaylady's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
We drove slowly through Rome and enjoyed the fabulous architecture. the walking tour was also very interesting. You must wear 'sensible' shoes though.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BettyBoopUK
1 review
Sep 2015
Excellent. Hard work as full-on but well worth the money and the effort. Highly recommend this company.
Read BettyBoopUK's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: RomeinaLimo
Member Image igrsod
1 review
Aug 2015
Saw the Roman Forum and the Colosseum. Both sites were very interesting and enjoyable. Our guide was so knowledgeable.
Read igrsod's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Keith@Telford
1 review
Aug 2015
Very good but rushed as we had to get back to the ship on time. You cannot do Rome in 1 hour!
Read Keith@Telford's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jeff10
1 review
Aug 2015
Fell in love with Rome, so much history.
Read Jeff10's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image drytoastfan
1 review
Jun 2015
We took the "Imperial Rome" tour. Be advised that it was intensely physically demanding. Several in our group could not make it and we had to split off. Tour guide was not concerned with coordinating toilette stops during the long walks.
Read drytoastfan's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image madmadison
1 review
Jun 2015
Transportation from port was excellent; included WiFi availability on the van. Had a very informative tour guide Marco. Visited the colosseum, Spanish steps, St. Peter's Square, St. Peter's Basilica, and Sistine Chapel. Had a wonderful tour guide of the Vatican area. Had an amazing lunch at a family restaurant near the Vatican selected by Marco.
Read madmadison's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Share a Shore Excursion
Member Image judypalm
1 review
May 2015
This was included in the tour.
Read judypalm's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CATHERINECLYNES
1 review
Nov 2014

Again, a frantic tour running behind a very knowledgable guide, but too much was packed into the tour.
Lunch was a joke and the most unpleasant experience. Would rather have had two hours to myself to find a nice restaurant. Had your picture taken (whether you liked it or not) as you entered the restaurant, then you were pressured to buy the photo.
Tour ended by queing for nearly two hours to get inside the vatican.
Would have thought for 96e per person, a priority entrance would have been included.
Then we were only given ten minutes inside because we were late returning to the ship.

Read CATHERINECLYNES's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

The guide drove us around the city. he was very knowledgeable, but we had to skip lots of stops to get to our app't at the Vatican.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JemIB66
5 reviews
Oct 2013

We were taken on a panoramic tour of historic sites in Rome including the Colosseum, Circus Maxim etc. The tour guide was very informative and we were able to stop and take photographs at several locations.

Read JemIB66's full Costa Mediterranea cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image k8ti
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Our Guide was very knowledgeable. A great day out.

Read k8ti's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Norwichgirl
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Very good guide. Taken to see the colosseum , Trevi fountain, Pantheon, St Peter's basilica and the Spanish steps.

Read Norwichgirl's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Rileydog29
1 review
Jul 2013

So hot and busy the trip was slightly spoiled unfortunately. Also the tour guide's English was not very clear so much of her talks were lost. Would go back when cooler and less busy. That wasn't Thomson's fault though!! Can't blame them for the hot weather!!

Read Rileydog29's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?