Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Gold Panning Excursion Reviews

Juneau Gold Panning cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Relive Juneau’s gold rush history and pan for gold in an authentic setting with “guaranteed gold” for everyone!
Member Image Evie.v
1 review
Jul 2015
We enjoyed this tour. It was informative and fun - and we did find gold!
Read Evie.v's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BirdExotic
1 review
Jul 2015
My wife took the 2 grand daughters and they were taught at the side of a creek how to pan and they enjoyed it.
Read BirdExotic's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ron@ispconline.com
1 review
Jul 2015
Enjoyed the experience and the guide was personable and knowledgable
Read ron@ispconline.com's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mrshammer
1 review
Jul 2015
We loved this excursion. Our guide, Kai was very engaging and informative, and we struck gold!! After gold mining we went to the salmon bake. I didn't think I liked salmon, but I loved it. The best part? A bear showed up, it was thrilling! Great excursion.
Read mrshammer's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image candy preston
1 review
Jul 2015
Family gold panning wa fun for the boys. Toured a gold mine cave , they got to wear hard hats. Very informative, roasted marshmallows, had hot cho and got to pan for gold! Not as easy as it looks. Would suggest for any one! Cold in the mine,32 degrees so bring a coat. Boys got plastic hats, certificates an got to keep all the gold the found !
Read candy preston's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RenePastor723
1 review
Jun 2015
Overpriced for only a few hours!
Read RenePastor723's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image luvcozumel
1 review
Jun 2015
My favorite of all. The Gold Panning was fun, but the Salmon Bake after was amazing. Worth every penny.
Read luvcozumel's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RAEJAM
1 review
May 2015
Loved our tour guide...pan for gold was fun as was the salmon bake. This was good and maybe will do again...But for me once was enough. I do recommend it
Read RAEJAM's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beachandskifam
1 review
May 2015
We booked the Salmon Bake and Gold panning adventure through Holland America. We were picked up at port and drove a few miles to the Salmon Bake. We were pleasantly suprised to find this hidden gem right outside of town. There is a little camp set up with a big creek flowing through, a waterfall, and a few pavilions where you have lunch. It's buffet style with salmon and chicken cooked over an open fire, potatoes, coleslaw, chowder, blueberry cake, etc. It's more than you can eat and very good. Then we got back on the bus and headed out to another creek for gold panning. They give you a pan full of dirt and show you how to pan for gold. You are guaranteed to find gold in that pan, but if you find gold in the creek, you are a much better gold panner than we are. However its a very nice area, the guides were very nice and the drive out there was very scenic.
Read beachandskifam's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tessantoti
1 review
May 2015
Very nice. Very good tour guide. The meal afterwards was more than adequate. There was plenty to eat and the quality of the food was very good. All around a beautiful set up.
Read tessantoti's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image avvocato
1 review
Aug 2014

This was a lot of fun. A quick trip through Juneau to the Hills and to a river near a old mine. The Guide was dressed in period clothes and quite informative. After a demonstration on how to pan ... up to us. If was fun and easy and you end up with small amount of gold flakes worth $2-5 (market rate).

Read avvocato's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image shortmac8
1 review
Jul 2013

Juneau is a lovely town, with a lot of history and beauty. The gold panning excursion was great. Our guide, Randy, was a funny, very friendly and knowledgeable person. Very enjoyable and got to take some gold home to boot! :-) I highly recommend Randy for the tour.

Read shortmac8's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Amremti25
1 review
Sep 2012
Picked up at ship by costumed prospector. Given a short tour of Juneau and then to the river for panning. Beautiful site with cold glacial water. The first pan was seeded and everyone received gold. After that it was dig for your own. Although this was a short time to pan, about an hour, is why i rated this lower than a 5. The scenery was very beautiful while looking around.
Read Amremti25's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dath
1 review
Jun 2012
Just what I wanted, go to a remote stream, pan for gold, find some - lots of fun for the money, and you leave with a bit of gold that you panned for a souvenier.
Read dath's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.