Halifax Historic Tour Excursion Reviews

Halifax Historic Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the major landmarks of coastal Halifax and explore the fascinating city on an historic tour excursion. Explore one of the largest harbors in the world and delve into its rich history, including the key role it played during the aftermath of the Titanic tragedy.
Member Image C1968cruiser
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Private tour for 6 in a van. Visited the Titanic Grave site, a fishing village, and ate a great lunch. Our driver was very professional and knowledgable. Would highly recommend.
Read C1968cruiser's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Paul McNeil
Member Image Ejbirdie
1 review
Sep 2016
very thorough and detailed tour of Halifax, Dartmouth, Fishermans Cove
Read Ejbirdie's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Halifax Titanic Historical Tour
Member Image Popeye57
1 review
Sep 2016
Outside company. Excellent service and very informative. Loved this tour from Paul McNeil tours.
Read Popeye57's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Paul McNeil tours
Member Image vstanisz
1 review
Sep 2016
Paul was very knowledgeable especially about the Titanic Cemetery and the Halifax explosion. Took us to a real lobster village with quaint restaurant, much better than Peggy's cove
Read vstanisz's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Paul McNeill
Member Image EllenMcL
1 review
Sep 2016
It was raining off and on all day. Saw all the highlights in 4 hours and still had time to visit the museum on the pier. The films on the Halifax explosion and Titanic recovery efforts were very informative.
Read EllenMcL's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Littleneil
1 review
Sep 2016
A four hour Halifax history lesson while driving through town - ending at a so-so restaurant in Fisherman's Cove. Paul continually gets great reviews on Trip Advisor. Our group did not have Paul.
Read Littleneil's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: Hallifax Titantic
Member Image cmnutritionow@hotmail.com
1 review
Sep 2016
Bus hop on /off historical tour of Halifax and surrounding areas included visiting Peggy's Cove
Read cmnutritionow@hotmail.com's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carmbre
1 review
Jun 2016
Entertaining and educational.
Read carmbre's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image corvetteatthelake
2 reviews
Oct 2015
This was a 10 passenger van and originally had a full bus. Two of the passengers got sick at the last minute and then there were eight. Paul really knew his way around as he was from Dartmouth. Did the Citadel noon gun, town sights, fort, lunch at an out of the way fishing village with fresh caught Haddock (Great and not expensive) with a private upstairs room. Saw the explosion site and history and Titanic cemetery. Paul was a true professional, had amplification system and instant climate control in the van. Learned a lot on this tour. Recommend Paul.
Read corvetteatthelake's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Paul McNeil Tours
Member Image laura8951
2 reviews
Sep 2015
A Walk through History tour was fabulous. We had a wonderfully informative guide who started at the Public Gardens, then proceeded to Citadel Hill, walked through the downtown area, and ended at the waterfront, where you could remain for browsing or return to the ship with the guide. Our guide shared many, many details about Halifax and its history. It’s about a two-hour, two mile trek and moves at a fairly quick pace. The walk back to the ship was about twenty minutes along an easy to follow boardwalk. Halifax was very welcoming to cruisers. A number of local vendors set up booths in the terminal for convenient shopping.
Read laura8951's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jeannie Baby
1 review
Jul 2015
Nova Scotia is beautiful. Clean and friendly people. The public Garden is breathtaking! The Halifax Fort is very interesting and the workers are so knowledgable, friendly and interesting. I loved it.
Read Jeannie Baby's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Salty Katy
1 review
Jul 2015
Titanic cemetery and museum. Visited gravesites of victims recovered from the sinking, saw actual artifacts recovered from the sea or donated by crew who recovered the bodies.
Read Salty Katy's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image knittinggirl
19 reviews
Oct 2014

Historic City Tour - Typical city tour. Lovely flowers at the public gardens. Missed several of the sights mentioned in the tour description.

Read knittinggirl's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image caligirlnyc
6 reviews
Sep 2014

The tour I took was a historic, walking tour. We walked through the Halifax Public Gardens, past the Citadel, and to the waterfront. What a long walk! I thought it would be only two hours, but the tour guide had us walking for over 3! He was a nice guy, informative, but boring. I got to take a lot of pictures, but there was not a lot of places to rest. We walked all through Halifax. I felt I got my money's worth, but my feet were so tired by the end. So, it's inexpensive, but be prepared with comfortable shoes, and some water. We probably walked on the hottest day Halifax has had all year. It was 85 degrees that day!

Read caligirlnyc's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lmd4941977
2 reviews
Sep 2013

this is a beautiful city with lots to see. I really loved the Fort and the Victorian gardens. We traveled thru historic areas and learned about the history. Afterwards there was plenty of time to do the boardwalk.

Read lmd4941977's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Beersnob
1 review
Oct 2012
It was a big deal for me to finally visit the Fairview Cemetery where so many Titanic victims were buried. We also got a tour around the city, site of where the ice rink morgue was, etc. It also included admission to the Maritime Museum which had artifacts from Titanic that had never been salvaged, but rather pulled out of the ocean when teh tragedy occurred. My only complaint was a wish I'd been told the Acadia exhibit closed at 3p, hours before the rest of the museum. I didn't get to board her because of that.
Read Beersnob's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image eagle1966
1 review
Sep 2012

tour guide was ADD,couldn,t finish a thought,raved about a wooden church only to find out it eas locked,the titanic experience wsa wonderful,lost two more passengers,had to wait finally to forestall a mutiny,we left,upon leaving the tardy couple arrived to many unkind comments

Read eagle1966's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image retiring soon
16 reviews
Sep 2012
We went to the cemetery where 100+ victims are buried & stayed there quite a while. Next we went to the museum where we had a guided tour & some free time. Because we had time left our guide took us to the public garden which was really beautiful,assorted Dahlias were in bloom & ducks were diving in the stream.
Read retiring soon's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?