Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Halifax Bus Tour Excursion Reviews

Halifax Bus Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Taking a bus tour of Halifax is the most efficient and informative way to visit all of the city's must-see attractions.
Member Image JRoo2013
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Lots to see and do. Titanic artifacts and maritime museum was very interesting. Great food but all within walking distance. No bus trip is needed.

Read JRoo2013's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image tatanka49
3 reviews
Oct 2014

Visited both Halifax city and Peggy's cove. Great distances between the two. Guide in period costume and very good guide. Saw some highlights of Halifax but not as much as we wanted to. WE drove past the major sites such as the Citadel and the Maritime Museum. We were docked in an industrial ship yard and shuttle buses were needed to take you into town. The tour buses met us at and dropped us off at the ship. Peggy's Cove is pretty and again, not enough time to thoroughly explore the area. It started to pour rain when we were there but were back on buses just in time.

Read tatanka49's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image goochnj9
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Excellent tour guide.

Read goochnj9's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lovetocruisenow
19 reviews
Oct 2013

Halifax is an interesting small city with a lot of history. The hop on/hop off was a good way to see it and decide what you wanted to see in more detail. The Citadel, the park, and the Museum of the Atlantic are all worth seeing.

Read lovetocruisenow's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 53smokey
1 review
Sep 2013

City has some real gems, but getting to them is a real problem if you use the Hop-on Hop-off buses. The buses that are suppose to run every 30 minutes, ran about every hour and were full at some stop and you could not board them. Most sites are within walking distance of the cruise piers and would be more enjoyable than waiting for buses.

Read 53smokey's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image maachi
4 reviews
Aug 2013

Took the 10 most important points of interest in Halifax tour which included Peggy's cove,Titanic Burial Site; Victoria Gardens, Ship Building Dockyards, The Cathedral, The Queen's Residence and the Citadel Outlook; Excellent tour at $99 per person

Read maachi's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Shadowsmom
1 review
Oct 2012
We did do the Titanic Museum in Halifax, NS. Great experience. You'll see a deck chair and a pair of little girl shoes that were displayed among many other things. We didn't get the Big Pink Bus from the cruise line, but when we got of the ship we got tickets at the booth which was the same price as on the ship and they took the our seapass for payment. So, same difference. Get the tickets on the ship.
Read Shadowsmom's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lvillenc
1 review
Oct 2012
The city tour was interesting, but we wished we had taken a whale watch instead.
Read Lvillenc's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisin'Lovebirds
4 reviews
Sep 2012
Loved the idea of three loops, meaning you could choose something and get there quickly. They lined us up inside a garage for weather protection; so appreciated!
Read Cruisin'Lovebirds's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jul1221
1 review
Sep 2012
Did the Big Pink Bus, great transportation and commentary along the way, but a little pricey for what you get
Read jul1221's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image NLC74
1 review
Sep 2012
Again, very friendly tour guides. We did the Hop on Hop Off Bus again. We stopped at the public gardens which were pretty, and did the maritime museum, which was interesting. I would not do the bus again as Halifax is definitely walkable. There's a great boardwalk and everything seems pretty condensed.
Read NLC74's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image wolfie2702
1 review
Jul 2012
The tour guide made it very enjoyable. We learned so much especially about the titanic
Read wolfie2702's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image twinstars
1 review
Jul 2012
Knowledgeable tour guide. Got us to where we needed to go and had a quick view of the city on the bus.
Read twinstars's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Cruisinita
1 review
Jul 2012
Great to be on a bus on a rainy day. The tour took us to many places we would not have been able to see for the one day we were there. Especially interesting was the Titanic graves at the Fairview Cemetery and Peggy's Cove.
Read Cruisinita's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.