Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Sitka Wildlife Tour Excursion Reviews

Sitka Wildlife Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A Sitka Wildlife Tour is a great way to catch many of the elusive residents of the Alaskan wilderness.
Member Image jblynx82
1 review
Aug 2013
Read jblynx82's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Gallant Adventures
Member Image sailingfinn
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Off shore small boat tour with 5 others. Kent, the guide and skipper is a wildlife biologist. Articulate, friendly and very knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Spend a few hours with someone who truly knows and loves Alaska and its' wildlife.

Sitka is a fascinating town. I don't understand why every line but HAL has stopped going there.

Read sailingfinn's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Sitka Secrets
Member Image Bamagirl123
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Not worth the money - didnt get to see much wildlife. Had almost no time to walk around Sitka or see anything else.

Read Bamagirl123's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image bkghosh
1 review
Jun 2013

The wildlife tour was nothing spectacular.

Read bkghosh's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Bradmajors
1 review
Sep 2012
This was our favorite day. They take you to the raptor center; spend about 30-40 minutes there; then take you for a walk thru the forest. Then after a bathroom break at the park visitor center we walked to town; and got to see the Russian Cathedral there. The guide met her husband in town; so we got a lot of local color and local stories. She did a excellent job. We spend over 3 hours on this tour; and never felt bored.
Read Bradmajors's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image FunGranny
5 reviews
Aug 2012
The other five members of our family did this trip and enjoyed it very much. They saw whales and eagles.
Read FunGranny's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cnote2254
1 review
Jul 2012
This was the absolute pinnacle of our trip. We booked with Captain Jim Seeland in Sitka Sound Tours, independently, based upon a review from this site. We did his Wildlife Tour, but he will customize your tour for whatever you're looking for. It was a private tour with just our family for $130 per person on his boat. We saw humpback whales, sea otters, sea lions, Eagles, Puffins, and tons of other birds. He even met us early so we'd have a little extra time. We had such an amazing time with this... you need to look him up if you'll be in Sitka. My mom and grandparents did the touristy whale watch in Juneau and they said this blew it out of the water. I wish I could post pictures. Sitka was a quaint town that was a nice change of pace from Juneau, and renewed somewhat our faith in humanity. We ate at a local restaurant and had great food and service.
Read cnote2254's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Sitka Sound Tours
Member Image hawco458
1 review
Jun 2012
This excursion is certainly not for the tame...but a ton of fun.
Read hawco458's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image RJY
1 review
May 2012
We arranged a private wildlife boat tour online with Captain Jim Seeland and Sitka Sound Tours. Jim met us on the dock and we walked down to his 27 foot cabin cruiser parked in the harbour. He has room for 6 guests but my wife and I were his only guests that day. Jim is a Marine Biologist and a Professor teaching marine biology at a local college. He offers tours on the side and knows the Sitka Sound area as well as anyone. Jim is extremely friendly and builds his tours around the interests and preferences of his guests. He can go where they like compared to the larger double decker boats carrying 120 passengers - that HAL uses. He was also not a clock watcher. We cruised right next to a very large humpback whale for 10 minutes and saw many sea otter and sea otter rafts, seals and eagles. We were unfortunately out of season for bear viewing. Very enjoyable private tour for almost the same amount ($130 pp) as the larger cruise tours. Sitka is a smaller, less touristy town. Would like to have visited the Museum and the totem trail and Fortress of the Bear. $3 shuttle to the Fortress was not operating yet. Our daughter was looked for something more physical and she did the Advanced Mountain Biking excursion through HAL, and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Read RJY's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Sitka Sound Tours
Member Image debmarie
2 reviews
Aug 2011
Sitka Sea Otter and Wildlife Quest. In a word excellent. We saw some whales at a distance and tons of sea otters.
Read debmarie's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.