Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan City Tour Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tour the town of Ketchikan, the first city on the Inside Passage, by visiting local attractions and learning about Alaskan history and culture.
Member Image Redbarnphotog
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Today we had a private tour booked with Sourdough Cab Company ($225 + tip for 3 people). David was our driver and we arrived at perfect timing for low tide. This allowed us to go to a small dock and get up close and peresonal with marine life. We saw Sunfish, Star Fish, and my mother even held a tiny jelly fish in the palm of her hand! We visited the outskirts of a Hatchery for Salmon, so we came very close and got amazing photos of Bald Eagles, as they hang out near the Hatchery, naturally. David gave us a wonderful insight to the area and gave us real feel for living in a tiny town only accessible by boat/plane. He dropped us off at the beginning of a 15-minute walking trail through the Tongass National Forest (rain forest) and picked us up at the other end. This allowed us to take our time and privately enjoy the views. On to the Totem Pole Park. A great way to learn more histroy of the native indians of the area.
There is plenty of shopping to be done in Ketichkan. And as like everywhere in Alaska, souvineers were priced well. For example, right at the port, I bought a fleece jacket (among other things) for only $12.95. Ok, I bought 2. And a hoodie and a t-shirt!
For lunch, David recommended the Arctic Bar near the port. They have a deal with the Dairy "King" across the street for food orders. We drank Alaskan Brewery beer, had a burger on the back deck with awesome views of our own Pearl.

Read Redbarnphotog's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Sourdough Cab Tours
Member Image 56suzy
1 review
Jun 2014

We opted to walk around the town on our own particularly the Creek Street area. All the streets were clearly marked. The visitor center is also very nice.

Read 56suzy's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jorgfam
1 review
May 2014

The walking tour gives you a great chance to view the many Totem Poles and the history of the area.
We stopped for a break and a local beer at the Elbow Room Bar, friendly folks. We then found a little tent with a blacksmith that was making amazing Ulus from old "Misery whips". Had a great late lunch at Annabelles, (share - the portions are hugh). Food and service was good.

Read jorgfam's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Walking Tour Brochure from Visitors Center
Member Image jbar434
2 reviews
May 2014

Ketchikan – We did the “Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tour” with Kat. (more info on Tripadvisor) It’s one of the Scarbourogh Taxi Cabs. It sounded like you could get cheaper options, and they would be about the same price, so I might check around a bit before booking this one. She did a good job. Showed us the sites there were to see, there just weren’t a lot of them. She had binoculars we could borrow (since our last minute Walmart ones were crap). She was very polite and accommodating. We got to see some eagles, a deer and some marine life by a boat dock, as well as one of the totem parks. She was also knowledgeable and helped us find the place to get some crab shipped back for a friend at home. This was the only stop that required bug spray for us. The shopping by the pier was good. If I had it to do over, I think I’d try the float planes at this stop.

Read jbar434's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Taxi Tour
Member Image Catlulu123
1 review
Aug 2013

Tour guide local man - William - very good!

Read Catlulu123's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rev T-Bone
1 review
Aug 2013

Our first port-of-call was Ketchikan where we had a charter fishing trip set up. We had good success and will be receiving our salmon, halibut, and rockfish filets any moment now - all arranged by the charter service. In all the ports there are a number of shore excursions and activities available, ranging from sightseeing and shopping to some very active sports activities like zip-lining and hiking. I would say that even if you don't book ahead or through the on-board concierge, you will not be disappointed with the activities and vendors available on the docks. In all likelihood the prices will be cheaper than those booked through the cruiseline. The cruise out of Ketchikan was stunning. We had great weather and the scenery was awesome. However, the best was yet to come.

Read Rev T-Bone's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tarheelmama
1 review
Aug 2013

Felt rushed. Saw several eagles!

Read Tarheelmama's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image deBeer
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Interesting. Guide was knowledgeable on Native Alaskan history and traditions. City tour was brief. Saw salmon and eagles, but no bears. Ketchikan is a interesting little town. Can spend a few hours walking around. Again enough time and excursions for most budgets. As with all excursions check out reviews from multiple sources and even look for similar but less expensive trips not through the cruise line.

Read deBeer's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Sourdough Tours
Member Image Spot649
1 review
Jul 2013

Historical Ketchikan & Creek Street Walking Tour, one fun tour given by Joe an Alaskan native who is a third generation who has been giving these tours for some 22 years and along with an amazing knowledge and a great sense of humor gives one of the most entertaining tours that my wife and I have been on.

Read Spot649's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Dragonesque
4 reviews
Jun 2013

Other than the Totem Pole Park - meh.

Read Dragonesque's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LuvGod
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

A private mini van tour of Ketchikan with a tour guide. Lasts 3 hours and theyll take you where ever you like!

Read LuvGod's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tours
Member Image storie
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Our original excursion was cancelled and we didn't plan on taking another one. I'd been to Ketchikan before and knew my way around so we thought we'd play it by ear. At the end of the gangway a tour bus operator still had some seats open that he was selling at a discount. We took the bait.

The driver was a bit of a weirdo. Also, they used the promise of a possible bear sighting to lure us. The "ideal bear watching spot" was crowded with four other tour busses, plus it was low tide, plus there were no fish in the water, and it was an active construction zone. So, ideal bear-watching, right? But at the stop at Rotary Beach we saw a ton of bald eagles and got some very good close-up shots, so it wasn't all bad.

Read storie's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DesertGirl28
1 review
Sep 2012
We showed up at a small store that booked a variety of tours. This was a city/nature tour. Turned out we were the only ones for the tour, but the owner (Rita) took us anyway instead of canceling. We enjoyed the personal tour and the information she provided.
Read DesertGirl28's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Independent Tours
Member Image Begavalley
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Interesting city tour, stopping at Saxman Totem Village for some history of the totem poles. Then drove out to end of road to an historic salmon cannery where we were shown how the process worked. Also had tasty salmon snacks with drinks provided before boarding small boat to cruise back down the lakes to the town of Ketchikan. Guide was extremely knowledgeable.
Read Begavalley's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lredwards
2 reviews
Aug 2012
I wasn't really looking forward to this stop as much as the others, as most of the ship excursions seemed to be touristy. I imagined this to be a giant tourist trap stop. We booked an independent excursion with Ketchikan Taxicab Tours, which completely changed my mind about this island. This tour was WONDERFUL. I'd highly recommend them to anyone. We were able to drive all over the island and see the "real Ketchikan". The highlights were a trip to Settlers Cove, where we walked on the beach in low tide and then took a quiet hike (but somewhat difficult for those who don't like stairs) through the rainforest, and a stop for bear watching, where we saw three bears. Note that tour busses can't go to Settlers Cove, so you have to book with an independent tour guide or a smaller excursion. We also had great weather here -- 52 and partly cloudy.
Read lredwards's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Taxicab Tours
Member Image oregoncov
1 review
Aug 2012
In Ketchikan we booked a tour with Sourdough Tours at the stand they have just off the ship. Our driver was a Ray a 70ish year old man born there so he knew a lot about the town and it's history. We saw so must more with this tour than we would have on our own. He took us out to see bears and eagles. We stopped by the Totem Park and were dropped off with our tickets to Dolly's Place on Creek Street. This tour was well worth the small price they were asking.
Read oregoncov's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image xmasteach
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Downloaded the city walking tour from our local library on our I phones, free, and followed the stops around the city.
Read xmasteach's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Public library
Member Image kaiachris
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We enjoyed the local trolley tour. He took us to see the totems and explained how they are used. He also described typical family life in Ketchikan.
Read kaiachris's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image vered4
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We really did not get a tour of the city. The streetcar went straight up to the totem poles...gave us a nice little overview and then back down. They waited for people who were late and that cut into our tour. I didn't think they gave us what they promised. There was no tour of Ketchikan like we expected.
Read vered4's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image aew516
1 review
May 2012
Trolley Tour of Ketchikan. Okay for the price, nice tour guide, but nothing we couldn't see on our own.
Read aew516's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AZDee
1 review
May 2012
Not a whole lot to see in this little quaint town, nice but does not require much time...
Read AZDee's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Alaskanb
1 review
May 2012
Great personal tour of Ketchikan in a 55 Chevy
Read Alaskanb's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Lois Munch

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.