Ketchikan City Tour Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tour the town of Ketchikan, the first city on the Inside Passage, by visiting local attractions and learning about Alaskan history and culture.
Member Image ibeplato
1 review
Aug 2016
About a 2-hour tour led by an Alaskan native. We got a nice history of the area, visited the Saxman totem area, and ended the tour at Dolly's house. We enjoyed the trip.
Read ibeplato's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Sourdough Tours
Member Image EliseC
1 review
Aug 2016
Shop owners are very nice and like to take time and answer your questions about their town and even personal ones, like what brought them to Alaska, etc.
Read EliseC's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image suzidc@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2016
(the only port we walked straight to town without a shuttle) we booked a tour from the dock, with sourdough tours (van= Richard)- we saw (and stopped at many locations) the totem poles and got an in depth story about them, we saw MANY Bald Eagles, water falls, an over look where we tried to see bears and were able to tour Dolly's house on creek street, where we were dropped off to explore, with an easy walk back to the ship. Our guide was very local and knowledgeable and answered questions and truly wanted to give the guests a fun and unique experience.
Read suzidc@yahoo.com's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Sourdough
Member Image Jayoh
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Pleasant but tour with some interesting cultural stops.
Read Jayoh's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image vbalthazor@hotmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Really nice town.
Read vbalthazor@hotmail.com's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mariay
1 review
Jun 2016
This tour was brief but got a good view of the city. The guide was pleasant was knowledgeable
Read mariay's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Chardonnaylover
1 review
Jun 2016
Great trip crew made great effort to sight bears. We lucked out and saw on black bear. Additionally we saw Eagles, deer, and sea lions
Read Chardonnaylover's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Susandron
1 review
Jun 2016
Very basic tour just okay.
Read Susandron's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wggrainger
1 review
May 2016
Interesting and informative
Read wggrainger's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Wing_Watcher
1 review
May 2016
This tour was organised and paid for by Un-Cruise. We had a walking tour led by a member of the local Tlingit tribe. He was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. It was a privilege to meet him.
Read Wing_Watcher's full Safari Endeavour cruise review
Provider: Un-Cruise Adventures
Member Image Sally Forth
4 reviews
Aug 2015
We got off the ship and booked with SourDough Tours. It was an excellent 2 hour tour of the city, totem poles, etc.
Read Sally Forth's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Sourdough
Member Image philipcheng
1 review
Aug 2015
It was a very short trip.
Read philipcheng's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Sherry Stein
1 review
Jun 2015
A good overview of the city and saw a black bear a bit out of the city. Saxman village was colourful with a number of totems each telling their own story. I would have liked to see more activity on site--natives carving, painting, etc. Souvenir totem poles from the gift shop were a turn off as they were made in China and not local. Locally made stuff was very expensive. In Vancouver on any given day at the beach one can see native people carving soapstone or wood and their wares are for sale directly. This should have been seen somewhere in these ports and on these excursions.
Read Sherry Stein's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image JC Norton
1 review
Jun 2015
It was fine -- probably could have done it on my own, but enjoyed the guide.
Read JC Norton's full L'Austral cruise review
Provider: Ponant
Member Image BenjiRodney
12 reviews
May 2015
Did a city tour and visit to Potlatch park and the totem poles. Very nice to see. We even got to see the totem pole that is in the US Passports, it is in downtown Ketchikan.
Read BenjiRodney's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Redbarnphotog
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Today we had a private tour booked with Sourdough Cab Company ($225 + tip for 3 people). David was our driver and we arrived at perfect timing for low tide. This allowed us to go to a small dock and get up close and peresonal with marine life. We saw Sunfish, Star Fish, and my mother even held a tiny jelly fish in the palm of her hand! We visited the outskirts of a Hatchery for Salmon, so we came very close and got amazing photos of Bald Eagles, as they hang out near the Hatchery, naturally. David gave us a wonderful insight to the area and gave us real feel for living in a tiny town only accessible by boat/plane. He dropped us off at the beginning of a 15-minute walking trail through the Tongass National Forest (rain forest) and picked us up at the other end. This allowed us to take our time and privately enjoy the views. On to the Totem Pole Park. A great way to learn more histroy of the native indians of the area.
There is plenty of shopping to be done in Ketichkan. And as like everywhere in Alaska, souvineers were priced well. For example, right at the port, I bought a fleece jacket (among other things) for only $12.95. Ok, I bought 2. And a hoodie and a t-shirt!
For lunch, David recommended the Arctic Bar near the port. They have a deal with the Dairy "King" across the street for food orders. We drank Alaskan Brewery beer, had a burger on the back deck with awesome views of our own Pearl.

Read Redbarnphotog's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Sourdough Cab Tours
Member Image 56suzy
1 review
Jun 2014

We opted to walk around the town on our own particularly the Creek Street area. All the streets were clearly marked. The visitor center is also very nice.

Read 56suzy's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jorgfam
1 review
May 2014

The walking tour gives you a great chance to view the many Totem Poles and the history of the area.
We stopped for a break and a local beer at the Elbow Room Bar, friendly folks. We then found a little tent with a blacksmith that was making amazing Ulus from old "Misery whips". Had a great late lunch at Annabelles, (share - the portions are hugh). Food and service was good.

Read jorgfam's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Walking Tour Brochure from Visitors Center
Member Image jbar434
4 reviews
May 2014

Ketchikan – We did the “Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tour” with Kat. (more info on Tripadvisor) It’s one of the Scarbourogh Taxi Cabs. It sounded like you could get cheaper options, and they would be about the same price, so I might check around a bit before booking this one. She did a good job. Showed us the sites there were to see, there just weren’t a lot of them. She had binoculars we could borrow (since our last minute Walmart ones were crap). She was very polite and accommodating. We got to see some eagles, a deer and some marine life by a boat dock, as well as one of the totem parks. She was also knowledgeable and helped us find the place to get some crab shipped back for a friend at home. This was the only stop that required bug spray for us. The shopping by the pier was good. If I had it to do over, I think I’d try the float planes at this stop.

Read jbar434's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Taxi Tour
Member Image Catlulu123
1 review
Aug 2013

Tour guide local man - William - very good!

Read Catlulu123's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rev T-Bone
1 review
Aug 2013

Our first port-of-call was Ketchikan where we had a charter fishing trip set up. We had good success and will be receiving our salmon, halibut, and rockfish filets any moment now - all arranged by the charter service. In all the ports there are a number of shore excursions and activities available, ranging from sightseeing and shopping to some very active sports activities like zip-lining and hiking. I would say that even if you don't book ahead or through the on-board concierge, you will not be disappointed with the activities and vendors available on the docks. In all likelihood the prices will be cheaper than those booked through the cruiseline. The cruise out of Ketchikan was stunning. We had great weather and the scenery was awesome. However, the best was yet to come.

Read Rev T-Bone's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tarheelmama
1 review
Aug 2013

Felt rushed. Saw several eagles!

Read Tarheelmama's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image deBeer
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Interesting. Guide was knowledgeable on Native Alaskan history and traditions. City tour was brief. Saw salmon and eagles, but no bears. Ketchikan is a interesting little town. Can spend a few hours walking around. Again enough time and excursions for most budgets. As with all excursions check out reviews from multiple sources and even look for similar but less expensive trips not through the cruise line.

Read deBeer's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Sourdough Tours
Member Image Spot649
1 review
Jul 2013

Historical Ketchikan & Creek Street Walking Tour, one fun tour given by Joe an Alaskan native who is a third generation who has been giving these tours for some 22 years and along with an amazing knowledge and a great sense of humor gives one of the most entertaining tours that my wife and I have been on.

Read Spot649's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Dragonesque
4 reviews
Jun 2013

Other than the Totem Pole Park - meh.

Read Dragonesque's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?