Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Duck Tour Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Duck Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Why settle for just land or sea when you could have both? Ketchikan's Duck Tour will take you for a splash with a fully amphibious sightseeing tour.
Member Image mrfviews
10 reviews
Sep 2014

Great little 1 hour tour showing much of the town, including a splash into the water and tour of the harbor. Really enjoyed it informative and reasonably priced. Great weather to partly sunny 64.

Read mrfviews's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image conrad41
1 review
Sep 2014

The guide and driver were very entertaining. We did not see any wildlife but enjoyed a drive around the city and then around the harbor. The walk we took on our own was as good as the tour. We saw salmon jumping upstream and a pool with seals frolicking and eating salmon.

Read conrad41's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image knittinggirl
14 reviews
Sep 2014

Very enthusiastic guides! Worse leg room than on an airplane. Due to the lack of leg room, we are reluctant to book another duck tour, and definitely not again in Ketchikan. I have short legs, and my spine was jammed into the seat while my knees are jammed into the seat in front of me.

Read knittinggirl's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image greggliz@comcast.net
1 review
Aug 2014

A little slow without many sights, but the experience of land and sea tour was still worth the price. If you only want to take one cDuck tour do it in Victoria.

Read greggliz@comcast.net's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NCSuz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Captain Erik and tour guide Patrick were very entertaining. Saw the highlights of Ketchikan in a fun way, including at least a dozen bald eagles perched along the route.

Read NCSuz's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TSM AND JP
1 review
Jul 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this tour. Great tour guides. Saw Bald Eagles and Sea Lions. A fun tour.

Read TSM AND JP's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image pattiek
1 review
May 2014

Watch the salmon prices! one store was offering a great deal at $40, but a bunch of the nick nack stores, same product 29.99

Read pattiek's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Duck Tours
Member Image TexasDavid7
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

The Duck is a bus that takes you on a city tour and then turns into a boat when it gets to the harbor. There you get out on the water and see the city from another prospective. The operators are fun and seemed to be having as much fun as we were. This was the second time we have been on this excursion. Enjoyed it both times.

Read TexasDavid7's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image aksnt11
1 review
Sep 2013

A duck tour is a great way to see a lot of the area and soak up some history. Take an early tour so you can still walk through town.

The town has great signage for viewing the spots of local interest.

Read aksnt11's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image James M
1 review
Sep 2013

The narration was very informative as I did not know before that stairways could be deemed legal streets. Living some 30 - 40 steps or more up off a main street would give you pause to consider what you needed each day. And as the narrator of the tour said, you would usually only forget something once.

It was a sunny beautiful day in Ketchikan and everyone was enjoying the incredible weather. The water was calm as our little Duck Tour boat made its way in and out of the water

Read James M's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Danbee46
9 reviews
Sep 2013

A fun tour with a great guide and driver. They kept us entertained while imparting information about the area. By the way, both women are ex-military.

Read Danbee46's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Exbrit1979
1 review
Aug 2013

Ship was docked right in town and the tour was fantastic and the host Lee was so informative.

Read Exbrit1979's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Whenisdinner
1 review
Aug 2013

The duck tour was entertaning and informative. Driver + guide is a good combo vs. single talking drivers on other tours. Both driver and guide were funny and "quacked us up" continuously. About the only thing on the entire cruise I didn't feel overcharged for were the $2.50 quackers we got from the duck tour, which the kids loved and my wife soon loathed (haha!).

Read Whenisdinner's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Brian&Joan
1 review
Aug 2013

Duck Tour was decent price-performer (not a real WWII duck -- like in Boston -- but a Ford truck that had been converted). Easy to book your own duck tour once you get off the ship -- not sure if there is a savings. Provided good overview of the town area. BTW, two of the most important touristy things -- Lumberjack Show & Totem Pole park are easy walking distance from the ship.

Read Brian&Joan's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image seminolegal
1 review
Jul 2013

It was ok - tour guide had a cheesy and annoying sense of humor (so much so, I wasn't always sure if what he was telling us was a fact or a joke).

Read seminolegal's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image johnbottsr
1 review
Jul 2013

Not much of a tour but pretty fun.
Overpriced.

Read johnbottsr's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hayer
1 review
Jul 2013

Lee was excellent as narrator on the Duck Tour..

Read hayer's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Romatalia
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

So much better than our Duck Tour in Boston. These are brand new Duck Boats, and they glided in and out of the water effortlessly. Our tour guide was great and super enthusiastic about the subject matter. Was over and above what we had experienced in the past, and getting to buy our very own duck whistles was a hoot!

Read Romatalia's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Spot649
1 review
Jul 2013

Because we were on a 14 day cruise and had done excursions on the Northward leg of the Cruise we had not booked anything for the southern leg and so we took a fun tour of Ketchikan in an amphibious vehicle and it also goes into the water down a boat ramp for a view of Ketchikan harbor, it is 90 mins long and the fellow that we had was humorous and knowledgeable about the area

Read Spot649's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: one of the employees
Member Image cruiser7199
1 review
Jun 2013

Short, informative, cost effective tour.

Read cruiser7199's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image joew44
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Katchikan attractive city with friendly people. The duck tour was perfect for us since we got to see the town and the harbor. Nice seats on duck and comfortable ride. Tour guide was enjoyable and fun.

Duck felt very safe in the water.

Read joew44's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image boomerone
14 reviews
Jun 2013

Good guide and driver, silly duck calls purchased by nearly everyone made the trip a bit noisy at times

Read boomerone's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vlmarcea
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Always enjoy the duck tours - again a great local experience and a good price. Ketchikan has some great walking area's and dining - so I am glad we left our day open to enjoy the town.

Read vlmarcea's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Wozzie29
2 reviews
Jun 2013

Good fun and very informative tour - need to be able to climb a short ladder in/out of the Duck

Read Wozzie29's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Chiguy1957
1 review
May 2013

Good overview of the town with glimpses of the salient points of interest. Land and water tour. Bring a jacket if seated in the back by the open windows!

Read Chiguy1957's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kathleenwalsh
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

the duck tour was great fun......it was entertaining and informative......the highlight was when we happened upon many, many bald eagles. our guide explained they had probably finished eating at a fish plant and that is why they were there.....entire group was fascinated......

Read kathleenwalsh's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lovin6D
1 review
Sep 2012
Enjoyable tour, much more to Ketchikan than we knew from previous visit. Take the Duck tour first, then walk.
Read lovin6D's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ada517
1 review
Aug 2012
It was fun. A little expensive for what you get, but, hey...they gotta make a living. Tired humor, but, the information was interesting.
Read ada517's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Booked online
Member Image cdnjma
2 reviews
Aug 2012
A "Willie Nelson" look-alike drove the duck boat. Very entertaining banter between he and the tour guide. We saw salmon spawning, got a nice, informative tour of the town (including the 1800's red-light district and history of it), and a tour of the harbor area. Worth the money and time. Enjoyable excursion.
Read cdnjma's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image skelco11
1 review
Jul 2012
Lots of fun, great deal for $40. Lots of great info and a good overview of the town and its history.
Read skelco11's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Duck Tour Ketchikan
Member Image KDvacation
1 review
Jul 2012
Lumberjack show - good, clean campy fun. Then we took a bus to Rain Forest for hike. Really informational. Only saw bear skat and rescued animals (owl, eagle, raindeer). Very enjoyable day.
Read KDvacation's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image limeyjohnny
1 review
Jul 2012
Cheap and excellent way to see the city ...I recommend.
Read limeyjohnny's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jb01876
1 review
Jul 2012
Our tour guide, Nicole, was the guide of the year last year, and she well deserves that accolade. she and the captain made it very enjoyable. 5 quacks to them
Read jb01876's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image roomwithaview
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Two guides were very funny and knowledgeable. This is a good way to see the town and marina. I saw a lot of bald eagles. Cruise line charged too much though for all excursions they offered though, but at least they posted a sign acknowledging that the price of excursion tickets include a 20% or more commision that goes to Princess. Wal-Mart offers a free shuttle to the "world's second smallest Wal-Mart".
Read roomwithaview's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kalor
1 review
May 2012
The DUck Tour was a bit corny, but very fun, Lee, our tour guide was funny and knowledgable. Drove through the town and saw many sights. When we got in the water, that is where we had about 7 bald eages VERY close. When they flew above our boat, it was an amazing sight. MANY stores, mostly high pressured jewelry stores.
Read Kalor's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image raqoon
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2012
Ketchikan was an interesting stop full of local history and sites. Many opportunities to see Totem poles here. We took the duck tour which was very interesting, and gave us a good look at the city and huge marina. Our tour boat broke down just as it was trying to get out of the water, but the quick thinking staff got us on our way with out too much delay. The guide stayed in good humor throughout the 'crisis' Things not to miss are Creek Street, and some of the beautiful totem pole carvings throughout the tourist district.
Read raqoon's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TheValkyrie
1 review
May 2012
Interesting and funny. We got to see Ketchikan from the water as well as the land.
Read TheValkyrie's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image grandmamlw
1 review
May 2012
Good tour on land and water. Informative, entertaining and tour guide full of corny jokes good for a few laughs.
Read grandmamlw's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.