Juneau Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Juneau Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dog sledding is a quintessential Alaskan experience- allow a team of strong huskies to pull you through Juneau's trails and countryside.
Member Image ScotsLady
5 reviews
Aug 2016
Fantastic trip, loved the helicopter ride and then time at the dog camp.
Read ScotsLady's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image davetav
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Great experience. My 7 yo daughter loved seeing the dogs and the dog sled ride.
Read davetav's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Crytostasis
1 review
Aug 2016
This is a must, it's an experience of a life time. Cannot say more positive things about this activity. I would love to do it again. The dogs are so cute, there were 3 week old puppies, it was a magical day.
Read Crytostasis's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Janetcruise
1 review
Aug 2016
Unfortunately this day was foggy - we took off in the helicopter and flew over the glacier but didn't land. The weather was deteriorating so the pilot decided we needed to return to base. Disappointing, but the right call AND they refunded our money in full!
Read Janetcruise's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Coastal Helicopters
Member Image CruisinCadie
7 reviews
Aug 2016
We chose the Dog Sled Summer Camp, which stays on solid ground, not on the glacier. It was probably the best excursion we've ever taken.
Read CruisinCadie's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image EdJanetcruiser
1 review
Aug 2016
It was a beautiful day in Juneau. Leaving the ship was easy. The dogs and puppies were beautiful and outdoors was great. Would do it again.
Read EdJanetcruiser's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dids100
1 review
Jul 2016
We booked this because our helicopter/glacier excursion was cancelled due to weather. The people were so friendly and the dogs very enthusiastic to take us on a ride! Needless to say, puppy cuddling was the highlight. These people really know and love each of their dogs and it was lovely to witness.
Read Dids100's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Longs
1 review
Jul 2016
We were supposed to take the dogsledding to the glacier but it was cancelled due to weather. We were very disappointed because this was to be our most significant excursion of the cruise. We didn't find out until that morning and couldn't book anything else because it was too late. There's no priority for rebooking for people whose excursions are cancelled, you have to scramble with all of the folks who are booking last minute. Overall we didn't have a lot of time in Juneau with the above. We walked around the town for a while and had a drink and some appetizers in the Red Dog Saloon, which was OK.
Read Longs's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LovingRetirement67
1 review
Jul 2016
Worth every penny!!!
Read LovingRetirement67's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Seattle_diver
2 reviews
Jul 2016
It was a little expensive, but it was really fun. Playing with the puppies is the best part.
Read Seattle_diver's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Julisa
1 review
Jul 2016
Very interesting trip with the dogs eager to get going and went at speed. The guide monitored the sled and stopped to take photo's for everyone of the dogs and us! We had information given to us throughout and could hold the new puppies before refreshments were provided before we left.
Read Julisa's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tnndcruiser
5 reviews
Jul 2016
We (my friend and I) went on the dog sledding tour. It was a bumpy ride to the top but the dogs were worth it. You can learn as much or as little as you want about the sled dogs. It is very informative and the dogs are precious. They are skinny compared to our dogs. I would recommend this excursion
Read tnndcruiser's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Palawala
1 review
Jul 2016
A total rip off! We did the Musher's Camp & Dog Sledding. We went on one dog sled run through paved dirt road and a very mediocre tour of the camp. I may ask them for our money back!
Read Palawala's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image misshousam
1 review
Jul 2016
The dogs were cute, our guy was leading the pack is competing in the dog mushing competition they all talk about, did not go fast because of tourist rules/guidelines boo haha he would've if that was not the case
Read misshousam's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Excursions
Member Image karenbink@aol.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Highlight of the trip. Loved to learn more about the sport. Best of all was interacting with the dogs and PUPPIES---wow---sooo cute!!
Read karenbink@aol.com's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MB1969Traveler
1 review
Jul 2016
fun for the whole family; guides were great and very informative. the dogs are awesome and the puppies are adorable.
Read MB1969Traveler's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Experienced Traveler2
1 review
Jun 2016
Excellent hands on with dogs and puppies. Very informative lecture on sledding. Fun ride!!
Read Experienced Traveler2's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Charliedog1121
1 review
Jun 2016
It was a beautiful sunny day and an excellent excursion. The bus that takes you from the port, however, was the worst part of the journey. There was no air on the bus (70 degrees out and a full bus) and the construction made the trip to Tesmco helicopters seem like an eternity. The helicopter ride was fantastic as well as our awesome dog sled guide. DD loved it so much and was smiling the whole time. It was great to be able to stand on the sled as they ran as well. Mendenhall Glacier is incredible. As a Science teacher I have taught my students about this glacier (and how it has receded over the years)and it was very special to actually fly over it and be on it.
Read Charliedog1121's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bobjenzach
1 review
Jun 2016
Alaska Shore Excursions - Juneau Glacier Dogsled Extended Tour via Helicopter Our group ranged in age from 12-71. Everyone truly enjoyed this excursion. The process was very organized and efficient. The heli pilot and dog mushers were very knowledgeable and friendly. The extra stop on the icefield was well worth it. Our favorite part was walking on the icefield, jumping crevasses, and drinking glacier water! This is an experience that we will never forget. * Plan to wear extra layers, scarf, and gloves!!
Read bobjenzach's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Excursions
Member Image ltoneill
1 review
Jun 2016
We booked the dog sledding ride through Celebrity, and it was super fun. We got a long ride on a cart pulled by dogs - way better than expected! The people were super nice and clearly love their dogs.
Read ltoneill's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mujerlinda
2 reviews
Jun 2016
OMG!! This was so worth the price! We flew in helicopters up to Mendenhall Glacier and the dog sled camps. The dogs were so excited! Had a really fun talk with Michael Baker who races in the Idatarod. We were on the sled with 3 other people and were each given a chance to "drive" the sled. We got to pet the dogs afterwards and meet 2 new puppies. The ride up and back showed some amazing scenery. Being on top of the snow on the Glacier was an amazing experience. This is a bucket list item and MUST do thing in Juneau! It's not like anything else I had ever done. Highly highly recommend this excursion.
Read mujerlinda's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image NH-GUY
1 review
Jun 2016
Excellent excursion on the Mendenhall Glacier.
Read NH-GUY's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image rocklinmom
5 reviews
Jun 2016
So much fun for all ages! A once in a lifetime experience. Learned about the Iditerod, marveled at all of the dogs in their little houses, and snuggled with puppies. The sled ride was awesome even though not on snow.
Read rocklinmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vlhcruise
1 review
Jun 2016
Great tour and amazing views.
Read vlhcruise's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Penelopesmom
1 review
Jun 2016
One of the highlights of the trip. The way to go if you love dogs.
Read Penelopesmom's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?