Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Juneau Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dog sledding is a quintessential Alaskan experience- allow a team of strong huskies to pull you through Juneau's trails and countryside.
Member Image Crystyn
1 review
Aug 2015
You absolutely have to do this in your lifetime. It was the most amazing thing I have ever done; dog sledding on a glacier by helicopter.
Read Crystyn's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Landlubber54
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Very educational and hands on. Had a nice time meeting the dogs. Dogs are very friendly and anxious to pull.
Read Landlubber54's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image brianhopkins88
1 review
Aug 2015
Traveled into the woods and had a good time meeting all the dogs, hearing about the different races, and holding puppies! If you love dogs this excursion is a must. You spend a lot more time with the dogs and learning about the racing at this camp that the dog sledding you get to do on the glacier. Or so we heard.
Read brianhopkins88's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image amyb26
1 review
Aug 2015
We booked the 'on land' type trip where you went to visit the dogs at their summer camp and got to have a ride sat in a buggy. This was the highlight of the trip for my animal mad 9 year old. It was a short ride out of town to the camp and the driver was very friendly and cheerful and told us lots of interesting things about the area and sledding. We got split on to groups on arrival to ration out who did what, when. The actual ride time is quite short, however the whole experience was lovely. We got to meet all the dogs and pet them, find out about what the races entail, the training, kit, route etc and of course - the highlight - pet the puppies!! Hot drinks were also available. Overall, this was a really nice, feel good trip.
Read amyb26's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image euroy
1 review
Jul 2015
wonderful experience!
Read euroy's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joann1020
4 reviews
Jul 2015
We learned about the history, equipments, dogs,and dog selections. The ride was fabulous.
Read joann1020's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Ldanna
1 review
Member Image bays
1 review
Jul 2015
We rode in a helicopter up to the glacier and were able to enjoy dog sledding with a musher. We each were given a chance to be the rear musher with the team of dogs. We were able to experience petting the dogs as well, and we held puppies. The dogs were friendly and affectionate and seemed ready to go at a moment's notice. The scenery was spectacular, and it was very interesting to experience the atmosphere in the camp. We loved this!
Read bays's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rsun
1 review
Jun 2015
Excellent!!!
Read Rsun's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image olivanova
5 reviews
Jun 2015
We were very fortunate to have caught the last helicopter of the day. All other flights were cancelled because of the weather which was cold, overcast and rainy - it rained all day!! When we reached the glacier we were greeted by eager dogs ready to show us how fast they could pull us round in the snow. It was an unforgettable experience. Before we left the glacier we were each given a three week pup to hold.
Read olivanova's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Coastal Helicopters
Member Image Garry S
1 review
Jun 2015
Excellent tour
Read Garry S's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Coastal helicopter
Member Image Tucson Guy
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Learned more than I thought possible in only 4 hours. Great presentation on the history on the Ididerod and breeding and raising of the dogs. Being able to hold the puppies was a highlight of the entire trip. DW is an animal lover of the enth degree.
Read Tucson Guy's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bdw4fx
1 review
Jun 2015
This was our main choice of excursions and it's also the most cancelled. We were in the helicopter with the routers going when they cancelled due to incoming weather. Disappointing but they gave a full refund to everyone including those that started the ride. Expensive but came highly recommended
Read bdw4fx's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Traveladdict99
1 review
May 2015
Helicopter over glacier to a dog sled camp for a 2 mile sled ride. Wonderful scenery getting there and on the glacier. Guides were very good and we had a great time. If you love dogs you will love this.
Read Traveladdict99's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Boey
1 review
May 2015
Worth trying Good experience on dog sledding
Read Boey's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image surgie
1 review
May 2015
This tour was just ok. The facility was nice, the people were knowledgeable and we were able to take a mile trip in a cart with a team of 12 dogs pulling us. We learned a bit about the history of the Iditarod.
Read surgie's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Gold Rush Dog Sled
Member Image lollywc
1 review
May 2015
It was exactly as advertised. The dogs are incredibly friendly and the people we dealt with were friendly as well. The bus driver also narrated the ride to the camp and informed us about the area. The big negative was that it was too fast and they really rushed you out of there.
Read lollywc's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image shroff
1 review
May 2015
this was great experience. though bit costly at over $ 600 pp, but worth it. it was very exeelarating going above the mountains in helicopter and landing in the middle of mendehall glacier, but the best part was the sledge ride with huskies,
Read shroff's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wally_bushy
2 reviews
May 2015
We were the only two on this trip and fly by helicopter to the dog waiting area. Unusual sight to see all the dog kennels in the snow. Once we were introduced to the dogs who all had different personalities it was time to go. The experience was awesome and the fact we were alone made it even better. The dogs seem to enjoy the work and thrive on activity. Recommend this highly (but not cheap!)
Read wally_bushy's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image JenR830
1 review
May 2015
Took a helicopter tour to Mendenhall Glacier and went dog sledding- one of the most incredible experiences! The ride up is fantastic and the mushers were friendly and informative. You do not get to ride the sled for long but many stops to play with the dogs and ask questions.
Read JenR830's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cbuneo531
1 review
Jul 2014

Amazing experience, played with puppies, and got a great lesson about the historical, and modern aspects of dog sledding. The only reason it got 4 stars was because the actual sledding part wasn't on snow, and it was a little short. Didn't take away from the experience too much, though.

Read cbuneo531's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Liquid Alaska Tours
Member Image Rosiemom
1 review
Jul 2014

Really enjoyed Juneau and our excursions.

Read Rosiemom's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LilMsFoodie
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Era Helicopter tour with dog sledding is described above. One tour. Expensive but absolutely worth it.

Read LilMsFoodie's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Carlsarge
1 review
Jun 2014

The dog sled experience was wonderful. The best part was getting to hold the small puppies.
The setting was nice and we learned a lot about the dog sledding competitions. Worth the price.

Read Carlsarge's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TrixieLou
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Juneau was great. We took the Dog Sled Excursion and it was lots of fun. Great bus driver who gave lots of information. The dogs and puppies were amazing. Juneau is a lot of fun to wander around. Boat docks right in the heart of everything. Since were were on the last cruise of the season, there were some good sales.

Read TrixieLou's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.