Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Juneau Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dog sledding is a quintessential Alaskan experience- allow a team of strong huskies to pull you through Juneau's trails and countryside.
Member Image cbuneo531
1 review
Jul 2014

Amazing experience, played with puppies, and got a great lesson about the historical, and modern aspects of dog sledding. The only reason it got 4 stars was because the actual sledding part wasn't on snow, and it was a little short. Didn't take away from the experience too much, though.

Read cbuneo531's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Liquid Alaska Tours
Member Image Rosiemom
1 review
Jul 2014

Really enjoyed Juneau and our excursions.

Read Rosiemom's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image LilMsFoodie
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Era Helicopter tour with dog sledding is described above. One tour. Expensive but absolutely worth it.

Read LilMsFoodie's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Carlsarge
1 review
Jun 2014

The dog sled experience was wonderful. The best part was getting to hold the small puppies.
The setting was nice and we learned a lot about the dog sledding competitions. Worth the price.

Read Carlsarge's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TrixieLou
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Juneau was great. We took the Dog Sled Excursion and it was lots of fun. Great bus driver who gave lots of information. The dogs and puppies were amazing. Juneau is a lot of fun to wander around. Boat docks right in the heart of everything. Since were were on the last cruise of the season, there were some good sales.

Read TrixieLou's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MOMMIAD
1 review
Aug 2013

Daughter did the dog sledding and found the puppies absolutely adorable.

We took the "big blue bus" based on other reviews and I'll warn you now - they ask for CASH up front for both up and return trips - and their buses DO NOT LEAVE at the expected times. We ended up running for the bus 10 minutes before it was scheduled to leave and the driver did not stop so we had to wait another 30 minutes for the next bus. As it was a rainy day, that was the one downside to our entire cruise.

Read MOMMIAD's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tarheelmama
1 review
Aug 2013

Helicopter trip was spectacular! Puppies were lots of fun!

Read Tarheelmama's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image justretiredlovinit
1 review
Jul 2013

We went to see sled dog summercamp and were amazed at seeing these talented animals up close. Our guide provided more than enough information, he was knowledgeable and he answered all of our questions in an unrushed manner. Our sled ride behind a dozen dogs was interesting. We got to hold and pet a few 2 month old pups. I definitely recommend this activity while in Juneau.

Read justretiredlovinit's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Boishaaier
1 review
Jul 2013

It was extremely worthwhile to experience the dogs which one reads about so often.The guides were well versed and actually taught us a lot about this great tradition.

Read Boishaaier's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bamagirl123
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

The Dog Sledding was amazing. It was the best excursion we did.

Read Bamagirl123's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cuckoo32
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

this was a highlight

Read cuckoo32's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bkghosh
1 review
Jun 2013

The helicopter tour and the dog sledding experience was great, but very expensive.

Read bkghosh's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dave n
1 review
May 2013

Took the Dog Sled and Musher's Camp tour and were extremely disappointed. $139 each for a ride around a "track" in a wheeled cart behind some dogs. Had a couple pups to play with but we could not see the dog camp or anything related to the training. NOT worth the money.

Read dave n's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image FunGranny
5 reviews
Aug 2012
Too much talking by guide, not enough time to interact with dogs, too short a ride, and overpriced. This tour was a disappointment. This was a land tour taken be daughter-in-law and grandson.
Read FunGranny's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cruzlover64
1 review
Aug 2012
We were pickup right on time on the pier. After a short drive we arrived at the camp. We were loaded onto a cart with wheels and the dogs were eager to take off. It was an exhilarating ride. Our Musher was very informative - she is training her dogs to enter the 2014 Iditarod. As we were the last tour of the day and the dogs were eager we got to take a second ride. Then we met the dogs and were told about each of their personalities and why they were in the pulling position they were in. Then we went to an area where they show you all the gear that is used on these races. It was a very hands on experience. We also got to play with the 10 week old pups and then the 4 week old - so cute. We each gained a lot of respect for the mushers and the dogs. Fascinating sport.
Read cruzlover64's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Alaska Excursions
Member Image BMKguy
1 review
Jul 2012
It was great seeing meeting the dogs. 12 (?) of them pulled our party of 5 plus 2 handlers in an 800-lb training sled (wheeled vehicle) with ease. Not for everyone, but a must for dog lovers.
Read BMKguy's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ms. bear
1 review
Jul 2012
We were flown to the glacier in a helicopter. When we landed, we were given a tour of the dog sled camp. Then, we rode the dog sled down to another camp to be picked up by the helicopter. It was quite a long ride and we were each given the opportunity to drive the dog sleds. Awesome.
Read Ms. bear's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Coastal Helicopters
Member Image CruisingAg01
3 reviews
Jul 2012
The dog sled camp was great. I believe the camp is run by Blue Kennels, but the tour package is offered and managed through Coastal Helicopters. A musher met us at the helicopter and took pictures and introduced us to the dogs, etc. Very personable and we had a great time. I'm in awe of the beautiful landscape they live in during the summer. Highly recommend this tour!
Read CruisingAg01's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Coastal Helicopters
Member Image Freedom58
1 review
Jul 2012
We love dogs so this excursion was right up our alley. We were pulled by about 14 dogs on a cart with wheels through some trails just outside of Juneau. Then we had hot chocolate and were told about the dogs life, what they are fed, how they train for the Iditarod and Yukon races, we were shown the equipment they use during the races. We also were able to hold the pup's that had been born in the last 6 weeks.
Read Freedom58's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cnote2254
1 review
Jul 2012
Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this from Era Helicopters. I am not a complainer by nature, but these people just don't seem to care at all about customer service and how much money you've just spent with them. The helicopter ride was cool and the dogs were cool to meet. But, it was very rushed, quickly over, and impersonable. I could not help but feel like we were in "tourist harvest" mode. A week later and I am still not convinced it was worth anywhere close to the $1,000+ we paid for the two of us. And, we didn't book through the ship. Our big problem was that they ended up separating my fiancee and I on the helicopter ride over. We saw the note that they could separate groups for weight purposes... but a party of two normal weighted people? That is not a group. Part of the $1K is to do the trip together. When we expressed our concern, the goofy kids they have working the counter as the face of their company just laughed at us. When I asked to speak to the person in charge, they basically told us to suck it up. If it was my company, we'd re-focus on customer service, give a sincere apology and maybe offer some credit to the gift shop. What happened to good customer service and treating each customer with importance and respect??? The rest of Juneau was, frankly, filled with high-pressure salesman selling overpriced junk. Just browsing, they would ask you what your price range was, etc. I don't like that, it would be much better to just have good prices in the first place. The prices could not come close to competing with those on the ship in the duty free store, which is where we ended up making most of our purchases (Victoria was a notable exception). We ate at The Flight Deck and were met with crappy service like we were wasting the bar tender's time, even though our three meals were close to $100. The food was pretty good though, we got the crab boils (goof) and fried salmon (mediocre). The onion rings were amazing though... when asked what they were seasoned with, "I don't know, that's how they come in the bag." Very disappointed overall with Juneau. We felt that it was a total and complete tourist trap. I am happy that we spent no money other than our excursion and our meal.
Read cnote2254's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Era Helicopters
Member Image QuilterGirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
DS and DIL loved all aspects of this tour! Expensive, but worth it for the once-in-a-lifetime experience of helicoptering onto a glacier and then taking a dogsled ride. DIL later went to the Libby Riddles talk onboard Star Princess.
Read QuilterGirl's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image neelio
1 review
Jul 2012
My wife and daughter went to the doggy musher's camp and they enjoyed the experience thoroughly, the people were very friendly.
Read neelio's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Stiletto1958
3 reviews
Jul 2012
Dog Sledding on Medenhall Glacier by Helicopter.. This was a costly tour but worth every penny. My partner was initially reluctant to do the dog sledding portion but once we had flown over the mountains and glaciers to the Mushers camp she was able to see how excited the "Working Dogs" (not pets) were to be pulling the sled she had a complete change of opinion. A great excursion both fun and educational. A word of warning, take sun screen, we didn't and got sun burn. Sun glasses and overboots are supplied within the price of the excursion.
Read Stiletto1958's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image peggy33436
1 review
Jun 2012
We booked the dog sledding with ERA independent of the cruise line. With a $100 per person savings times 5 of us going, it was worth the risk. Our experience with ERA was top notch. I cannot say enough good things about the way we were treated every minute of the way.
Read peggy33436's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: ERA
Member Image LOU
2 reviews
Jun 2012
HELICOPTER AND DOG SLEDDING WERE ONE COMBINED INTO ONE TOUR. GREAT EXPERIENCE !
Read LOU's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: ERA
Member Image Pink35
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Left by way of helicopter up to a summit on a glacier and landed. There was a musher dog camp on the glacier where guides took us dog sledding for approximately 1 hour. The guides were very friendly and helped take many pictures with the dogs. We then took a helicopter ride back down to Juneau.
Read Pink35's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Port Promotions
Member Image treinke
3 reviews
Jun 2012
We did the glacier/dog sled with Era helicopters. This was the highlight for us. Another sunny day. Only wore a short sleeve t-shirt and light jacket on the glacier. By the afternoon I was sunburned and wanted to wear shorts. Ridiculously warm. I highly recommend doing this in your lifetime. There really wasn't much to do near the cruise docks once we got back.
Read treinke's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: ERA Helicopters
Member Image lifeeverchanging
1 review
May 2012
Wonderful! The helicopter ride was beautiful and the dog sledding with Sebastian's huskies was an added pleasure since he won the Yukon dog sledding in 2009. Absolutely great!
Read lifeeverchanging's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Coastal
Member Image hawaiijos
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2012
Excellent tour guide on the bus. Mushers were knowledgeable and friendly. Learned about the sport and the dogs and a great time was had by all.
Read hawaiijos's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SilverseaCruiser
1 review
Jul 2011
We were picked up with seven others and driven in a large van to the Helicopter base. There we were fitted with glacier boots and placed our bags in storage facilities. We were free to take a camera on the helicopter. We took a helicopter from approximately 10 minutes to the Mendenhall Glacier and witnesses spectacular sights on the way. One we arrived on the Glacier it was beautiful. We were introduced to our mushers and the dogs that would haul us across the glacier. There were two seats with a standing platform behind each. We sled across the glacier for half an hour. It was an absolutely wonderful experience.We took pictures with the staff, the dogs and the scenery. We were flow back to the helicopter base and then driven back to the ship. It was a truly unforgetable experience of a lifetime. We paid US$575 per person, it was well worth it.
Read SilverseaCruiser's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.