Skagway Scenic Drive Excursion Reviews

Skagway Scenic Drive cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Embark on a scenic drive from Skagway, past rugged mountains and picturesque log cabins and into the depths of Canada’s wild Yukon Territory.
Member Image brittani299
1 review
Sep 2016
We went on the Dyea Dave scenic drive to the Yukon. This is a great excursion and is very scenic. It is hard to explain in words how beautiful it is there. We stopped in Carcross and had lunch at a little local deli. Lunch ran about $15 for 2 people. The town of Carcross is very tiny but quaint. Lots of little historical facts in the town.
Read brittani299's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave
Member Image db5412
1 review
Sep 2016
Booked the bus to the top of the pass. Only rated a 4 because of the weather, but if you had taken the train which we did previously and had the same weather, you would have paid quite a bit more for the same views.
Read db5412's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Aliyah17
1 review
Aug 2016
Fabulous scenery and hike where you wish along the way to Carcross or Emerald Lake.
Read Aliyah17's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Avis car rental
Member Image emailbansal
1 review
Aug 2016
Take a rental car and drive to Carcross instead of Railway
Read emailbansal's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image westwindies
1 review
Jul 2016
Was privileged to see 'untouched beauty' of Alaska
Read westwindies's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mhwhidbey
1 review
Jul 2016
Didn't see exact title of our outing here, so I hope I selected the right one. or the record- ours was called the Yukon Territory Scenic Drive. Just excellent. Driver Doug was very knowledgeable about Yukon history and he stopped whenever he or we wanted to...like when we saw wildlife! (We were very glad we chose this instead of the train.)
Read mhwhidbey's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image markam
1 review
Jul 2016
Informative driver and saw about all there was to see. Nice scenery but probably should have taken the train tour.
Read markam's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image m6rtinfan
1 review
Jul 2016
More gorgeous scenery
Read m6rtinfan's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image flowery
5 reviews
Jul 2016
Beautiful, sunny day in Skagway We rented an SUV at the Avis office in downtown Skagway and took an amazing drive into the Yukon, to Emerald Lake. Our drive followed the train's route but the advantage to having our own car was better, longer views, better seating, the return was not monotonous- just as lovely returning to Skagway as the drive out to Emerald Lake. Carcross, a small crossroads, in the Yukon has a bakery with delicious coffee! The glacial blue and turquoise water surrounding Skagway and the Yukon lakes were stunning!
Read flowery's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Experienced Traveler2
1 review
Jun 2016
Jim, (one with Army flag on bus) our bus driver OUTSTANDING!!! Scenery excellent!! Stops on the bus like passing into Canada and returning very good.. Restaurant and musher's experience OK, but not as good as one in Juneau!! Love town of Skagway. Hope to get back there again.
Read Experienced Traveler2's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dixielou222
1 review
Jun 2016
Went to White Pass on independent tour. Very historical and saw black bear.
Read dixielou222's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Frontier
Member Image Barry J
1 review
Jun 2016
Had a very informative and humorous shuttle driver as our guide up the White Pass. He explained the history of White Pass and the Klondike Gold Rush in the 1800's. We stopped the top of the pass where you enter Canada and he actually was able to get us ahead of a bus tour crowd to get our picture in front of the "Welcome to Canada" sign. If not we would have probably not had the picture taken due to the large amt. of persons on the bus tour. There was only 8 of us on the shuttle so it made it nice to not have to wait for stragglers when we got on and off the shuttle.
Read Barry J's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruise nonna
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Too long a drive there and back and lunch was pretty awful. The scenery was very pretty and our bus guide very informative both up and back but they should make it a shorter drive and give out snacks instead of going to the lunch location.
Read Cruise nonna's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Skagway tours
Member Image Penelopesmom
1 review
Jun 2016
Magnificent scenery.
Read Penelopesmom's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lillyhen
1 review
Jun 2016
Best way to see Skagway and the Yukon.
Read lillyhen's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Car rental
Member Image bigeyedgirl
1 review
May 2016
to the summit Driver was very informative and funny Cost 1/3 as much as the railway
Read bigeyedgirl's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Tammy64
1 review
May 2016
The train ride was amazing, with view after view. We had some good food at Liarsville but had very little time to do anything else there. Because of some miscommunication, we were rushed away from Liarsville but weren't able to go to our next stop yet so we got to go to the overlook and then to the old cemetery which was nice.
Read Tammy64's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image gbachtx
1 review
May 2016
Great bus tour of the mountain pass -- but was fogged in so we were limited in our views. Saw a bid brown bear!
Read gbachtx's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Canuck Chick
2 reviews
May 2016
We took a bus ride up the mountain to the Yukon. Same gorgeous route as the train. Infinitely cheaper than the train and a whole lot less people.
Read Canuck Chick's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Alaska Coach Tours
Member Image FunInTheSun9
1 review
May 2016
We rented a car from Avis ($142 for a full size vehicle) and drove on the only road you can go on to get to the Canadian border. It took about 25 minutes to get into British Columbia (Canada) over the mountain range, giving you some idea how closely southeast Alaska hugs the coastline. The views are astounding here. Honestly, it looks like those perfect model train tables or dioramas – it is heavenly. The scenery does not give up for about 70 miles, through BC and into the Yukon Territory and up to Emerald Lake. The only real town on the main highway is about five miles from the lake: Carcross (was originally called “Caribou Crossing”). Nice shops, restaurants, and a visitor center are there. Just before the lake is the Carcross Dessert. It has sands dunes and everything, but is not actually a desert as the climate is wrong – but it sure looks like one, and it seems out of place there. It is really a dry lake where glaciers once stood and the glacial silt remained after the glaciers disappeared. If you do this drive, I recommend that you bring two things: 1. Your Passport. Canada may let you in without one, but the USA will give you a more difficult time getting back in without it, and 2. A “Murray’s Guide.” The Murray’s Guide is a $5 document you can download and print from murraysguide.com. It gives mile-by-mile (by milepost marker) highlights of what is flying by your car window and it will take you from the Skagway port all the way to Whitehorse (another 30 miles past Emerald Lake). Best $5 tour guide you will ever have.
Read FunInTheSun9's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Self Tour
Member Image NSnJW
1 review
May 2016
Bryan is great. His knowledge of Skagway and the Gold Rush is amazing. The Gold Rush tales are both entrancing and horrifying. The views from White Pass are beautiful. Bryan was entertaining and I don't remember him being stumped by any question about the Skagway area past or present.
Read NSnJW's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Southeastern Tours
Member Image coffeegirl1958
1 review
Sep 2015
We rented a car and drove up to the Yukon and Emerald lake. Wow what a beautiful drive. You can take all the pictures you want but they don't do it justice. Amazing
Read coffeegirl1958's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Debrajump
1 review
Aug 2015
There was beautiful scenery along this route. We went into the Yukon Territory which was amazing. This was our first time to be in Canada. The lunch at the restaurant was great. Great tour guide.
Read Debrajump's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tuitionowed
2 reviews
Aug 2015
We opted for the small bus with a 90 minute drive up to the White Pass instead of the train tour. Very pleasant tour with a very good local driver. Plenty of information with stops along the way. We were dropped off in town instead of the ship so we had plenty of time to explore the city of Skagway.
Read tuitionowed's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chumley1
1 review
Jul 2015
3 hours in bus! We did get out a few times. We did get close to a brown bear foraging for berries. We saw the suspension bridge. The driver was our guide and she was nice. Yosemite is more spectacular. Wish I'd spent my limited time in the town visiting historical places.
Read Chumley1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group LLC

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?