Skagway Gold Panning Excursion Reviews

Skagway Gold Panning cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Catch the gold fever searching for yellow nuggets in the heart of historic Skagway.
Member Image AG123456
1 review
Aug 2016
15 mins listening to guy about panning gold and had less than 10 mins to pan 6 oz of dirt. RIPOFF b/c kids were miserable.
Read AG123456's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image carolsuehogan
1 review
Aug 2016
Trip to Liarsville including gold panning. Yes, we found real gold flakes (not flour gold). It was a great recreation of the camp, with entertaining stories of the era. Recommend it very much.
Read carolsuehogan's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sagafemina
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Great fun with kids, booked locally with public transpo and saved a bunch. Also took home about $25 in gold, (or so they said) as a souvenir...
Read sagafemina's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rleefamily
1 review
Aug 2016
Fun!
Read rleefamily's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Kathylou
1 review
Aug 2016
The gold panning was fun but we had done this before so not a new experience. The big push was to have you put your gold into jewelry (costly) and if you chose not to your gold was handed to you in a film canister. Other places have small bottles or laminated cards for your samples.
Read Kathylou's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vickiduncan1987@yahoo.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Kinda hokey. Panned for gold you can keep it but wouldn't do this one again.
Read vickiduncan1987@yahoo.com's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kevin R
1 review
Jul 2016
We had a lot of fun panning for gold. The folks that were there were dressed in 1800's period clothes and very helpful. And yes, you get to keep the gold you find!
Read Kevin R's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DayStar
1 review
Jul 2016
Not as much fun as I expected. You are handed a pan with dirt & gravel already in it then lined up at a trough to swoosh water around to get to gold flakes smaller than a dirt speck.
Read DayStar's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 6thking@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Fun and kitschy as expected.
Read 6thking@gmail.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mujerlinda
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Train ride was beautiful as long as you could actually see outside the left side of the train windows. If you're forced to sit on the right, you miss a lot and it does take a couple of hours to get to the top. Panning for gold - not worth the time. Was bored by the guys dressed up in miner's outfits. Food was horrible. Certainly not worth this being an excursion you have to pay for.
Read mujerlinda's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Supertwinsmom
1 review
Jun 2016
Combined with liarsville. Kids loved it.
Read Supertwinsmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wangel
3 reviews
May 2016
Overpriced and hoaky
Read wangel's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ken the cruiser
3 reviews
May 2016
Had a great time. Make sure if you're riding the train TO the Yukon, you get on the left hand side of the car to have a better view of the valley floors.
Read Ken the cruiser's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Bobbie723
1 review
Sep 2015
Went to the dog sled/coal mining combo. Was fun. Love the gold trinket I panned then purchased. We were supposed to go to Liarsville but trip was cancelled
Read Bobbie723's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alaska_planner
1 review
Jul 2015
we did the gold panning and dog sled experience. We really enjoyed this. Very very well done!!!
Read alaska_planner's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bays
1 review
Jul 2015
The gold panning was at Liarsville after lunch and entertainment. It was okay. We didn't get much gold of course, but they did "salt" the dirt and made an effort to have everyone get some gold flakes.
Read bays's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bloversmish
1 review
Jul 2015
This was a good experience. Gold panning is a fun family activity. Our of our four people, we collected about $37 in gold flecks. We purchased a combo gold panning/railway package. We spent way too much time at gold panning (our tour guide wasn't great at setting expectations and moving things along). The tour of the dredge, which the tour guide led, also went on way too long. In the end, our entire tour was way behind schedule, and we were returned to the ship an hour later than planned. We had no time to see Skagway, which includes a cute four-block downtown.
Read bloversmish's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image swingking
1 review
Jun 2015
Kind of cheezy, but not bad if you know what to expect. Was disappointed with the salmon bake. Food was only so-so and very crowded, multiple tour buses there at the same time.
Read swingking's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image danieller811
1 review
Jun 2015
The goldpanning was fun. They also have the sled dogs there and they were the real draw! You don't get to ride in a sled but the dogs are fun and the puppies are adorable.
Read danieller811's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sewingbear2
1 review
May 2015
This experience was such a great time. The owner is a real character WE LOVED HIM! We even got GOLD! The staff were very fun and the food was simply delicious! Thanks to all the staff for such a very great time. Recommend you all do this, you won't regret it. We had never panned for Gold ever in our life and they were super patient and helped us every step of the way. Klondike Gold Fields were superb!
Read Sewingbear2's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruisegal83
1 review
May 2015
Although I would have made a terrible gold panner, I found this to be very true to the history of panning and lots of fun. Steak lunch was great as well.
Read Cruisegal83's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image knittinggirl
19 reviews
Sep 2014
Third part of this tour and the most disappointing. The gold panning was hokey, and they scattered some gold flakes around the trough to make it seem like you got some gold.
Read knittinggirl's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider:
Member Image AlaksaCruise
1 review
Aug 2014

We did the Gold Panning/Salmon Bake & White Pass Railway. If we were to come into this town again we would have walked to town - immediately taken the White Pass Railroad and then enjoyed the beauty/quaint little town of Skagway. We may have also done rafting, dog sledding or glacier point.
The gold panning/salmon bake is a waste of TIME and money. Do not buy in to this tourist trap. You are not in a river panning for gold (you are at a wooden table) and the salmon bake is not outside next to the river as I was hoping - it was in a building.

Read AlaksaCruise's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image niceguyneastbay
1 review
Aug 2014

Its ok. bit on the cheesy side. You get a history lesson about gold mining and some of the staff dress up.

Read niceguyneastbay's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Tarheelmama
1 review
Aug 2013

Pretty corny.

Read Tarheelmama's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?