Skagway Helicopter Tour Excursion Reviews

Skagway Helicopter Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Nothing beats observing Alaska from the air! Choose a helicopter tour for a bird’s-eye view of Skagway’s spectacular countryside and icy glaciers.
Member Image wulfrider
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Helicopter Ride on top of Mead Glacier and then 1 hour hike was amazing!! One of the coolest Excursions we have ever taken!
Read wulfrider's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jeanabean
1 review
Aug 2016
Beautiful scenic helicopter ride, landed on a glacier. Loved it.
Read jeanabean's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Rotenmutts
11 reviews
Aug 2016
This was the highlight of the trip. A real iffy day but the pilot was competent and very informative and the scenic views truly awesome. After landing on the glacier the guides were great too. Downside, was the pouring COLD rain which started 30 minutes after landing
Read Rotenmutts's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image brodydavidow
1 review
Jul 2016
This was a spectacular excursion
Read brodydavidow's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sjoneswrites
1 review
Jul 2016
The helicopter ride and glacier hike is expensive but truly worth the money. I cannot recommend it enough.
Read sjoneswrites's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ametrinel
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Took a helicopter out to a glacier and walked around on the glacier for awhile. My hubby had a chance to lay down on the glacier and drink directly from the glacial water that was running in a little stream.
Read ametrinel's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Behindtheboard
1 review
Jul 2016
Awesome sightseeing over the East Arm of Glacier Bay. Very cool flying over an ice field above the Glaciers
Read Behindtheboard's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Mountain Flying Service
Member Image rba12345
1 review
Jul 2016
Expensive but absolutely worth it when the weather is good.
Read rba12345's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image igmnfu24
1 review
Jun 2016
Once in a lifetime to step on and explore a glacier but could have accomplished the same without a cruise by flying into Juneau and booking an excursion from there.
Read igmnfu24's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mbotos
1 review
Jun 2016
Walk on the glacier was fantastic. Great experience with Temsco folks!
Read mbotos's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cinesage
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Glacier Discovery by Helicopter
Read cinesage's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Roxie2016
1 review
May 2016
Loved the helicopter ride and being able to explore the glacier for 1/2 hour.
Read Roxie2016's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ashleyhammond
1 review
Jul 2015
DO IT NOTHING AS GOOD. You feel like you are in the opening scene of Jurrasic World as you fly through the mountains. Simply breath taking. DO THIS!
Read Ashleyhammond's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ErnieButah
1 review
Jun 2015
Local helicopter company tour on a glacier. Very well organized. Safe. Nice young people guiding group walking on Meade Glacier! A vet fun time.
Read ErnieButah's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bdw4fx
1 review
Jun 2015
Helicopter with glacier walk. Nice ride with Temco Helicopters. Had hoped for dog sledding but it was not available last minute (prior port was canceled due to weather). Walk is nice and easy its a little rocky in parts but its really at your own pace.
Read bdw4fx's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TowMow
1 review
Jun 2015
It was awesome! Smooth ride, wasn't cold at all up there, beautiful views, drank glacier water from beautiful blue stream. Lifetime experience!
Read TowMow's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Boomy53
1 review
May 2015
Expensive but a experience of a lifetime. We flew to Chilkat Glaicier and landed. We got to walk around on the glacier and drink glacier water. The views from the helicopter were incredible. So much fun. 1 1/2 hour trip.
Read Boomy53's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MKS2015
1 review
May 2015
Perhaps the best moments of our trip - we took a helicopter to Mead Glacier and actually walked on a glacier. It was incredible. I was nervous about the helicopter but the flight was smooth and comfortable. The mountains and waterfalls we saw on the flight were breathtaking. If I could only pick one excursion on this trip, this would be the one!
Read MKS2015's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image St. Paul Sailor
6 reviews
May 2015
The Glacier Discovery Tour by Helicopter was great. The team did a good job ensuring our safety and showed us all about a glacier. We also enjoyed walking around town after our tour.
Read St. Paul Sailor's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image funkypanda
1 review
Sep 2014

The walk from the cruise ship to the helicopter port was very far. There is a shuttle and I would check for this because you can take the shuttle back to the ship. The helicopter takes you to the Mead Glacier and the views are spectacular. The glacier looks like the moon. It is just incredible. We were blessed with Sunny Weather and if you get good weather, I would strongly recommend doing this.

Read funkypanda's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image petals1958
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

We did the helicopter first. Expensive but worth every penny. my first time in one and is was smooth flying. The view was simply breath taking. all my pictures that were taken look like the could be post cards. It was cold up here, about 40 degress. Dress in layers. The guides were great and also informative. To walk around on a glacier and experience was one of a kind.

Read petals1958's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sstip
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

The helicopter ride was AMAZING!!! Well organized and fun to land and walk around on a glacier, because everyone in the group cooperated we had extra time to see things. the dog sled portion was cancelled due to the amount of rain in August. Skagway was my favorite town, very quaint, when you viewed it from the ship it reminded my of the show Northern Exposure. I would suggest that the cars that will take you to and fro continue with frequent shuttles towards the end of the day. we ran out of time and did not get to the falls and if the shuttles had ran longer we would have been able to get closer and would have made the walk in a timely manner.

Read sstip's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Temsco Tours
Member Image Blingz
1 review
Sep 2013

Glacier Helicopter trip with Temesco. You are briefed on helicopter safety while being driven from the ship to the Temesco headquarters where you are fitted with Glacier boots that fit over your shoes/ boots and a life jacket. There were 8 passengers per chopper. The trip to the Glacier was absolutely amazing!!! We probably only spent about 45 minutes on the Glacier. We were toured by our Glacier Guides around the area. The huge boulders and the beautiful blue ice is really something to see. It's very very cold and it was also raining on us too. You are not allowed to take any bags at all with you. I had to put my good camera and iPhone (camera) away because of the rain and use my waterproof camera for most of the pictures. Being on this Glacier put its size into prospective!be sure to wear a good rain jacket!! I highly recommend this trip!

Read Blingz's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ggroggey
1 review
Sep 2013

We booked our helicopter tour independently with TEMSCO Helicopters. This trip is a thrill of a lifetime, landing on a glacier and drinking the fresh glacier water. Although it is quite pricey, you can save booking it yourself and it is a must do! I was the most scared of this excursion but it was worth it! I took so many amazing pictures. TEMSCO was very professional and our guide was wonderful. I think his name was Mike. Highly recommended!

Read ggroggey's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image aautomo884
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Excellent excursion..must do

Read aautomo884's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?