Skagway Street Car Tour Excursion Reviews

Skagway Street Car Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Skagway’s street car, dating back to 1923, is a popular historical tour and mode of transportation to points of interest throughout the Alaska port.
Member Image TexasBelle
1 review
Sep 2016
Lovely costumed lady tells of the history of the city during the Stampede. Very entertaining.
Read TexasBelle's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Honest Reviewer
1 review
Jul 2016
Interesting stories about the history of Skagway. Tour was short (90 minutes) so there was enough time to shop for souvenirs when we were done.
Read Honest Reviewer's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image itgeekgal
1 review
Jul 2016
Tour guide was awesome! Learned a lot about history of Skagway as well as the lifestyle of residents today. Driver was funny, friendly and very helpful.
Read itgeekgal's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ElKabong
1 review
Jun 2016
Excellent guides, interesting tour.
Read ElKabong's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Shortridge
1 review
Jun 2016
This was a very historical tour that was funny as well, get Sabrina as a tour guide.
Read Shortridge's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CEOofVacation
1 review
Jun 2016
It was a short fun little bus ride with a good driver/guide.
Read CEOofVacation's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image v336
1 review
Jun 2016
Booked van from AVIS and drove on Yukon scenic drive. Great drive, lots of spots for picture taking,
Read v336's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image corner46rincon27
1 review
May 2016
Very entertaining and informative guide.
Read corner46rincon27's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image trivimp
2 reviews
May 2016
The street car tour was a highlight. Costumed tour guides were personable & hilarious... the narration of the gunfight between Soapy Smith & Frank Reid is worth the price of admission!
Read trivimp's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image laneygo2sea
1 review
May 2016
I recently had ankle surgery and wasn't too mobile, so took this tour. It was an absolute delight! A fun little trolley with a very energetic host, Nikki. Highly recommend.
Read laneygo2sea's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Skipjo
1 review
Aug 2015
Was nice tour. Being dropped off in downtown was nice and short walk back to the ship or shuttle ran very frequent to take you back to ship.
Read Skipjo's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruiser 10
1 review
Aug 2015
This was a very informative tour with our guide dressed in period costume and the little play at the cemetery was entertaining.
Read Cruiser 10's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Reg2010
5 reviews
Aug 2015
A basic tour in an old restored vehicle. Driver was great and had lots of local knowledge. Our only sunny day on cruise so enjoyed the outing.
Read Reg2010's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image alaska_planner
1 review
Jul 2015
tour of the city in a street car. This was excellent. Far better than we expected. Our guide was absolutely outstanding!!!
Read alaska_planner's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Susan K
1 review
Jul 2015
good tour of the town
Read Susan K's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Cynthiaschaefer
1 review
Jul 2015
This was my afternoon tour. Again, everyone on the streetcar was from the Navigator and we had plenty of seating. Our tour guide was a theatre major and was very dramatic in narrating the tour. She lived in town so she gave us the scoop on everything local.
Read Cynthiaschaefer's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image stalco
6 reviews
Jun 2015
Good tour. Seemed a little high price with tour and tips. Tour bus uncomfortable, but nice tour guides.
Read stalco's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mountain granny
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Our driver was just great. She is a full-time resident of Skagway, not simply a summer employee, which I think makes her a bit unusual and very knowledgeable about the town (my favorite of all the Princess stops). She (Mikala?) was animated and vivacious in her talk as she drove us all over the town, and even somewhat dramatic as she re-enacted the shooting of Soapy Smith while standing by his headstone in the old cemetery. Just a real cracker-jack, who made the whole trip fun. Another excursion well worth the money. We had taken the Yukon-White Pass Railway excursion on a previous cruise (also an excellent trip), so this was a nice alternative we'd highly recommend.
Read mountain granny's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image andre4259
5 reviews
Jun 2015
Great tour for when you have already done the train.
Read andre4259's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisegal83
1 review
May 2015
Very good tour! Loved it. This town is charming and stuck in time. You learn all about its rich history and see all the major points. I would highly recommend this tour.
Read Cruisegal83's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Michael Biles
1 review
May 2015
A conducted tour through Skagway witha knowledgable local guide dressed as a 'Good tiime Girl'. Gave an entertaing and informative talk about the town and took us to the main sites. After the tour we were able to stroll down main street which was very good. You could imagine what the town was like during the Gold rush.
Read Michael Biles's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Sore feet1
1 review
May 2015
Great overview of the "city", the guides couldn't have been more fun or entertaining. Neat to see that Boyd Cottington redid the vehicles. Costumes were a nice toiuch and it was just a good , fun experience.
Read Sore feet1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ahimsa
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Not much to see in this town, it is very small but it's economy is based on cruise tourism. We were due to take an active excursion via Catamaran to Haines, but my husband developed a cold and wasn't feeling up to it. We ended up on the street car tour of the town which gave the history of Skagway and was really entertaining. We didn't want to join the masses wandering through the shops, so this was perfect. It was inexpensive, short (maybe 2 hours) and interesting. If you want something quick, it's perfect.

Read ahimsa's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image James M
1 review
Sep 2013

Having been to Skagway once before we chose the Street Car tour this time. It was interesting to learn about the town and then ride up to the overlook to view the town and port. We stopped at the cemetery to learn about the town villains of times gone by. The White Pass Scenic Railway tour is also worth taking.

Read James M's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rookie44
3 reviews
Sep 2013

Our guide was quite funny and very knowledgeable. Made for a great tour. Typical tourist town and shops with all the same products. Great for a walk about.

Read Rookie44's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?