Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Skagway Street Car Tour Excursion Reviews

Skagway Street Car Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Skagway’s street car, dating back to 1923, is a popular historical tour and mode of transportation to points of interest throughout the Alaska port.
Member Image stalco
5 reviews
Jun 2015
Good tour. Seemed a little high price with tour and tips. Tour bus uncomfortable, but nice tour guides.
Read stalco's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image andre4259
5 reviews
Jun 2015
Great tour for when you have already done the train.
Read andre4259's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisegal83
1 review
May 2015
Very good tour! Loved it. This town is charming and stuck in time. You learn all about its rich history and see all the major points. I would highly recommend this tour.
Read Cruisegal83's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Michael Biles
1 review
May 2015
A conducted tour through Skagway witha knowledgable local guide dressed as a 'Good tiime Girl'. Gave an entertaing and informative talk about the town and took us to the main sites. After the tour we were able to stroll down main street which was very good. You could imagine what the town was like during the Gold rush.
Read Michael Biles's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Sore feet1
1 review
May 2015
Great overview of the "city", the guides couldn't have been more fun or entertaining. Neat to see that Boyd Cottington redid the vehicles. Costumes were a nice toiuch and it was just a good , fun experience.
Read Sore feet1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ahimsa
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Not much to see in this town, it is very small but it's economy is based on cruise tourism. We were due to take an active excursion via Catamaran to Haines, but my husband developed a cold and wasn't feeling up to it. We ended up on the street car tour of the town which gave the history of Skagway and was really entertaining. We didn't want to join the masses wandering through the shops, so this was perfect. It was inexpensive, short (maybe 2 hours) and interesting. If you want something quick, it's perfect.

Read ahimsa's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image James M
1 review
Sep 2013

Having been to Skagway once before we chose the Street Car tour this time. It was interesting to learn about the town and then ride up to the overlook to view the town and port. We stopped at the cemetery to learn about the town villains of times gone by. The White Pass Scenic Railway tour is also worth taking.

Read James M's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rookie44
3 reviews
Sep 2013

Our guide was quite funny and very knowledgeable. Made for a great tour. Typical tourist town and shops with all the same products. Great for a walk about.

Read Rookie44's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Chris555
2 reviews
Jul 2013

We had an 8:30am Skagway Yellow Taxi tour. Our driver and tour director was Charity. Charity was an actress, dressed up in old fashioned clothes who gave the running commentary of the tour. Charity was very likeable and friendly, but her 'schtick' didn't sit well with us. We didn't find her humor funny. We wished the 90 minutes was filled with more facts and less jokes. We first viewed the other docks on the bay for 10 minutes, which was a waste of time. Then RV Parks ' who cares? Main Street was fine. Overlook was ok. You could see the very cute town below with their international airport. Her house ' again, who cares? It was one of the nicer homes in town, so she must get good tips. She did tell us of their winter activities which was perfect because that is the kind of stuff you can't get in books. But 90 minutes is way too long. The Gold Rush Cemetery had hokey speeches on the crooks buried there. Way too much drama for our taste. The vehicle was clean and well maintained. You couldn't take a photo of any of the buildings because she drove to fast past them. Take a walking tour instead; the town isn't that big.

Read Chris555's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vered4
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Our guide was full of life and told us lots of interesting things about Skagway....we enjoyed her energy.
Read vered4's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.