Skagway City Tour Excursion Reviews

Skagway City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take in the beauty of Skagway with a tour focusing on its rugged culture, stunning scenery, and fascinating history.
Member Image suzidc@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2016
We did not travel with passports so were unable to go on the train, (which turned out to be a blessing) We had originally thought we would just walk through the town and go to shops since we had not gotten many souvenirs yet. I am sure a real shopper could have spent the day this way, it was a really neat town... I was bored in about 30 minutes and the Harley store wasn't open yet We had coffee on a side street and people watched for a while and then we wandered into a store that advertised tours, moped rental, and had a snack counter with mini doughnuts (we would have done the moped rentals if it had not been raining and foggy). We booked a tour with Skagway Day Trips, gateway to adventure... phone 907-957-2551. We had a while before the tour started so we were able to hit the harley store and come back.. we sat and talked to the guys in the tour shop.. there is no better way to find out how people really live. It turned out the other group booked into our time called and said they were eating and would not be there for at least another hour. The company took my husband and I out at our scheduled time. We basically had a private tour that was catered to us and our interests. We went to the same location that the train does (it was foggy and we could not see the view, which is what I heard from those that did ride the train)but we took a walk and saw the forsaken valley where trees where no higher than my waist and over a 100 years old. We stopped at look outs, and drove to the flats to try to see bears we also got to see things that tourists never get to go to, because through conversation our guide thought we would be interested. It was an amazing and relaxed day. BEAWARE.. the shuttle to town here was $2 per person per trip or $5 for a day pass.... many of the tours will drop you back off at the ship or pick you up there. No one told us about this charge and the shuttle was free in Juneau.
Read suzidc@yahoo.com's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Skagway Day Trips
Member Image cuquimex5
1 review
Jul 2016
Great guide, easy for us old folks.
Read cuquimex5's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vbalthazor@hotmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Lots of nice stores and things to see.
Read vbalthazor@hotmail.com's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Chippewa74
1 review
Jun 2016
This tour gives a description of the ladies of the evening who worked in Skagway during the Gold Rush. The tour was a lot of fun and I'd say it's really for adults rather than children. If you don't mind a bit of bawdy, take this tour. It only takes a couple hours so you can fit it in with another excursion.
Read Chippewa74's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HappyTraveler2
1 review
May 2016
Enjoyed the city tour very much.
Read HappyTraveler2's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Nicknet
1 review
May 2016
The bus tour of the city gave a history of the city thru current population, etc. taking us up to Canada past the summit, the smallest suspension bridge, etc.
Read Nicknet's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image gbachtx
1 review
May 2016
City tour with the "goodtime girls" is outstanding. It is an easy walk of the town and with a very educated and informative guide -- as well as funny!
Read gbachtx's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Fezndids
3 reviews
May 2016
We actually did two separate excursions in Skagway, The City tour with days of 98 show and the Good time Girls and Ghosts walk. The City is quite small to tour, however the Days of 98 show was excellent, don't miss it. The Good time Girls and Ghost Walk was the best excursion of the whole trip, great fun, great guide, very entertaining and highly recommended.
Read Fezndids's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jpd43
2 reviews
May 2015
Nice history lesson of the gold rush years. Tour guides in period costumes.
Read jpd43's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image stacystephaniebean
1 review
May 2015
We loved our 3 port stops. You can eat, drink and shop all day. And that's exactly what we did. We met people and they were extremely nice as well as all the store employees.
Read stacystephaniebean's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LadyValkyrie
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

This was by all means much better than riding the train to the summit. The tour guide gave us a history tour of Skagway, took us to the old cemetery and gave us history on who was buried there, a short hike to a beautiful waterfall, and then on to the summit. Our guide rocked. She took all of our pictures and was extremely patient with the guests who didn't speak English and who kept running late.

Read LadyValkyrie's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jim Henry
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Free and very informative of the town and the early gold rush.

Read Jim Henry's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: National Park Service
Member Image Deck Chair Dave
3 reviews
Jun 2014

Again did it on the cheap found a free tour of the city offered by our national parks. A ranger took us around and gave us quite a talk. It was great. Afterwards went to Red Onion for some refreshments.

Read Deck Chair Dave's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 56suzy
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We had walked into town and happen upon a tour in progress with a National Park Ranger. This young man did an excellent job walking us around town explaining it's history and it's Free!

Read 56suzy's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: National Park Ranger
Member Image kellerwynn7
1 review
May 2014

The driver/guide was a little over the top but very entertaining and informative. We got to see a lot of Skagway and she knew a lot of it's history. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the tour.

Read kellerwynn7's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image peter grant
8 reviews
May 2014

Having taken the White Pass trip previously, we opted for the expensive ($42pp) but interesting old-time trolley tour. Skagway is not over-filled with attractions, but this tour, nicely narrated, makes the best of them.

Read peter grant's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ski2pla
1 review
Aug 2013

Skagway has so little to offer, I would not get off the ship to see the town. I understand that the train ride, whale watching and hiking are good if one is up to it physically.

Read ski2pla's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Spot649
1 review
Jul 2013

Skagway Street Car City Tour was raised from the normal tour to a tour with so much fun and it was all because of "Charity" she says it's her real name lol.
She makes this tour because of her down to earth attitude and love of the area, a must do in Skagway.

Read Spot649's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Parasols
1 review
Sep 2012
We pre-registered on line with Frontier Excursions for a guided van ride up to Carcross (you go through BC and into the Yukon Territory to get there). They charge just under $100pp, includes a BBQ lunch. You get to see sled dogs - lots of them. You can ride a dog sled here for about $37.75 for 15 minutes and a little more for a half hour. There is a coffee shop, museum and gift store here as well. Take this excursion- you will see many beautiful sites. Many people opt for a train ride - from what I have heard, it is a waste of money. You never get off the train, and it only goes a third of the way as this guided van tour will take you. If you decide to take this Frontier Excursions tour, make sure you bring your passport. They take you around Skagway as well.
Read Parasols's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions
Member Image Colleen.Pilgrim@gmail.com
1 review
Sep 2012
We chose to take a bus tour for about $48 per person, that followed the same path as the train that cost $169 per person. We had a great driver that was very informative about Skagway and Alaska. She made several stops for us to get out and take pictures and we got to take pictures by the Welcome to Alaska sign as we crossed over the border into Canada. We really enjoyed the tour.
Read Colleen.Pilgrim@gmail.com's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Viator Travel
Member Image Chryssie
1 review
Aug 2012

This tour was on the 'yellow' bus. It was fun. A year round local lady was the guide. She took us up to the cemetery and gave a very good accounting of the 'Soapy' Smith murder. She also gave us some great info on what life was like the rest of the year when the cruise ships aren't coming in. Nice tour and I'm glad we took it.

Read Chryssie's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chryssie
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012

This was a 3-in-1 tour. We took a ride up the Railway to Fraser, where we stamped our own passports! Lovely ride - sit on the left side of the train for better views and pics. You can hear the guide inside but not when you're outside on the train. Then it was a bus ride back down to Liarsville for a show and salmon bake. The food was better than we expected it to be. Walked around a recreation of a camp from the goldrush days. The show a bit hokey but fun and then we panned for some gold! Found my few flecks and then made my way to the gift shop which was very nicely stocked. Then back onto the bus to Skagway proper and the Red Onion Saloon. 20 minute tour with a glass of wine or madam's punch (lemondade). Then we chose to get off in town to do some shopping. This left at 740 am and lasted till about 2pm. Nice rounded tour.

Read Chryssie's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image myracle777
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Skagway isn't much of a "city", but the tour was OK. Liked the graveyard.
Read myracle777's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image maganini
9 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2012
We had a brief tour on a drive up to White Pass Summit. The scenery in Alaska is second to none and we found, having travelled on various cruises, Alaska to be the most wonderful, scenic with fresh air and incomparable photo ops.
Read maganini's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image orangetaxi
1 review
Jul 2012
It was focused on the Klondike gold rush. It was apparent that Skagway would not exist except for tourism. The entire city is operated by the national park service.
Read orangetaxi's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?