Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Hiking Excursion Reviews

Juneau Hiking cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Juneau's trails offer the perfect opportunity for hiking throughout the area. Enjoy learning about Alaska's unique wildlife while catching glimpses on its popular species.
Member Image mbjbride06
1 review
Sep 2013

The hiking tour was superb! We did about 4.5 miles on trails around the park area surrounding the Mendenhall. Loved getting out in the fresh air on a gorgeous day. Great guide.

Read mbjbride06's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image elpyjabapol
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Excellent hike with Jonny from Gastineau Guiding.

Read elpyjabapol's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jatimer
3 reviews
Aug 2013

Did the Guide Choice Hike. Had beautiful sunshine and a great day. We did it with our teens. There were two other couples also in our party. The hike was described as a hard hike. It was a really good climb at a fairly brisk pace but not extreme. We saw the salmon heading upriver and had tremendous views of the glacier and mountains. Had a really good guide, Cortney, who was confident and informative. We were given a couple of choices of things to do. It was a great workout, informative, and gave views those who just shuttle over to the glacier do not get. Our guide even extended our time by a little bit to try to find bears (which we never did see). We arrived back at the ship at around 12:15 so still had time to see some of Juneau's downtown.

Read Jatimer's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Thoth
10 reviews
Sep 2012
Guide's choice hike to Mendenhall Glacier...wet, very wet....but lots of fun !
Read Thoth's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kodiaktexas
1 review
Sep 2012
We visited the glaciar and hiked out to the waterfall. Everything was beautiful.
Read Kodiaktexas's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ihatecruising
1 review
Jun 2012
Our guide was a bit of a novice, but the hike itself was beautiful and about 5 miles.
Read ihatecruising's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image newcruiserATL
1 review
Jun 2012
Friendly guide, great views.
Read newcruiserATL's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kc1126
1 review
Jun 2012
I can't say much about the city because I didn't walk it or go shopping. However, take advantage of the hiking and other nature excursions in order to see the "real" Alaska - skip the annoying jewelry shops!
Read kc1126's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image elaine3Southport
1 review
Jun 2012
Saw Bald eagles in city dump next to WalMart.
Read elaine3Southport's full Wilderness Discoverer cruise review
Provider: Un-Cruise Adventures
Member Image oiler_fan11
1 review
May 2012
We rented a car from Rent-A-Wreck and after stopping at the Alaskan Brewing Company for free samples, we drove out to Mendenhall Glacier. We stopped into the Visitor Center to watch the new movie "Glacier on the Move" and then hiked the East Glacier Loop. It was amazing how packed the visitor center was and how NO one was on the trail. The trail offered breathtaking views of the glacier, waterfalls and rain forest. It was also a great hour long up and down workout. We then drove "Out the Road" with stops at the Shrine of St. Therese and Eagle Beach. A beautiful drive!
Read oiler_fan11's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Staffieri
1 review
Aug 2011
Me and my 13 year old son did the level II. The weather was horrible, so I can't imagine how much better the sites would look in clear weather. When I called I could not have received better service and information. The customer service from phone call to guide was outstanding. This is a very expensive tour about $399 a person. It is a once an lifetime experience. They picked us up and brought us to the office. Here you receive lots of help and gear. Your gear is jacket, pants, boots, ice crampons, fanny pack with snack and water, helmet, all the gear you can imagine to go hiking on a glacier. Remember this is not a walk on the ice. It is an adventure!! You are out on the glacier for two hours. Our guide was amazing at giving us instructions, pointing out and showing us amazing sites. And drinking the fresh water. There were only 5 of us. So it felt very personnel. The helicopter ride was very exciting. I am 40 years old and overweight and I could do this but it was hard and a workout. My son loved it and had no problems. Next time ice climbing!!
Read Staffieri's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: NorthStar Trekking

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.