Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau City Tour Excursion Reviews

Juneau City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Part rugged fishing village and part government center, Juneau is a fascinating town. A guided tour of the Alaskan capital includes the Mendenhall Glacier, a real salmon hatchery, and more.
Member Image camperfan
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Best of Juneau a great choice. Saw too many whales to count!

Read camperfan's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image genealogyfan
3 reviews
Aug 2014

Didn’t book anything ahead of time. We were thinking of going up the Roberts Tramway but had been told if it was cloudy/overcast you wouldn’t be able to see anything. Clouds hung around the top the whole day.

Booked a city trolley tour from one of the excursion booths at the port. It was informative and interesting – we got off once across the water for a nice view of Juneau and the ships. Walked around the town and were surprised that with several ships in Port more stores weren’t open earlier. With the recommendations of others – had lunch at Tracy’s Crab Shack and was definitely worth it. The crab bisque was really good too. Also got the mini crab cakes.


Read genealogyfan's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image castles117
1 review
Jun 2014

I could not see a lot from my side of the bus, but it was still a very interesting tour.

Read castles117's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TexasDavid7
1 review
May 2014

This city tour was a part of the trip out to the Mendenhall Glacier and back. The operator took a different route through town each way explaining where we were and what we were seeing. It was not an extensive tour of the city but sufficient as a portion of another excursion.

Read TexasDavid7's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image DCCruiserX1
1 review
Sep 2013

The library, Wal-Mart, and McDonald's featured prominently. We also got to waive at the driver's sister walking down the street. The only interesting thing, for me, was the Governor's Mansion, I was shocked. There was a box fan in an open window.

Read DCCruiserX1's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Travelgrandma10
5 reviews
Jul 2013

Tour and tour guide, Clifford, were excellent. We learned a lot about Juneau, saw a lot of the city and Mendenhall Glacier.

Read Travelgrandma10's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursion
Member Image Parasols
1 review
Sep 2012
City Tour and Mendenhall Glacier. Just about every tour company waiting for you charges $8 each way for the shuttle to and from the glacier. $30 for a tour guide who takes you to the glacier and in and around Juneau. The guide really was interesting (a Tlingilt sp? tribe member). You might see bears around the glacier- its pretty safe.
Read Parasols's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Don't recall
Member Image DesertGirl28
1 review
Sep 2012
Got this at the end of the pier after our whale watch tour never showed up. 14 passenger van so we went on streets the big buses couldn't. Would have liked more time at the glacier so we could walk to the waterfall, but driver said you would have to walk really fast to make it in 45 minutes. Used our Sr National Park pass to get into the Visitor's Center.
Read DesertGirl28's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Last Chance Tours
Member Image rickyace33
1 review
Sep 2012
The rainforest and the glacier were very interesting and well worth the tour. The salmon hatchery is a joke. There is one person who stands on the ramp and speaks into a very poor microphone for about 5 minutes. There is one "ladder" to see, then they run you inside to the gift shop. The salmon hatchery in Seattle is far superior, with many more pools and viewing areas, and it is free.
Read rickyace33's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image NWHairGal
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Not much to see. The Governors Mansion was pretty, but other than the fast food highlights, not worth the money.
Read NWHairGal's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ShamrockFL
1 review
Aug 2012
We had intended taking the MGT bus to the Mendenhall Glacier $16 each roundtrip and doing the Mt. Robert's Tram ourselves. We stopped at one of the tour vendors just off the ship and she convinced us to take a full city tour which would include the glacier for $25 each. That seemed like a better idea so we did that. Our driver was a long time city resident and ex-coast guard member, so he was very well versed in the city and provided good commentary. He took us out to Douglas Island which is really just across a channel from the mainland and you can look back at the harbor. Then we went all around the main city and he gave us some of its history, but when all is said and done there is very little of real interest to see in places like Juneau
Read ShamrockFL's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image usermom
3 reviews
Aug 2012
This was a quick drive by on our way to the Hatchery. The driver was knowledgeable, but we could barely see sights from the bus since it was rush hour and there was no stopping time.
Read usermom's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image LovesTeachingHistory
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
It was raining so badly and we had just spent hours hiking at Mendenhall so we didn't really explore the town much. We did a quick lap and found everywhere to be very crowded due to the 5 ships in port that day. We did have a great lunch at the Hangar restaurant with a view of the port and the sea planes flying in and out. Great halibut fish and chips and plenty of delicious Alaskan beer :)
Read LovesTeachingHistory's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: myself.
Member Image LoungeFly
1 review
Jul 2012
I will not recommend this tour or this company. The driver was almost like a kid reciting from memory. But the worst part is what they sell you on. The view from Douglas Island was ok. And they have the option of dropping off in Mendenhall Glacier - which is the last stop. The tour has 45 minutes, or you can stay behind and take a shuttle back to the dock. However, the shuttle you can take has to be the one operated by that specific tour company! This sucked! As there were other buses going completely empty. Even other tours from the same company would throw you out, or not take you in. You have to wait for the shuttle which stops at a differnt place. And one driver from this company, was so reckless in his driving - he almost bumped into another company bus, and actually bumped into a private vehicle, in a span of 10 minutes. Be warned, if you take the shuttle from a specific company, you have to take the shuttle back from the same company! Make sure you ask about the timings of their shuttle, or make sure you have enough time to get back to the dock!
Read LoungeFly's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image luvteaching
4 reviews
Jul 2012
Good tour - we went to Mendenhall Glacier and had about 75 minutes there, then to McCauley Salmon Hatchery for about 30 minutes. Also included a city tour.
Read luvteaching's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dutchboy2
1 review
Jul 2012
Good but guide lacked enthusiasm
Read dutchboy2's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image GICNJC
2 reviews
Jul 2012
walked town and tour capital buildings
Read GICNJC's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image elaine3Southport
1 review
Jun 2012
went shopping in Juneau and hiked around city.
Read elaine3Southport's full Wilderness Discoverer cruise review
Provider: Un-Cruise Adventures
Member Image brock!1
1 review
Jun 2012
Good oversight of the area, enjoyed personal comments from driver who was a native Alaskan Indian
Read brock!1's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AZDee
1 review
May 2012
This really was just a drive from the port to the glacier,,,
Read AZDee's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image eggplant7
2 reviews
Sep 2011
Thoroughly enjoyed the coach ride highlighting the sights of Juneau. The guide was very knowledgeable and especially enjoyed the amazing Glacier Gardens portion of the tour. The all-terrain vehicle ride up & down the mountain to see the view from the top of Glacier Gardens was a highlight of this tour. Enjoyed having enough time for some serious shopping! Would highly recommend!
Read eggplant7's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.