Juneau City Tour Excursion Reviews

Juneau City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Part rugged fishing village and part government center, Juneau is a fascinating town. A guided tour of the Alaskan capital includes the Mendenhall Glacier, a real salmon hatchery, and more.
Member Image westwindies
1 review
Jul 2016
Nice city with good history and culture
Read westwindies's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image clovis_12000@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Believe it was a little expensive, $170 for being rushed at the Glacier and the Hatchery with lots of time left over at the Salmon Bake
Read clovis_12000@yahoo.com's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Offthebeatentrack
1 review
Jul 2016
This was a great way to hit the big sights of Juneau! It included a tour of the town, photo stop and unlimited trips on the Mount Roberts tramway. The guides were great and we really enjoyed the tea tasting at the top of the mountain. It really brought the experience together.
Read Offthebeatentrack's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mitch.farmer@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
The salmon fishery was interesting.
Read mitch.farmer@gmail.com's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Garsh
1 review
Jul 2016
Basic overview of city and transportation to Mendenhall Glacier visitor center.
Read Garsh's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jayoh
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Bus tour, then to view Mount Medenhall and an alpine garden
Read Jayoh's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Jing2le_bells
1 review
Jul 2016
Our bus driver was hopeless. He just talked about his family, his in-laws, etc. We had to ask about the population of Juneau to coax him to give us more info about Juneau. We should just have taken the shuttle at the port, much cheaper.
Read Jing2le_bells's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image holliscar@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Very interesting. Included in cruise price
Read holliscar@yahoo.com's full Chichagof Dream cruise review
Provider: Alaskan Dream Cruises
Member Image Scoop368
2 reviews
May 2016
City/glacier tour.
Read Scoop368's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MikeD4134
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Trolley ride around town with narration from the driver. Cute and somewhat informative.
Read MikeD4134's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image pmgoff
1 review
Jul 2015
Do this independently.
Read pmgoff's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sammie511
1 review
Jul 2015
City is neat and clean, lots of jewelry and fur store.
Read sammie511's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sherry Stein
1 review
Jun 2015
An excellent tour guide with awesome sights. Mendenhall Glacier was awesome and learned more from the forest ranger on site. Shopping in town was interesting but unfortunately almost everything is made in China with local art quite expensive.
Read Sherry Stein's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Geranium Blooms
1 review
Jun 2015
We decided to get on board a bus and see the sites of the town. Our guide was fun and enthusiastic and enjoyed living in Juneau year round.
Read Geranium Blooms's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ravenmb
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Our bus driver was AWESOME (Phil, not Phillip, that's what his mother calls him when he's in trouble). I learned a lot about Juneau and it was all told in such a relatable way. We had just enough time at the glacier to hike up to the falls, which I highly recommend. The visitor center wasn't worth going into, IMO.
Read ravenmb's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Last Chance Tours
Member Image stuklein27
1 review
May 2015
Bus driver was very knowledgeable and interesting about Juneau.
Read stuklein27's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Boey
1 review
May 2015
Captain - introduction was good
Read Boey's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Al15005
1 review
May 2015
The city tour was very good. Price was worth the tour. We drove all over the city and across the bridge to Douglas. It was organized and not crowded.
Read Al15005's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image camperfan
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Best of Juneau a great choice. Saw too many whales to count!

Read camperfan's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image genealogyfan
3 reviews
Aug 2014

Didn’t book anything ahead of time. We were thinking of going up the Roberts Tramway but had been told if it was cloudy/overcast you wouldn’t be able to see anything. Clouds hung around the top the whole day.

Booked a city trolley tour from one of the excursion booths at the port. It was informative and interesting – we got off once across the water for a nice view of Juneau and the ships. Walked around the town and were surprised that with several ships in Port more stores weren’t open earlier. With the recommendations of others – had lunch at Tracy’s Crab Shack and was definitely worth it. The crab bisque was really good too. Also got the mini crab cakes.


Read genealogyfan's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image castles117
1 review
Jun 2014

I could not see a lot from my side of the bus, but it was still a very interesting tour.

Read castles117's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TexasDavid7
2 reviews
May 2014

This city tour was a part of the trip out to the Mendenhall Glacier and back. The operator took a different route through town each way explaining where we were and what we were seeing. It was not an extensive tour of the city but sufficient as a portion of another excursion.

Read TexasDavid7's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image DCCruiserX1
2 reviews
Sep 2013

The library, Wal-Mart, and McDonald's featured prominently. We also got to waive at the driver's sister walking down the street. The only interesting thing, for me, was the Governor's Mansion, I was shocked. There was a box fan in an open window.

Read DCCruiserX1's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Travelgrandma10
7 reviews
Jul 2013

Tour and tour guide, Clifford, were excellent. We learned a lot about Juneau, saw a lot of the city and Mendenhall Glacier.

Read Travelgrandma10's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursion
Member Image Parasols
1 review
Sep 2012
City Tour and Mendenhall Glacier. Just about every tour company waiting for you charges $8 each way for the shuttle to and from the glacier. $30 for a tour guide who takes you to the glacier and in and around Juneau. The guide really was interesting (a Tlingilt sp? tribe member). You might see bears around the glacier- its pretty safe.
Read Parasols's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Don't recall

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?