Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Montego Bay Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Montego Bay Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Getting around to all the 'must sees' of Montego Bay is made easy with a tour of the island.
Member Image PepDoccruise
1 review
Jan 2016
Shopping was not at a nice location and the Craft locals were menacing to say the least!
Read PepDoccruise's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gimbloom
1 review
Jan 2016
We purposely chose to do a very relaxing excursion as we had done the popular active ones previously. This tour was very laid back, great guide and bus driver(s). Toured mostly the wealthy areas of Jamaica with some historical locations added. Too long at the shopping stops for my taste. Mostly high end jewelry.
Read gimbloom's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Judy82
1 review
Jan 2016
The catamaran tour was canceled because of rough seas. So we chose this tour at the last minute. The tour was the least enjoyable. I have to say the female tour guide was good fun and knowledgable with a great sense of humour who taught us quite a bit about Jamaican Culture. We did not see much of the Island, the tour was mainly driving 30 km down a dual carriageway with a detour to a small town called Falmouth. But Swamp Safari is not very good. It was more of a very small zoo ( admittedly surrounded by swamp) comprising a few birds and mammals in cages and the crocodiles. We were required to wait approx 30 minutes before we could enter. It was very smelly and the treatment of the animals is not particularly humane in terms of how they are housed and some appeared distressed. We had the option of holding a baby crocodile which had its snout clamped with elastic band so it could not bite. And you could pay $5 to be photographed with the hapless creature. Being a swamp area it attracts insects and my husband was bitten. The only vaguely interesting aspect was that the Bond film Live and Let Die was filmed here and some of the filming sequences were shown. Interesting but again not much fun for the crocodiles. I would give Safari Swamp a wide berth.
Read Judy82's full Braemar cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image ncmays32
1 review
Dec 2015
Not much I can say about my tour of Montego Bay. It was a bus tour with a quick stop to do some shopping. Since it was raining, we didn't get a chance to stop by beach. And the one beach that we passed on the tour was one that I wouldn't have stopped at anyways.
Read ncmays32's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image branfam4
1 review
Jun 2015
We got in one of the busses ($5 per person to the beach/hip strip) but ended up staying with them for a tour of the area ($20 per person). They drove us around for a few hours... showed us the area, showed us Rose Hall, stopped for shopping, stopped at The Pork Pit for lunch (jerk chicken) and then dropped us off at the beach for about an hour and a half... then picked us back up and took us back to the ship. They were so informative and nice! We made a great choice by letting them give us a tour!
Read branfam4's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image edeel5
1 review
Dec 2013

When we disembarked from the ship we thought we could walk into town which was not the case. We decided to take a taxi tour. The cost was $25.00 each for up to three hours. The tour was very nice and we got to see the whole city. The driver was a very good tour guide. The driver also took us to the Shoppes at Rose Hall and then downtown to shop. She parked and waited for us to go into several stores to shop and then brought us back to the ship. It was a very pleasant day.

Read edeel5's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image trvlwithkids
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

I loved Jamaica the people are so friendly, Pushy about you seeing their booths but very nice very friendly and enjoyed the island so much I would definitely go back.

Read trvlwithkids's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ilvinorosso
2 reviews
Oct 2013

Stay on the ship instead of taking this tour. The excursion in Jamaica was really a downer. Our bus drove through town and the highlight of the tour was a drive through the airport parking lot. Last stop was at Margaritaville. Stay on the ship.

Read ilvinorosso's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CoachJeffro
1 review
Jun 2012
Multi-activity individual tour, whatever we wanted to do. Top notch, individual service! We did shopping, visited a produce stand, spent time at the beach, ate local lunch, and ended at Margaritaville.
Read CoachJeffro's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: knowjamaica.com

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.