Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ocho Rios River Rafting Excursion Reviews

Ocho Rios River Rafting cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Discover the best-kept secret in Ocho Rios as you take an exhilarating journey through pools and gentle rapids down the scenic river.
Member Image gatordad96
1 review
Jun 2015
Well run, easy, relaxing, fun...staff were wonderful...highly recommend
Read gatordad96's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nikki5775
1 review
Apr 2015
Staff on tour and River tubing were great!! Natanja was our tour bus guide and the river rafting guide was Devon. both were wonderful! We were suppose to get food and drinks with our excurions. Food was very minimal and we were offered 2 drinks.
Read nikki5775's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chipanddale
1 review
Apr 2015
Guided tour that is great for a family of all ages. Organized with friendly workers. Can get lunch there after rafting. They take pictures along the way, which are more reasonably priced than most excursions like this. There is no hard sell.
Read chipanddale's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sjraver
1 review
Mar 2015
I would like to give this excursion 5 stars. I believe the tubing part of it deserves that! The shopping part of the excursion was horrible. The river guides were wonderful. They were always making sure we were safe and staying away from the bushes. They sang songs and entertained us. My 7 year old son did this with us. He loved it! It was relaxing, but had enough small rapids to add excitement. There were 7 people in our group. I think this was everyone's favorite excursion out of the entire cruise! I would recommend this for anyone! You won't be disappointed! I do have to say that the shopping experience we had after tubing was less than stellar. We didn't realize we were going to be taken to a small village to shop. Many people in our group did not bring money. They assured us our belongings would be safe on the bus while we were tubing, and it was, however, beforehand, people only brought off the ship, what they could bring with on the tube in the river. At the small village we were split into small groups to "share the love". The people in the shops were very pushy and would not let us leave. We were done shopping and ready to get on the bus, but the shop owners/worker kept grabbing us telling us our bus was not ready (we could see it parked not too far away). They did this to other people in our group as well. They were all in different shops. They just wanted us to stay and spend money. It was not a pleasant experience at all. I could have done without that stop. The tour guide on the bus was fun and had a lot of information. We did make another stop at a different part of town. That was much more pleasant to shop there. Again, many people had no money with them as they didn't know we would be stopping to shop. Overall, the tubing is spectacular! You will have a blast! Come prepared to do a little shopping and be aware of the pushy salesman and women at the small village.
Read sjraver's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image veromojo
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Chukka River Tubing - Was very enjoyable but not too exciting. Pictures are taken by employees and sold on a dvd. We purchased 20 pics for $50. Bus ride was very interesting and a bit scary!! Oscar was a bus driver and he was so nice and fun and we did tip him extra. Gingerbread was our river rafting guide and he was very nice as well. Didn't like the pushy sales people as we were trying to get in the river. Annoying!

Read veromojo's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image walldor2
1 review
Apr 2014

Did the raft ride on Martha Braie River. Slow moving river, and enjoyed: One word: relaxing. Unfortunately, it's a 90 minute ride from ship...chance to see some of the country side.

Read walldor2's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SurferLou
2 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2014

Loved the tubing! This was worth the cost. We were on the river for over an hour, and enjoyed the beautiful Jamaican scenery.

Read SurferLou's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ober134
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Great time! highly recommend for couples, families! We had a blast.

Read ober134's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image BlazerBeau
5 reviews
Mar 2013
loved the excursion. shopping area is looking pretty run down.
Read BlazerBeau's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image quercus alba
3 reviews
Mar 2013
Nice combination of quiet floating and some mildly adventurous rafting. Good guides.
Read quercus alba's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Calypso Tubing
Member Image iqinaction
1 review
Feb 2013

A no thrills gentle float down a river - with an occasional fast water / shallow river - very mild white water. Had a good guide with very reasonable english. Had a very nice lady guide on the bus ride to & from the docks as well. We would have liked to book a few more things to do but could only get this one event in the time between dock & departure. Completed the rest of the 2 hours shopping and eating at the port town.

Beware outside the port area you are in Jamaica with all of the petty theft that occurs. Strap everything you have to your body. We lost our shoes under a table at an excluded beach after only 10 minutes!!!! For this reason, and not all that much to do at this port, we'll not be taking any more trips to Jamaica!

Read iqinaction's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LLA68
1 review
Feb 2013
Relaxing and fun
Read LLA68's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Leap'n Tree Frog Traveler
1 review
Dec 2012
Costa Med. did'nt even know this excursion existed. You call yourselves excursion expert, Your a Joke! I beleive this is one of the BEST (Top 4) excursions in the Caribbean. Imagine a slow river 2mile/hr. gondola ride on a 30 foot bamboo by 4 ft wide raft with a soft padded chair on back and a Bob Marley singing eco-minded captain of the front of the raft guiding you along a tree/flower covered 1-3 ft deep river. This was the ONLY reason we took this cruise. My father wanted to do this on his 85 birthday... and we DID IT! without the cruiseships help. We had a BLAST! 2nd time doing it. If you are on a honeymoon, you have got to do this, with wine, grapes etc. Very Romantic and NOT crowded. Only two other people on the river. All the people that went to Ocho Rios (Thousands) saw crowds just like on the ship. Shame on the cruise for not finding original and uncrowded exotic things for travelers to do. Like I said the Costa MED is as IGNORENT as they are RUDE! Ow did I mention "They Sunk A Ship"
Read Leap'n Tree Frog Traveler's full Costa Mediterranea cruise review
Provider: My self
Member Image rkb1970
1 review
Dec 2012
We all had a blast! Even my mother in law, who was very nervous. But the water was fairly calm - just a few rapid areas - and the guides were hilarious. Highly recommend!
Read rkb1970's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image afcolcpa
1 review
Dec 2012
Great time, easy rapids. Family friendly.
Read afcolcpa's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kristpin
1 review
Nov 2012
http://courtneytay.wix.com/jamaicajh We decided to book our tour threw Courtney based on the amazing reviews on cruise critics. And let me tell you that everyone is correct in saying Courtney is the best way to go when visiting the island. We went down the white river and although they said it had rapids they were medium but fun and inbetween the river was lazy.
Read Kristpin's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Courtney Taylor tours
Member Image jimdanahar
2 reviews
Apr 2012
They did a great job of entertaining and informing us. We never felt overwhelmed by the local merchants. This was my favorite excursion of the whole trip.
Read jimdanahar's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Peat Taylor Tours
Member Image Dilla Girl
1 review
Feb 2012
We have visited many Carribean ports, and Ocho Rios, Jamaica is the best yet. We went tubing on the White River, and it was wonderful. Be prepared for some brief rapids and going down with a large group. The long ride up through the mountains was beautiful and interesting, and the float down the river was great fun with some of the best guides anyone could ask for!
Read Dilla Girl's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dolfan2681
1 review
Feb 2012
A great experience and beautiful views. The pushy locals selling trinkets were more than annoying but just ignore them.
Read Dolfan2681's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image atlcruizr
5 reviews
May 2011
Jamaica was ok. We booked a rafting excursion which was a nice chance to see some of Jamaica's rain forests. The bus ride to the site was long, and the excursion itself was interesting but just ok.
Read atlcruizr's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.