Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas City Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a tour of beautiful St. Thomas, from its thriving urban center to the many popular attractions and duty-free shopping locations.
Member Image weltek
5 reviews
Jan 2016
We've done St. Thomas a few times before, and yet didn't feel like we saw all the island. Based on Cruise Critic reviews, we decided on Godfrey because of the value (two free drinks included) and we wanted a good narrated tour. Loved the stop at the botanical garden..the view was awesome, it wasn't crowded and it was interesting to look at the birds, trees and bushes. Tip: sit near the front if you want to easily hear the tour over your fellow passengers chatting. We ended our day at Mojos outdoor bar at port. Swings, great food (seasoned chicken wings, hand pattied burgers on their outdoor grill) and reasonable drinks. And free wifi with purchase! On our last two cruises, that's been our end of day ritual.
Read weltek's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Godfrey Tours
Member Image AlaskaTravele
1 review
Dec 2015
25 people crammed in a hot, sweaty, open air trolley. 1 and 1/2 hours late returning to ship. Botanical garden really is not one - it is a lovely, mountain top setting for private parties. The "rum drink " there tasted like Hawaiian punch.
Read AlaskaTravele's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Godfrey Tours
Member Image lClarke0723
1 review
Nov 2015
Very friendly, good tour, but very difficult for handicapped persons to board.
Read lClarke0723's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Sonny Liston
Member Image cruisecruisetoo
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Very good value for money and great tour of city
Read cruisecruisetoo's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: ChicagoTours
Member Image Boopy1226
1 review
Oct 2015
Nice tour guide very informative.
Read Boopy1226's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dreadnw
1 review
Jul 2015
Tour Guide was Happy and fun. Great sites.
Read dreadnw's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Sunny Liston Tours
Member Image leeb331
1 review
Jun 2015
Great informative tour
Read leeb331's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Sunny Liston
Member Image CruiseStyle18
1 review
Jun 2015
Picked up @ port on time, visited scenic places for pictures, Mountain Top, local bar for a fresh banana daiquiri, and Coki Beach. Beautiful crystal clear waters, great for snorkeling. Amazing conch fritters and Jerk Chicken!
Read CruiseStyle18's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Queen Marian Taxi Service
Member Image Airforcegirlvp81
1 review
May 2015
Was $25 not worth the money. I would have liked to see a beach too. He only brought us to view the island from certain points. The safari buses you ride in are not very reliable
Read Airforcegirlvp81's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vdfuller
1 review
May 2015
Had a great time in St. Thomas. We toured the island on our own with a Tour Guide. He took us to various places on the Mountaintop. It was an awesome experience.
Read vdfuller's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MLevin
1 review
May 2015
Great way to see the entire island and do some shopping. The busses are open air so it can be a bit warm. They are not well equiped for those with mobility challenges.
Read MLevin's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Joe VA
1 review
May 2015
We were taken to a flea market type, tented area where merchants sold their wares. Prices were very good but it was congested and the area didn't feel very safe.
Read Joe VA's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SewMuch
1 review
Apr 2015
Started with some shopping time in the main shopping district full of liquor stores and jewelry shops. Then spent a lot of time in an open air taxi riding up and down hills, with very limited time at a few stops. Some people went straight back to the ship while others were dropped off at Coki Beach or Megans Bay for awhile.
Read SewMuch's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Godfrey Tours
Member Image hotcruisers
1 review
Apr 2015
Well worth it if you want a short but informative idea of the island and what it has to offer.Doing it with a reputable guide and a knowledgeable one enhances the tour.
Read hotcruisers's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image OCtravelernottourist
1 review
Mar 2015
Lovely overview of St. Thomas with stop at the botanical garden located at a beautiful former home. Most amazing photo ops. Stopped as well at Magen's Bay. This is a beautiful beach with Los of amenities (chairs, food, showers, etc.). Lots of shady areas and 2 hours was a good break.
Read OCtravelernottourist's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cessna98f
2 reviews
Mar 2015

The driver was interested that we knew where to purchase items we needed. Was very helpful to help us find a sandwich and drink when we were hungry and took us personally into a sandwich shop to be certain we would not make the tour late.

Read cessna98f's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Raymond's Island Tours
Member Image Sherrylee3
1 review
Jan 2015

Nice tour but we would make sure the tour guide spoke better English couldn't understand him, but he tried, good guy

Read Sherrylee3's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image beckyberry822
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

St. Thomas Friday, January 16, 2015 8am - 6pm
We did the BEST OF ST. THOMAS excursion. This is an absolute beautiful island. With this excursion we were taken to the Great Mountain Top where we were able to get a view of Magen's Bay and a delicious Banana Daiquari which was worth the $12. It was very tasty. We were also able to get some souvenirs, but they were rather pricey. We stopped at another part where we got more of a view of St. Thomas and St. John and there were vendors selling souvenirs at much better prices. We got all our souvenirs here. Then we went to the Great House and Botanical Gardens where we were given a complimentary virgin and alcoholic Rum Punch which went down great. You served yourself and were able to go back for more. The views were breathtaking. The temperature was 81 degrees and it felt great. This is basically the temperature year round. I could definitely move there. This was definitely my favorite port of call on this cruise. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and very informative throughout the excursion. I would definitely recommend this excursion, especially if you don't want to do a lot of walking or sitting at the beach.

Read beckyberry822's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Traveler 601
2 reviews
Dec 2014

Standard tour. Some view stops too short. Coral World very interesting. Guide knowledgeable.

Read Traveler 601's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image CARODYNE
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

We took a city tour from an open air truck and our tour guide was FANTASTIC. He would stop at various points and let you get out to take pictures, he took us to the highest point which was breathtaking to look down on the ocean, you could see other cruise ships, etc. Good choice for us.

Read CARODYNE's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image john1549
1 review
May 2014

A good tour but the beach would have been better.

Read john1549's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Donald1946
1 review
Feb 2014

These ships make a fortune off these trips. Way to expensive for what you get!!! Wish I had the money back for excursions on St Thomas and ST Maarten!! I was stupid and regret it. St Thomas was ok. It is more crowded at Megan's Beach than it used to be. Downtown shopping was ok too. Crowded too! Is there a limit on how many ships they will let in port at one time? Maybe there should be. No more expensive excursions for us!! We will take a cab or something. You have to see the bay from high up because it is beautiful to see.

Read Donald1946's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mychickadee
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014


very interesting and beautiful

Read mychickadee's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: taxi
Member Image laurensc325
1 review
Dec 2013

Once we got off the ship, we found a bus tour. The tour took us to some shopping areas, beautiful views from the top of the island, and to a beach. We got to spend some time in each of these places.

Read laurensc325's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lindakay13
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Awful. 7 Ships in port created traffic gridlock. Streets are terrible. Not much to see. Beach was packed and restaurant and bar were packed so we packed up and took a taxi to town immediately. Town crowded so we took a taxi back to the ship which was a much better place to be.
Read lindakay13's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.