Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas City Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a tour of beautiful St. Thomas, from its thriving urban center to the many popular attractions and duty-free shopping locations.
Member Image CARODYNE
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

We took a city tour from an open air truck and our tour guide was FANTASTIC. He would stop at various points and let you get out to take pictures, he took us to the highest point which was breathtaking to look down on the ocean, you could see other cruise ships, etc. Good choice for us.

Read CARODYNE's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image john1549
1 review
May 2014

A good tour but the beach would have been better.

Read john1549's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Donald1946
1 review
Feb 2014

These ships make a fortune off these trips. Way to expensive for what you get!!! Wish I had the money back for excursions on St Thomas and ST Maarten!! I was stupid and regret it. St Thomas was ok. It is more crowded at Megan's Beach than it used to be. Downtown shopping was ok too. Crowded too! Is there a limit on how many ships they will let in port at one time? Maybe there should be. No more expensive excursions for us!! We will take a cab or something. You have to see the bay from high up because it is beautiful to see.

Read Donald1946's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mychickadee
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014


very interesting and beautiful

Read mychickadee's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: taxi
Member Image laurensc325
1 review
Dec 2013

Once we got off the ship, we found a bus tour. The tour took us to some shopping areas, beautiful views from the top of the island, and to a beach. We got to spend some time in each of these places.

Read laurensc325's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lindakay13
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Awful. 7 Ships in port created traffic gridlock. Streets are terrible. Not much to see. Beach was packed and restaurant and bar were packed so we packed up and took a taxi to town immediately. Town crowded so we took a taxi back to the ship which was a much better place to be.
Read lindakay13's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image melissa07
1 review
Mar 2013
Did the island tour on a bus. Awesome...views were spectacular. Guide was wonderful. Went shopping afterwards. Shops get to be very similar after you've been in a few. Loved this port!
Read melissa07's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Buffalofirsttimer4
3 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2013

We got shopping, informational tour of the island & beach time -all for $30 PP, great time!!!!

Read Buffalofirsttimer4's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Godfrey Tours
Member Image awhfy
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Great taxi around island could have used more shopping time
Read awhfy's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image slandreas
1 review
Jan 2013
They took us into town to shop which was fun. Our driver George was very nice and told us a lot about the island as we were driving from the beach to the shopping area. I went to a store to buy Pandora Charms and they served champagne which was an added bonus.
Read slandreas's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image egfel
1 review
Jan 2013
Toured the shops and open air market. The quality of merchandise is fantastic.
Read egfel's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image shanghai88
1 review
Dec 2012
fabulous tour takes you to the top of several mountains. 2hrs in duration. Typically charge $25 p/p but can get $20 no problem. Well worth the money to see this beautiful landscape. Didn't want to leave.
Read shanghai88's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Deisi Taxi
Member Image andre4259
4 reviews
Dec 2012
Saw the whole island like the locals do.
Read andre4259's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Ali & Sons
Member Image the bruin and the duck
1 review
Nov 2012
We went to Blackbeard's castle ($14 admission/per person is steep for what you get to see. We cannot recommend this. We also did a city tour for $30 where we saw a few photo ops and went to the banana daquiri place. We opted to go to Coki Beach over Meghan's Bay because we only had 2 hours (part of the tour). If you remember one thing, it is this, do not go to Coki Beach. That was my singular biggest regret of the whole trip was having to spend 2 hours there. Meghan's Bay and or Sapphire Beach would be much better choices. Having gone on the tour I cannot recommend it either-it was rather boring unless you are a history buff although our tour operator Godfrey was nice enough. I would recommend just spending a day at the beach.
Read the bruin and the duck's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Godfrey
Member Image DeepBlueSeeeeee
2 reviews
Nov 2012
The tour stops at many of the highlights of St. Thomas -- Mountaintop among them. There is plenty of time to take pictures, shop, bathroom breaks, etc. The tour guide was informative and entertaining and very patient, as well, when my sister-in-law did not return to the bus at the specified time.
Read DeepBlueSeeeeee's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Itsdbfromdb
1 review
Sep 2012
Great excursion.. Started going to megans beach which was absolutely breathtaking.. Stopped for a scenic pic or two along the way.. Drivers were crazy on the windy roads but was fun.. Went to blackbeards castle next.. Was fun, was able to sample alot of rum and see some historic sights while there.. Last was "downtown shopping" which was good, i would advise to explore some other than the pier shops by the ship, we found a store downtown with ship antiques which was amazing.. Caught a ferry ride back on a pirate ship and that was the day.. Overall fun day, gorgeous place
Read Itsdbfromdb's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Gravedigger
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
25 people on the tour 2 hours in town shopping then a tour of the island including mountain top. Very loud music and not enough discription of what we were seeing
Read Gravedigger's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: sunny liston
Member Image ugadan67
1 review
Jul 2012
St. Thomas was a very nice island. The shopping is mostly jewelry and liquor. We took a ride with locals and they should us some of the sights and tried a Banana Daiquiri. We went to an exclusive beach and the water was crystal clear.
Read ugadan67's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mick4reg
1 review
Jun 2012
Walk out of the LONG-WALKWAY!!! from the ship,,to the Taxi stand (Took about 20-minits) Paid $4.00 Each for the ride to downtown, and the shopping area,,walked around spent a Lot of money and had a great Meal by the water and then took a Taxi back to the Ship,,,
Read mick4reg's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image rlpresley3959
1 review
Jun 2012
Rode around in an open air bus taking photos of scenery at different stops along the way. Nice, but I'd rather snorkeled.
Read rlpresley3959's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image deck2261
1 review
Jun 2012
We took one of the bus tours outside for a local excursion. It was fun.
Read deck2261's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: not sure
Member Image sjcruiser
6 reviews
Jun 2012
Grabbed a shuttle/open air shuttle off the pier for a tour of the island with stops and highlights from Mountainview or Mountain Top and Megan's Bay. Great views of the ships and bay, and great shopping. Cant wait to go back.
Read sjcruiser's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: N/A
Member Image brino99
6 reviews
Not Rated
May 2012
We toured St. Thomas with Godfrey of Godfrey Tours. We took the Shopping and Siteseeing Only tour. It was $25.00 a person and a great value. You can't go wrong with Godfrey. He was knowledgeable and you could understand what he was saying (a big plus with me).
Read brino99's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Godfrey Tours
Member Image kumbaya99
1 review
May 2012
Did a city tour with Godfrey's Tours. Very inexpensive ($25.00) and well worth it.
Read kumbaya99's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mike Atkin
1 review
May 2012
Waste of money and totally unsafe tour. Horrendous boat-ride over choppy seas and no warnings or help from a two man crew ! Many people were ill and several were soaked. The tour guide was useless and the island is dirty and very old and tired. We took a ferry back to St Thomas and took a taxi back to the ship! Did not like the island at all.
Read Mike Atkin's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ppines
3 reviews
May 2012
Tour Guide was horrible. The speaker in his bus was inaudible making every word garbled. I did not hear a word he said. His name was Raymond and that was the last thing I understood. The open air safari bus needed some maintenance! The number of jewelry stores was overwhelming! And the shop owners are very pressuring. I did not enjoy shopping.
Read ppines's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Le Cruiser
4 reviews
Apr 2012
nice trip around the island, decent beach (Magen's Bay Beach), but shopping was wanting. Large "tent city" of vendors, although other shops were within walking distance.
Read Le Cruiser's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image pupsmama
1 review
Apr 2012
We had 13 reservations for a private tour of the island and shopping. It ended up being a tram that piled in as many persons as could fit. The tram took us into town and dropped us for 3 hours of shopping. We went through the flea market and in and out of several stores and had a delightful lunch in a sidewalk cafe. The tram then picked us up and drove us up a steep incline to the top of a mountain where there was a huge souvenir junk shop with an exquisite view of St. Thomas. The highlight of the trip was the RUMRUNNER I had at the bar in the junk shop; it was SUPERB! The tour price wasn't bad - $28. godfrey@godfreytoursvi.com
Read pupsmama's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jpeace121
1 review
Apr 2012
Loved St. Thomas, Magen's Bay was the most beautiful beach we have ever been to. Blackbeard's Castle was interesting, and a nice change of pace from the beaches and swimming. Didn't like the avalanche of jewelry stores in downtown Charlotte Amalie, but with some searching we were able to find some other places to shop to find the things we were looking for (don't be afraid to take detours down the side streets!).
Read jpeace121's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image seattletrvlr
1 review
Mar 2012
Guide very disappointing. Liked the open air vehicle. Mountain View great and Blackbeard's' Castle interesting [primarily self-guided]. Self guided walk through historic town including church and government buildings. Not everyone comes to St.Thomas to shop!!!!
Read seattletrvlr's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image luvmyjrt
1 review
Mar 2012
Good overview of the island with opportunities to take photos, shop and dine.
Read luvmyjrt's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Shay's Sister
1 review
Mar 2012
I have to give this a poor review for the following reason: our bus driver made several racist & bigoted comments. I could not WAIT to be away from him. When he wasn't discussing the Japanese and the French (he's not a fan) we enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Once he dropped us off at Blackbeard's castle we had a much better time but his comments really were off-putting.
Read Shay's Sister's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hehny
3 reviews
Mar 2012
We made the mistake of doing a shore excursion. The tours are all given in long jeeps, no air conditiong and very bumpy. We could barely understand our tour guide, who mumbled in a thick accent. He took us up the coastline instead of driving around the city. He seemed to work on island time, we spent half an hour looking at some overlook while he smoked a cigarette. We were dropped off at bluebeard's castle for a self guided tour (not worth it). St. Thomas is really for the shopping, a shame we did the tour. Would have been five stars but for that!
Read hehny's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image fishguidebrian
1 review
Feb 2012
Had a great Island tour on our way to Blackbeard's castle from a local and then on to the tour, which included the castle, rum factory, amber museum and several old colonial era houses. Very well worth it. Shopping on our way back to the ship and the water taxi back to the Pier was nice too!
Read fishguidebrian's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jfroschauer
1 review
Jan 2012
As a first time cruiser, this seemed like a logical choice to get a good sense of the island. We saw some interesting things and found some great places for pictures but I found myself wondering if I could've spent my money on something a little more exciting.
Read jfroschauer's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TeMich
1 review
Dec 2011
City is where the dock is. There are lots of shopping stores and some restaurants in the area.
Read TeMich's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.