Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Sailing Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Sailing cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Escape the crowds of St. Thomas and venture off on a sailing cruise around the island and to some of its secluded, breathtaking locations.
Member Image Mollyny
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

By far the BEST excursion ever!!! We did an excursion on Bones pirate schooner - worth every cent and every minute. I cannot say enough good about Al, Dillon and Daren - who were the crew on our boat. They made this as exceptional as it was. The sailing was unreal. The snorkeling was great - saw sea turtles, swimming and the beach were beautiful. The bbq on the beach was very good!! We did book this through Celebrity because it was an all day excursion it was a bit more expensive, but - we just didnt want to take the chance of getting back late. The boat won't leave without you if you book through them.

Read Mollyny's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dive4pam
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2014

Loved this sail all day long to St. John's and honeymoon beach. Our captain kept us out of foreboding weather and gave us an excellent BBQ's onboard lunch with homemade drinks that were great! Even a margarita which is unheard of on excursions. I am so tired of bad rum punch on ship's excursions that I always ask for water. This sail was great. No more than 6 people go on the jester and there is plenty of room for R&R on the boat. I love the fact that music was in the background, not the foreground and we met some great folks on the cruise as well. Honeymoon beach was stunning and not crowded because the hoards do not go there.

Read dive4pam's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Jester Sailing Adventures
Member Image vjpers
5 reviews
Aug 2013

Went on Captain Mike's the Fury. Awsome sailboat ride to Buck Island where we snorkeled with the turtles. Great trip. We went back and did some shopping. One of the best stops!

Read vjpers's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Madmaxcruisecritic
1 review
Dec 2012
This was by far our favorite tour on a 1954 all wood sailboat for 6 persons. It was most relaxing, great staff and food, and wonderful rum punch! Couldn't have asked for a better day! Thanks Capt. Dave and Shelby!
Read Madmaxcruisecritic's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Morning Star cruises
Member Image Luvsailing
5 reviews
Nov 2012
We took the Caribbean Sail to Christmas and Honeymoon Beach. This was an amazing excursion. The schooner, Silent Lady, is absolutely wonderful. The captain and crew were terrific. We snorkeled in an area full of turtles and other interesting fish. We had a barbecue on Honeymoon Beach with plenty of time to relax. Best excursion ever.
Read Luvsailing's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nascarfan24
1 review
Sep 2012
Sailing trip with Morningstar very nice
Read nascarfan24's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Morningstar
Member Image waternut_9
1 review
Jun 2012
Sailed on a small sailboat(High Pockets) for 6 people. Just our family of four and the captain, Kathleen and first mate Melissa. WONDERFUL DAY!! Snorkeled, swam and a wonderful lunch was included. We will do this again if we visit St. Thomas again. Friendly people, not pushy at all.
Read waternut_9's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: High pockets sailing
Member Image Engine643
3 reviews
May 2012
This was our second trip on the Rumbaba and had a wonderful time sailing to St. John where we snorkeled, swam and ate a fabulous lunch that was grilled to perfection on the sailboat. While at St. John we visited two different spots where there was hardly anyone else at.
Read Engine643's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rumbaba Sailboat
Member Image jenninlaca
3 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2011
In St. Thomas we had booked a sailing excursion with Morningstar Charters to take us over to St. John and go snorkeling. This has come highly recommended on the St. Thomas message boards and it did not disappoint. We had purchased this directly from Morningstar for $135 per adult as a holiday gift to each other and had been planning on leaving the kids in Camp Carnival while we went. Obviously that did not end up being an option. Not knowing whether we could take the kids on the sailboat (either due to age or whether there was room), we decided to just take the taxi that they had pre-arranged for us and go to the place and see what they could do. The backup plan was for my husband to take our toddler, and both kids if necessary, to a local beach. It turned out that we were the only ones who had booked the sailboat that day (the capacity is only 6 plus 2 crew) so they gladly took the whole family, assuring us that they had young children on board before and it was fine. Sure enough the waves lulled my toddler to sleep on the way over and back from St. John. We had a really cute and friendly captain, Mike, and his girlfriend, Bridget, as our private crew. Bridget is a bartender on St. John so she made some great drinks and while we were anchored for snorkeling they cooked up a delicious grilled lunch. It was amazing what they were able to book on that little boat. It was one of the best meals of the trip. A really relaxing beautiful day. The taxi ride over from the port was about 20-25 minutes with some good views of the island. Then we walked down some steep stairs to the water edge and met Mike who took us in a dinghy out to the boat. After a safety briefing (kids have to wear life jackets) the ride over to St. John was about 60-75 minutes. We anchored in a great spot and had plenty of time to swim and snorkel, with all equipment provided. Mike taught Adrian to snorkel and let him "drive" the boat for a bit. He even took video underwater and emailed it to us. It was a really nice day and I would recommend Morningstar to anyone including people with young kids. The excursion was about 5 hours. The Dream is in port until 8 p.m. in St. Thomas so you have plenty of time to get back. Taxi going back was arranged. Taxi was $10 pp each way, so plan on bringing enough cash for that.
Read jenninlaca's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Morningstar Charters

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.