Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Coral World Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Coral World Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture off on an informative park tour to see many of St. Thomas' historic wildlife and lush gardens, and learn about ancient myths and legends.
Member Image Linnikins
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

We enjoyed St. Thomas, our next port. We decided to take a tour to Coral World and Coki Beach. Coral World is an ocean park dedicated to education and preservation of marine life. It was uncrowded, clean, and had beautiful and informative exhibits. Coral World provides lockers and showers for beach goers at Coki Beach, a few steps away. Coki Beach was quite crowded as there were 3 cruise ships in town on that day. They charged $15 for 2 lounge chairs and an umbrella. The snorkeling was the best I've experienced in a very long time. The coral formations were beautiful, the variety of fish were colorful and plentiful. I'd go back in a heart beat just for the snorkeling.

Read Linnikins's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image sipbailey1
1 review
Jul 2014

Extremely disappointed. We did the Coral Land and Coral Sea. We paid over 100.00 for this. We were picked up at the dock after waiting for 30-40 minutes. We were told to meet at Station 5. The sign for station 5 was leaned against the railing of the pier about 3ft off the ground. It was blocked by 2 people who were not aware it was even there. We walked back and forth and asked a couple of workers who both gave us different answers on where to find the Station. Anyway, we finally got into a CAB which was a F-250 chassis with open air seating in the back which would hold about 20 people. He took us to the far side of the island. We were instructed to meet at the stingray pond for the Coral Seas Semi Submarine at 3:30. We went inside the park where there was a hot dog stand, a small tank with a few baby sharks, nurse sharks and a few fish, the "Underwater Observatory" aka A Joke, a small touch pool with some sea cumbers, start fish, and sea urchins, a gift shop which had an attendant who wished you had not joined her, an aquarium building with a few tanks, two parrots, a couple of turtles, and the stingray pond with 4 rays. The highlight was the semi submarine, but there really was not much to see. This was billed as kid friendly and for the most part it is. My Son begged me to take him to beach and I probably should have saved the 100.00 and took him there instead. There was little or no additional time to actually see the island.

Read sipbailey1's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image coledavidson
1 review
Jun 2014

Great day! The exhibits were great and it was clear that the animals were well cared for. The iguanas that don't leave you alone while you're eating are a little annoying, but it's all part of the experience. We had a great time and would do it again. Only downside is that we could have used another hour.

Read coledavidson's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image aoverallrn
1 review
Mar 2014

Coral World was fun for about an hour. Shark exhibit, stingrays, a little aquarium, and undersea observatory, and a tropical bird exhibit- they land on you if you feed them nectar :)

Coki Beach next to Coral World is pretty, but we left shortly after we went because the vendors are a little intimidating, we were offered to smoke weed, and I did not feel comfortable leaving my bag on my towel unguarded when I wanted to swim. We left and went to Magen's Bay which was gorgeous and much more spacious.

Read aoverallrn's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Laurabelle530
1 review
Mar 2014

Coral World doesn't have much Ocean Life and needs some major updating.

Read Laurabelle530's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Accessible Island Tours
Member Image kidsouttime2cruise
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Havensight had the shopping we needed before going on our excursion. Keep your watches to ships time. There is an hour difference. Coral World was a great experience. we went 20ft below the surface and saw all kinds of beautiful fish .We were able to purchase the video and pics for a reasonable $30. Iguanas were walking around the area. There was time to shop some more before boarding the ship. Watching them drive on the other side of the street was interesting. We didnt get to downtown or the skyride due to the excursion though. Senor Frogs is walking distance from the ship.

Read kidsouttime2cruise's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image newmexicoNita
7 reviews
Dec 2013

We have visited the port many times, our daughter lived on the island for a couple of years, but we had never done Coral World. We found it both relaxing and educational. I would recommend it to everyone who visits St Thomas and I recommend everyone get a chance to visit the island. There is so much to see and do.

Read newmexicoNita's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Coral World tours
Member Image HappySailing24
1 review
Dec 2013

They gave us no time to explore the Aquarium-as soon as the Dive was over- they closed the place and we had to hurry and Run to get on the bus to leave. For the 4.5hr tour. we only did the 1hr dive-very unorganized with time management.

If you just do the Tour it may give more time, but I believe because it was Christmas Day -they wanted to go home, BUT we did pay for the Tour and if it wasn't for the Cruise lines, there would be limited visitors there.

Read HappySailing24's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image LaBrava03
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Must do Coral World and Coki Beach

Read LaBrava03's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jwildman
1 review
Jun 2013

Not worth it. Not that interesting and the main exhibit was closed

Read jwildman's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mysteryguest
1 review
May 2013
Booked a Coral World tour through RCI. Wasn't very organized near the ship as far as where we were to wait or stand or walk. Eventually we found someone with a Coral World sign that told us where to wait for a bus. Coral World was a great excursion that my 5 year old daughter loved. We also booked the semi-submarine which we all had a great time on. A good excursion I would recommend.
Read mysteryguest's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image baseball16
6 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2013
This was one of the best excursions, It was a beautiful place with the mountains, beach and coral world, to be able to see what is in the ocean without getting we. It is run down inside bu worth seeing. Coki beach is great and beautiful, it is a lot of locals and plenty of security around, friendly people, umbrellas, chairs right next door to coral world. Lots of Iguanas lying around everywhere, shops and food and drinks are there, just beautiful. worth going will go again and spend some time at the beach
Read baseball16's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gypsylady
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2013
This was by far, one of the most informative sites I have visited. The staff were excellent and very helpful. From petting baby sharks, feeding the sting rays, visiting the sea turtles, sea lions and then entering the facility below sea level to watch the marine life in the surrounding ocean, this was an outstanding experience for anyone of all ages. I only wish that we had more time there to enjoy the beach as well.
Read gypsylady's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image doenut65
1 review
Feb 2013
We did the coral land and coral sea tour. The semi submersible boat was very neat for viewing the reef inside the bay, but it was very short and coral world is ok but nothing special. Would not do this again.
Read doenut65's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image paulajj
2 reviews
Feb 2013
The semi-submarine was pretty good. I recommend this excursion for people with children. It was a bit boring for 2 adults.
Read paulajj's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Krystilia
1 review
Dec 2012
Coral World was alot of fun for all.
Read Krystilia's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image The Americanadians
1 review
Nov 2012
The Skyride to Paradise Point was closed for whatever reason, so we booked an alternate shore excursion at Coral World Ocean Park. The bus driver managed to navigate us successfully around the winding, hilly St. Thomas roads to and from the park. I noticed something weird about how they drive in St. Thomas: Even though they drive on the left, the steering wheels in the cars are on the left side also. This means that the driver is on the curb side of the street as they drive. That doesn't seem too safe to me, although postal and garbage drivers here in the States drive on the curb side all the time in relative safety. The park itself was beautiful, and filled with iguanas, stingrays, iguanas, sharks, iguanas, sea turtles, iguanas, gorgeous lorikeets, and iguanas, among other flora and fauna of the Caribbean. Did I mention that there were iguanas? They were all over the place. One even interrupted a presentation on the endangered green sea turtle. As people were eating at the snack bar, iguanas walked right up to their tables. We petted the stingrays, and found out the true story of how Steve Irwin died. This is an attraction that is very much worth the time and money. After some shopping at Havensight Mall in St. Thomas, we ate one of the only two on-shore meals we had, at Wendy's. We had been advised to steer clear of local food, so we decided that Wendy's, being an international franchise, could be trusted.
Read The Americanadians's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Meerkat92064
2 reviews
Oct 2012
This is overhyped and definitely delivered. Didn't originally plan to go here and am so glad we did. Imagine an aquarium where you really can get up close and personal with sharks, manta rays and Sea Lions. The highlight of this port!
Read Meerkat92064's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image pina
1 review
Oct 2012
We walked the ocean floor with the helmet on which was amazing. The facility was a bit run down but the beach right beside Coral World was beautiful. The driver to Coral World could have told us about the island while driving to make the experience better.
Read pina's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image hobbesey
2 reviews
Apr 2012
We had a private time with Omar the Sea Lion. That sea lion really wanted to play. He was friendly and fun and very sweet. My daughter got a big kick of the time with him. It was just the three of us and got to spend 45 minutes and really learned a lot about sea lions. You could tell Omar loved to be rubbed as he was starting to snooze at one point.
Read hobbesey's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Coral World
Member Image chicaone
1 review
Apr 2012
the best excursion and we did the Sea Trek underwater as well. Well worth the 200.00 you pay.
Read chicaone's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bushy H.
6 reviews
Mar 2012
Met the guide on the pier then we boarded a small air conditioned bus driven a short distance to the Coral World Park and taken to the location inside for the Seal Swim. The woman told us to return in an hour for our tour. We walked around seeing large turtles, iguanas, and starfish you can touch. The bathrooms have changing areas and there is a place to grab a burger but boy it is expensive costing like $26 for two burgers, and two slushies. They have a shop to buy things including postcards and it is how you exit the park. Small children would love this place there is so much we didn't have time to see and a small beach to swim. Then you walk to the front where the drivers wait and once everyone has returned we drove back to the ship.
Read Bushy H.'s full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mlyonsden
1 review
Mar 2012
Drive to Coral World showed the bad side of St Thomas. Garbage was everywhere you looked. Not impressive. Park was run down, bathrooms were dirty, windows in the aquarium were so slimmy you could barely see through them. Fish/animals seemed to be neglected. I wouldn't waste my money.
Read mlyonsden's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruisinmimiof3
1 review
Feb 2012
The helmut dive was at Coral World so we just spent most of the day. they have pools of turtles, sharks and other fish that you can swim with as well as the helmut dive. they have a snack bar, showers, and reef exhibit. It was a nice place.
Read cruisinmimiof3's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.