Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Curacao Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Curacao Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore the brightly-hued island of Curacao, which boasts some of the best examples of 17th and 18th century Dutch architecture.
Member Image serenebcruiser
1 review
Nov 2014

We hired a taxi service once we got off the boat in Curacao. We shared a mini van with 6 other people which was ok. The driver took us around the island and showed us some sights including the Curacao Liqueur factory where he gave us some history and we got to taste a few flavors. He dropped us off where we could do some shopping and then we walked across the bridge to get back to the boat.

Read serenebcruiser's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: local island taxi service
Member Image Cruz4Sun
13 reviews
Nov 2014

Taking the Princess excursion National Park, Museum and Scenic Country Drive was a good choice for our first visit to this island. The guide did a great job of making each stop interesting. I can recommend this tour.

Read Cruz4Sun's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rolanduzer
4 reviews
Nov 2014

We enjoyed the island of Curacao. We were excited to be in Curacao until 9:30 pm, but then disappointed to learn that everything closes around 5pm, so by the time we finished our tour, all the shops were closed. You would think on cruise ship days, shop owners would remain open a bit longer, but none were. We did find a great place to have dinner right next to the floating bridge. Our meals were very good and reasonably priced. This port visit reminded me of my trips to Key west where the ship pulls in at 7 am and nothing is open until noon, and we leave at 1pm. In Curacao you arrive at 1pm and stay until 9:30 but everything closes at 5. Nice scheduling Carnival.

Read rolanduzer's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image buckeyecruiser57
1 review
Sep 2014

Curacao - Weird timing in port, with boat docking at 1:00 PM and leaving at 11:00 PM. Lots of shopping, and sight seeing within walking distance of ship. The name brand stores are all right by the pier, while just over the moving pontoon bridge (I know, it sounds strange - you have to see it to fully comprehend it) are all the local shops, 10-15 minutes walking from the boat, (don't need a cab). to your right, just over this bridge is a little public square, which is a great place to negotiate excursions with local vendors, at far better prices than offered by the cruise lines. We got a two hour tour in an open-air bus, driving all over the island, including stops at a beach, the Curacao liquor factory (free samples !) , and a beautiful scenic over look probably 200 feet above the ocean, all for $15 p/p ! Great deal, and if you can't tell by now, my wife is a very shrewd negotiator !

Read buckeyecruiser57's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image eric.reedy@comcast.nett
1 review
Jun 2014

Grabed tour bus outside of the port for $20 each. Air conditioned tour of town, over the big bridge, couple stops Curacao distillery, shopping, optional beach drop off near Sea Aquarium beach area or down town. Great walking in the old town; reminds you of Europe. Kind of pricy, but safe and fun with lots of photo ops. The floating market and floating bridge areas are nice. Lots of cafe style eateries along the water. Easy return to ship walking across bridge and following waterfront back through fort and resort. Very nice and ship stays into the evening if you want to play late. Stores close by 6; so shop early. Did not dive here, but friends who did say it was very nice and well worth doing. The ship does not offer diving because they get in early afternoon, but local charters are available.

Read eric.reedy@comcast.nett's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image barbadosbeachbum
2 reviews
Mar 2014

After a lack of communication, we sadly missed out on the excursion we had booked, but managed to salvage it by taking an island tour with an independent company at the port. Although it was not what we had intended, and I cannot for my life remember the name of the company, Rosie gave us a great tour of Willemstad including a stop at a local beach, a Curacao distillery, some beautiful neighborhoods and a lot of info on the history of Curacao! It was 2 hours we enjoyed after a frustrating start to our time there.

Read barbadosbeachbum's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image hopeful2
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

very beautiful nice to walk around and do some shopping and we also took a tour and went and saw the beach but no time to enjoy beach because we did too much shopping.

Read hopeful2's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image radgalut
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

What a fun day. We saw a lot of the island, and also had a beach break. The driver and host were a blast and it included soda, beer and water.

FUN Well worth the $

Read radgalut's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Irie Tours
Member Image brigarlin@rogers.com
1 review
Dec 2013

Guide was local and very knowledgeable. Great photo opportunities. Very historical.

Read brigarlin@rogers.com's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Travelgrandma10
5 reviews
Dec 2013

This was a good overall tour. We went to the caves which was nice. The excursion to the Curacao liquor factory was a waste of time.

Read Travelgrandma10's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Steve551
5 reviews
Nov 2013

Our third stop was Curacao. We took the Discover Curacao Island Tour. We loved Curacao! The bad part was that we docked at 2pm (3pm local time) so by the time we returned from our tour it was getting dark and many of the shops closed. The tour was nice, nothing spectacular. Curacao is on our list of places that we will visit again.

Read Steve551's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Deetour
1 review
Oct 2013

Beautiful island with lots of beautiful buildings that are very colorful. Shopping by the terminal seems like the best place to go. Starbucks close by terminal for WIFI connection.

Read Deetour's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jdechter
23 reviews
Oct 2013

disappointed in the tour I took, should have just walked into town. We had some bad rain so the bus was wet, the distillery crowded and a long wait for stragglers. Poorly organized and not that interesting. Got to the beach at 5--ridiculous waste of time.

Read jdechter's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Irie tours
Member Image cruisercathy
4 reviews
Aug 2013

it would have been better if the other people with us on the tour would have listened to the times we had to be back on the bus and were there when they were supposed to be. Seaquarium Beach was awful...filthy...from other people at the beach.....

Read cruisercathy's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Irie Tours
Member Image BLR67
1 review
Jun 2013

While the island was beautiful, the night life was nonexsistant. Most everything closed at sunset, while the ship was docked until 11pm.

Read BLR67's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Walk up Kiosk
Member Image larry_kak
4 reviews
Jun 2013

We walked across the bridge and booked a tour in an open van. It was good and we saw the entire island.

Read larry_kak's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image terrycoles
1 review
May 2013

Tour of the liquor company with samples, island tour with stops along the way. Very informative, great tour guide.

Read terrycoles's full Horizon cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image onyourmark
9 reviews
Apr 2013
3 hour tour covered East side and Sea-Quarium Beach
Read onyourmark's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Beth Myers
1 review
Mar 2013
The woman who took us around the city area was very nice and informative, but we were a little bored, and we wish that we had just done the city sight-seeing on our own. In any case, the city has all those multi-colored buildings, which are so picturesque. We really enjoyed seeing the city. Later, we went to Cocomo Beach, which has a beautiful water color, but there are a lot of rocks on the ocean floor. Also, a store manager told us to be careful not to step on a certain type of fish that looks like a rock and can sting you. So, I was a little uncomfortable about that. Needless to say, I didn't do much walking in the water. I swam out to the floating deck and enjoyed the views.
Read Beth Myers's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tabbymom
2 reviews
Mar 2013
We were docked at the MegaPier instead of the one across from town so no great view. I had reserved the 11:00 am IRIE bus tour and headed over early to make sure I could find it (their directions were from the other pier). I found a guy with a card with my name on it near the IRIE tour sign so knew I had the right place. While I was waiting I found free wifi inside the Renaissance Resort shopping center. When I came out I made a joke about the IRIE guy's Segway and he asked if I would like to use it. I'd been on one before so took it on a little circle of the courtyard. The bus arrived and the driver said not to worry about where we sat because we wouldn't be very full. We started off and the next thing we knew, the bus was being filled by passengers off another ship (the Grandeur out of Panama). They were a bit raucous for some of the tour. Other than that, it was a very nice tour, especially for the $20 cost. There were plenty of descriptions and history in both English and Spanish. They had cold water, soda (no diet), and beer. We drove past the pontoon bridge, through the old Jewish quarter, across the Queen Juliana bridge, past more old homes and other famous landmarks, and a stop at the Curacao "factory" (actually store). IMO this was a bit of a waste; they don't manufacture there so all you really learned was the history and had the chance to try tiny samples of four flavors. It was also theoretically a bathroom break but the ladies room had TWO STALLS. You can imagine the line. Back on the bus to the new housing developments, a view of Spanish Waters, and down to Seaquarium Beach where we got free admission for a 45 minute stop. We could opt to stay longer and have a later bus pick us up, which fortunately was the choice for the Grandeur passengers. It was a lovely beach with warm water; I just left my stuff on a chair and floated for most of the time. Then back on the bus, back across the bridge, and finished where we started by the pontoon bridge. I watched the pontoon bridge open to let a freighter through. After it closed I walked over to the Punda side. I relaxed for a while at Wilhelmina Park and had a snack from the ship, then asked someone to take my picture at the giant Curacao sign. My next destination was the Mikve Israel-Emanuel Synagogue where I paid admission and took a look around the sanctuary and museum. Then I walked over to floating market and back to the shops in town where I bought a few souvenirs. I finally headed back to the ship, stopping near the dock to buy a small wheel of Gouda.
Read Tabbymom's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: IRIE tours
Member Image Sprotbrough sailors
1 review
Mar 2013
We picked up a private tour from the cruise terminal - around 20 people in a modern air conditioned mini-bus. The 2 hour trip took us to some view points across the island, the Curacao distillery and past the historic buildings in Willemstad. Teh guide was funny and informative and found us an Iguana to photograhp as they are widespread across the island. For only $20 each this was great value for money. The island is not the most beautiful in the Caribbean - a lot of oil refinieries and drilling, but the capital, Willemstad with its brightly painted builings and the pontoon bridge was the most attractive port of the entire cruise.
Read Sprotbrough sailors's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image jefft5301
2 reviews
Mar 2013
For only $20 per person, we had a 3.5 hour tour that included all the beer, water, and soda we could drink. Sylvian was our driver/guide and he did a wonderful job. Learned a lot about the island and finished the day with more than an hour at Sea Aquarium Beach.
Read jefft5301's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Irie Tours
Member Image kurziemom
1 review
Feb 2013
Our tour group was divided into 2 parts. The other half had a longer tour and had more time at the Aquarium and a longer island tour. We all paid the same amount. I enjoyed the distillery tour, but could barely hear the tourguide, as it was so very crowded. The tasting was rushed and we were pushed into the purchasing area rather quickly. After the tour we walked around and found a great bistro for dinner. Chicken skewers with peanut sauce was fabulous. But I can't remember the name of the restaurant.
Read kurziemom's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Saltwaterfan901
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
Good tour... Clarina was our guide, and she was wonderful.
Read Saltwaterfan901's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image firefighterman
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Aruba wonderful 10/10 use a non-carnival tour Sonny Binns! $30 (3 hours)took us all over the island and drop us off at Holiday Inn Resort for beach excurions ( that was 2 hrs addtional) he came back and got us no extra charge. A+ company "Howard our driver was great!"
Read firefighterman's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns
Member Image fun_one
4 reviews
Feb 2013
Very informative and fun in an air conditioned bus
Read fun_one's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns
Member Image BubbaIU
3 reviews
Feb 2013
Booked tour right at the pier. Nice flexible pace, tour operator had no problem going here and there to take pictures and experience the island. Went through historic district, floating market, distillery and gave option to customers to be let off downtown by the swing bridge w/15 min walk back to ship or return to ship. Colors and sights are fantastic, must walk the swing bridge, shopping is good everywhere and many high end shops are avail. Newer area is by the Mega Pier. Safe and Secure port.
Read BubbaIU's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image plastic2244
1 review
Feb 2013
Very enjoyable
Read plastic2244's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lover1Boy
1 review
Feb 2013
Excellent guide.
Read Lover1Boy's full Tere Moana cruise review
Provider: Paul Gauguin Cruises
Member Image Hazelnut1939
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2013
Great tour with interesting stops. Inteesting, picturesque town, with historic bridge.
Read Hazelnut1939's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image jdooly1
1 review
Dec 2012
Great Island tour and stop at the distillery and other great views of the island to get some great pics. The only complaint is that we only had 15 minutes at each stop, but then again, touring the island does take a few hours and we couldn't miss the ship.
Read jdooly1's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jbackus8746
3 reviews
Dec 2012
We traveled with a guide on a bus to a museum which was nice, a liquor factory and my favorite some caves.
Read jbackus8746's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kcscrapper
1 review
Dec 2012
We booked a city tour on an open trolley from a sidewalk vendor after spending about a hour looking at the UNESCO site and being done with it! The Casper tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable and getting a tour really helped us enjoy this port.
Read kcscrapper's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Casper
Member Image Kelsey12
1 review
Dec 2012
This port we were not there very long. Would have loved to stayed all day.
Read Kelsey12's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cancruizer
1 review
Dec 2012
As we knew, quite a bit was closed in Curacao due to New Year's day. We got off the ship in the late morning and did a two hour tour from a local company on an air conditioned bus that was very good before heading back to the ship for lunch. We headed back out in the later afternoon to walk around the port area. This was such a charming port we would love to come again... floating bridge, synagogue with sand floor (closed for NY), colorful restored homes, cafes, bars etc., Renaissance and Fort area.
Read Cancruizer's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AmberTeka
11 reviews
Dec 2012
Good show. Nice day. Great way and place to spend New Year's Day. Again..great tour guide. knew her stuff. Told us a lot of history. Great day.
Read AmberTeka's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Sandra in San Antonio
3 reviews
Nov 2012
The ship was very late getting into port (2:30 p.m. instead of 1 p.m.)so our trolley tour booked through the ship was cancelled. When we got off the ship, a man at the information desk recommended a private excursion and told us it would go to the same places as the trolley tour. It didn't. However it did go to several places the trolley wouldn't have gone so I was happy anyway.
Read Sandra in San Antonio's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: don't know
Member Image travelgal17
2 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2012
Very beautiful city and we loved seeing the Hato Caves.
Read travelgal17's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image egyptnqeen
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2012
I loved it! We went to a beach and saw historical sites.
Read egyptnqeen's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Darshan1
10 reviews
Oct 2012
The only drawback to Curacao was the surprising amount of pollution in the port from oil refineries. It was only bothersome at the height of the Lido Deck, but it did sting the eyes. The tour was a good combination of island history (much richer than Aruba's as well as other islands) and well as some scenic views overlooking gorgeous beaches and crystalline water. Included a history museum that was worth a short visit. The capital, Willemstad, is very pretty (noted for its colorful Dutch buildings) and it might have been worth exploring it more as our tour didn't go through the town.
Read Darshan1's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruizinjunkie
3 reviews
Aug 2012
Island tour was very unorganized. Aquarium is small and dolphins in show are still being trained. A dull tour.
Read Cruizinjunkie's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Staplerman
4 reviews
May 2012
As we debarked the ship in Willemstad, we found a group of fellow cruisers with a local tour guide. They needed 3 more people before the tour could begin, so we joined up with them. Our tour guide was a local named Hubert and he was very fun to be around. He made a point to get to the caves early on before the crowds got there and for that we basically had the caves all to ourselves (7 of us in our group). This was great because my wife is very claustrophobic and doesn't do well in cramped quarters. After that he took us to scenic points to take photos and then downtown as he narrated the long and colorful history of Curacao. He dropped us off downtown and we did some shopping, then headed back to the ship.
Read Staplerman's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Photo_Traveler_MBC
2 reviews
Apr 2012
-- I woke up as we were approaching Curacao. I thought we were sailing into He## or into a volcanic zone. There were clouds over the mountains reflecting a spectacular pulsating red glow. The glow was caused by the burn off flares from refinery's. Our independent Cab driver was Hubert #132. He gave a very thorough tour and provided cultural and historical details as well as took us to the fort and other view points. We drove around town several times as he pointed out the landmarks. This island was a wonderful stop. I'd recommend Hubert. His cab is decorated with an Iguana on the sides.
Read Photo_Traveler_MBC's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: HUBERT CAB #132
Member Image J Horn
1 review
Apr 2012
Again Each island no more then $20 per person per trip should last 3 hours with Beach!
Read J Horn's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image 509ers
5 reviews
Mar 2012
All day west side tour to 3 beaches with Mavis. Perfect trip, small and great value. Loads of history and information.
Read 509ers's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image feb0321
1 review
Mar 2012
Much of the island is a bit run down . The downtown shopping areas were first rate.
Read feb0321's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tstamm
1 review
Mar 2012
Excursions on the boat fill up fast - so pre-book early. We didn't, but fortunately as we exited the ship we went up and visited with several local tour operators. We wanted to include the caves. The first gentleman we talked to said it would be too busy and he didn't go. Then we visited with Johnie. He said that is where he goes. He knew everyone on the island. When we arrived to the caves we bypassed everyone else and in a few minutes we had our tickets and were on tour. He also was very well versed and provided us with a great education with the history of the island and culture. Johnie offered the caves, a town tour and the Curacao Liquor location. If we ever visit Curacao again we will definitely be contacting him again.
Read tstamm's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Johnie ABC Taxi
Member Image Klloomis
1 review
Feb 2012
Nice. Guide was a little long winded, but very professional
Read Klloomis's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.