Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Curacao Cave Tour Excursion Reviews

Curacao Cave Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore the Hato Caves -- the deepest and longest cave formation in Curacao -- home to beautiful limestone decor, waterfalls and the famous Madonna Statue.
Member Image serenebcruiser
1 review
Nov 2014

One of the places the local taxi driver took us was to the caves. My husband took that tour with another couple while the rest of us went to a have some refreshments. My husband said it was extremely humid in the caves and it was a good thing I decided not to go.

Read serenebcruiser's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: island taxi service
Member Image rolanduzer
4 reviews
Nov 2014

The caves were interesting, but as with the rest of the tour, they rush everyone through so you can't enjoy what you are seeing. I am sure it is boring to a tour guide that sees it every day, but I have never been and would like a few minutes to look at all the formations.

Read rolanduzer's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image keithm
3 reviews
Jan 2014

Hato caves are a nice place to take a tour. The guides lead you down into the caves, giving a detailed history. Lots of bats visible(fruit bats)The climb up (yes up!) can be quite hard on thos with limited moblity a few had to turn back.

Read keithm's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image keithm
3 reviews
Jan 2014

City tour was nice showing you all the Dutch style buildings painted in bright colors.Lots of shops to explore.

Read keithm's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Steve551
5 reviews
Nov 2013

Our third stop was Curacao. We took the Discover Curacao Island Tour. We loved Curacao! The bad part was that we docked at 2pm (3pm local time) so by the time we returned from our tour it was getting dark and many of the shops closed. The tour was nice, nothing spectacular. Curacao is on our list of places that we will visit again.

Read Steve551's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image JWYBLF
1 review
Nov 2013

The specialty guide at the cave took over and was informative

Read JWYBLF's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image FamilyTravels4
1 review
Jul 2013

CU85-Caves & City Tour-Great excursion

Read FamilyTravels4's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BrocktonCruiser
2 reviews
Apr 2013
The tour of the cave was interesting, but we ran into a couple of busloads, so it was crowded and hot. There are multiple steps to enter and explore the cave. Not a big issue for us, but was troublesome for many of the guests. The port area is nice and the architecture is beautiful.
Read BrocktonCruiser's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Erik79
1 review
Feb 2013
Hato caves were very interesting, especially being above sea level. Our tour guide was great and took us on an impromptu tour of the the town upon returning to the pier area.
Read Erik79's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image paulajj
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Caves and city tour The caves were really good. Very short but worth it. The city tour was a bit of a waste as you can easily make your way through this city on your own.
Read paulajj's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Catlade
1 review
Jan 2013
Horrible tour, I had to leave before it was finished. See my review on Trip Advisor.
Read Catlade's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image analuzdi
1 review
Dec 2012
The excursion to the Caves was nice. The caves are very small, but the tour itself is really interesting. We also visited the market and some of the sights in the city. We finished the day shopping.
Read analuzdi's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pkrchkr
4 reviews
Nov 2012
A nice way to spend 3 hours after missing La Romana.. the caves are amazing, the distillery gave out samples of 2 types of Curacao ( one orange one coffee) you can go back for seconds..the Museum was very hot but a great place to walk a round
Read pkrchkr's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Staplerman
4 reviews
May 2012
Caves were amazing, this was my son's favorite part of the trip to Curacao. Runaway slaves actually hid in these caves and it was cool to see where they had lit fires in the caves for light and warmth. Our spelunking guide (Edsel) was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the history of the caves and the science behind their formation. Keep in mind that these caves are made of coral stone which absorbs heat and even at 9am it was very muggy and warm in them but definitely worth the time and $10 admission fee.
Read Staplerman's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mathduck
2 reviews
Apr 2012
Curacao is an Dutch island close to Venezuela (http://www.cruisecritic.com/ports/newport.cfm?ID=15 ). The Sea Aquarium tour looked inviting but we swam with the dolphins in Cuba and the sting rays in the Grand Cayman. We chose the Discover Curacao Island Tour will allow more time to enjoy the ambience of Curacao and some shopping, although the Double the Fun Tour had raving reviews. Our 62 year old driver, Marcel, and talkative guide "Wa Wa" drove us around on the tour that started at 8:30am. Our first stop was an old Dutch army infirmary. Inside the main building was old mahogany furniture from when the island had mahogany and an organ donated by Queen Julianna. Another building had the front part of an old airplane engine. Then we went by the salinization plant and a variety of neighborhoods before arriving at the Hata limestone caves by the airport. Edsel, the cave guide, instructed us that we had to climb 49 steps before entering the cave. Inside we saw stalactites, stalagmites, bats, water pools and interesting configurations. One of which looked like the Virgin Mary. We proceeded over a tall arching bridge to the curcacao liqueur factory. Our favorite sample was the orange flavored one. We purchased the taster pack -- 5 flavors. At the gift shop on site we purchased a postcard and stamps. Curacao has colorful stamps that are delights for collectors and grandchildren. On the bus ride back we composed our letter to our youngest granddaughter. We were part of the group that got off the bus by the roundabout rather than the ship. It saved walking time. We walked across the pontoon bridge into the main shopping area. We used our Effy jewelry coupon again and got citrine pendants and we purchased the matching $10 earrings. We then went searching for the Post Office which was closed on Saturday, however, the mailbox was open. It was a good thing I had bought stamps. On the way back to the ship, we walked into a few of the stores but we mostly window shopped. We also walked past the produce market and fish market. After we walked back over the bridge we stopped at a kiosk and bought a pink dress for our granddaughter. The Aruba labelled nightgown my wife bought for $14 cost $4 more because it had a Curcacao label at the street kiosks. The only regret is that we never saw the beaches on Curcacao.
Read mathduck's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image glomarrone
16 reviews
Apr 2012
Wonderful tour takes you to the caves for a guided tour (it is warm inside.) This is followed by a terrific land walking tour through the center stopping at various spots along the way.
Read glomarrone's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Got Tequila?
1 review
Apr 2012
At one point down in the caves they turn off all the lights, this can be frightening for little ones so you might want to warn them in advance. The lights are only off briefly, but it is pitch black with them off. There are also small fruit bats in the caves. Flash photography isn't allowed, but there is one room near the end that is bright and good for taking pictures. We enjoyed the tour and really did learn a lot from our guide.
Read Got Tequila?'s full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tstamm
1 review
Mar 2012
Caves are better than expected. 8 US dollar entry. Take the tour - very educational and beautiful.
Read tstamm's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Johnie ABC Taxi
Member Image Klloomis
1 review
Feb 2012
Not my favorite. We weren't warned about how hot it was and we were told that it would only be 20 minutes. we were in those hot caves for more than an hour! If they had told us, we would have brought a bottle of water at the very least. Came out dirty and dehydrated.
Read Klloomis's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.