Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Martin Beach Break Excursion Reviews

St. Martin Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Warm, white sand beaches are a Caribbean cruise staple. Do it all -- or do nothing at all -- on a beach break excursion in St. Martin.
Member Image miamigoland
4 reviews
Oct 2014

Visited Orient Beach for three hours. The tour included a light lunch and three rum punch (non-alcoholic). We were taken to "La Playa" restaurant and bar and given chairs, but had to pay $5 to rent umbrellas. The restaurant has changing facilities and bathrooms, and even Wi-Fi. It was a nice experience overall, even though the beach had a lot of sea-weeds and the surf was kind of rough.

Read miamigoland's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Capt Mano
2 reviews
Sep 2014

We did an island tour with two stops at Orient Beach, one of the top 10 in the world and the Travel Channel favorite Maho Beach where the plane land just a few feet over the beach. In Maho we have lunch at the Sunset Restaurant and Bar and watch the craziness. It was 5 hours with time to shop I town and take the ferry back to the ship. We loved it and have done this tour twice.

Read Capt Mano's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Capt Mano
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

No trip to St. Martin is complete without a trip to Orient Beach and Maho Beach. We did both three years ago and this year. We would do it again.

Read Capt Mano's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image retired2008
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

enjoyed this excursion - 3 hours on Orient Beach, northern section - Waikiki bar?? - water was warm and not too rough - walked to the Mount Vernon. Included were a few Rum Punches - overall, nice day.

Read retired2008's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jimmygu3
1 review
Mar 2014

We went to Orient Bay beach in St. Martin, and got 2 chairs and an umbrella for $20 in front of Kakao restaurant. Our French/caribbean lunch there was AMAZING, but priced in euros, it wasn't cheap. Beach was gorgeous, with fine white sand and every shade of blue water. Taxi is $8/pp each way.

Read jimmygu3's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ajfitz
1 review
Mar 2014

Horrible! People were extremely rude, a huge waste of money. Very poor country. $190 for 2 adults and 1 child to go to Orient Beach with lunch. Never again.

Read ajfitz's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image helandkel
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2014

St Martin - We booked independently with Bernard’s tours and were delighted with our day. We were picked up promptly by the lovely driver and taken to Orient Beach for a few hours. We stopped at an Iguana farm and to see sea urchins on the way that was interesting. Orient beach was great fun. We decided to sit at La Playa bar as one of our group knew the beach quite well and it was a great choice. Highly recommended. We took some beds and umbrellas right by the surf, which were about 10 Euros each - we had Euros on us but you can pay in dollars the same amount. Got a jet ski for 60 Euros, drinks were pretty cheap. It was great fun in the sea jumping over the waves. The sea was a bit rough but not too much.
After Orient Beach we went to the capital Marigot and had lunch for an hour and then headed off to Maho beach in time for the big planes to land. Stand at the Smugger’s Bar watching the planes. There is a great atmosphere even without the planes. We then headed back to Phillipsburg and some of us went back to the ship and some looked around Marigot. Great day & highly recommend Bernard’s Tours.

Read helandkel's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Bernard's Tours
Member Image wshaw859
1 review
Dec 2013

ST MAARTIN ROYAL CARIBBEAN EXCURSION "BEACH SENSATION" WAS HORRIBLE
Royal Caribbean admits in their ticket contract that they have nothing to do with the excursion companies they use as "independent contractors" to handle their passenger activities. Except that they collect the money.

This was obvious from the start when we found our excursion was OVERSOLD, which forced us to ride in small UNCOMFORTABLE pull-out seats in what I would describe as a "chicken bus". If you've been in Latin America, you'll know what I mean by "chicken bus". Of the other 7 cruise ships in port at the same time, Royal Caribbean's Beach Sensation excursion was conducted in the smallest, nastiest bus when compared to the larger, nice buses used by the other cruise lines. Speaking of nasty, I reported verbal abuse to Royal Caribbean's Excursion Desk (in front of Sorrento's restaurant on the ship). The woman who took our tickets and then lost our group on the way to the bus. She had stopped holding up the sign halfway through the long walk to the "bus" and lost us in the sea of at least 4 cruise ships unloading at the same time. She never stopped to regroup. It took us about 15 minutes to locate our "bus" at which time the tall man also became verbally abusive to my party of three.

Riding this bus to Marigot was awful. We got dumped off the Bus from Hell in Marigot for 1.5 hours of shopping. At one point at the edge of the shopping tents I was alone when a man approached me and asked "would you like a young girl?". I looked over and saw what looked like marijuana cigarettes on the table next to him. The situation obviously looked like a police sting or some sort of extortion scheme. I just walked away and rejoined my friends nearby. Be warned.

Back on the Royal Caribbean Chicken Bus, we were off to Orient Beach for 3-4 hours of beach time which included "lunch". The "lunch" was horrible - nasty chicken and some sort of ribs (goat?) with huge piles of mashed potatoes and rice. YUCK! Best of all: the beer was cheap.

On the beach, we went swimming and generally enjoying the beach when the Wicked Witch from Hell suddenly reappeared right in front of our lounge chairs. She began waving her arms and screaming at us in front of other folks on the excursion. She was upset that we got separated from the group by yelling "WHERE WERE YOU?" I replied to her "where were you? … why didn't you stop and regroup? why did you stop holding up the sign?" My 2 friends with me agreed and she stormed off the beach, not to be seen again.

We advised Royal Caribbean's excursion rep that we didn't appreciate (1) being abused and insulted in front of other passengers and (2) the excursion had been oversold given the poor condition and discomfort of the "chicken bus" and (3) the "lunch" was inedible.

What did Royal Caribbean do for us? They refunded $15.80 of the $79.00 paid per person.

Read wshaw859's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jdpitzer
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

We went to Orient Beach. Beautiful beach, with plenty to do if you want to spend a bit more. We had beach chairs with $3 for an umbrella. The included food and one drink was okay. It is a topless beach, but very few were topless. The water was a bit rough they day we were there, but the water temp was great and plenty of sun. Nice relaxing day.

Read jdpitzer's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ATLJFL
4 reviews
Apr 2013
Tour was well organized and well timed. The food at the resort we were taken to was good but very expensive
Read ATLJFL's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dan2k11
1 review
Mar 2013
We caught a cab from the port area in the morning and went to Orient Bay beach. We spent the entire day at this beach and had lunch at one of the ocean side restaurants. It was really beautiful and our family really enjoyed it. We had told the kids we were planning on going to this beach and that in St. Martin, European-style (topless) bathing was common on this island. After a few minutes of staring by my kids, they forgot about it and just enjoyed the beach and water. It was a great day and we headed back to the ship at around 3:00 to get ready for dinner.
Read Dan2k11's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Martysus
1 review
Mar 2013
Went to the French side of the island; all ok except at the bar - the coupon for a "rum drink" was only honored for one very watery drink whereas other drinks were $8.00 per drink.
Read Martysus's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Devilaw
3 reviews
Mar 2013
Nice relaxing time on Orient Beach with an enjoyable bbq lunch. After the excursion we walked on our own around Philipsburg. A very lovely port city.
Read Devilaw's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BURNSMN
7 reviews
Mar 2013
Bernard's Tour Including Orient Beach and Maho Beach. Interesting land tour with time spent at both beaches. Preferred Orient to Maho. Maho was crowded.
Read BURNSMN's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: BERNARD
Member Image maddogbeast
1 review
Jan 2013
This is definitely one of my favorite excursions! The lounge chairs are comfortable, the umbrella's are big, and the food is very good. Well worth the cost. On the way back to the ship they will drop you off in town which we do and then take the water taxi back to the ship. Very good!
Read maddogbeast's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ystone
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Orient Beach was a relaxing day. Lunch provided which was good. Some topless woman (most should not be) but far enough from Club Orient to not deal with the totally clothing optional.
Read Ystone's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruise4msjg
1 review
Dec 2012
If you have time take a can to air port beach! The air planes are almost within reach, it's very cool if you happen to be there when a large plane is landing! It will blow everything away so be careful!
Read cruise4msjg's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Firstcruise4moi
1 review
Dec 2012
Went to orient beach. Had a great time. Lots of activities. Bring cash if you want to o beach activities.
Read Firstcruise4moi's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SOUTHERN MD CRUISER
3 reviews
Nov 2012
Took an excursion to Magen's Bay for a few hours on the beach. Excursion provided transportation to/from beach. Nice beach, but I would not describe as beautiful. It was a public beach, and you had to rent chairs/floats if you wanted more than a towel to sit on. There was a small restaurant/bar adjacent to beach, as well as a gift shop. The water was beautiful and you could easily see the bottom. There were no rocks/seaweed, so that was a plus.
Read SOUTHERN MD CRUISER's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bibiinri
3 reviews
Oct 2012
Very nice Beach Rendevous tour with several hours at Orient Bay, including a good lunch and comp rum punch. We thoroughly enjoyed our beautiful day there and recommend this tour.
Read bibiinri's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image arrosen
1 review
Jul 2012
Orient Bay is AMAZING!
Read arrosen's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image brino99
6 reviews
Not Rated
May 2012
Both beach and shopping breaks were with Bernard's.
Read brino99's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image beancruisin'
1 review
May 2012
Speedboat tour around the whole island including two stops for snorkeling and lunch included. Very professional and entertaining. Takes you to places most tours cannot go. Only allows 13 or 14 people which makes for a more personalized and enjoyable tour. Great bargain!
Read beancruisin''s full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Soualiga Destinations with Capt. Bob Cass
Member Image live2vayk
6 reviews
Apr 2012
Great day, beautiful beach, and we enjoyed the lunch that was served.
Read live2vayk's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image beachluvrr
1 review
Apr 2012
Orange Fever- online coupons for bucket of beer, umbrella and chairs, a bit windy the day we were there...but great just the same!
Read beachluvrr's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image conreb4
1 review
Feb 2012
We went to Orient Beach on the French side and had a great beach day. The lunch was nothing great.
Read conreb4's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hawkeyecruiser2
2 reviews
Feb 2011

We chose Orient Beach for our beach break because it is so beautiful. In fact, it is so stunning that it almost makes you forget the thousands of other people with whom you must share it! People watching is pretty good there, so it isn't too bad.

Read hawkeyecruiser2's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.