Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Kitts Historic House Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Historic House cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Cruise Critic members say the Historic House on St. Kitts is a beautiful location with interesting history. Explore the grounds or pick up batik as a souvenir.
Member Image WizBang
4 reviews
Apr 2015
This was part of the excursion the "Essential St. Kitts" through Celebrity. The tickets stated it was operated by Caribbean Journey Masters. The stop at Romney Manor was the first. The gardens were gorgeous and we took lots of photos. There was a batik fabric demonstration that we only watched a couple minutes of because we wanted to spend most of our time outside looking at the tropical plants.
Read WizBang's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image purfekt10
1 review
Mar 2015
St. Kitts was the first of five excursions, so we didn't know what to expect since this was our first cruise. We took the tour of the island and learned a lot about the history and people.
Read purfekt10's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image OttawaMom
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2015

Looked at the old fashioned home from the time when slaves did most of the work.

Read OttawaMom's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image njaloha
3 reviews
Jan 2015

This tour should be called the Island Rum Tasting and Rum History not Island History and Rum Tasting. We learned the history of the Rum Trade and the Plantation House Life but not really the history of the island. Our driver screamed at someone on his cell phone the entire crazy ride back to the ship.

Read njaloha's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image GottaKnowWhen
2 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Same thing as above. We had been here before, had done the train trip (and thoroughly enjoyed it). Didn't see any tours from the ship that met our to-do list; all spent way too much time at one beach or another. So I got some suggestions (on this site?), did some on-line search, and found Royston. Royston's cousin Ashton gave a van full of us a good drive around the island with good photo stops, scenic views, history, batik, etc. At the end, after a good lunch, he dropped off those who wanted to stay at a beach, took the rest of us back to the port to enjoy the rest of the afternoon in the town.

Read GottaKnowWhen's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ashton
Member Image skaway
1 review
Nov 2014

Was part of the island tour. Interesting house and nice views of the sea.

Read skaway's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jcqangel
1 review
Feb 2014

Went to the museum which was very interesting.

Read jcqangel's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AvalonLady
2 reviews
Jan 2014

Another highlight of the cruise was the Clay Villa Plantation. The delightful owners gave the tour. They use tour money to pay for rehabilitating abandoned animals, some of which you can see on the garden part of the tour (they are in large cages, not roaming free). Be advised that the tour does have several steps in the garden. The house is decorated with the owners’ collections (which are interesting) and is not in 18th century style, but the house itself is original and in great shape. This place has a wonderful “spirit” and I would love to visit again !

Read AvalonLady's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CardsFan21
1 review
Aug 2013

We visited the Fairview Greathouse Plantation, with its lovely landscaping and rum-tasting! The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Read CardsFan21's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image awhfy
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Booked independently with 4 other folks - great island tour
Read awhfy's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image yippieskippy
1 review
Apr 2012
Historic house was pretty and intresting, but nothing you see you cannot see anywhere else in the island.
Read yippieskippy's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Christine Hatchman
1 review
Mar 2012
Preferred this island to St Lucia. The guides very very good and there was plently of free time. Batik work was a good buy.
Read Christine Hatchman's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image vairolaw
2 reviews
Mar 2012
was part of our ATV tour at end where we were able to have refreshments and look around house. Was beautiful location with interesting history.
Read vairolaw's full Wind Surf cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Jane Stevens
1 review
Mar 2012
Beautiful gardens, just long enough to stroll around and observe the batik clothing.
Read Jane Stevens's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image 2SeaAll
4 reviews
Feb 2012
Nice island, although roads are a little rough. Interesting history the first time around. A second time may reveal some more history, such as Clay Villas. Probably a stay-on-board or short walk out after two or three times.
Read 2SeaAll's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image canoeyacht
1 review
Feb 2012
Romney Manor was a bit disappointing, basically some very nice grounds and a store selling Batik. There was supposed to be a demonstration of batik making but that didn't happen. This is a tour that would probably be cheaper to book on the spot and would likely yield similar results.
Read canoeyacht's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Chemaniac
2 reviews
Feb 2012
Grounds very nice but too many people to see some of the demonstrations.
Read Chemaniac's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.