Cozumel Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From its world famous coral reefs and wild jungle to the multitude of museums, ruins, and other noteworthy buildings, there is much to see on a guided tour of beautiful Cozumel Island.
Member Image plannertogo
1 review
Jan 2017
Was very good snorkeled, city tour, park, and lunch was good
Read plannertogo's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: John Adams Cozumel Cruise Excersions
Member Image benlev
2 reviews
Dec 2016
A bike ride along the south point and east coast of Cozumel. The bike can be peddled but also has a very small motor that you can turn on anytime to get you going up to 20 MPH. Very cool. About a 30 min taxi ride (included) to the start point. Also, lunch included. Nothing exciting to see, but very nice ride along coast. Final stop is for tequila tasting at a small road side distillery.
Read benlev's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: xoxo
Member Image Dukes916
1 review
Dec 2016
This was a fantastic experience. I speak fluent Spanish so was able to contract a taxi driver to give our group of 8 people a nice tour of Cozumel. We enjoyed it immensely and took lots of photos along the way.
Read Dukes916's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: ?? Taxi
Member Image KayMac60
1 review
Dec 2016
Driver was informative and gave an insider's view of his country and it's culture
Read KayMac60's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Carlos Tours
Member Image jnc3
1 review
Dec 2016
We booked "Cozumel by Land and Sea". The semi-submersible boat was the best part of the tour. It was similar to others that we've experienced before with plenty of reef formations and tropical fish. The stop at the Mayan Cacao Company was simple with a brief history of cacao and chocolate making. You can taste a pure cacao drink and purchase multiple flavors of chocolate bars. The stop at the Tequileria was interesting, and those on the tour were able to sample many types of tequila. Unfortunately this tour didn't start until the afternoon, and was four hours long, requiring us to really hustle to get back to the ship before departure. It would be better if it started earlier, or if the tour operator would keep better track of time at each stop.
Read jnc3's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Puppetlady67
1 review
Nov 2016
We arrived in port late, so we didn't get to do the whole island tour. And some of the stops appeared to be rushed, because we had to get back to the ship in time.
Read Puppetlady67's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image cruisersaf
2 reviews
Nov 2016
We initially booked to captain our own speed boat, snorkel, & island break through RCI. However, we found out at port that snorkeling was cancelled. RCI refunded our $$ and we decided to do the island tour, snorkeling, & beach break after talking to the staff members. We did have to pay for our lunch at the beach break.
Read cruisersaf's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Tours
Member Image DocRonRM
1 review
Sep 2016
Find a taxi and agree on a price. No more that $60 for one person and maybe a little more for extra people. Take a tour to all the beaches of the island, stop for pictures, and then return back to town. Total time is about two hours.
Read DocRonRM's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Hired private taxi
Member Image paulak1028
1 review
Sep 2016
Taxi ride to local market (not commercial area) stopped at a local bakery, restaurant with mariachi band and local dancers with tequila tasting and lunch. Lunch was not very good seems they tried to make the food more tex-mex instead of authentic. Salsa was excellent and the guide was informative.
Read paulak1028's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image papabearr
3 reviews
Aug 2016
Shared the cab with 2 others. Paid $35 each to have a 3 hour guided tour of the island. Stopped at the Myan culture center and spent an hour there. Very interesting. Made several photo stops and learned a lot about the island. Well worth it
Read papabearr's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Taxi at port
Member Image silgrim54
1 review
Aug 2016
Freddie our tour guide was very informative. Took us round the island then went to a beach on the east coast near Punta Morena. Lovely beach but the sea was quite rough.
Read silgrim54's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneers
Member Image Jona7
1 review
May 2016
Booked with Safe Tours. Owner Arturo, greeted us at meeting point. Had private ,comfortable van and our driver/tour guide Julio took us where ever we wanted to go. We enjoyed hearing about the area and visiting the chocolate factory, tequila factory and had a wonderful lunch at the tequila factory which was included in the cost. I wish we had more time in port, we would have enjoyed going to the shopping areas, but ship was leaving at 3pm
Read Jona7's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Safe Tours
Member Image universalmind_49
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Can't say enough good things about the driver and the tour. They had a baby seat for us, we felt safe and we had fun. After our brief tour and shopping, we went to a beach club on the wild side of the island, where we were the only ones and were able to have run of the beach.
Read universalmind_49's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tours Plaza
Member Image herlegacy
1 review
Nov 2015
Cold, lots of seaweed, cloudy waters unless you're far enough out. Rain off and on. High prices items.
Read herlegacy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hi2bets
2 reviews
Nov 2015
ok
Read hi2bets's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DarLiz
1 review
Aug 2015
We saw the Mayan Cacao process and the Tequila Museum where we had samples of both products. the ride on the coast line was lovely but stops at tourist shops produced the same items in each shop but at different prices. It was a good way to see the island in a short time.
Read DarLiz's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ashmita1956
1 review
May 2015
This was OK. Did not enjoy much as it was a very hot day. The stops were very short not enough time. Spent longer in Tequila tasting. Did a stop on Montego Bay. Again this was their chosen spot so not good.
Read ashmita1956's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image colgal77
1 review
May 2015
We found a tour at the pier. We had a nice day with a group of 9 people from the same ship. Went downtown for a bit and then around the island. I would have liked to have had more time in the downtown area.... lots of shops (although they probably sell all the same stuff)
Read colgal77's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CajunCpl
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We had chosen the RC Island Overview and Mayan Ruins tour at 11:30, over the Bar Hop tour, because we wanted to see some ruins and get a handle on the island. Turned out we picked the wrong time (my girlfriend wanted to sleep late), because it didn’t leave us time to get a cab to the town plaza before or after our tour. So about 11:45, driver Morita and tour guide Nico took us out on the road. The roads led us through the city streets and out to the countryside. We stopped at San Gervasio Ruins, and Nico gave a good walk and talk tour of the Mayan’s and the site’s history. We went out on the west side of the island and saw plenty of blue water and white sandy beaches. We also stopped at the Chocolate Factory which had free Wi-Fi. We arrived back at the terminal at 3:45. Again, the van’s AC was not doing much, so always sit up front as we did.
Read CajunCpl's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean
Member Image jeffherweg
1 review
Apr 2015
We hired a driver for the day and it was very good. We did nothing spectacular but he took us all over and had a great time doing what we wanted. He took us to a restaurant away from the city and very good food, we went to a ruins and it was good. We went to a tequila factory and although high priced tequila it was worth it.
Read jeffherweg's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Toursplaza.com
Member Image LindaBridge
1 review
Feb 2015
This tour was labelled as a Shopping Tour. I was really pleased that this tour was more comprehensive than just shopping, and included chocolate tasting, tequila tasting and a 15 minute scenic beach stop. Coach was air conditioned and comfortable. I thought it was a nice way to see the island.
Read LindaBridge's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hummelda
1 review
Feb 2015

Our tour guide didn't tell us one thing about the island. We just drove around and went back to the ship. Waste of time.

Read hummelda's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Punksma
2 reviews
Feb 2015

We chose the "Living History & Island Overview" sightseeing excursion. Nicely organized wait in the theater with clearly identified areas for each tour group. The twenty-two of us on this tour were escorted off the ship by our guide, Moy, who proved to be an interesting and engaging guide. We traveled in an small air-conditioned bus to enjoy our visit around the island. As the description of the excursion described, we did visit The Mayan Cacao Company, a Tequileria, the original small town settlement on Cozumel and scenic El Mirador. We learned interesting facts about the Mayans, Cozumel's history, the making of chocolate and tequila and enjoyed samples of each. Great excursion and not too expensive!

Read Punksma's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mfedyk
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2015

"Cozumel Highlights and Shopping" with Margarite as our guide. We were able to skip the "shopping". This was a wonderful all around tour. We were in Cozumel years ago and did the snorkeling and Mayan ruins so this was something new for us. Margarite was wonderfully knowledgeable and spoke understandable English. She really made the tour special. We went to Discover America and saw the Voladores Flyer Show, replicas of pre-historic landmarks, museum of popular arts, the Mayan Caco Co., El Cedra Village, Hacienda Tequila Museum and El mirado. All the stops were very brief but enough to say, "been there and done that" We got lots of great pix. $64.99 a bargain!

Read mfedyk's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dandebnick2
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We had a magnificent, wonderfully romantic cruise A++++++++.

Read dandebnick2's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?