Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From its world famous coral reefs and wild jungle to the multitude of museums, ruins, and other noteworthy buildings, there is much to see on a guided tour of beautiful Cozumel Island.
Member Image herlegacy
1 review
Nov 2015
Cold, lots of seaweed, cloudy waters unless you're far enough out. Rain off and on. High prices items.
Read herlegacy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hi2bets
2 reviews
Nov 2015
ok
Read hi2bets's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DarLiz
1 review
Aug 2015
We saw the Mayan Cacao process and the Tequila Museum where we had samples of both products. the ride on the coast line was lovely but stops at tourist shops produced the same items in each shop but at different prices. It was a good way to see the island in a short time.
Read DarLiz's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ashmita1956
1 review
May 2015
This was OK. Did not enjoy much as it was a very hot day. The stops were very short not enough time. Spent longer in Tequila tasting. Did a stop on Montego Bay. Again this was their chosen spot so not good.
Read ashmita1956's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image colgal77
1 review
May 2015
We found a tour at the pier. We had a nice day with a group of 9 people from the same ship. Went downtown for a bit and then around the island. I would have liked to have had more time in the downtown area.... lots of shops (although they probably sell all the same stuff)
Read colgal77's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CajunCpl
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We had chosen the RC Island Overview and Mayan Ruins tour at 11:30, over the Bar Hop tour, because we wanted to see some ruins and get a handle on the island. Turned out we picked the wrong time (my girlfriend wanted to sleep late), because it didn’t leave us time to get a cab to the town plaza before or after our tour. So about 11:45, driver Morita and tour guide Nico took us out on the road. The roads led us through the city streets and out to the countryside. We stopped at San Gervasio Ruins, and Nico gave a good walk and talk tour of the Mayan’s and the site’s history. We went out on the west side of the island and saw plenty of blue water and white sandy beaches. We also stopped at the Chocolate Factory which had free Wi-Fi. We arrived back at the terminal at 3:45. Again, the van’s AC was not doing much, so always sit up front as we did.
Read CajunCpl's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean
Member Image jeffherweg
1 review
Apr 2015
We hired a driver for the day and it was very good. We did nothing spectacular but he took us all over and had a great time doing what we wanted. He took us to a restaurant away from the city and very good food, we went to a ruins and it was good. We went to a tequila factory and although high priced tequila it was worth it.
Read jeffherweg's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Toursplaza.com
Member Image LindaBridge
1 review
Feb 2015
This tour was labelled as a Shopping Tour. I was really pleased that this tour was more comprehensive than just shopping, and included chocolate tasting, tequila tasting and a 15 minute scenic beach stop. Coach was air conditioned and comfortable. I thought it was a nice way to see the island.
Read LindaBridge's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hummelda
1 review
Feb 2015

Our tour guide didn't tell us one thing about the island. We just drove around and went back to the ship. Waste of time.

Read hummelda's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Punksma
1 review
Feb 2015

We chose the "Living History & Island Overview" sightseeing excursion. Nicely organized wait in the theater with clearly identified areas for each tour group. The twenty-two of us on this tour were escorted off the ship by our guide, Moy, who proved to be an interesting and engaging guide. We traveled in an small air-conditioned bus to enjoy our visit around the island. As the description of the excursion described, we did visit The Mayan Cacao Company, a Tequileria, the original small town settlement on Cozumel and scenic El Mirador. We learned interesting facts about the Mayans, Cozumel's history, the making of chocolate and tequila and enjoyed samples of each. Great excursion and not too expensive!

Read Punksma's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mfedyk
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2015

"Cozumel Highlights and Shopping" with Margarite as our guide. We were able to skip the "shopping". This was a wonderful all around tour. We were in Cozumel years ago and did the snorkeling and Mayan ruins so this was something new for us. Margarite was wonderfully knowledgeable and spoke understandable English. She really made the tour special. We went to Discover America and saw the Voladores Flyer Show, replicas of pre-historic landmarks, museum of popular arts, the Mayan Caco Co., El Cedra Village, Hacienda Tequila Museum and El mirado. All the stops were very brief but enough to say, "been there and done that" We got lots of great pix. $64.99 a bargain!

Read mfedyk's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dandebnick2
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We had a magnificent, wonderfully romantic cruise A++++++++.

Read dandebnick2's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image hapretiree
2 reviews
Apr 2014

3 hour tour of Cozumel in an air-conditioned bus; would have preferred an open vehicle, but that wasn't an option for this tour. Enjoyed the history lesson by the knowledgeable tour guide, but as many tours, the stops are scheduled to look and buy. Which I did. :)

Read hapretiree's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image nkmack
1 review
Mar 2014

Golf course was in good shape. Wide open and not crowded. Rarely waited on any hole. Not difficult but enjoyable. Service was also tops. Newer rental clubs at a fair price $ 50.00. Cart lady was pleasant.

Read nkmack's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wvjlmartin
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

We rented a jeep with a tour guide, maybe 6 jeeps total. Drove all around the island. It was very entertaining. The guides was wonderful.

Read wvjlmartin's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image WeirDave
1 review
Mar 2014

We rented a car locally then headed out to drive the island. We checked out quite a bit on our own including eating on the "other side". We also snorkeled on the other side in a wonderful spot that had the reef 10 feet out. It was filled with marine life and was AMAZING!

Read WeirDave's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image H&J
reviews
Feb 2014

We hired a car and driver to take us on a tour of the island. It was $25 a person (3 of us) plus a $20 tip (aggregate) at it was well worth it. We visited the beach areas as well as the interior. I feel it was money well spent as we saw both the tourist side and inhabitant side of the island. It sure beat sitting around in a Senor Frog's all day.

Read H&J's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Isako
2 reviews
Feb 2014

Pretty beaches. Tequila factory was interesting. Roads are in good condition.

Read Isako's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image lauramcob@sbcglobal.net
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2014

Our tour guide, Margarita, was lovely, entertaining and very knowledgeable. She proudly presented the Mayan ruins at the San Gervais historical site, which was also adorned with many distracting iguanas. As the bus drove through the city and countryside, Margarita tutored us on the island history and current cultures and how the old and the new have blended into the society that is existing today. We also made a very quick 20-minute stop to a beach. Of course, we would have loved more beach time but since we weren't expecting the side tour, it was a nice bonus.

Read lauramcob@sbcglobal.net's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Buggy2001
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Beautiful scenery!

Read Buggy2001's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Tours
Member Image arkansasboy
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

A very friendly and helpful tour company who took care of us and tried hard to give us the best time while on the island.

Read arkansasboy's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: ToursPlaza
Member Image CaringCruiser
1 review
Feb 2013
Tequila! Would have liked more shopping time near port.
Read CaringCruiser's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tcoffman
2 reviews
Feb 2013
We hired a private driver for the day through Tours Plaza. We had Alberto. We had a fantastic day. I highly recommend doing this and I highly recommend Alberto. He was very nice and spoke English very well.
Read tcoffman's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Tours Plaza
Member Image sparklingsoul
2 reviews
Jan 2013
I took RC's island tour of Cozumel, which was interesting but also slow and a bit boring. We ended up at Playa Mia beach, which I liked, and wound up staying there late and taking a taxi back to the ship.
Read sparklingsoul's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image NewbieCruzie
1 review
Jan 2013
I signed up for the Ultimate Island Buggy Tour with Island Marketing Ltd which was supposed to be a tour of the island in "funky colorful buggies" we were supposed to go snorkeling which did not happen ( not exactly sure why) maybe because it was a little windy that day. Also the " bug " that I ended up with was actually a Chev Aveo with the back cut off of it. Only VW bug on the tour was the one driven by the tour guide and one other family. We did go to El Cedral as it stated but it was more like a shopping plaza than a settlement as described. We did stop for lunch and our guide Mario was very nice. He did prepare a nice lunch for us of fresh guacamole and salsa and barbecue chicken and tortillas with rice. When we walked across the street to the beach a big NO SWIMMING sign was posted. I was disappointed overall in this excursion and thought the price was NOT worth what I actually ended up getting. I would NOT recommend this tour.
Read NewbieCruzie's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing Ltd

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.