Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Dune Buggy Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Dune Buggy cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Roar through the jungle in an all-terrain dune buggy to get your adrenaline pumping and enjoy scenic views of Cozumel.
Member Image LovetocruiseRoyal
3 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

The name was jungle buggy and snorkel and it was fantastic. We walked to the start and the guides were very nice, informative and knowledgeable. We rode through town and when the pavement ended the off road began. WOW it was so much fun. After riding off road we stopped by a small resort to learn how to make Pico De gio (spelling) and could swim in the pool if we desired. After another so short ride we went to Plaza Azul for snorkeling. The fish and sea life was beautiful as was the water. Would highly recommend taking this tour.

Read LovetocruiseRoyal's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bgsnydermd
1 review
Jan 2014

Beautiful Destination! We did the Beach Buggy snorkeling excursion and I highly recommend it. Guides were Nacho and Ramon. They were great. You drive a good while on the road before going into a beautiful ecological park. Then you spend 2 hours on the beach where they give you a cheap buffet and free soda/bottled water. We could have skipped the snorkeling and just spent all the time starting at the amazing water. Snorkeling was fun though. Dont expect a finding nemo reef but there were some nice fish to look at. Note that the buggys are pretty unreliable. Ours was ok but some other people had problems. If you go with this excursion just keep in mind you may end up riding in a car at some point. Its still worth it. This island is nice enough where you could also just do your own thing. Its safe and there are lots of good bars and beach spots. Just do some research.

Read bgsnydermd's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Lala5678
1 review
Jan 2014


Shore excursion was great

Read Lala5678's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image brigarlin@rogers.com
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Great fun on original dune buggies. Loud, muddy off road ride. Good authentic Mexican food. Beach was clean with clear water sandy bottom, good for swimming.
We also did an excursion in Colon of the Panama canal. We felt safe on all tours. Notable security provided by ship personnel at the docks in Colon.

Read brigarlin@rogers.com's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Geewizz66
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Combined with the Snorkeling

Read Geewizz66's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image RCL4lfye
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013
AWESOME EXCELLENT TOUR for 89 dollars great bargain great deal and the food was excellent!!!!
Read RCL4lfye's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Burtnlydia
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013

Great Island Tour with good food and snorkeling!

Read Burtnlydia's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cocoandstephen
1 review
Mar 2013
Good experience. Lots of sunshine, fresh air and beautiful beaches. Make sure they know you want your OWN buggy.
Read cocoandstephen's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LLA68
1 review
Feb 2013
Extremely UNSAFE - dune buggy had very little brakes and you are expected to drive on the highway at 90 km/hr in an unsafe vehicle. Another passenger made a complaint to the tour guide and he pulled the break pedal out of his dune buggy, so he didn't have ANY brakes. Not at all what was described on the website. I did speak to the cruise line about this tour.
Read LLA68's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tzadia
1 review
Jan 2013
we decided on an "all terrain X-rails to Jade Caverns" This was a fun experience but ROUGH RIDING. It isn't for the faint of heart. The best part of this excursion was the actual Jade Cavern, awesome time and Bat caves too!! Bring your swimming trunks!
Read Tzadia's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image burgosla67
1 review
Jan 2013
It was a very nice excursion. Better than what we expected. The tour staff was very friendly and experienced. They knew alot about what they were doing and shared with us. The dunne buggies were alot of fun and we loved snorkeling in the beautiful blue water of Cozumel. A must do excurstion!
Read burgosla67's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Funhawg
1 review
Nov 2012
This was actually the Jungle Buggy and Snorkeling at Punta Sur. This was fantastic! Adrian, our guide was entertaining and informative and made sure everyone had a great time.
Read Funhawg's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MellowMel
3 reviews
Oct 2012
We did the Dune Buggy and Beach Snorkel excursion in Cozumel. It was so much fun and I would definitely do it again. Our guides were Eduardo and Julio. We were mainly with Eduardo because Julio ended up being in charge of 9 people who mainly spoke Spanish. They were both very friendly and Eduardo was very knowledgeable. We ended up driving Polaris Razors instead of the dune buggy in the picture on the Disney Port Adventure website. They were awesome! We followed the leader to Punta Sur Eco Park. We got a little muddy on the way with white sand mud. We learned about the crocodiles and how they are safe at the eco park and we learned about the Mayans and saw some small ruins. We then got a lot of beach and snorkel time at a beautiful stretch of calm beach. My daughter and husband went off to snorkel but son and I stayed an played on the beach that was pretty much secluded to us. After the snorkel group got back, we ate a nice, delicious Mexican buffet. We played follow the leader back to the port. Rushed in some 15 minute shopping and boarded the ship.
Read MellowMel's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image newBell11
2 reviews
Oct 2012
We had an absolute blast on this excursion! We had our 2 couples and an 8 year old in the buggy. We went snorkeling first, then had fajitas at a restaurant by the ocean. Then we were off to the tequileria to learn all kinds of things about tequila. Very fun stuff! Then we went on a beautiful drive to the North side of the island. It is beautiful and not crowded over there! We went to the lighthouse then saw crocodiles. We had all the beer and soft drinks we wanted as well. Our tour ended right at the airport. We had just enough time to do some shopping and get back on the ship. Perfect day!
Read newBell11's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: cozumelshoreexcursions.com
Member Image Shagga Mama
1 review
Aug 2012
We snorkeled for a while, and then on to the dune buggies. We went to Punta Sur and saw the lighthouse, crocs, and southern tip of the island. We stopped and did several photos in picturesque places. So beautiful. We had a delicious lunch at the Tequila tour, and then drank a few samples. We absolutely loved every minute of it.
Read Shagga Mama's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Agrupo American tour
Member Image Walgang
1 review
Aug 2012
Great time - 3 couples 2 Dune Buggies - had a Blast - great Snorkeling
Read Walgang's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruiserdawn13
1 review
May 2012
In Cozumel we did the beach buggly snorkle. Be sure you have someone who is good at stick shift. In the description they say they have automatic available. They don't. The drive was an experience to be sure since I haven't driven stick in about 15 years. The fish were amazing and lunch was good. They took us to a hut for shopping and drinks. The people will bargain with you. Stick to your guns about what you want to pay. The sellers will come down to your price.
Read cruiserdawn13's full Carnival Imagination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ReverendVW
2 reviews
Apr 2012
the buggy's would be fun if you weren't in a long caravan. Willie the guide was a nice guy, but he had a bad tour to sell. tiny little Mayan ruin, and some hand fed sad crocs.
Read ReverendVW's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Breezie68
1 review
Mar 2012
AMAZING time with the Dune Buggy and Snorkel. The weather was bad, so we were unable to go to Punta Sur to snorkel, so we went to Chakhanabb instead. Great snorkeling. Good lunch, and had a blast driving the dune buggies. The dune buggy is a stick, and holds 4 people. I joined a group of 3 ladies. The guides were excellent and spoke English very well. I will absolutely do this again once I get there.
Read Breezie68's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Pregnant cruiser
1 review
Feb 2012
Cozumel- We booked through Island Marketing a VW bug tour around the island. Each group gets to drive their own VW buy following the tour guide. Once we set off we stopped for snorkeling and were given beer, pop and water from the moment we started the tour until it ended. We then set off and was taken to a spot where there was an old church, a very small ruin building and of course shops. This part of the tour was not our taste but I know it's to help the economy to sell to us. The next stop we were taught how tequila was made and then we were given samples of about 5 different kinds. Very tasty and then of course had a chance to buy it. We were then off driving around the coast and stopped at a beach. This was the highlight of the tour as the beach and ocean was unbelievably gorgeous. While we were at the beach our tour guide and his wife made a delicious authentic lunch for us; salsa, guacamole, chips, rice and jerk chicken. We then set off to drive again until we reached full circle. It was really relaxing day with great sightseeing and yummy food. This port I found was the best for shopping in real stores.
Read Pregnant cruiser's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image tropicalsun
3 reviews
Feb 2012
This was our third time on this excursion. It's great! They meet us at the port terminal, transport us to the Los Palomos ranch where we get on our 4wd Polaris ATVs. A quick drive down the road and you're on the Jungle Trail. The trip runs you down a jungle trail, the beach, and a small Mayan ruin. We love this tour! Lunch is included at a great restaurant near the pier. After lunch you're given access to the hotel beach or, as some of us chose to do, our guide, Jose, drove us downtown to shop. Our contact at allprotours.com was Moses.
Read tropicalsun's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: allprotours.com
Member Image gr8times4us
4 reviews
Feb 2012
Cozumel Volkswagen Convertible Whole Island Tour and Snorkeling with Omar We booked this Cozumel Island Buggy Tour through Island Marketing Ltd. over a month before our cruise, because this had very limited availability. The 5 hour buggy tour was in VW convertibles with standard transmission (stick shift). We disembarked our cruise ship and picked a free map of Cozumel at the tourist information booth inside Punta Langosta Cruise Terminal and Shopping Center. The meeting location for our tour was at the Diver's Memorial located right on the waterfront at Calle 2 Norte and Rafael Melgar. From the Punta Langosta Port this is a 6 block walk. (approx. 20 minute walk) or a $8US taxi for up to 4 passengers. Since we were early, we chose to walk. Met Omar (who spoke terrific English) at the Diver's Memorial and waited for the rest of our group. Not much shade so be sure to wear a hat. We then walked a few blocks to the business office and signed a contract (who was going to drive, & check their driver's license) Omar took the lead VW which was loaded with a cooler that had local beers, sodas and bottled water and our lunch ingredients. Our first stop was to snorkel on the calmer west side of the island just off the Dzul Ha reef. They had submerged clay pots, so the fish could find shelter and Omar had food in a plastic bag which attracted large schools of fish that completely surrounded our group. Unfortunately, I had forgotten to bring the underwater camera! Our next stop was El Cedral which has a small ancient ruin, a small church and shopping for souvenirs. On to a local Tequila factory where we watched a demonstration of how 11 year aged tequila was made & had some samples. The premium 3/4 liter of tequila was $85. Next we caravanned to the west side of the island, where you can catch more waves. Not many tours in Cozumel get you to this side. They have colored flags to let you know if it is OK to go in the water. Green is safe, yellow & red means use caution and black means don't swim (strong waves and undertow) The day we were there it was yellow, so we could go in. There were also lifeguards in a raised look-out, but I think they were paying more attention to playing cards. Omar prepared lunch at an open-aired restaurant called El Diablo. He had Caribbean grilled chicken, tortillas & chips - plus Omar made fresh guacamole and salsa table side. All was served with the beverages from his cooler. Most of our group had seconds! El Diablo's had a souvenir shop & also a Burma bull with a saddle. Not sure if it was a photo-op or if you got to ride it, but we did neither. The snorkel gear, coral reef stop, unlimited drinks, Tequila tour, El Cedral stop, a wonderful local lunch and marvelous beach time -all for $74 adult and $48 for kids 4-12. I should note that the VW's had no rear view mirror, nor passenger side view mirror or seat belts! But, after a Tequila tasting and a few Sol's or Dos Equis - who cares! This tour is a marvelous way to see most of what Cozumel has to offer! Thanks Omar for a great tour!
Read gr8times4us's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image jja
1 review
Jan 2012
Great tour with Omar. We rented convertible bugs with him and he took us around the island. We snorkeled, swam, visited a village and had a homemade lunch. Would definitely recommend him and the tour. Would also do it again!
Read jja's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island marketing
Member Image swimclubmom
1 review
Dec 2011
Beach Buggy & Snorkel at Punta Sur. LOVED IT!
Read swimclubmom's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.