Cozumel Dune Buggy Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Dune Buggy cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Roar through the jungle in an all-terrain dune buggy to get your adrenaline pumping and enjoy scenic views of Cozumel.
Member Image Cindycc
1 review
Jan 2017
Beach Buggy & Snorkel included driving a buggy on the road (4 people per car) to the eastern side of the island at Explora Beach for a Mexican Buffet and some beach time. Of course, there were merchants selling their Mexican items. Then we traveled to Cozumel’s underwater national park to snorkel. I
Read Cindycc's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bookmomoftwins
1 review
Dec 2016
Our favorite excursion! We drove the open topped, stick-shift dune buggies all over the island, including through downtown Cozumel and along the very scenic coastline. We followed one another, but we went fast! We also stopped at one resort to snorkel--the guides kept the group very close together and guided them through the process, so it was good for beginners, but a little frustrating for seasoned snorkelers. I chose to relax on the beach instead. The final stop was another beach for lunch, shopping, and relaxing. It was an absolute paradise. The food was fantastic and plentiful, the kids had a blast running in the waves, and there were hammocks to relax in. We didn't want to leave. The guides were exceptional--they stayed at the front and back as we were driving to help with any troubles on the road and went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. So well organized, we didn't have to worry about anything. Loved this excursion.
Read bookmomoftwins's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RVachon
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Was a great tour of the eco park, great lunch and swim not to mention the visit to the tequila place.
Read RVachon's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pirateprincess74066
1 review
Oct 2016
guides were great. felt very safe. they were very knowledgeable.
Read pirateprincess74066's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tanya.Roedell
1 review
Oct 2016
Ask for Johnny!!!! We had our own private Dune Buggy Tour and it was AMAZING!!!! First question he asked was, what do you want to do? We had no idea so he said let's go drink some tequila! We said OK! We went to our first tequila tasting. He asked what we wanted to do next? We didnt know so he suggested that we go check out the beaches and they are unreal!!! he told us history of the island and showed us some of the really beautiful spots (not like the whole island isn't gorgeous! He made sure that we did not got to any of the spots that the group tours were going. He took us to this little shack on the beach were the bartender made us a mojito and Marguita from scratch, then invited us to lay in the hammocks. My husband was ready to take a nap he was so relaxed and Johnny was OK with it all. We didn't but then continued on to check out the light house. While we were up there we saw a mexican raccon. We were able to leave the light house fast enough to see him up close. I got some GREAT pictures of him. He showed us a brackish lake that had a crocodile. Being from Fla, this is the first time I've seen on of those up close. Then we had lunch and he took us snorkeling. He was amazing!!! He literally just hung out with us. I would totally do this tour again!
Read Tanya.Roedell's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Cozumel Cruise Excursions
Member Image kittyx3
1 review
Sep 2016
Jesus and crew were fantastic. The guided snorkel was refreshing.
Read kittyx3's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ferrcad
1 review
Sep 2016
Great
Read ferrcad's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Livesteamer
4 reviews
May 2016
Super experience with Alan as our tour guide...great snorkeling, fun to drive (although the 4 speed clutch was a bit sloppy) and lunch on the windward side of the island on the beach with the surf and sand was very nice
Read Livesteamer's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Cozumel Dune Buggy
Member Image TLeev
1 review
Apr 2016
Buggy was fun, not scenic as suggested, beach club was an old hotel and snorkeling was done at a restaurant boat launch
Read TLeev's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AndrewSchwark
2 reviews
Feb 2016
Excellent tour, very safe fun. Tour the island, learn Mayan history, little shopping, hour beach, half hour snorkel, driving the island in these buggy's was fun! Omar and Jose were great guides!!
Read AndrewSchwark's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: cozumelbuggy.com
Member Image phelp1ma
1 review
Jan 2016
This was a fun one, the snorkeling was nice and the dune buggy's were cool. They do not go off road but rather just drive all around the island so we can see the whole place. You must know how to drive a stick and must bring your driver's license if you want to drive.
Read phelp1ma's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image caroljenson
1 review
Jan 2016
Warning - you will get very dirty. Do not bring anything of value because it will get dirty and muddy. The tour guide does not tell you this. They do not offer lockers at the beginning of the excursion.
Read caroljenson's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TraceyM
1 review
Sep 2015
Pedro and KIKI did an excellent job. Started meeting right off the boat. Left area approx. 1140 due to late guest (as always expected). Headed a short walk to our dune buggies. All are stick shift- must be able to drive (someone in your party). Short drive to snorkel area for approx. 45 min -no sunscreen allowed due to marine restrictions-wear a shirt if need too. Bring towels for seat is hard and hot in dune buggy. Surprised by free tequila tasting. Didn't choose to buy photos at snorkeling that were taken/printed-however when we were at the car they cut the price in half and tried to sell again. Bring bottle water--sodas at that site are 5.00 each! Lockers for rent 9.00 with 4.00 returned with return of key. Long ride in buggy to other side of island to beach with pavilion with Mexican Food. I opted not to eat, did drink the soda and bottle water included in excursion price and decided to swim while the others pigged out under the pavilion. Nice ride through downtown-although a bit scary with area we were in. Told to stay in tight caravan- guides in front buggy and last buggy in case we got stopped at lights. They really did awesome job. They love what they do and are very knowledgeable. We did give tip and surprised how many people do not tip the tour guides. Would do this excursion again--need good weather. All buggies are convertibles!!
Read TraceyM's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lgstovall
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Not a lot of fun. A lot of driving. The snorkel area was decent, I guess, but I have been to much better areas to snorkel. The location we stopped at, after driving 45 minutes, for lunch was a dive and food was not good. The drive back to town was interesting because we went through the real Cozumel, not the glamorous part.
Read lgstovall's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RPN1
1 review
May 2015
Was a great time!!! Felt very safe and it was our first time to Mexico so we Erie a bit nervous but was wonderful. Used the taxi with no problem. Dune buggy excursion was fantastic. Our guides were great!!! The water is so blue and the market at the port great to shop at for traditional souvenir's. The hammock's that they sell there are beautiful. Great place to visit but was very hot!!!
Read RPN1's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image 1city@atime
1 review
Apr 2015
Dune buggy ride was fun. The stop for lunch was beautiful, food was good. The snorkeling spot was ok. Getting in and out of the water was rough. Many people were uncomfortable and didn't snorkel at all or only for a moment.
Read 1city@atime's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image anshad
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Great Excursion- NEED TO BE ABLE TO DRIVE A MANUAL TRANSMISSION. Loved the snorkeling and all of the beautiful fish. Lunch is provided, and was good. Enjoyed the Chicken Fajitas. The beach for lunch was off limits for swimming as the Caribbean Sea is too rough to swim- Amazing views and pictures though.
Read anshad's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carolrhodes
1 review
Apr 2015
Dune buggies in very poor condition. Didn't take us on guided snorkel tour at Chakaanab. Mayan village was very hokey and just a stop for tips. Snorkeling at end was pitiful. We snorkeled against sea wall for 20 minutes. Lunch was okay.
Read carolrhodes's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Amy Natt
1 review
Apr 2015
We enjoyed the dune buggies, but a quick lesson in driving a stick shift would have been helpful. We had to separate into 2 cars, but that was okay. The excursion when longer then planned and we added an extra stop that felt like a tourist trap. We then drove back through Cozumel traffic and it was very hot and lots of traffic. If we had returned after lunch and skipped the added stop it would have been much better!
Read Amy Natt's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image hcgraham4840
1 review
Apr 2015
The buggy's were well cared for and we got to tour the entire Island. I would have liked to take the buggy out on the sand for some real fun. Our guides were very friendly and courteous. The luncheon they provided was fantastic.
Read hcgraham4840's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: GT Riviera
Member Image Acedublb
1 review
Apr 2015
Omar and his brother Reuben were amazing, one of the best days my wife and I have ever experienced. Two vehicles followed Omar and we stopped at Chankanab a Beach for excellent Snorkeling escorted by Reuben. Then on to la ace drake Mayan Ruin and my wife bought some beautiful bracelets, earrings and necklace at Black Coral shop, excellent quality and price. Then off to back side of island which is all Nature Preserve and we stopped at a restaurant across from beach. Omar brought a plentiful and very tasty lunch of chicken, guacamole, chips, tortillas, rice and salsa which we ate on second floor overlooking beach. We waded and swam there for an hour, absolutely beautiful water and sand. Omar brings ice cold water, pop and amazing beer which we drank almost continuously for 5 hours. We were lucky and had our own VW Dune a Buggy and followed Omar. The roads were excellent, better than back home and traffic was light. When we arrived back in city, Omar had two cabs waiting for us. An amazing day we want to repeat even though we ran out of gas on Main Street 3 minutes after leaving his yard, "All part of The Show" as Omar said. Their English was great. Highly recommended. Weather was superb.
Read Acedublb's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image AB Seaman
1 review
Apr 2015
Got fried because we couldn't put on sunscreen because we also snorkeled. Driving the dune buggy was like being 18 again. We got lost because the leader took a wrong turn and everyone followed.
Read AB Seaman's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image penguin9
1 review
Mar 2015
Fun dune buggy caravan ride (but dune buggy was in disrepair)... stopped for a yummy lunch and waded in the waves. Then we went to a resort and snorkeled from the beach there... fun! Also did a tequila tasting before going back to the ship.
Read penguin9's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jeninjax
1 review
Mar 2015
The best part of this excursion was riding around in the open air dune buggy. It seems like this tour could have been much more organized...we started a little late and barely got back to port on time. They were not able to take us to all tour stops due to wasted time.
Read Jeninjax's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island marketing
Member Image happyjennyo
1 review
Mar 2015

Tour stated no minimum age for buggy. However this was not the case. We were given a Jeep with a car seat which was nice. This and the drive were the best part of the tour.

First stop was the snorkel stop. The club was a "private" club with other guests from ships and not. We did not snorkel because of our toddler and was hoping to enjoy the beach. There was most much beach to enjoy and we saw some trash on the beach. The entry was small with many snorklers and a kayak tour entering into he water. Not very relaxing at all and not the hour of beach time we were expecting. Also my husband was offered drugs while walking around with our 2 year old. He was offered harder drugs and this was from someone who was at a booth from one of the vendors SET UP IN THE CLUB. The guy then followed my husband around to try and sell stuff. Also showed my husband a pipe and told him it changes color when you smoke out of it, and offered him weed and another harder substance.

We were very happy to leave this stop, and enjoyed the longer drive to the second stop. The drive was great. WE got to the second stop with lunch. The food was o.k. Not great. the waves were too high for swimming and there was a red flag out. WE just took photos by the beach and enjoyed the scenery. not many people at this beach. One of the shops had the nicest ladies ever.

This is were the tour went from a possible 3 start to a 1 star. The family in front of us were warning the tour guide that their buggy did not work well. About 2 minutes after we left, their buggy died. The guide promised he would look out for us, and not leave us behind. We stayed with this family, thinking that the driver would be back. NOPE. WE sat there for 10 minutes, and finally we told them we were going to drive ahead and look for the group, thinking they were not far behind. We drove for 15 minutes before we caught the driver. He told us to wait with the rest of the group. We waited for another 20 minutes before the family came in his buggy. It was hot, we were on the side of the road waiting until our tour guide came up finally. WE got back to the ship, with just enough time to get on the ship. No shopping or exploring and we were supposed to be back with 2 hours to spare. SO frustrating. Would not ever recommend this tour.

Read happyjennyo's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?