Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Dune Buggy Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Dune Buggy cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Roar through the jungle in an all-terrain dune buggy to get your adrenaline pumping and enjoy scenic views of Cozumel.
Member Image Livesteamer
4 reviews
May 2016
Super experience with Alan as our tour guide...great snorkeling, fun to drive (although the 4 speed clutch was a bit sloppy) and lunch on the windward side of the island on the beach with the surf and sand was very nice
Read Livesteamer's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Cozumel Dune Buggy
Member Image AndrewSchwark
2 reviews
Feb 2016
Excellent tour, very safe fun. Tour the island, learn Mayan history, little shopping, hour beach, half hour snorkel, driving the island in these buggy's was fun! Omar and Jose were great guides!!
Read AndrewSchwark's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: cozumelbuggy.com
Member Image phelp1ma
1 review
Jan 2016
This was a fun one, the snorkeling was nice and the dune buggy's were cool. They do not go off road but rather just drive all around the island so we can see the whole place. You must know how to drive a stick and must bring your driver's license if you want to drive.
Read phelp1ma's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image caroljenson
1 review
Jan 2016
Warning - you will get very dirty. Do not bring anything of value because it will get dirty and muddy. The tour guide does not tell you this. They do not offer lockers at the beginning of the excursion.
Read caroljenson's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TraceyM
1 review
Sep 2015
Pedro and KIKI did an excellent job. Started meeting right off the boat. Left area approx. 1140 due to late guest (as always expected). Headed a short walk to our dune buggies. All are stick shift- must be able to drive (someone in your party). Short drive to snorkel area for approx. 45 min -no sunscreen allowed due to marine restrictions-wear a shirt if need too. Bring towels for seat is hard and hot in dune buggy. Surprised by free tequila tasting. Didn't choose to buy photos at snorkeling that were taken/printed-however when we were at the car they cut the price in half and tried to sell again. Bring bottle water--sodas at that site are 5.00 each! Lockers for rent 9.00 with 4.00 returned with return of key. Long ride in buggy to other side of island to beach with pavilion with Mexican Food. I opted not to eat, did drink the soda and bottle water included in excursion price and decided to swim while the others pigged out under the pavilion. Nice ride through downtown-although a bit scary with area we were in. Told to stay in tight caravan- guides in front buggy and last buggy in case we got stopped at lights. They really did awesome job. They love what they do and are very knowledgeable. We did give tip and surprised how many people do not tip the tour guides. Would do this excursion again--need good weather. All buggies are convertibles!!
Read TraceyM's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lgstovall
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Not a lot of fun. A lot of driving. The snorkel area was decent, I guess, but I have been to much better areas to snorkel. The location we stopped at, after driving 45 minutes, for lunch was a dive and food was not good. The drive back to town was interesting because we went through the real Cozumel, not the glamorous part.
Read lgstovall's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RPN1
1 review
May 2015
Was a great time!!! Felt very safe and it was our first time to Mexico so we Erie a bit nervous but was wonderful. Used the taxi with no problem. Dune buggy excursion was fantastic. Our guides were great!!! The water is so blue and the market at the port great to shop at for traditional souvenir's. The hammock's that they sell there are beautiful. Great place to visit but was very hot!!!
Read RPN1's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image 1city@atime
1 review
Apr 2015
Dune buggy ride was fun. The stop for lunch was beautiful, food was good. The snorkeling spot was ok. Getting in and out of the water was rough. Many people were uncomfortable and didn't snorkel at all or only for a moment.
Read 1city@atime's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image anshad
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Great Excursion- NEED TO BE ABLE TO DRIVE A MANUAL TRANSMISSION. Loved the snorkeling and all of the beautiful fish. Lunch is provided, and was good. Enjoyed the Chicken Fajitas. The beach for lunch was off limits for swimming as the Caribbean Sea is too rough to swim- Amazing views and pictures though.
Read anshad's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carolrhodes
1 review
Apr 2015
Dune buggies in very poor condition. Didn't take us on guided snorkel tour at Chakaanab. Mayan village was very hokey and just a stop for tips. Snorkeling at end was pitiful. We snorkeled against sea wall for 20 minutes. Lunch was okay.
Read carolrhodes's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Amy Natt
1 review
Apr 2015
We enjoyed the dune buggies, but a quick lesson in driving a stick shift would have been helpful. We had to separate into 2 cars, but that was okay. The excursion when longer then planned and we added an extra stop that felt like a tourist trap. We then drove back through Cozumel traffic and it was very hot and lots of traffic. If we had returned after lunch and skipped the added stop it would have been much better!
Read Amy Natt's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image hcgraham4840
1 review
Apr 2015
The buggy's were well cared for and we got to tour the entire Island. I would have liked to take the buggy out on the sand for some real fun. Our guides were very friendly and courteous. The luncheon they provided was fantastic.
Read hcgraham4840's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: GT Riviera
Member Image Acedublb
1 review
Apr 2015
Omar and his brother Reuben were amazing, one of the best days my wife and I have ever experienced. Two vehicles followed Omar and we stopped at Chankanab a Beach for excellent Snorkeling escorted by Reuben. Then on to la ace drake Mayan Ruin and my wife bought some beautiful bracelets, earrings and necklace at Black Coral shop, excellent quality and price. Then off to back side of island which is all Nature Preserve and we stopped at a restaurant across from beach. Omar brought a plentiful and very tasty lunch of chicken, guacamole, chips, tortillas, rice and salsa which we ate on second floor overlooking beach. We waded and swam there for an hour, absolutely beautiful water and sand. Omar brings ice cold water, pop and amazing beer which we drank almost continuously for 5 hours. We were lucky and had our own VW Dune a Buggy and followed Omar. The roads were excellent, better than back home and traffic was light. When we arrived back in city, Omar had two cabs waiting for us. An amazing day we want to repeat even though we ran out of gas on Main Street 3 minutes after leaving his yard, "All part of The Show" as Omar said. Their English was great. Highly recommended. Weather was superb.
Read Acedublb's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image AB Seaman
1 review
Apr 2015
Got fried because we couldn't put on sunscreen because we also snorkeled. Driving the dune buggy was like being 18 again. We got lost because the leader took a wrong turn and everyone followed.
Read AB Seaman's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image penguin9
1 review
Mar 2015
Fun dune buggy caravan ride (but dune buggy was in disrepair)... stopped for a yummy lunch and waded in the waves. Then we went to a resort and snorkeled from the beach there... fun! Also did a tequila tasting before going back to the ship.
Read penguin9's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jeninjax
1 review
Mar 2015
The best part of this excursion was riding around in the open air dune buggy. It seems like this tour could have been much more organized...we started a little late and barely got back to port on time. They were not able to take us to all tour stops due to wasted time.
Read Jeninjax's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island marketing
Member Image happyjennyo
1 review
Mar 2015

Tour stated no minimum age for buggy. However this was not the case. We were given a Jeep with a car seat which was nice. This and the drive were the best part of the tour.

First stop was the snorkel stop. The club was a "private" club with other guests from ships and not. We did not snorkel because of our toddler and was hoping to enjoy the beach. There was most much beach to enjoy and we saw some trash on the beach. The entry was small with many snorklers and a kayak tour entering into he water. Not very relaxing at all and not the hour of beach time we were expecting. Also my husband was offered drugs while walking around with our 2 year old. He was offered harder drugs and this was from someone who was at a booth from one of the vendors SET UP IN THE CLUB. The guy then followed my husband around to try and sell stuff. Also showed my husband a pipe and told him it changes color when you smoke out of it, and offered him weed and another harder substance.

We were very happy to leave this stop, and enjoyed the longer drive to the second stop. The drive was great. WE got to the second stop with lunch. The food was o.k. Not great. the waves were too high for swimming and there was a red flag out. WE just took photos by the beach and enjoyed the scenery. not many people at this beach. One of the shops had the nicest ladies ever.

This is were the tour went from a possible 3 start to a 1 star. The family in front of us were warning the tour guide that their buggy did not work well. About 2 minutes after we left, their buggy died. The guide promised he would look out for us, and not leave us behind. We stayed with this family, thinking that the driver would be back. NOPE. WE sat there for 10 minutes, and finally we told them we were going to drive ahead and look for the group, thinking they were not far behind. We drove for 15 minutes before we caught the driver. He told us to wait with the rest of the group. We waited for another 20 minutes before the family came in his buggy. It was hot, we were on the side of the road waiting until our tour guide came up finally. WE got back to the ship, with just enough time to get on the ship. No shopping or exploring and we were supposed to be back with 2 hours to spare. SO frustrating. Would not ever recommend this tour.

Read happyjennyo's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image shuttermom3
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2015

We did a private buggy tour so we would not have to wait for a large group or have to see things we didn't want to see. It also gives you one on one time with more locals and they are able to show you things you wouldn't see on a tour. We went to the top of the lighthouse, looked for crocodiles, snorkelled and swam, ate a delicious lunch of homemade fajitas and took pictures with Pedro the iguana. My husband loved driving the buggy and I enjoyed sitting in the back with the guide, learning so much about Cozumel and its people.

Read shuttermom3's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: CruiseExcursions
Member Image sbachleda
4 reviews
Dec 2014

Did the dune buggy/snorkel tour. Make sure you know how to dive a standard shift car if you want to do this. The tour guides Maria and Mauricio were great. they explained what we would be doing, where we were going and how long we would have at each stop. The dune buggies themselves were not well maintained. Our buggy caught fire less tan 10 minutes after we started. They gave us another and this one had no seatbelts in the rear seats. Third time lucky and that one worked well. We saw at least two other buggies break down in this tour. We snorkeled at a resort with a restaurant, bar etc. Snorkeling was OK but not the best. We went on to a beach on the Caribbean side of Cozumel that was absolutely beautiful and had a great Mexican buffet lunch there. Then drove back to the port. One thing that was a little disappointing was that we were not allowed to drive the dune buggies on the beach. The tour was fun but the poor condition of the vehicles stopped it from being great.

Read sbachleda's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LovetocruiseRoyal
3 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

The name was jungle buggy and snorkel and it was fantastic. We walked to the start and the guides were very nice, informative and knowledgeable. We rode through town and when the pavement ended the off road began. WOW it was so much fun. After riding off road we stopped by a small resort to learn how to make Pico De gio (spelling) and could swim in the pool if we desired. After another so short ride we went to Plaza Azul for snorkeling. The fish and sea life was beautiful as was the water. Would highly recommend taking this tour.

Read LovetocruiseRoyal's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bgsnydermd
1 review
Jan 2014

Beautiful Destination! We did the Beach Buggy snorkeling excursion and I highly recommend it. Guides were Nacho and Ramon. They were great. You drive a good while on the road before going into a beautiful ecological park. Then you spend 2 hours on the beach where they give you a cheap buffet and free soda/bottled water. We could have skipped the snorkeling and just spent all the time starting at the amazing water. Snorkeling was fun though. Dont expect a finding nemo reef but there were some nice fish to look at. Note that the buggys are pretty unreliable. Ours was ok but some other people had problems. If you go with this excursion just keep in mind you may end up riding in a car at some point. Its still worth it. This island is nice enough where you could also just do your own thing. Its safe and there are lots of good bars and beach spots. Just do some research.

Read bgsnydermd's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Lala5678
1 review
Jan 2014


Shore excursion was great

Read Lala5678's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image brigarlin@rogers.com
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Great fun on original dune buggies. Loud, muddy off road ride. Good authentic Mexican food. Beach was clean with clear water sandy bottom, good for swimming.
We also did an excursion in Colon of the Panama canal. We felt safe on all tours. Notable security provided by ship personnel at the docks in Colon.

Read brigarlin@rogers.com's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Geewizz66
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Combined with the Snorkeling

Read Geewizz66's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RCL4lfye
reviews
Not Rated
May 2013
AWESOME EXCELLENT TOUR for 89 dollars great bargain great deal and the food was excellent!!!!
Read RCL4lfye's full cruise review
Provider:

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.