Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Culinary Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Culinary Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mexican cuisine is colorful and delicious. Satisfy your palette on a culinary tour to hot spots and hidden gems on the island of Cozumel.
Member Image larry_kak
4 reviews
Jun 2014

I would NOT do this again. We wanted to learn how to make different kinds of salsa. They put you in tables of eight, much to crowded to work well, to much time spent hyping their own products, facebook page, etc., you had to share ingredients and if someone used to much, there wasn't enough. The group should be much smaller with individual small tables and it would work much better.

Read larry_kak's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Robot RN
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Best trip ever in this port. Oscar the chef was great. After cooking and eating we had two hours to swin at resort.

Read Robot RN's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image retiring soon
10 reviews
May 2014

I had a great time on the"Eat, Drink, Walk" culinary tour. Our guide Alex was very good & provided us with red umbrellas which fortunately we didn't need for rain just for shade. The food & drinks were good as was the commentary on buildings etc. The sidewalks are not in very good conditions in places so you have to watch out. I was impressed that Carnival added me to the 8 passengers from another of their ships that was in port beside us.

Read retiring soon's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image bamacruisersDJJ
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

We were transferred by a taxi from the pier area to a beautiful location located on the beach inside an air conditioned sun room where we met Lucy. Lucy taught us about KaoKao the cacao bean. We got to learn about where cacao comes from, how it is grown, harvested and processed to become the chocolate that we know and the chocolate they make there in Cozumel. Then we got to sample lots of different chocolate candy, drinks and Mole'. Then we got to make our own chocolate that you get to keep. The other chocolates we tasted were offered at the end for purchase. It was very educational and lots of hands on fun!

Read bamacruisersDJJ's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image stacis64
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2014

A Local resident opens her home to tourists for a culinary adventure. You take a short walk to her local market to buy fresh produce. She demonstrates many different local dishes and drinks. You make your own corn tortillas which she makes quesidalles out of. 3 hours. Great time and highly recommended.

Read stacis64's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: cozumelchef.com
Member Image y44ynot
1 review
Feb 2014

The Discover was not at all what we expected. I should have paid closer attention. All of the ruins were mini to scale. They were placed in a walk able garden. We thought we'd be on a city tour. The tour guide did know a lot about each ruin and went into detail about many of them. The Taste portion was three taco's and a beverage. All were very good.

Read y44ynot's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image bl413
1 review
Jan 2014

Lots of fun

Read bl413's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 13specialk
6 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2014

We participated in the highly rated - tripadvisor - Cozumel food tour. It lasts about three hours and you are taken to non-touristy specialty food restaurants to sample some really good Mexican food. It is a good time and Emily does a heck of a job organizing the program.

Read 13specialk's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Emily Egge
Member Image dlbaqua
2 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Great excursion, Isis was very informative. Even though we walked through some of the not great areas of town, I always felt safe. Got a lot of food and a lot of information about Cozumel. Highly recommend this to those who don't want to go to the beach.

Read dlbaqua's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ilvinorosso
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Wish that there were more than 6 stars to rate this. The highlight of the trip was our excursion in Cozumel. We did the cooking class, Mexican Cuisine, at one of the all inclusive resorts, Playa Mia. It was a blast. The chef, Oscar, and his assistant Moises were fantastic. To the best of my recollection the food was also good, even though I cooked what I ate.

Read ilvinorosso's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jcorgidog
5 reviews
Aug 2013

Excellent excursion experience. Learned how to make two kinds of marguaritas, 5 kinds of salsa, and delicious guacamole. Then we learned how to dance salsa! And the drinks were flowing! Highly recommended.

Read jcorgidog's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MrChocoholic
5 reviews
Mar 2013
My 10-year old daughter loves Mexican food. She chose this cruise because she wanted to eat tacos in Mexico. Found though TripAdvisor this lady named Josefina Gonzalez Luigi who runs cooking classes coupled with a shopping trip to the market. On top of it, she teaches the fine art of margarita mixing. Irresistible! Not offered through cruise line. Booked and paid deposit using PayPal at alfcozumel@hotmail.com. Easy. Grabbed a cab in port. We were very early and only had a small breakfast on the ship (horrible Eggs Benedict!) so we ate some pozole and guacamole at Restaurant Flamante before class. Mmmm. Delicious. Then Josefina met us at her door and showed us the garden full of bougainvillea, banana and plantain trees, bright red annato plants, nopal cactus. We saw the spectacle of colors and sights that are a typical market as we shopped for the ingredients we'd need for the dishes we selected. Back in the kitchen and at the dining table we mashed, stirred, ground, talked, laughed, diced, sauteed, tasted, smelled, saw raw flowers turned into seasoning, were dazzled by the colors of the Yucatecan palate (pun intended), learned and had a wonderful experience. Because it was only the two of us, there was time for Josefina to arrange a private visit and tour of the Kaokao Chocolate factory which makes artesanal chocolate products. Amazing! The owners met us and engaged in lively discussion about the history and influence of chocolate from the New World on the old. Altogether an amazing day.
Read MrChocoholic's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: alfcozumel@hotmail.com through Cozumel Booking Ser
Member Image ReverendVW
2 reviews
Feb 2013
I did the Mexican cuisine in Cozumel, I was hesitant at first, but afterwards, would highly recommend it. Playa mia was a great beach, and the class was fun. The wife only had 3 margarita's and could barely keep her eyes straight, so be careful!
Read ReverendVW's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image KoH_Cliff
1 review
Feb 2013
We did the Mexican Cuisine Cooking Class for an excursion. You get off the boat and they force you to walk through this 100 yard 10 foot wide shop where you get hassled to buy everything and anything. Not cool Carnival. Then lots of shopping right there once out of the shoot. Short bus ride to our Cooking Class at Playa Mia. This place was Awesome. Huge facility. The cooking class was great. The beach was nice. The water park was fun. I would do this again every year.
Read KoH_Cliff's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image kneedoc
3 reviews
Feb 2013

Day pass for cooking class and drinks at a beach resort. Weather was bad so we didn't do the beach, but loved the cooking class.

Read kneedoc's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lunabug
1 review
Jan 2013
Wasn't really impressed with Cozumel as a destination overall. We signed up for the Mexican Cooking lesson and that was excellent. Chef Oscar had the 20 or so guests cook a three course meal that was served to us on completion. He kept us entertained through the experience using his skills as a chef and a musical entertainer. My impression is everyone thought similarly to us. The taxi van ride to and from the resort was a harrowing experience. The driver noticed we were nervous and talking about his driving so he nicely turned up the music so he could no longer hear us.
Read lunabug's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image disudds
3 reviews
Dec 2012
In Cozumel we booked the Mexican Cuisine and tasting through NCL. Although we had to wait quite a while before we were picked up, the excursion was great. We went to Playa Mia where our chef, Oscar, talked us through the creation of a delicious Mexican fish lunch. During the class we were treated to Oscar's humor as well as Mexican beer. (Other drinks were also available.) Once we were finished cooking, we were escorted to a dining room overlooking the ocean where we enjoyed our lunch with more beer or wine. After that we were given free time at Playa Mia, but we had so little time left that we didn't get to enjoy more than a quick walk on the pier and a Margarita. After the excursion we had time to walk through the shops of Cozumel, where the typical Mexican offerings (hats, dolls, purses, etc.) were available.
Read disudds's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jeffnjan
1 review
Dec 2012
This was a cooking class at the beach that was my wife's idea but I have to say I enjoyed it very much. We've been to Cozumel often and wanted to do something different. We cooked Grouper and it was great. We had about 2 hours at the beach afterwords. I recommend this tour.
Read jeffnjan's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image deetravel
1 review
Nov 2012
We booked the Mexican Cooking Experience at Playa Mia. The Pier was well organized and we took a 10 min bus ride to the Play Mia beach club. The cooking class was supposed to take 2 hours, followed by lunch and a few hours to enjoy the beach. When we arrived the previous class was running late, so we started late. Then the class took 3 hours and we had no beach time. If we return to Cozumel we would book a beach break here but skip the cooking class. The food we prepared was not very interesting, and the dessert was inedible. I expected something a bit more traditional then grilled fish with pre made tamarind sauce, and shrimp in a Tortia. I would not do this excursion again.
Read deetravel's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kenwill65
1 review
Nov 2012
The trip over to the resort was good. Our guide(Isa {sp})took care of everything in getting us to the right place at the right time and all the way back to the ship. Oscar the chef who was teaching us was very energetic and entertaining as he taught us how to cook a 3 course meal. If this is your type of fun then I would recommend this. The only down side is we were delayed in getting started and did not get the little bit of beach time that we were supposed to get. Not a deal breaker though since that was not the focus of this excursion.
Read Kenwill65's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image CruiserPhil
1 review
Sep 2012
We got to make 5 different salsas, learn the salsa, and make margaritas. What else could we ask for. Our chefs were entertaining and the excursion was just plain fun!
Read CruiserPhil's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image khidhala
1 review
Jul 2012
The chef was hilarious, the drinks were free-flowing (and better yet, free), and the food was delicious. Everyone who went had a great time, even grandpa who didn't want to do anything but sit on the beach and watch the girls. After lunch, there was time to relax on the beach. Nice sand for laying out on, but a few feet in the water, the shore gets a bit rocky. Better to stay on beach and order another margarita. Did I mention all the drinks were included??
Read khidhala's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image TylerTxCruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
The Salsa and Salsa shore excursion took us from the dock to a resort where we were set up in an open air venue (it was covered and had plenty of fans) to learn to make 7 different types of salsa and 2 different margaritas. This is a hands on experience and was great fun. The margaritas flowed freely during the entire excursion. Afterwards, the tables were cleared from the floor and the salsa dance lessons began. All in all, it was fun but limited time to enjoy the resort's pool/beach afterwards. My only criticism of this excursion was that the transportation from the dock to the resort needs to be better planned. We waited around for about 1/2 hour before the excursion team was able to secure cabs to transport our group of 80.
Read TylerTxCruiser's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image larry_kak
4 reviews
Jun 2012
We booked a cooking class through RCI and loved it. They took us to Playa Maya and we worked as a team to cook and then eat an appetizer, entree, and desert. We would do it again, it was so much fun.
Read larry_kak's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image milhouse0506
2 reviews
May 2012
booked Mexican cooking class at Playa Mia through cruise line. This was awesome, would do it again. It even included an open bar which we were not expecting!
Read milhouse0506's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lovevaca
1 review
Apr 2012
We booked an amazing cooking class through the website Cozumelmycozumel.com. Josephina is the chef. She welcomed our family of 4, along with another couple, into her kitchen. We picked the entree that we wanted to learn to make (Chicken Mole) ahead of time and, in addition, everyone in all of her classes makes about 10 other things (Guacamole, Salsa, Cactus Salad, Cucumber and Mango Salad, Refried Beans, Homemade Tortillas, Quesedeas, Hibiscus tea and, of course, margaritas). Our class started with a trip to the local market, where Josephina showed us how to pick out the best produce and, upon request, also helped my son pick out a few choice hot sauces. Back at her home, we alternated between preparing our meal and eating our creations, until we finally tried our masterpiece - Chicken Mole. While the taste was a bit too unusual for the kids (who continued to enjoy everything else), all of the adults in the class loved this dish. I've had Chicken Mole a few times, but this was by far my favorite. This class was great for the whole family - me (definitely the cook of the family), DH (who usually avoids the kitchen at all costs, and DD(13) and DS(12) who loved making and eating these creations. If you are looking for an authentic experience and can tear yourself away from the beach for a few hours, I highly recommend booking this excursion!
Read lovevaca's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Cozumelmycozumel
Member Image shannoels
1 review
Apr 2012
We loved the Salsa and Salsa excursion. We've been on several excursions on several different cruises and this one was mine and my daughters (age 10 and 13) favorite! We had so much fun making our own salsas (seven different kinds), drinking as many margaritas as we'd like(virgin margaritas and lemonade for the kids), learning how to make margaritas, and then learning how to dance the Salsa (after drinking the margaritas). The two ladies teaching us how to make salsas and dance the salsa were fabulous - very entertaining and made it a lot of fun. This is a great excursion for multi-generations - really great for all ages - at least for those who can use a knife.
Read shannoels's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image levardis
1 review
Mar 2012
Would greatly recommend this one! The food we made, learned how to prepare and eat was exceptionally good! We started with deciding on what meals to make, visited the local market place for groceries, and came back to the house to start prep work. We may have to make a special trip to Cozumel the next time we have a taste for Josefina's cooking.
Read levardis's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Cozumel Cocina con Alma
Member Image kathyb19
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2012
If you don't do any other excursion, do this one. We had a blast. When we got there after a 15 minute bus ride, we were greeted by the chef and assigned our cooking spaces. Then the drink orders were taken. It was 10 in the morning and we were already drinking. And they made any type of drink you wanted. (and they kept on coming) We made three separate dishes and ate them at the end of the class. Our chef was hysterical and made the class even more fun. This is not class for kids but the adults will love it. A must do choice.
Read kathyb19's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cdymom1907
2 reviews
Mar 2012
This was so much fun. Made 7 salsas and 2 different margaritas. Also taught the salsa dance. The only drawback was the excursion advertised time for pool and or beach and snorkel gear available to rent. There was no time for the water ( I skipped the dance lesson...the water was too inviting) and the hotel said the snorkel gear was for hotel guests only.
Read cdymom1907's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image melwrey
1 review
Mar 2012
Highly recommend this one if you are a food junkie. Master Chef Luis and his staff are not only wonderful instructors and talented at their profession but highly entertaining as well. The food is delicious and there is also an open bar. The cooking class in it self is outstanding. There was one disappointment to the excursion. The class is held at the Playa Mia resort and you have time after the class to go out and enjoy the beach. My daughter had looked forward to snorkeling here. The catamarans are coming in and out and water is very choppy here. Where the snorkeling area is the beach drops off sharply with jagged coral. My daughter came out with bloody knees after only 5 minutes. Not the best place for snorkeling.
Read melwrey's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cshoe512
1 review
Mar 2012
In Cozumel we did the Learn how to cook Mexican dishes excursion at Playa del Mia. We were taught three different dishes and got to eat our own creation for lunch accompanied by Mexican wines. Afterward we relaxed at the beach and went for a swim and used kayaks. You also have access to the underwater Mayan city, shopping center, swimming pool, hammocks, lounge chairs, volleyball and soccer court, ping pong tables, kids club and playground, restrooms and dressing rooms, beach umbrella, kayaks, paddle boats, sailboats, water trampoline, water bicycles, floating tubes, and the iceberg water mountain.
Read cshoe512's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruising Photographer
3 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2012
In Cozumel, we had pre-booked a small group cooking class on our own with Josephina and "Cozumel Cocina con Alma". There were 8 of us in her class (larger than most, she usually has 5-6.) She took us to the local market where we watched her buy the fresh food we would use in the class, then took us to the house she uses for classes to show us how to prepare the foods. We made 2 salads, dips and sauces, hand made tortillas, black beans, chicken mole and snapper Tik'nxic. This was all authentic Mexican food. We all cooked a little and ate a lot. Note: she was excellent in accommodating the changes in time that we requested so we could start at 9:30 and have time after the class to shop in town. After class, it was a short 5 block walk back to the waterfront and shopping. It was a unique and educational experience I would highly recommend.
Read Cruising Photographer's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image skyfire53
2 reviews
Dec 2011
We were sent a list of choices pre cruise to choose from. There were 4 of us, so we each got to choose and entre, plus we made pico and guacamole. After, we all ate our food and what food was left over was given to the local womans shelter. Matthew the owner of the acadmey was very accomodating. He picked us up at the port and even took my daughter to a shoe store to shop after the class. He then took us were we wanted to go in town to shop.
Read skyfire53's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Spanish American Academy

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.