Cozumel Culinary Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Culinary Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mexican cuisine is colorful and delicious. Satisfy your palette on a culinary tour to hot spots and hidden gems on the island of Cozumel.
Member Image terryscf
1 review
Jan 2017
Cooking an authentic Mexican 3 course meal with beach time at Playa Mia. It was great. We had a great time. Met other people from other ships as well. Would recommend and would do again.
Read terryscf's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dt-2003
3 reviews
Jan 2017
Tour with ship chef and private dinner in Tuscan Grill.
Read dt-2003's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Elvis1001
2 reviews
Dec 2016
We enjoyed the island roots and chocolate traditions tour through the ship (CZ2O), which we got at a discount during one of the online sales last fall. The tour required over 3 hours from the time you left the ship until returning to the pier. The roots and chocolate portion of the tour is at a venue built in 2014, which our group was satisfied with. The Mayan ruin and old Catholic church were small and not much to look at. The tequila tasting was at this location and we enjoyed it as well. We have taken many guided tours and so much depends on the guide. Our guide for this tour was named Margarita and she was very entertaining.
Read Elvis1001's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bowman1
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Our group was the only one on the tour and it was the perfect speed for the four kids (ranging 7 to 12). The tour staff did a great job moving things along and keeping everyone engaged.
Read Bowman1's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image funcky
6 reviews
Dec 2016
We did tour where they take you to Playa Mia. You then cooked your own 3 courses meal and eat it. Got to spend 2 hours in Playa Mia. Open bar with all you can drink. Overall very good. Complement to chef Luis.
Read funcky's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jamibdvd
1 review
Dec 2016
This takes you in a submarine to see fish at the bottom and then the second half of the excursion you take a bus to the chocolate factory and tequila factory. The submarine was cool but it was a bit too long because looking at the same fish for an hour and a half got boring. The second half was much better as you got to see how Mayans used to live, the temple and ruins, how mayan chocolate is made (and taste it!) and see how tequila is made (and taste that too!). They also allowed you to go shopping to local vendors which were much cheaper than the ones by the port. I would highly recommend purchasing souvenirs fromt he local vendors.
Read jamibdvd's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image daiquiridarling
2 reviews
Dec 2016
HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Cost was about 90 a person, but the tour is small and you eat at the non-tourist areas and get a true tour Cozumel. Food is excellent! I'm ready to go back. Still dreaming of the Ceviche, Fried Grouper, Pork Taco, and Cactus Quesadillas. Tour of Market was excellent.
Read daiquiridarling's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Emily
Member Image Bradiego
1 review
Nov 2016
Excellent excursion offered by Disney, fun cooking class at a beach resort with transportation provided and drinks flowing. I would book it again!
Read Bradiego's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image jadorecourtx3
1 review
Oct 2016
Luis was the most amazing guide/chef ever!!!!! So full of energy, witty and smart-he really made our excursion one to never forget. The cooking demonstration took place at Playa Mia, we cooked for about 2 hours, also with endless Margaritas and bar drinks. The staff during the demonstration were absolutely fantastic, we can't wait to go back!! After cooking, you have free time to use the resort, from the pool, beach, open bar and non motorized sports. The price is so worth it!! Do not miss this one!!
Read jadorecourtx3's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TABG
5 reviews
Oct 2016
The Mexican Cuisine Workshop & Tasting was so much fun. The chef mixed entertainment, drinking, and cooking together to make a fun several hours. We could not ask for a better way to visit this port when you have seen all the history.
Read TABG's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SnowWhiteOz
1 review
Oct 2016
Great cooking class. The chef Louis was a lot of fun and the food was delicious. The beach club was very nice and it was nice to be able to relax for a while after the class.
Read SnowWhiteOz's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruiseinfoseeker
3 reviews
Oct 2016
Mexican Cooking Class at Playa Mia. This was booked independently. We had use of the facilities [nothing that wonderful] and a cooking class, followed by eating what we cooked. It was a fun class and we enjoyed the food as well.
Read cruiseinfoseeker's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cooking Class at Playa Mia
Member Image domfrontqueen1
1 review
Aug 2016
Really enjoyed this tour. Good to get involved in actually making chocolate and getting free wifi access throughout the park
Read domfrontqueen1's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jamess2000
1 review
Aug 2016
See other comments. I would do this one again.
Read jamess2000's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image mlraff53
1 review
Jul 2016
We did the Culinary/Beach tour with Playa Mia. I was very happy with the cooking class and the all-inclusive drinks!
Read mlraff53's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image moftexas
4 reviews
May 2016
Cooking class - very nice.
Read moftexas's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image julesbeara
3 reviews
May 2016
Mexican Cooking Class at Playa Mia is excellent.
Read julesbeara's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image coreyswife7701
1 review
Mar 2016
Mexican Cuisine Cooking Class and Beach Break at Playa Mia: WONDERFUL experience! Chef Luis was a blast, and our fellow excursion mates were fun as well. We prepared a 3 course meal, working together with our spouse/cruise mate, each one of us preparing our own dishes. After making our appetizer, main dish, and dessert, we were escorted to an air conditioned dining area with a view of the beach to leisurely enjoy the food we had prepared. Chef Luis was hilarious, and very knowledgeable. He made us all feel comfortable and guided us through preparing a VERY delicious meal. I would definitely do this excursion again, even if we made the same foods. That's how much fun it was! Drinks were included during the class and afterward, and all the Playa Mia beach facilities. We had ample time to shop before and after the class, as well as explore the beach area. LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!
Read coreyswife7701's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wlscutts
1 review
Dec 2015
Cozumel: we skipped the Disney options and booked with Cozumel Food Tours. Despite a late start, this proved to be a great way to see the town. A taxi took us to six stops, where we sampled corn smut, horchata, lime soup, octopus taco, and many levels of spicy sauces. Jerry was a kind and patient guide. If you are not towing very small children around, are somewhat open to new foods, and are not the type of drinky beach people who head immediately to Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville, I highly recommend this tour as an excellent way to get an experience out of Cozumel in under three hours.
Read wlscutts's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image jlkb
1 review
Dec 2015
The only one we booked through the ship was the Mexican Cuisine Tour in Cozumel. The cost is $93 per person, and it is well worth it! We had a wonderful time cooking with about 30 other people and Luis the hilarious and very competent chef. We were taken by bus to Playa Mia Beach and directed to a kitchen facility that was very clean and well-prepared. This excursion includes all you can drink, so they took drink orders first, and then we were given hair nets, chef hats, and aprons. The raw ingredients were all pre-portioned for us at our 4 man stations, and Luis gave us step-by-step instructions on preparing our appetizers, main dishes, and desserts. After we finished cooking, we all went upstairs to enjoy the meal that we had cooked--shrimp and tortilla bowl appetizer, grouper with fresh vegetables and tamarind sauce (YUM), and plantains sauteed in tequila-laced chocolate sauce. After we ate, we were able to spend some time on the beach in their beautiful facility. All the water toys and the 200 ft. slide are included in the excursion price as well. This is a must do excursion if you are at all interested in cooking. Everyone there had a great time.
Read jlkb's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image stipe1991
1 review
Dec 2015
Mexican cuisine cooking class was the best excursion this cruise. Surprisingly fun time. Luis the instructor Chef was awesome and fun. The food you cooked was yummy and did I mention... open bar the whole time!
Read stipe1991's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wadainker
1 review
Oct 2015
Mexican Cuisine Workshop and Tasting at Playa Mia resort. Included preparing our meal and then eating it! Chef/guide was funny and interesting - his staff was always there to help us. This is an outstanding experience. Followed by nearly two hours at the Playa Mia resort with open bar, beach toys or just lounging.
Read wadainker's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kirkbays13
1 review
Mar 2015
This review is for the Mexican Cuisine Workshop & Tasting excursion. The host (Louise) did a great job. The cooking was fun, the food tasty, and it came with unlimited free drinks and access to Playa Mia, which is a beautiful beach area with water slides and more. Maybe not worth $80, but a good time.
Read kirkbays13's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BroncoBoy1944
1 review
Mar 2015
Great experience, great instructor (Luis), great fun! The food we prepare was also GREAT! We cooked Grouper a excellent tasting fish, we also prepared dessert, appetizer. All items to include a lesson on how to maintain proper sanitation were provided....Oh forgot to mention, all the adult drinks you may want.
Read BroncoBoy1944's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PegasusGM
11 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Great family activity. Check them out of line. You need to make a reservation. $10 per person and cab ride both ways is well worth the trip. We ground our own nibs and made real Mexican cocoa disks. The history part was very educational for the children and the tasting was great. This is our second time there. Suggest you reserve before your cruise as they only do 10 people twice a day. We were lucky to email and they put in another tour for our six.

Read PegasusGM's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?