Cozumel Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Do not miss out on Cozumel's famous Mayan Ruins! Learn about Mayan civilization, culture, folklore, and unsolved mysteries.
Member Image ashsawhney
1 review
Sep 2016
Long trip to ruins. Limited time to explore.
Read ashsawhney's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image aretwo
1 review
Aug 2016
The ruins were incredible, but this was marked as a EASY excursion...it was anything but! The walking is difficult and in that heat ad humidity, take water and Frogg Togg cooling towels (we did, and still barely survived). And take the wagon to and from the ruins, if you can. The beach was great, as well as the lunch and tour guide.
Read aretwo's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image chengang@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Chichen Itza was great but too short to see it all. In fact I was not able to see the observatory. Being an amature astronomer I really wanted to see it. We only had about 1:30 at the site. Wish we had more time.
Read chengang@gmail.com's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruzinfromnowon
5 reviews
Aug 2016
Went to Chichen Itza (one of 7 new wonders). Site is very interesting but it requires about 3 hours of travel each way to get there.
Read cruzinfromnowon's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image northern_hiker
1 review
Aug 2016
Very worth while. Only issue is that it takes 2+ hours each way by bus and not much time is allowed to spend walking around the actual ruins. We also found that the tour guide Saul was very agressive in pandering for tips at the end of the trip.
Read northern_hiker's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JessicaP
1 review
Aug 2016
It was like Amazing Race to get off the boat, find our way off the pier area, and find our tour operator, but once we did we were blown away. Gabriel and Santiago were very friendly and knowledgeable. We took the ferry to Playa del Carmen where we got on a very comfy cool van to Tulum. The shopping area outside Tulum is huge and the restrooms very third world as you would expect, but haggling with the vendors was a joke. They jack up the prices when they know you want to pay in dollars, and wouldn't even come down when they knew they were going to lose our business! $25 for a t-shirt - not thanks! But once you get into Tulum, your breath will be taken away. We got plenty of time to enjoy the scenery and take pictures, and Santiago is a Mayan descendant who knows his stuff! We were only supposed to get snack and a water - but we got a water on the way there, and lunch and soda on the van ride back!
Read JessicaP's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Costco tour
Member Image Lou E
3 reviews
Aug 2016
Driven put to ruins and toured the island... Made three stops in addition to ruins. Tour ran about an hour and one-half longer than shown on brochure.
Read Lou E's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image eajusa
2 reviews
Jul 2016
An expert in Mayan culture guided us through the ruins in a very thorough visit. He kept my interest in spite of a very hot day. I got great photos of a very historical part of Mexico.
Read eajusa's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruiseenthusiastic2
2 reviews
Jul 2016
San Gervasio Mayan Ruins tour was great and our tour guide, Mauricio was fantastic. It was especially nice because it was uncrowded, peaceful and beautiful.
Read cruiseenthusiastic2's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Cozumel Tours
Member Image eyeSmith
1 review
Jul 2016
Private ferry tied up to our ship and we boarded it right from a gangway from our ship. Air conditioned ferry transported us the 30 minutes to the mainland of Mexico where we rode in an air conditioned quality coach bus for two hours to the Chichen Itza ruins. Armando, our guide with 25 years of experience, taught us all about the ruins and Mayan people and customs while the bus was en route. Radio headphones were supplied while at the site so all could hear the tour. Absolutely fascinating excursion involving ruins thousands of years old. This was on my bucket list for thirty years. Well worth the wait!
Read eyeSmith's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image mnachum100
1 review
Jun 2016
Loved it. Our tour guide was passionate and knowledgeable. He drove us all a bit crazy with his constant talking (literally spoke non-stop so many of us veered off and took our own tour which was fine)-- but we can't fault him. We learned a lot and he really loves his job. We felt safe with him - and we visited a beautiful beach as well!
Read mnachum100's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tamangel
1 review
Jun 2016
It was a long drive to the site. The bus was very comfortable. We were only able to walk around the ruins for an hour. I wish we could have stayed longer.
Read tamangel's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mary P L
1 review
Jun 2016
Sylvia was a wonderful guide. Really knew the island.
Read Mary P L's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mu51c10rd
2 reviews
Jun 2016
We did the Chichen Itza tour. You have literally only 5 minutes to visit the restroom on an 8 hour tour (not 7 hours like they say). You also only get 20 minutes at the ruins, while eating your lunch on the bus. The distance is too much, find something else to do.
Read mu51c10rd's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image PaulaAnn25
1 review
Jun 2016
Very interesting.
Read PaulaAnn25's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ja_narcisse
1 review
May 2016
negotiated and hired a private taxi for three hours to take us to ruins and then the beach....ruins were OK
Read ja_narcisse's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Hired Taxi
Member Image sanapier1954
3 reviews
May 2016
Carnival misrepresented the effort and exursion in their description in the brochure. It was very hot and humid and tere was 2.5 miles of walking ang several areas in the jungle with no breeze or cooling except for pouring water on your head. I thought I would love this tour since I love historical sites but I am 62, and have back issues. I started to get some heat illness symtoms but the tram would not pick me up (I wasn't the only one struggling). Would not do this tour if you are older and not in tip top shape.
Read sanapier1954's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image EsotericPoppet
1 review
May 2016
Although our tour guide was very nice, the tour was completely boring, not what we were expecting and definitely not worth the money.
Read EsotericPoppet's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image vasha13
1 review
May 2016
Just a tour of the San Gervasio ruins and some light shopping. Nice tour guides, clean buses. I would avoid shopping for anything serious though - the vendors totally cheat you. If you do want to buy something, offer 1/3 to 1/2 of what they're asking since that's how high they're starting out at.
Read vasha13's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image teddiern
1 review
Apr 2016
Saw ruins, temples with great explanation of the Mayan culture.
Read teddiern's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image everbeentoseabilly
1 review
Apr 2016
guide too interested in teaching religion, would have preferred history and explanation of ruins. daughter went on utube to get better info after. beach stop ok but food pricey
Read everbeentoseabilly's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vegasgal47
1 review
Apr 2016
Took Mayan Ruins, island tour and beach break. Ruins were interesting but after seeing the ones in Belize, not too exciting. Island tour was "ok". The beach break could have been a lot longer (only 1 1/2 hrs. Walking in water was very uncomfortable (lots of rocks and broken shells). If you want to swim, bring water shoes!. We ended up swimming in pools which was great until some guys decided to play football in it. Shopping was great! Lots of places to shop right off the pier.
Read vegasgal47's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vccarmi
1 review
Apr 2016
although the tour got off to a bad start, it turned into a great experience. we visited the Mayan ruins. I didn't visit them all but did what I could before finding shade. the shopping was good while I wait for the remainder of my party. we drove the island and saw beautiful beaches and visited the Mayan Cacao venue. The chocolate is very good and the tour informative. The pier at Cozumel needs some shade for waiting because the sun was brutal and I am burned. This occurred because the tour was over sold so it required additional wait time. The tour driver (we had a 10 passenger taxi van since we couldn't all go on the intended bus) was very nice, knowledgeable, and efficient.
Read vccarmi's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Springfarm
1 review
Mar 2016
the ruins were nice and the guide was great but the so called place to stop for lunch was a food truck by the beach with some tables and a little bar. There is no power on this side of the island and the wait was to long to get anything to eat so we had to go back to the main entry and eat. We were also told to go to Three Amagos for a free drink which was nice but the second drink was $20 another rip off
Read Springfarm's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pnwguy1j
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Good tour and tour guide. Be prepared to go on a chocolate factory tour as part of this excursion
Read pnwguy1j's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?