Cozumel Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Do not miss out on Cozumel's famous Mayan Ruins! Learn about Mayan civilization, culture, folklore, and unsolved mysteries.
Member Image Infowoman
1 review
Feb 2017
It's a lot of time to get there and back, but worth it to see Chichen Itza.
Read Infowoman's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GrandBA
1 review
Feb 2017
Our tour was very informative. David provided information on the history of the ruins and the island. He did not disappoint us at all.
Read GrandBA's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mike D.
3 reviews
Feb 2017
Nice bus, good driver. Tour guide talked too much about himself, current Mexico while he was trying to sell us things. He did present information about the Mayans and ought to stick to that in my humble opinion. I resented him called me/us "friend" 100+ times during his pitches. Tulum is a very interesting place. The downside is that it is pretty popular and, hence, rather crowded.
Read Mike D.'s full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image webdwarf40
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Great site. No real free time to explore. Sack lunch and bottled water provided at start of day. "Mexican" Coca-Cola at end of tour. No time to shop or explore independently. Were last ones back to ferry and back to ship.
Read webdwarf40's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rdipchan
1 review
Jan 2017
well organised and our tour guide was excellent in his presentations about the Mayan ruins.
Read rdipchan's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bmasella
1 review
Jan 2017
Terrible experience. We chose to go to Chichen Itza. Great historical sight. We had never been before even though we had been to Cozumel and Playa Del Carmen in the past. We thoroughly enjoyed the ruins at Tulum so we thought "why not?" The ship docks in Cozumel. That means that you have to take a 45 minute ferry from Cozumel to the mainland and then the ruins are about the center of the Yucatan peninsula so there is about a 2 hour bus ride to get there. Of course all of that is reversed coming home. We thought we would book it with the cruiseline just in case there were issues. Some of the challenges we had with this tour: 1. 8 hours turned into 10. We had planned to have dinner at a specialty restaurant but missed that reservation by almost 90 minutes. Fortunately when we got back to the ship they were still open and were willing to seat us after we showered and changed into appropriate dinner attire. 2. The tour guide was good. Shared a lot of information with us that was relevant to the culture. He spent a good portion of the 2 hours talking about the culture of the Mayan people which was awesome. What I didn't like is the sales push to buy Mayan cartouche's of your name or initials or whatever from the "poor Mayan family living on the reservation". The guilt trip tactic was an immediate shutdown for me. 3. The government imposes a tax for those that want to record video on the property. I looked it up and it is a valid tax. It just seemed shady the way they collected 5 dollars from each guest. They should just include this in the tour price and forget about it. 4. It was 105 degrees the day we were there. The driver was thoughtful enough to bring coolers with beer, water and soda pop on the trip. He of course charged you for these. The only water provided in the cruise price was a 6 ounce bottle with "lunch" which I will talk about next. This is an embarassment. Water if nothing else should have been made available with the tour. 5. Lunch. I guess that is what it is called... Remember this is a 10 hour day. Once we got back to the bus after our tour of the ruins we were given a paper bag with a small 6 ounce bottle of water, a croissant with one slice of ham, a bag of chips, and a cookie. I realize this was a box lunch but seriously the ship could have done a much better job at providing box lunches than wherever these came from. Everything was dry and you had your 6 ounces of water to wash it down with. 5. Return trip... the guide was mostly quiet... until we almost arrived in Playa del Carmen. The it was another sales opportunity. They have a gorgeous book available explaining the Mayan culture and the ruins. The guide presented the book to most of the guests on the tour and it had a page of pictures of the guests on the tour. Apparently they had no pictures of us as we were never presented with a book. We likely wouldn't have chose to purchase it for $30.00 anyway. Then he talked about how hard he and the bus drivers work... their families, etc... teeing up for the tips are needed discussion. I know they all have it but this one was on a different level. Overall... Don't do it!!! I likely will not do another shore excursion with Princess. It is painfully obvious that they do not do adequate screening of all of their tours as this one likely would NOT have made the cut.
Read bmasella's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RCB817
1 review
Jan 2017
Tulum tour was cancelled so we went on this. Nice group of people on our tour. Driver was informative and showed us the other side of the island; the beaches. All were lovely and I got a few good pictures. San Gravasio was a nice 'small' site and we had a nice tour guide there.
Read RCB817's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image FamiLynn
1 review
Jan 2017
3 hours travel (inc. ferry) each way for only 1 hour of the actual tour is kind of disappointing, but Chichen Itza is one of the Wonders of the World and we chose to take that journey. I would prefer to marinate rather than microwave on a tour like this, but it is what it is. The tour company and the road are excellent, and of course the ruins themselves are amazing.
Read FamiLynn's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jbritt
1 review
Dec 2016
The tour of Chichen Itza is excellent! Except the place is so far from the port that you are rushed to finish. No time whatsoever to look at the home port to shop.
Read jbritt's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EmptyNesting
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Too brief tour of ruins. The Cocoa company stop was the expected sales pitch and lame demonstration
Read EmptyNesting's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cloudninecat
1 review
Dec 2016
The ruins in Tulum were nice but not that interesting. The beach was beautiful.
Read cloudninecat's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Disneyfan2379
1 review
Dec 2016
Excellent experience, but a very full and long day. 40 min ferry and 3 hr drive each way. Only leaves 2.5 hours at ruins, but awesome experience.
Read Disneyfan2379's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Wyaun87
1 review
Dec 2016
Great tour except for the heat, but it's Mexico can not do anything about that.
Read Wyaun87's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image angolablache
1 review
Dec 2016
Chichen Itza. Amazing. A must see.
Read angolablache's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fccarl
1 review
Dec 2016
Long trip for very little to see. Hot, little shade, lots and lots of walking on rough uneven dusty ground. VERY Aggressive people looking for tips - annoying and they kept putting hands on us.
Read fccarl's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ally harrison
1 review
Dec 2016
Coba Myan Ruins. When we finally got there it was good but it took us 2 hours to get to the ruins. Too long.
Read ally harrison's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Curious Kat
1 review
Nov 2016
Great Mayan ruins and enjoyable bus trip around the island. Good guide
Read Curious Kat's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Haveagoodtime
1 review
Nov 2016
We were supposed to see the pyramids at Chichen Itza for an hour and a half. Instead, we only got to see them for about 35 minutes because the ferry was late. It's supposed to be a three hour trip to get there, but that ferry ride screwed everything up. The tour guides were amazing at least. And they saved the whole experience.
Read Haveagoodtime's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Disappointed in Florida
1 review
Nov 2016
The particular ruin we went to did not compare to ruins in more popular Chitzinitza.
Read Disappointed in Florida's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Brafield Cobbler
1 review
Nov 2016
An interesting tour of Mayan ruins
Read Brafield Cobbler's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MY79TA
1 review
Oct 2016
The Myan Ruins were not as great as expected and not exactly as pictured. You board a ferry to the mainland, about a 45 minutes ride. When you arrive at the Myan Ruins you are greeted by hungry sellers, which at times, make you feel uncomfortable. The Myan Ruins themselves were ok. This excursion is 7 hours so when we got back we didn't get to explore any of Cozumel. I wouldn't recommend this excursion to anyone. I felt it was way over priced for what it was.
Read MY79TA's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Belle1234
1 review
Oct 2016
We did the ruins located in Cozumel with a small group, which was great. We spent about two hours with our guide who was very knowledgeable. The ruins were amazing to see. A great excursion for anyone who is able to walk for a while.
Read Belle1234's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruiseboo
1 review
Oct 2016
Seven hours of traveling to the pyramids with only one hour to spend there. Very informative, however and would like to return.
Read cruiseboo's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bourbon Believer
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Took Chichen Itza excursion thru Princess. Mode of Transportation was great, only draw back was the very rough waves traveling to Plya del Carmen. Roads leading to the park were excellent by Mexico standards. Tour operator was a bit pushy when trying to hawk his wears on the way to the site. Chichen Itza was awh inspiring but with the flaw of all the Mexico souvigner vendors. That by itself is a Mexican tragedy.
Read Bourbon Believer's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dblake704
1 review
Oct 2016
This was an AWESOME excursion, especially for history buffs. The scenery was beautiful, the guide so knowledgeable. I am a Spanish teacher and will be sharing the photos we took and information we learned with all of my students!
Read dblake704's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?