Cozumel Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Do not miss out on Cozumel's famous Mayan Ruins! Learn about Mayan civilization, culture, folklore, and unsolved mysteries.
Member Image Lou E
3 reviews
Aug 2016
Driven put to ruins and toured the island... Made three stops in addition to ruins. Tour ran about an hour and one-half longer than shown on brochure.
Read Lou E's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruiseenthusiastic2
2 reviews
Jul 2016
San Gervasio Mayan Ruins tour was great and our tour guide, Mauricio was fantastic. It was especially nice because it was uncrowded, peaceful and beautiful.
Read cruiseenthusiastic2's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Cozumel Tours
Member Image eyeSmith
1 review
Jul 2016
Private ferry tied up to our ship and we boarded it right from a gangway from our ship. Air conditioned ferry transported us the 30 minutes to the mainland of Mexico where we rode in an air conditioned quality coach bus for two hours to the Chichen Itza ruins. Armando, our guide with 25 years of experience, taught us all about the ruins and Mayan people and customs while the bus was en route. Radio headphones were supplied while at the site so all could hear the tour. Absolutely fascinating excursion involving ruins thousands of years old. This was on my bucket list for thirty years. Well worth the wait!
Read eyeSmith's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image mnachum100
1 review
Jun 2016
Loved it. Our tour guide was passionate and knowledgeable. He drove us all a bit crazy with his constant talking (literally spoke non-stop so many of us veered off and took our own tour which was fine)-- but we can't fault him. We learned a lot and he really loves his job. We felt safe with him - and we visited a beautiful beach as well!
Read mnachum100's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tamangel
1 review
Jun 2016
It was a long drive to the site. The bus was very comfortable. We were only able to walk around the ruins for an hour. I wish we could have stayed longer.
Read tamangel's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mary P L
1 review
Jun 2016
Sylvia was a wonderful guide. Really knew the island.
Read Mary P L's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mu51c10rd
2 reviews
Jun 2016
We did the Chichen Itza tour. You have literally only 5 minutes to visit the restroom on an 8 hour tour (not 7 hours like they say). You also only get 20 minutes at the ruins, while eating your lunch on the bus. The distance is too much, find something else to do.
Read mu51c10rd's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image PaulaAnn25
1 review
Jun 2016
Very interesting.
Read PaulaAnn25's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ja_narcisse
1 review
May 2016
negotiated and hired a private taxi for three hours to take us to ruins and then the beach....ruins were OK
Read ja_narcisse's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Hired Taxi
Member Image sanapier1954
3 reviews
May 2016
Carnival misrepresented the effort and exursion in their description in the brochure. It was very hot and humid and tere was 2.5 miles of walking ang several areas in the jungle with no breeze or cooling except for pouring water on your head. I thought I would love this tour since I love historical sites but I am 62, and have back issues. I started to get some heat illness symtoms but the tram would not pick me up (I wasn't the only one struggling). Would not do this tour if you are older and not in tip top shape.
Read sanapier1954's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image EsotericPoppet
1 review
May 2016
Although our tour guide was very nice, the tour was completely boring, not what we were expecting and definitely not worth the money.
Read EsotericPoppet's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image vasha13
1 review
May 2016
Just a tour of the San Gervasio ruins and some light shopping. Nice tour guides, clean buses. I would avoid shopping for anything serious though - the vendors totally cheat you. If you do want to buy something, offer 1/3 to 1/2 of what they're asking since that's how high they're starting out at.
Read vasha13's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image teddiern
1 review
Apr 2016
Saw ruins, temples with great explanation of the Mayan culture.
Read teddiern's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image everbeentoseabilly
1 review
Apr 2016
guide too interested in teaching religion, would have preferred history and explanation of ruins. daughter went on utube to get better info after. beach stop ok but food pricey
Read everbeentoseabilly's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vegasgal47
1 review
Apr 2016
Took Mayan Ruins, island tour and beach break. Ruins were interesting but after seeing the ones in Belize, not too exciting. Island tour was "ok". The beach break could have been a lot longer (only 1 1/2 hrs. Walking in water was very uncomfortable (lots of rocks and broken shells). If you want to swim, bring water shoes!. We ended up swimming in pools which was great until some guys decided to play football in it. Shopping was great! Lots of places to shop right off the pier.
Read vegasgal47's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vccarmi
1 review
Apr 2016
although the tour got off to a bad start, it turned into a great experience. we visited the Mayan ruins. I didn't visit them all but did what I could before finding shade. the shopping was good while I wait for the remainder of my party. we drove the island and saw beautiful beaches and visited the Mayan Cacao venue. The chocolate is very good and the tour informative. The pier at Cozumel needs some shade for waiting because the sun was brutal and I am burned. This occurred because the tour was over sold so it required additional wait time. The tour driver (we had a 10 passenger taxi van since we couldn't all go on the intended bus) was very nice, knowledgeable, and efficient.
Read vccarmi's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Springfarm
1 review
Mar 2016
the ruins were nice and the guide was great but the so called place to stop for lunch was a food truck by the beach with some tables and a little bar. There is no power on this side of the island and the wait was to long to get anything to eat so we had to go back to the main entry and eat. We were also told to go to Three Amagos for a free drink which was nice but the second drink was $20 another rip off
Read Springfarm's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pnwguy1j
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Good tour and tour guide. Be prepared to go on a chocolate factory tour as part of this excursion
Read pnwguy1j's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image travelingguyz
1 review
Mar 2016
Hired taxi from port to San Gervasio Ruins, Tequila tastings and downtown shopping area.
Read travelingguyz's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hired taxi from port
Member Image theoz
2 reviews
Mar 2016
This trip to the ruins was nice. This trip is easier walking than the one in Costa Maya and the tour guide was very informative and passionate when speaking about the ruins. This trip also included a stop at the beach where my husband tried the drink Coco Loco, a drink with several liquors served in a coconut. He enjoyed it. Then we stopped at the chocolate factory. The information session was good and when it was over we went through the gift shop. Chocolate is very overpriced and just ordinary tasting.
Read theoz's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Laurent B
1 review
Mar 2016
Cozumel Mayan Ruins and Island Overview Mixed feeling : the mayan ruins part was interesting, the San Gervasio site is quite smaller than other sites in the Yucatan but was still nice and our guide Miguel was friendly and provided good information. Tour of the southern part of the Island was also nice, especially the photo stop at El Mirador where we could watch good size wave crushing against the rocky coastline. The stop at the “chocolate factory” was quite deciving : limited info on the process, very few artefacts, minimalist demo of pre-hispanic and limited sampling (only 4 variety out of the dozen+ they make). To to it off prices where way too hight (8 USD for a 85grams bar). It was more a tourist trap than a real attraction.
Read Laurent B's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Tugnut
1 review
Mar 2016
Visiting Chichen Itza was one of my goals for the trip. Though it is an 8 hour tour with approximately 6 1/2 hours travel time it is a destination that is mind boggling to visit. The site is now a major tourist attraction with many visitors and has become very commercial. Visitors are no longer allowed to climb the structures but can still appreciate the scale and technology the Mayans utilized in their construction. Though the group from the ship ws initially large, I was fortunate to be split off into a smaller group and travel to the site with 9 others in a small mini van with a guide. The rest of the group traveled to the site in a bus. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. At the site, he gave us a tour and then left us to do our own site exploring. I wish that we had had more time there as the site is quite large. It would have been great if we had had some descriptive literature and a map for the site available prior to arriving. Though our guide talked about the Mayans during some of our our travel time, the travel time could have been better spent doing a little research explaining some of the site not covered by our guide. It is a destination I will do future research on and return to.
Read Tugnut's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Agtech4020
1 review
Feb 2016
We took the Mayan Ruins & Island Overview tour. The tour utilized comfortable air conditioned bus and we had a fantastic tour guide MiMi. Our guide did a great job of providing some history of the roads, pits, and structural remains of buildings and temples. The tour took us to a small beach shop with some great photo opportunities as well as a chance to put your feet in the ocean. Lastly the tour took us to a small visitors complete outlining how chocolate was discovered and utilized by the islands original inhabitants. They gave us a chance to sample the chocolate as well as watch a demonstration on how it used to be made edible. On the whole a great tour that was still short enough to allow plenty of time for shopping.
Read Agtech4020's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nutocruzing
1 review
Feb 2016
Tulum was very impressive, well maintained and the scenery was beautiful. Our guide was knowledgeable and kept us entertained on the nearly hour long drive. Vendors were pushy and their wares were very overpriced. We got tacos at Frosty's and they were fantastic! This excursion was well worth the money, especially since it was about a 7 hour long tour from start to finish.
Read nutocruzing's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Rick1818
1 review
Feb 2016
The ruins were great, but it requires 2 hour combined boat and bus ride each to get there and back and the tour is only 2 hours.....not a good use of time
Read Rick1818's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?