Cozumel Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Do not miss out on Cozumel's famous Mayan Ruins! Learn about Mayan civilization, culture, folklore, and unsolved mysteries.
Member Image jbritt
1 review
Dec 2016
The tour of Chichen Itza is excellent! Except the place is so far from the port that you are rushed to finish. No time whatsoever to look at the home port to shop.
Read jbritt's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EmptyNesting
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Too brief tour of ruins. The Cocoa company stop was the expected sales pitch and lame demonstration
Read EmptyNesting's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cloudninecat
1 review
Dec 2016
The ruins in Tulum were nice but not that interesting. The beach was beautiful.
Read cloudninecat's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Disneyfan2379
1 review
Dec 2016
Excellent experience, but a very full and long day. 40 min ferry and 3 hr drive each way. Only leaves 2.5 hours at ruins, but awesome experience.
Read Disneyfan2379's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Wyaun87
1 review
Dec 2016
Great tour except for the heat, but it's Mexico can not do anything about that.
Read Wyaun87's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image angolablache
1 review
Dec 2016
Chichen Itza. Amazing. A must see.
Read angolablache's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fccarl
1 review
Dec 2016
Long trip for very little to see. Hot, little shade, lots and lots of walking on rough uneven dusty ground. VERY Aggressive people looking for tips - annoying and they kept putting hands on us.
Read fccarl's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ally harrison
1 review
Dec 2016
Coba Myan Ruins. When we finally got there it was good but it took us 2 hours to get to the ruins. Too long.
Read ally harrison's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Curious Kat
1 review
Nov 2016
Great Mayan ruins and enjoyable bus trip around the island. Good guide
Read Curious Kat's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Haveagoodtime
1 review
Nov 2016
We were supposed to see the pyramids at Chichen Itza for an hour and a half. Instead, we only got to see them for about 35 minutes because the ferry was late. It's supposed to be a three hour trip to get there, but that ferry ride screwed everything up. The tour guides were amazing at least. And they saved the whole experience.
Read Haveagoodtime's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Disappointed in Florida
1 review
Nov 2016
The particular ruin we went to did not compare to ruins in more popular Chitzinitza.
Read Disappointed in Florida's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Brafield Cobbler
1 review
Nov 2016
An interesting tour of Mayan ruins
Read Brafield Cobbler's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MY79TA
1 review
Oct 2016
The Myan Ruins were not as great as expected and not exactly as pictured. You board a ferry to the mainland, about a 45 minutes ride. When you arrive at the Myan Ruins you are greeted by hungry sellers, which at times, make you feel uncomfortable. The Myan Ruins themselves were ok. This excursion is 7 hours so when we got back we didn't get to explore any of Cozumel. I wouldn't recommend this excursion to anyone. I felt it was way over priced for what it was.
Read MY79TA's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Belle1234
1 review
Oct 2016
We did the ruins located in Cozumel with a small group, which was great. We spent about two hours with our guide who was very knowledgeable. The ruins were amazing to see. A great excursion for anyone who is able to walk for a while.
Read Belle1234's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruiseboo
1 review
Oct 2016
Seven hours of traveling to the pyramids with only one hour to spend there. Very informative, however and would like to return.
Read cruiseboo's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bourbon Believer
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Took Chichen Itza excursion thru Princess. Mode of Transportation was great, only draw back was the very rough waves traveling to Plya del Carmen. Roads leading to the park were excellent by Mexico standards. Tour operator was a bit pushy when trying to hawk his wears on the way to the site. Chichen Itza was awh inspiring but with the flaw of all the Mexico souvigner vendors. That by itself is a Mexican tragedy.
Read Bourbon Believer's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dblake704
1 review
Oct 2016
This was an AWESOME excursion, especially for history buffs. The scenery was beautiful, the guide so knowledgeable. I am a Spanish teacher and will be sharing the photos we took and information we learned with all of my students!
Read dblake704's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TimtheGrey
1 review
Oct 2016
Went to Chichen Itza via Sun & Fun Tours, booked through Carnival's site. It was a terrible experience, except for actually seeing the site. It is a 2 hour trip to Chichen Itza. A little long, but we were warned in advance. But we were also told the guide would give us some history on the Mayan people on the way to the site. Our guide, Saul, was horrible. He was a nice enough man--if you could understand him. I have studied many languages and how to speak them. I could barely make out his English through his very thick Mexican accent. He speaks broken English and it was just incredibly difficult to understand him and I'm usually one of the few people understanding someone with an accent! Then he only gave us about 5-7 minutes of information on the Maya, and it was very limited to his own experience. He said he was a tour guide, not a university professor. Perhaps he should have said he would give you about as much information as a 2nd grader would, though I've taught elementary kids before and think they would have given more info than we received. Anyway, after his brief bit of info he told us to all take a siesta and then he was out like a light! He woke up once at the site when the bus ran over some rumble bumps on the road. He then quickly told us that he would get our tickets and that we all had to pay $5 not only for video devices (as noted on the shore excursion description on Carnival's site) but also for every smart phone or camera at all (specifically NOT to be charged according to Carnival's site). He only took us to 3 buildings at the site and then made certain to end his tour at his "son-in-law's" vending table for souvenirs, leaving us less than 20 minutes to view any of the rest of the ruins on our own. The site is amazing. It is simply astounding that this was all done in the 600's-1300's. It was a brutal society and it is fascinating to see the remnants of their city at that site (this was from the little reading I did prior to coming, not from Saul!). We no sooner got back on the bus than Saul spoke to us for about 3 minutes and then told us to take another siesta. He slept for most of the way back as well. We did this excursion because we wanted the opportunity to see these amazing ruins. I'm still glad we went. However, the reviews I saw about this excursion were all very positive (on the Carnival site) and they all specifically mentioned how great the guide was. Our guide (did I mention his name was Saul, with Sun & Fun Tours?) was terrible and almost ruined the entire excursion. Had he been good, or great like the ones mentioned in the other reviews, the trip would have been so much better. I don't know how to find out who your guide will be, but if you can get someone besides Saul, it would probably be great.
Read TimtheGrey's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jimsgirl824
1 review
Oct 2016
Wonderful, a bit rushed at the ruins because of long commute.
Read jimsgirl824's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image xerxes1962
1 review
Oct 2016
The guide was very knowledgeable it was interesting
Read xerxes1962's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image NewOrleanian
1 review
Oct 2016
Short enjoyable overall tour which included the Mayan ruins on the island and a stop at a beach side cafe. Bring water and wear comfortable shoes.
Read NewOrleanian's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruise Crazy Grammy
1 review
Sep 2016
Great tour. Alot of walking. Also included a Chocolate Factory.
Read Cruise Crazy Grammy's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ref2551
2 reviews
Sep 2016
We had excellent guide took us through the ruins, toured island and stopped at a beach. Beach was Ok but due to wind and waves was not great.
Read Ref2551's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ashsawhney
1 review
Sep 2016
Long trip to ruins. Limited time to explore.
Read ashsawhney's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image aretwo
1 review
Aug 2016
The ruins were incredible, but this was marked as a EASY excursion...it was anything but! The walking is difficult and in that heat ad humidity, take water and Frogg Togg cooling towels (we did, and still barely survived). And take the wagon to and from the ruins, if you can. The beach was great, as well as the lunch and tour guide.
Read aretwo's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?