Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Do not miss out on Cozumel's famous Mayan Ruins! Learn about Mayan civilization, culture, folklore, and unsolved mysteries.
Member Image sanapier1954
3 reviews
May 2016
Carnival misrepresented the effort and exursion in their description in the brochure. It was very hot and humid and tere was 2.5 miles of walking ang several areas in the jungle with no breeze or cooling except for pouring water on your head. I thought I would love this tour since I love historical sites but I am 62, and have back issues. I started to get some heat illness symtoms but the tram would not pick me up (I wasn't the only one struggling). Would not do this tour if you are older and not in tip top shape.
Read sanapier1954's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image vasha13
1 review
May 2016
Just a tour of the San Gervasio ruins and some light shopping. Nice tour guides, clean buses. I would avoid shopping for anything serious though - the vendors totally cheat you. If you do want to buy something, offer 1/3 to 1/2 of what they're asking since that's how high they're starting out at.
Read vasha13's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image everbeentoseabilly
1 review
Apr 2016
guide too interested in teaching religion, would have preferred history and explanation of ruins. daughter went on utube to get better info after. beach stop ok but food pricey
Read everbeentoseabilly's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vegasgal47
1 review
Apr 2016
Took Mayan Ruins, island tour and beach break. Ruins were interesting but after seeing the ones in Belize, not too exciting. Island tour was "ok". The beach break could have been a lot longer (only 1 1/2 hrs. Walking in water was very uncomfortable (lots of rocks and broken shells). If you want to swim, bring water shoes!. We ended up swimming in pools which was great until some guys decided to play football in it. Shopping was great! Lots of places to shop right off the pier.
Read vegasgal47's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vccarmi
1 review
Apr 2016
although the tour got off to a bad start, it turned into a great experience. we visited the Mayan ruins. I didn't visit them all but did what I could before finding shade. the shopping was good while I wait for the remainder of my party. we drove the island and saw beautiful beaches and visited the Mayan Cacao venue. The chocolate is very good and the tour informative. The pier at Cozumel needs some shade for waiting because the sun was brutal and I am burned. This occurred because the tour was over sold so it required additional wait time. The tour driver (we had a 10 passenger taxi van since we couldn't all go on the intended bus) was very nice, knowledgeable, and efficient.
Read vccarmi's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Springfarm
1 review
Mar 2016
the ruins were nice and the guide was great but the so called place to stop for lunch was a food truck by the beach with some tables and a little bar. There is no power on this side of the island and the wait was to long to get anything to eat so we had to go back to the main entry and eat. We were also told to go to Three Amagos for a free drink which was nice but the second drink was $20 another rip off
Read Springfarm's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pnwguy1j
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Good tour and tour guide. Be prepared to go on a chocolate factory tour as part of this excursion
Read pnwguy1j's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image travelingguyz
1 review
Mar 2016
Hired taxi from port to San Gervasio Ruins, Tequila tastings and downtown shopping area.
Read travelingguyz's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Hired taxi from port
Member Image theoz
2 reviews
Mar 2016
This trip to the ruins was nice. This trip is easier walking than the one in Costa Maya and the tour guide was very informative and passionate when speaking about the ruins. This trip also included a stop at the beach where my husband tried the drink Coco Loco, a drink with several liquors served in a coconut. He enjoyed it. Then we stopped at the chocolate factory. The information session was good and when it was over we went through the gift shop. Chocolate is very overpriced and just ordinary tasting.
Read theoz's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Laurent B
1 review
Mar 2016
Cozumel Mayan Ruins and Island Overview Mixed feeling : the mayan ruins part was interesting, the San Gervasio site is quite smaller than other sites in the Yucatan but was still nice and our guide Miguel was friendly and provided good information. Tour of the southern part of the Island was also nice, especially the photo stop at El Mirador where we could watch good size wave crushing against the rocky coastline. The stop at the “chocolate factory” was quite deciving : limited info on the process, very few artefacts, minimalist demo of pre-hispanic and limited sampling (only 4 variety out of the dozen+ they make). To to it off prices where way too hight (8 USD for a 85grams bar). It was more a tourist trap than a real attraction.
Read Laurent B's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Tugnut
1 review
Mar 2016
Visiting Chichen Itza was one of my goals for the trip. Though it is an 8 hour tour with approximately 6 1/2 hours travel time it is a destination that is mind boggling to visit. The site is now a major tourist attraction with many visitors and has become very commercial. Visitors are no longer allowed to climb the structures but can still appreciate the scale and technology the Mayans utilized in their construction. Though the group from the ship ws initially large, I was fortunate to be split off into a smaller group and travel to the site with 9 others in a small mini van with a guide. The rest of the group traveled to the site in a bus. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. At the site, he gave us a tour and then left us to do our own site exploring. I wish that we had had more time there as the site is quite large. It would have been great if we had had some descriptive literature and a map for the site available prior to arriving. Though our guide talked about the Mayans during some of our our travel time, the travel time could have been better spent doing a little research explaining some of the site not covered by our guide. It is a destination I will do future research on and return to.
Read Tugnut's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Agtech4020
1 review
Feb 2016
We took the Mayan Ruins & Island Overview tour. The tour utilized comfortable air conditioned bus and we had a fantastic tour guide MiMi. Our guide did a great job of providing some history of the roads, pits, and structural remains of buildings and temples. The tour took us to a small beach shop with some great photo opportunities as well as a chance to put your feet in the ocean. Lastly the tour took us to a small visitors complete outlining how chocolate was discovered and utilized by the islands original inhabitants. They gave us a chance to sample the chocolate as well as watch a demonstration on how it used to be made edible. On the whole a great tour that was still short enough to allow plenty of time for shopping.
Read Agtech4020's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nutocruzing
1 review
Feb 2016
Tulum was very impressive, well maintained and the scenery was beautiful. Our guide was knowledgeable and kept us entertained on the nearly hour long drive. Vendors were pushy and their wares were very overpriced. We got tacos at Frosty's and they were fantastic! This excursion was well worth the money, especially since it was about a 7 hour long tour from start to finish.
Read nutocruzing's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Rick1818
1 review
Feb 2016
The ruins were great, but it requires 2 hour combined boat and bus ride each to get there and back and the tour is only 2 hours.....not a good use of time
Read Rick1818's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image flo1234
2 reviews
Feb 2016
Very and informative
Read flo1234's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Andrameada
1 review
Feb 2016
Loved this tour! Sebastian, our guide, was the best ever!
Read Andrameada's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image killineybay
5 reviews
Feb 2016
We took a tour with Princess to see the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza. We took the ferry to Playa del Carmen and then a bus to Chichen Itza. It is quite a long journey but we enjoyed it. The bus was very nice and air-conditioned. We did not have very long at Chichen Itza but we knew that. It was well worth the long journey for us especially as we knew we would not have the chance again. Our guide was very good but had to move fast. A great experience - fascinating site. This is one of the Discovery tours offered by Princess. A picnic lunch is offered on the way back.
Read killineybay's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ridgerunner51
2 reviews
Jan 2016
We really looked forward to seeing the Chichen Itza Mayan Ruins. The ferry ride over was uneventful and I did not see anyone sick. As many others have reported. the bus ride to get there and back is very long. The bus was very comfortable and the drinks, snacks and lunch were okay. We were hurried along during the tour. My husband was upset that the guide did not talk about Mayan culture; he talked about honey production. Some very dark clouds began approaching and the winds picked up a great deal. We were hurried back to the bus and then to the ferry. The ferry ride was fine until the last 15 minutes. I was getting very concerned when the ferry started rocking side to side. They could not get the ferry tied up in the normal manner and ran a gangplank from the ferry to the dock. Only one person at a time could cross the gangplank. The crew held both hands until you could grasp the handrails and then again at the end of the handrails. The wind and rain were very strong and one woman's glasses blew off her face. The ship was supposed to have already left, but had to wait on us. It was pretty scary but we are glad we saw Chichen Itza.
Read ridgerunner51's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bbrose314
1 review
Jan 2016
The San Gervasio ruins were neat. Apparently the Mayans had to all make the trek to the temples once in their life time for fertility and family. The red hand prints were amazing to see! Would not suggest people who can not walk easily on uneven ground to come on this as a lot of the walking is very uneven and rocky.
Read bbrose314's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image parakleo
1 review
Jan 2016
Our excursion guide was extremely difficult to understand with his thick,fast, mexican accent. some of his information was not accurate as he did a brief walking tour at Tulum. We found some of the other tour guides from other companies had better information and VERY easy to understand. This tour we went on only afforded about 60 minutes at Tulum so no time for the beach there. WE arrived after lunch but had only had breakfast on the boat. No food was offered until after our tour but had to be quick. The actual site was interested and on a beautiful beach!
Read parakleo's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image comcox
6 reviews
Jan 2016
In Cozumel I did the Tulum Ruins tour which began with a very choppy ferry ride to the mainland and then a bus to the ruins. We got a basic tour of the ruins and then free time to explore them on our own, head down the steps to the beach, and/or shop and have lunch on our own in the "village" next to the ruins. Our ferry got back to the pier 15 minutes before sailing time so it was a quick dash back. Our guide did try to sell us stuff and asked for tips, but that is common in Mexico.
Read comcox's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lynne2fl
1 review
Jan 2016
Our guide was VERY knowledgeable and made the ruins enjoyable. Following the ruins we stopped a beach for a quick dip.
Read lynne2fl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carmi44
1 review
Dec 2015
San Gervasio Mayan Ruins and a few stops around Cozumel was wonderful. Luxury comfort air condition bus, very articulate and knowledgeable tour guide
Read carmi44's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chappy Bill
1 review
Dec 2015
Our guide was friendly and informative. It was a great excursion.
Read Chappy Bill's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BurghMLR
1 review
Nov 2015
This was a perfect half day excursion highlighting some of the island's most interesting sites. We saw the Mayan ruins at San Gervasio, stopped for photos at a beach outlook and got to sample chocolate at the Mayan Cacao Company. It was informative, fun and left us time to explore downtown in the afternoon.
Read BurghMLR's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.