Cozumel Submarine Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Submarine Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Prefer to stay dry during your day in Cozumel? A submarine tour provides visitors with a glimpse of Cozumel’s reefs and tropical marine line.
Member Image smtr467
1 review
Jul 2016
Everyone in our group loved it!!! I recommend this one!
Read smtr467's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image larel
2 reviews
Jul 2016
What a great opportunity as a non-diver to see over 100ft below!!
Read larel's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mary P L
1 review
Jun 2016
Our guide was wonderful - got lots of great fish photos underwater!
Read Mary P L's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ftr1873
1 review
May 2016
Professional outfit, so don't worry about being in a tin can 115 feet below the surface. Maybe a little expensive at $100 but still a good day out and gives a taste of live underwater. The tour guide/mariner knows his stuff, speaks excellent English and his colleagues are all helpful and friendly.
Read ftr1873's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Shellie789
1 review
May 2016
Wonderful tour people of all ages will love it. For people that don't scuba this is a fantastic way to see the bottom of the ocean.
Read Shellie789's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Krun16
1 review
Apr 2016
very cool experience, first and probably last time on a submarine. They pack you in pretty tight, but you get to see some neat things. Worth doing once. You do have to be able to climb in and on of the sub on a ladder.
Read Krun16's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dova
1 review
Feb 2016
Cozumel was interesting nice shops right off the boat but nothing else that you could walk to.
Read Dova's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TexasLadyBug
1 review
Feb 2016
Neat but very kitschy. I wouldn't do it again, but to be able to say I've been in a submarine is pretty neat. We also didn't see much.
Read TexasLadyBug's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image smone1
1 review
Nov 2015
Guide was very informative and kept to the schedule. The excursion was very interesting and unusual. Our family felt we were actually a part of the reef experience. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who cannot do more strenuous activities.
Read smone1's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Zen
1 review
Oct 2015
Great fun. Guides were informative. Just the right amount. Only drawback is it was a little snug in the submarine. No elbow room at all.
Read Zen's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image BexFromTex
1 review
Jul 2015
We loved the Semi-Sub excursion we took. It was air conditioned and our tour guide was lovely. It was so cool to be able to sit in the boat and see all the fish and coral underwater. SUCH a cool excursion for our first time to Cozumel! Would definitely recommend!
Read BexFromTex's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Lily2515
1 review
Jun 2015
The excursion desk was helpful in getting this the booked. My husband can walk some, but knew the scooter would not go on the submarine. They took the scooter back and sat it at the end of the dock. The excursion was wonderful! Would go again!
Read Lily2515's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mv2000
1 review
Jun 2015
It was ok. We didn't wanted to snorkel so felt this was a alternative and it worked per expectation. Although my both daughters and wife felt sea sick. The boat had 2 sides. The guide was biased on 1 and didn't repeat the stuff on the other side.
Read mv2000's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bauman147
1 review
Apr 2015
Cozumel Tours Reef Explorer Semi-Sub is a great way for non-divers to see some of what divers experience, without getting wet. They chum the water to attract the fish, and you can get some pretty good pictures.
Read Bauman147's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image demac
3 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2015

We had a really great time on the Atlantis Submarine excursion. While it was a little expensive for a 40-minute ride, it was likely a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to take a real submarine down to see an incredible reef. For non-divers, it gives a glimpse of some amazing sights. The operation was very professional, and seemed very safe. After this wonderful experience, we spent a while shopping, both in the port shopping center, and in some adjacent areas within walking distance

Read demac's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mitch4000
1 review
Feb 2015

The Atlantis Sub is an excursion that shoud be experienced at least once. It was like visiting another world looking through the portholes. Very professionally done with naration and sound effects. Bring a camera!!

Read mitch4000's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lauriesny
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Saw lots of fish and were very comfortable with temperature and environment. No sea sickness. Lots of interesting marine life. Guide informative. It was pouring rain in Cozumel and this excursion was not ruined by it. We were happy about that.

Read lauriesny's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lesbob423
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Bright, clean, entertaining, safe, informative, and fun!!

Read lesbob423's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image farmingduo
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Received a certificate for going 100 feet under the sea. I enjoyed the coral and the sea life. This is definitely a level 1 tour. There is very little walking involved.

Read farmingduo's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joeleneharris
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Atlantis Submarine tour was absolutely awesome. My husband and I as well as a couple of friends took this tour. When booking I thought this tour was a little pricey, but when the tour was complete, we all agreed that it was worth the money.We had a great time, and we all highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Read joeleneharris's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image govpenguin
2 reviews
Oct 2014

It was overcast and slightly rainy in Cozumel, but enjoyed our excursion none the less. It was a little bit of walking to get to the submarine, but a decent amount of space once inside. It was narrated during the trip, and they talked enough that you knew what was going on without it being constant chatter. Would have probably seen more fish/aquatic life if it was sunny, but still fun!

Read govpenguin's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image craigsl2
1 review
Jul 2014

sub dive through cruise critic - nice - right off the dock, didn't see reefs, but saw fish. very little time spent steering which would have been more fun. you are hooked to a line to see fish that are brought to you. photos cost $35. still enjoyed.

Read craigsl2's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image awp529
6 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2014

Cozumel is a place where you stop when you sail from Galveston. Even though, I been there over ten times in the last four years it is still a fun and interesting place to visit. I had not planned to take an excursion but at the last minute booked the Atlantis Submarine. Thoroughly enjoyed it and when I returned home felt that now I can take that off my bucket list. Suggestion: don't judge Cozumel by the shops at the cruise terminal. Find a couple of fellow travelers (or go it alone) get a cab and split the $7 to go into the central district. Its worth the money to just people watch, plus t-shirts and other souvenir items will be much less expensive. Cozumel is a busy place and if there are 4-5 ships in port it can be hectic. Just sit back and let the others rush by, you'll still have a good time.

Read awp529's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bluedaisy3916
1 review
Mar 2014

Really cool, but we did not see much. Very tight spaces inside so you can't fear being close to someone. I enjoyed it but wish I could have seen more. You have to climb down a latter so you to be sturdy on your feet. We went down 110 ft and some some others scuba diving. They took pictures of us and us of them.

Read bluedaisy3916's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dkoop
1 review
Feb 2014

Really neat way to see the coral reef without snorkelling or scuba diving. It felt really long though. The tour guide was really nice and the boat was safe. Just too long for not seeing an overabundance of sea life. We heard from some other people that there was an amazing beach just a 10min walk from the dock and there was lots of sea life there.

Read dkoop's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?