Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
If you're looking for a day in the sun, venture into Chankanaab National Park. With scuba, snorkeling, a historical walking trail, and not to mention great food, Chankanaab provides the perfect relaxing atmosphere for your time in Cozumel.
Member Image taranchao1107
1 review
Nov 2016
Great Park. $13 cab ride from port. They have snorkeling, dolphins, and sea lions, and walking trails. You can do activities or just have lunch and drinks in the sun. Had a margarita, and no stomach ache like you get in Cancun. Great service at the park. You can also get a massage there for a great price!
Read taranchao1107's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: park itself
Member Image greenblue
1 review
Nov 2016
Nightmare, SCAM. 1) We bought the all inclusive passes for the park to go to Chankanaab dolphins and ziplines 2) When we got there, they changed the prices on the package. 3) Then on the inside (discovery cove), they again denied the kids the dolphin rides after payment based on their height. While, I showed them the kids met the height requirement (based on the height scaled at the counter). They would not refund the ~100$ / person. Then she claimed she did not speak English. 4) Zip line made us purchase new passes again (after I purchased package) 5) Pictures were a rip off - 35$ per picture!!! I CANNOT ACCEPT this as a fair tourist place. 6) While waiting in line on the return trip to cruise - Mr. Oscar was taking cash tips from others so he let them jump the line. He held us back for 30 mins, and we almost missed our ship. This place is a SCAM.
Read greenblue's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DOLPHIN DISCOVERY
Member Image tennmimi
1 review
Oct 2016
From Snorkeling to Sea Lion show and so much more. Awesome tour.
Read tennmimi's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TullMan
1 review
Sep 2016
We enjoyed this. The food was great along with the beach and open bar.
Read TullMan's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image justmaketso
1 review
Sep 2016
The park is wonderful! Angel, Luis and (sorry, I forgot his name!) were wonderful while we were snorkeling!!!! It was amazing.l Food was passable, drinks, too, You will not be sorry with your trip here!!!
Read justmaketso's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bubblemama007
1 review
Sep 2016
Chankanaab is our family's top choice for spending a day in Cozumel. It is a short cab ride from town. You can print out a discount coupon online, if you pay in cash. Otherwise, you pay full price with VISA. The sea lion show is included in the price, as are the deck chairs, swimming pool, life jackets, palapas, gardens, and crocodile rescue view. The small lagoon is an excellent place for walking among the fish. On the day we were there, several larger fish had swam in, over the low barrier. The water is much calmer in the smaller lagoon. Some of the tide pools had a wide variety of sea life. Snorklers who are leary of the ladders and rocks can enter the ocean from the lagoon's low barrier. Vendors are very calm in the park. We were only approached twice by the spa staff and twice by the bar staff. It was a wonderful break! When you arrive, the park has guides. Felipe is the one you want! Hand him your camera, ask for his garden tour, and let him snap all of your pictures. Bring him a $20 for his trouble. These will be, without a doubt, the best pictures of your trip. At the end of the tour, he will take you to the beach, or to the sea lion show. He knows where to seat you, so that you are in the shade AND the first ones onto the stage for the mandatory sea lion kiss photos. They have erected shade and added seats throughout the garden, to make the tours more pleasant for visitors. DO NOT wander the gardens alone. Some of the younger gardening staff will demand tips for very small courtesies. Go with a group or with a guide. The park spa is very economical. If you are wanting a couple's massage or another spa service that is too expensive on the ship. Or back home, check the prices at the park spa. $20 a person for a 30 minute massage. The food is very expensive and not worth the money. Crows are a problem, also, around the restaurant tables. Plan to bring your own water and protein bars. Eat a big breakfast on the ship. Avoid eating at the park, unless you purchase the all inclusive package that includes lunch. Taxis are at the park everyday it is open. For a family of 5, it cost $17 one way.
Read bubblemama007's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tayabur021
1 review
Sep 2016
Took a cab to Chankanaab park and did snorkeling. Beautiful park, plenty of shades.
Read tayabur021's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Marcura
1 review
Aug 2016
Great place to visit.
Read Marcura's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GirlGoneTexan
1 review
Aug 2016
We loved the swim with the sea lions, and the park itself is very clean and nice. Lunch in the restaurant was good but make sure to order off the menu - my son got sick from the buffet. We were very disappointed that they would not negotiate on the photo pricing from our sea lion swim, which was outrageous (over $300!) and wouldn't allow us to take our own photos. That put a damper on the trip for sure.
Read GirlGoneTexan's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image dambyrds
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Great excursion with tons of options and decent food options!
Read dambyrds's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image berdeau
1 review
May 2016
Took a taxi to the park for a relaxing beach/snorkel day
Read berdeau's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: none
Member Image TORQ
2 reviews
May 2016
The food at the buffet was a very bland so if you have spices bring them with you! The snorkeling was absolutely phenomenal but honestly we did not have a lot of time to really experience that park due to the fact that the ship got to the port at noon. And they close at five. So when they through everyone out at five, we headed to Margaritaville
Read TORQ's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mojomorris
17 reviews
May 2016
We did the Chankanaab Beach Snorkeling shore excursion. We had David + Erick from Tripping Cool Group as our guides. What a GREAT time! David was funny, informative and a great guide. The price was great, the snorkeling was absolutely fabulous and I'd recommend this shore excursion and give it 5 stars. For me it was the high point of the whole cruise!
Read mojomorris's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ItaliCuba2005
1 review
Apr 2016
AWESOME! The best! Snorkling there is amazing. Loved the food at the restaurant which is very clean, and the prices are reasonable. There is sea lion show included in the price, you can go if you want. It includes a Tequila tasting, and once you exit the part we got 2 free margaritas at Senor Frog just by showing the sticker we were using. We also saw a Mayan lady making real tortillas. The place is really pretty, white sands, beautiful water. This was our favorite tour.
Read ItaliCuba2005's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Wsterntime
1 review
Apr 2016
This was the most fun excursion. We had excellent funny informative guides, they took our safety very serious and we just had an all around good time.
Read Wsterntime's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image thomasjacobus@aol.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Way too short timewise
Read thomasjacobus@aol.com's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image house_elf
3 reviews
Apr 2016
Chankanaab is so much fun! Our excursion included beach time, snorkel time (if we wanted to), lunch, unlimited open bar (for domestic alcohol only), the sea lion show, tequila tasting, and access to the botanical gardens. At the beginning of the day, we were given the schedule for our particular tour (but not required to stick with the tour, so long as we were back at the meeting point at the departure time). Other add-on activities included swimming with dolphins and zip-lining. Our tour guide was Yantar. He took us on a tour of the botanical gardens and gave us an enlightening overview of Mayan life. The beach area is great! There were tons of beach chairs and the vast majority of the chairs were covered by shade (thatched umbrella coverings). The sand was glorious - very fine. There was a small natural inlet that was the children's area, however there were quite a few rocks in this area that one needs to be mindful of.
Read house_elf's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cintilante
1 review
Apr 2016
Beautiful grounds, great service, lots of lockers, restrooms, three restaurants. Lots of activities, dolphin swim, sea lion show and encounter, clean swimming pool, ziplining and great snorkeling. Only downside is the absurd price of pictures if you choose to swim with dolphins or sea lion. Would definitely go again just to go snorkeling. There are activities for all ages we couldn't do them all in one day.
Read Cintilante's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Chankanaab National Park Website
Member Image penni827
1 review
Apr 2016
We took a taxi from the ship area (only $12 for the 4 of us), only minutes away, great place, nice beach, snorkeling was fantastic, we took our own snorkel gear and they have free vests or you can rent gear. We had a free dolphin and manatee tour and sea lion show. There are some restaurants, mayan relics and you can pay to swim with the dolphins and manatees too. LOVE this place and will be going back! Inexpensive too, about $29. Some people were scuba diving too.
Read penni827's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: none
Member Image lflores30@wi.rr.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Tripping Cool was the company who ran the tour. Our tour guide, Adolfo? Alejandro? was excellent!!!
Read lflores30@wi.rr.com's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Darshan1
12 reviews
Mar 2016
Discover Mexico and Chankanaab Park are an odd combination, but not necessarily a bad one. Chankanaab is probably best for families with kids (swimming, snorkeling, sea lion shows) while Discover Mexico is a modern art museum combined with an impressive display of dioramas of Mexico's most important sites. At Discover Mexico, we also saw a fascinating "dance" by flyers descended from one of Mexico's ancient cultures. They spun on ropes, beginning thirty feet in the air, as they revolved and wound their way to the ground. Our guide, Arturo, took his job seriously, making sure we learned a lot about the various native cultures of Mexico, but he was also quite friendly and organized. I'd recommend this tour.
Read Darshan1's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SerendipityCruiser111
1 review
Jan 2016
Great excursion. Would highly recommend.
Read SerendipityCruiser111's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Algebralovr
5 reviews
Dec 2015
This was really simply a way for two of our party to get to Chankanaab while two others were doing the Dolphin Encounter.
Read Algebralovr's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image boy's mom
6 reviews
Dec 2015
Bring your own towels from the ship (they do not provide any towels at this park). Take a city cab (white with red stripes, right outside the dock), $30 one way for 6 of us. Both our cab drivers were very friendly. At the entrance, since we wanted to zip line there at the park, & the zip lining portion was owned by a third party, we were escorted to their desk, & then had to pay our park entrance in cash (about $21 pp) but was able to pay for zip lining using a cc (about $60 pp, depending on the length you choose). The photos they take of you zip lining was sold as "all or nothing". $60 for the CD. The zip lining was fun (it was our 1st time) & the zip line attendants were very friendly & helpful. They expect a cash tip at the end. There is also a pool, lagoon, beach, sea lion show & restaurant with lots of shade huts, lounge chairs & umbrellas. The park was very clean and the employees were very pleasant.
Read boy's mom's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: went on our own
Member Image Allie67
1 review
Dec 2015
Great place to go. We did not book an excursion but instead just took a taxi to the park and then decided what we wanted to do from there. My husband and daughter ended up scuba diving and my other daughter swam with the manatees.
Read Allie67's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?