Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
If you're looking for a day in the sun, venture into Chankanaab National Park. With scuba, snorkeling, a historical walking trail, and not to mention great food, Chankanaab provides the perfect relaxing atmosphere for your time in Cozumel.
Member Image candy03
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

We looked this with the cruise line for $105 under dolphin swimming. However the port offers this for $89. Though we only purchased dolphin swimming the package came with the manatee swim, sea lion show, the park adventure (including beach and snorkeling) and tequila tasting all which the cruise line charged separately for. We also went zip-lining at the park and I must say everything was excellent! Way more than the price we paid.

Read candy03's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MotownMomma
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

BEAUTIFUL!!! Save yourself almost HALF the price that Carnival charges and grab your own cab and take a ride out there. The beach was phenomenal, the snorkeling great and the staff very friendly!

Read MotownMomma's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image lyndtv
2 reviews
Aug 2014

That wasn't the name of where we went .xcaret, an ecological park. Lovely, lots of wildlife, rivers, beach, Mayan culture. It was a long trip, 40 minutes on a ferry, then a walk to a bus and a 15 minute trip to the park. Park itself was great.

Read lyndtv's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jwarren02
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Always love this park. Had a few added features this trip. Sea Lions show was very good. Not too many fish for our snorkel trip but the water was great. The coral was not as good this time. Maybe the time of year. Loved our tour guides. Great day.

Read jwarren02's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cleonm
1 review
May 2014

The water and beaches were beautiful. Snorkeling was fun and they had lots of fish to be seen close to the beaches. The food was about as sad and the food on the ship and very over-priced.

Read cleonm's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image chester19
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Charly, our guide was outstanding, took such good care of everyone. IF you take a tour through the ship you don't get hasseled by the vendors trying to sell you excursions as you walk through the shopping plaza. He guided us all the way, was very enthusiastic and friendly, and genuinely wanted us to have a good time. So much to do here. Sea Lion show, you can swim with the dolphins. The value is good,a s it is $11 each way by taxi, and $22 to enter the park, and $12 for snorkeling. I believe we paid $49 each for this tour. Instructions all the way for snorkeling and where everything was in the park. Showers and change rooms, very clean. Ate on the beach, and joined up with the tour at the Sea Lion show. Not quite enough time here, you could definilty go on your own, very close to port. But we got back to the ship after walking around the shops for half an hr, and the torrential rain hit, so glad we came back. A great excursion.

Read chester19's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image chester19
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

amazing tour with Charly, he really took good care of us. Avoided us being hassled by everyone else for tours. So much to do at this park. Had an excellent time snorkeling, great visibility, even told everyone how to put it on, and kept a watch on everyone in the group to make sure they were safe are enjoying themselves. Lots to take in at this park, but really good value for the money paid. You could spend the whole day here. Our timing was great,after we got back to the ship, down came a torrential downpour. Would highly recommend this excursion. Cozumel itself looks bleak, as they have never cut down any of the dead trees from the hurricane years ago.

Read chester19's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image orr333
2 reviews
Mar 2014

You can find a $2 off per person coupon online bringing the admission to $19 each. Snorkeling was nice but not a ton of fish. A locker was $5 for all of our stuff. Besides the snorkeling, the Sea Lion show was really fun and there were many other things to do on the grounds. Definitely do this on your own to save money. Cab was $16 each way for 5 people and is $11 for 4 people.

Read orr333's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image travellanamama
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

The kids LOVED the snorkeling at Chankanaab. This was my second trip there. Went last March and again this March because we loved it so much. The older two girls, 15 and 16 went snorkeling and I felt safe knowing that they would be safe in a Taxi back to the ship as I had to take the 11 yr old back since she had such a horrible migraine that started earlier in the day on the smelly ship. She enjoyed the dolphins, but having had the headache and having to take some migraine medicine she needed to be back on the boat to rest. Would definitely return again for a third and many more visits.

Read travellanamama's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ddbiggs
1 review
Mar 2014

Waves were very choppy when we arrived but later settled down a great deal. Lots of beach area to sit and relax and read while the kids play in the sand. Small swimming hole was very crowded by 11:00.

Read ddbiggs's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image leo3646
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Do not miss Chankanaab!...and select always Charlie and Oscar as guides, they are both amazing!...specially Charlie who feel a great love for his island and his mayan ancestors. The park is more than beautiful and friendly and the ocean water of Cozumel is always unique.

Read leo3646's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image adellson
1 review
Jan 2014

Great, had a 'free run' of the place. Just stay in the areas as the tour guides say to go to get your free food and drinks. You are issued a wrist band to identify you and what you are there for to make your excursion problem free. Great...the only complaint is that excursions are far shorter than advertised...wish we could actually be at excursion location longer than we actually got to visit. Keep this in mind!!

Read adellson's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image andydandy325
2 reviews
Dec 2013

We arrived in port and were off the ship around 8am local time to beat the crowds on what we knew was going to be a very crowded day at Chankanaab. We quickly exited the International Pier Complex, grabbed an official taxi from the stand at the pier, and for $11USD the four of us were on the way to Chankanaab! It was $21USD per adult and was totally worth it. We made no reservations and just went for it. It saved us a lot of money going it on our own. While in the park we hopped on to a guided tour with an awesome guide Felipe, who explained all of the Mayan culture and history. The Tequila tasting was great. For $7USD you can get a very strong margarita served in a souvenir clay cup which was cool. The Sea Lion show was fun! We brought our own snorkels, and the snorkeling right from the beach was much better than I anticipated. Amazing day on a budget in Cozumel. Avoided feeling restricted to a ship excursion. Freedom in paradise!

Read andydandy325's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Chankanaab
Member Image jkaba
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Chankanaab park was beautiful, and had abundant marine life to view while snorkeling. The vendors seemed to be competing for our business which was slightly annoying, but overall it was a very good experience. Lots of amenites, and while there were 3 cruise ships in port that day, we did not have a very difficult time in finding a shady spot to hang out while on the beach.

Read jkaba's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Emilio9695
1 review
Jun 2013

Great location to swim with the Dolphins. great photos taken by the company. this location is about 15 mins. from port and you can take a $12 taxi and pay at the location and save 45% from ship prices.

Read Emilio9695's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image polkadots
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Cozumel was my favorite port of call by far. We booked the excursion for the dolphin/manatee encounter at Chankanaab. The dolphins were amazing, and the manatee was neat. They have a free sea lion show that was an adorable hoot. Chankanaab has a very nice beach area with plenty of shady spots to relax. It was very low-stress getting to/from the area - the excursion arranged taxis to take us all to the facility, and whenever we wanted to leave we simply had to report to a certain place at the entrance and they would arrange a taxi to take us back to the port at no additional cost to us - it was included in the excursion fee.

I wish we had owned and brought a waterproof camera with us to document the amazing experiences we had with the dolphins and manatee. The pictures the Chankanaab staff took were very cool, but insanely expensive. I would absolutely do this excursion again, would recommend it to anyone ... and would be sure to bring my own waterproof camera for next time to save money on pictures.

My mother-in-law's curling iron died during our trip. She went to the spa to ask if they had one she could borrow to do her hair for dinner and they weren't very nice about it. In Cozumel on the way back from Chankanaab she and my father-in-law were able to take a taxi to a store called Mega (?) to buy a new one, and the taxi driver waited for them to make the purchase and then drove them back to the port.

Read polkadots's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image haraujo
1 review
Apr 2013
Beautiful beach. Cold beer. Nice prices.
Read haraujo's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gplez90
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Cozumel was my favorite. The locals here aren't as pushy as the locals in Belize either. Here, we did the Royal Dolphin swim at Chankanab. It included swimming with two dolphins, interacting with a manatee, snorkeling, eating authentic Mexican cuisine, a private beach, tequila tasting, and even a crocodile exhibit. It is well worth the $130 each we payed. My only complaint is i wish we would've stayed at the ports longer!
Read Gplez90's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SoundsOfSand
1 review
Mar 2013
Cozumel was gorgeous and a favorite port among many. We went to Chankanaab. It was a park that had everything you could want to do. It was $21 per person to get in (there is a coupon for $2 off online you can print and take with you). They had their own private (and very nice) beach, pools, restaurants, snorkeling, ruins, dolphin and manatee show, and sea lion show, among other things. The sea lion show was excellent and definitely worth seeing. We opted to snorkel. They had snorkeling from shore (rocky area). The rental of snorkel equipment was $15 per person and included a snorkel mask and tube, a life jacket, and a locker for your belongings. If you bring your own snorkel gear, I think they let you use the life jackets for free. The snorkeling was nice and had quite a variety of fish to see, even very close to the shore! Chankanaab was only about 5 minutes from the boat and it was $11 total for the 3 of us to ride in a taxi ($11 per ride, so $22 to get there and back). We could still see the ship from the private beach we were on. Very nice, clean, and friendly park and we would definitely go back there again!
Read SoundsOfSand's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image 2dogs4cats
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
We only got to spend 2 hours here due to delays earlier in the day that involved Discover Mexico museum and the make-up of our tour group. The snorkeling was average. The food was pricey but good. We will make our own arrangements next time rather than book with the cruise line and will try a different snorkeling location.
Read 2dogs4cats's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BODICERIPPER
1 review
Jan 2013
Our guide Sebastian looked after us well all day and showed us many interesting aspects of Mexican history. Very attentive and polite. He was a very patient young man. The drivers were also very nice and helpful. The folks who sold things at the small stores at Chankanaab were a tad pushy, but no more than any of the other sellers on the island. Probably just a cultural difference. I found the people on Cozumel very polite and friendly. There was a lot of smiling. They seemed quite happy.
Read BODICERIPPER's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dshefter
4 reviews
Dec 2012
My DW and DD did the Royal Dolphin Swim and had a blast. Booked 2-for-1 online and saved $470 for the 4 people who went. You pay $109 for photos, but the savings made the purchase easier to bear. My daughter said it was the highlight of the trip.
Read dshefter's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Directly with Park on Internet
Member Image nkslewis
1 review
Dec 2012
I swam with a dolphin---enough said. It was as amazing as it sounds. I wished we'd just taken a taxi as that would have given us more time in the park after the dolphin experience.
Read nkslewis's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cupcake1010
1 review
Oct 2012
Discover Mexico was ok- could skip and just do Chankannab which had a lot to do. Next time will just do this as didn't have enough time to do all we wanted to do.
Read cupcake1010's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image 2Okies
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2012
We did not pre-book an excursion at Chankanaab. We just caught a taxi at the pier ($10 one way per taxi, not per person) and went to the park. It was about 10 minutes from the Puerta Maya pier where the Carnival ships port. It was $26pp to get into the park which included a free t-shirt and a soda or water, all access to the beach and sea lion show. Of course, it doesn't include the dolphin experience, but you can watch others doing it. We enjoyed the snorkeling here. Its very rocky along the shore of this beach, which makes for good snorkeling. We brought our own snorkeling equipment, but there is a place to rent it. The access to the water is by stairs that are built all along their beach. There is one area where you can walk into the water, but the bottom of this area is a little rocky (small rocks) so water shoes are good. But it is shallow there, and good for kids to play or learn to snorkel. There are a couple of places to eat. We shared a chicken nachos and got 2 soft drinks for about $12. The sea lion show was cute, and short. We stayed at the park from about 10:30 til 1:30 and caught a taxi back to the pier where we dropped our stuff off at the ship and then went back to shop at the pier. Puerta Maya has some pretty good shops, and its a very outdoor pretty shopping area. We bought some of the bamboo sheets that the ship advertises. They shipped them back to the states for us, and they arrived a few days after we got home. They are very nice sheets! We probably spent more money shopping in Cozumel than any other place. We enjoyed Chankanaab, but may try another beach next time - just for a different experience. Cozumel is a very friendly place, and one that we never feel threatened or unsafe. Any excursion you do on your own here will be fine. Just pay attention to time, and get back to the ship when you should. The island isn't that big - so that should never be a problem. We love to visit Cozumel.
Read 2Okies's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image celialou
1 review
Apr 2012
We've been to Cozumel several times before. This time we decided to check out Chanakaab. We booked early online to save. We paid $39 for admission to the park, lunch, and snorkeling. We also got to see the manatees, dolphins, and an excellent sea lion show. The sea lions were our favorite part. After the awesome show, they sat us on a bench and the sea lion "kissed" me on the cheek for a picture. It was $15 and totally worth it! Snorkeling was alright. Not the best, but enjoyable enough. The lunch was eh.
Read celialou's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image robmhome
1 review
Apr 2012
We enjoyed Chankanaab Part as part of the dolphin swim we booked through the cruise line. Although it rained pretty hard when we were there it had a good number of things to do. We did rent snorkel gear there and did this on our own until the rain picked up again and clouded the water. You can see colorful fish here but the ocean floor is pretty drab. I wish we could have enjoyed the lounges under the palapas but didn't because of the rain.
Read robmhome's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Westbank is bestbank
3 reviews
Apr 2012
Third time at Chankanaab and it's been remarkable each time. Inexpensive if you travel there and pay at the gate. You get more than you pay for that's for sure...
Read Westbank is bestbank's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ReverendVW
2 reviews
Apr 2012
dune buggy/punta sur/snorkeling through carnival. waste of time for the money. Drive out there yourself, or take a cab.
Read ReverendVW's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image RollTidemom
1 review
Apr 2012
took a taxi from the pier - best day in port. Snorkeled, beach, sea lion show The water was beautiful and the sand was gorgeous. Reasonable entrance fee, beer and food priced cheaply and food was good. We plan on going back in April. No need to book this through the ship as it is so easy to travel in Cozumel.
Read RollTidemom's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: on our own -
Member Image gatorgirl75
1 review
Mar 2012
Once again, he loved it. Said there was lots to do and see.
Read gatorgirl75's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tragone
1 review
Mar 2012
we opted for the zip lining and snorkeling at Adventure Park. While the snorkeling was great, the zip lines were a waste of time and money as they were way too short. The beach at this resort was great, and so were the margaritas.
Read tragone's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image scion
1 review
Mar 2012
This was my second time here and not my last. It is wonderful. We floated down an underground river. We saw sea turtles ,dolphins, mantees, birds, butterflies,tropical fish and beautiful flowers. This is the most well done park I have ever seen. I will return to Mexico just to return to Xcaret.
Read scion's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kjhighball
3 reviews
Mar 2012
After our Dolphin Swim, we headed to the Chankanaab Park for snorkeling. The beach there is rocky: the sand is separate from the water by some big rocks. You descend into the water via a staircase. The water was pretty clear, and we saw lots of big fish. There were several restaurants that seemed to have reasonable prices.
Read kjhighball's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fmegan961
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2012
Beautiful place, you will get your monies worth. Book through the park and not the cruise ship.
Read fmegan961's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image happysnorkel
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Exceptionally. Pricey but way-cool. It is basically a huge interactive fun-filled zoo / ecology park. No way to do everything and we will do this again when we can. Highly recommend.
Read happysnorkel's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Merrykalia
1 review
Mar 2012
This was a great excurion......BUT......it took us over an hour and a half to get there, only got to spend 3 hours there, then another hour and a half to return to the ship. We spent as much time commuting as we did there. We will plan to return to XCARET, but as a destination, not an excursion.
Read Merrykalia's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image FreddyFunFunFun
1 review
Feb 2012
The park and the zip line were the same thing. There was also rock climbing on each tower with different levels of difficulty and repelling down the towers. Between all the towers were different bridges some more scary than others without anything to hold on to. The guides really made this trip very fun. They were cheering us on, played some fun music and kept us laughing. Our main guides name was Beto and he was great.
Read FreddyFunFunFun's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image dawnvan
1 review
Feb 2012
Chankanaab National park is BEAUTIFUL! The lagoon is full of beautiful fish, beautiful clear waters and a very nice beach although the beach doesn't go into the water there are stairs into the water. they also have a botanical garden it looked very nice but I ran out of time so didn't get to check it out.
Read dawnvan's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image GoldenRose
1 review
Feb 2012
We loved Chankanaab, and would return there again in a minute. This was a wonderful place to spend the day. We did the Dolphin Encounter, with the included Manatee add on, went to the sea lion show and got a kiss from a sea lion afterwards, and relaxed in a tidal pool beach area. Our son thought this was one of the greatest days of his life. The only complaint we had at all was that they take a lot of photos... and they charge you a lot for the photos.
Read GoldenRose's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Willy Hank
1 review
Feb 2012
Interesting
Read Willy Hank's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Cruising Coverts
1 review
Feb 2012
We wanted to do some snorkeling so we took this trip which took us to this Mexican welcome center that explained there history and culture then they took us to Chankanaab Park which was awesome. We brought our own snorkeling gear and had a lovely Mexican lunch in the park. This was our second time in Conzumel and we loved it very much. Royal Caribbean dropped us off at a different location then Carnival which was nice that it was the same place but you got to see something a little different!
Read Cruising Coverts's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fleetmac01
2 reviews
Mar 2011
Excellent tour. See review.
Read fleetmac01's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.