Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
If you're looking for a day in the sun, venture into Chankanaab National Park. With scuba, snorkeling, a historical walking trail, and not to mention great food, Chankanaab provides the perfect relaxing atmosphere for your time in Cozumel.
Member Image SerendipityCruiser111
1 review
Jan 2016
Great excursion. Would highly recommend.
Read SerendipityCruiser111's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Algebralovr
5 reviews
Dec 2015
This was really simply a way for two of our party to get to Chankanaab while two others were doing the Dolphin Encounter.
Read Algebralovr's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image boy's mom
6 reviews
Dec 2015
Bring your own towels from the ship (they do not provide any towels at this park). Take a city cab (white with red stripes, right outside the dock), $30 one way for 6 of us. Both our cab drivers were very friendly. At the entrance, since we wanted to zip line there at the park, & the zip lining portion was owned by a third party, we were escorted to their desk, & then had to pay our park entrance in cash (about $21 pp) but was able to pay for zip lining using a cc (about $60 pp, depending on the length you choose). The photos they take of you zip lining was sold as "all or nothing". $60 for the CD. The zip lining was fun (it was our 1st time) & the zip line attendants were very friendly & helpful. They expect a cash tip at the end. There is also a pool, lagoon, beach, sea lion show & restaurant with lots of shade huts, lounge chairs & umbrellas. The park was very clean and the employees were very pleasant.
Read boy's mom's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: went on our own
Member Image Allie67
1 review
Dec 2015
Great place to go. We did not book an excursion but instead just took a taxi to the park and then decided what we wanted to do from there. My husband and daughter ended up scuba diving and my other daughter swam with the manatees.
Read Allie67's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jsdesigns1@comcast.net
1 review
Dec 2015
This excursing was great! It was a short van ride from the dock to the park. First we did snorkeling - not many fish but the guide tried hard! Then there was beach time and you could eat at the beach restaurant (on your own). They also had a Mayan cultural tour and tequila tasting - which we opted not to do, as we wanted to enjoy the beach. We did go to the sea lion show which was fun! A good day for all.
Read jsdesigns1@comcast.net's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JohnCoMo
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Nice park with a ton of activities. Snorkeling wasn't very good but we still had fun.
Read JohnCoMo's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image !cocruising!
6 reviews
Dec 2015
Not bad for the $. Not too much of a beach. Scuba was included. Had a tequila tasting, sea lion show which was really good. Guide Jesus and chocho was really good. Food was reasonable and will take credit card for $20 min purchase
Read !cocruising!'s full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tbmrt
9 reviews
Nov 2015
Snorkeled our favorite spot in Chankanaab National Park the next day. So worth the $22 pp fee. ($2 coupon at their site). Split a cab with another couple so just $6 to get there. $12 for just 2 of us to return to port. Nice molded or wooden chairs with tiki hut umbrellas/tables included. Extremely clean. Saw a seal show in Spanish which was really nice. Adventure of the cruise….There are so many fish, small and large, very close to the easy entry steps to water at this amazing Park. We would never miss this Park at Cozumel. Best snorkeling ever except in an area we visited on a catamaran near Buck Island years ago. I had read that if one brings dog biscuits to draw the fish, your snorkeling would be even better. So I put some dog biscuits in my snorkel vest and open it a bit to take one out to put in my hand to break up occasionally while snorkeling. Wrong move! In a few seconds we were totally surrounded by fish, some pretty large. Beautiful, but they started swimming under our arms, over our heads, up our backs, etc. I dropped the biscuit that was in my hand, but of course they still could smell them in my vest! It felt like we actually were in a bucket of fish. Both of us were bitten a bit (not seriously), but knew it was time to get to shore and get rid of the dogbiscuits and clean vest out. (Later on that day on our ship someone told me that feeding fish in the islands is not permitted) We later headed out again and snorkeled along the beach very far. Fabulous…Lots of colorful fish including some big schools of them. Headed to the lagoon area at the Park and saw two iguanas which I love. Also saw some huge crocodiles in their exhibit. Had the most delicious salsa, chips and fish tacos of my life at their beach restaurant along with some light Tekante beer. Great, friendly service also.
Read tbmrt's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Larry0024
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Thought the price for this tour was a bit expensive. Took a van about 3 miles to the beach, had a bad lunch and a fairly entertaining Sea Lion show. Didn't see as much of Cozumel as i would have liked. If I had another chance, would have done something else.
Read Larry0024's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cliffs56
1 review
Aug 2015
it was hot and dirty. Not much to it.
Read cliffs56's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CruisinManatee
1 review
Aug 2015
Loved it! Beautiful park, snorkeling was awesome, the all inclusive drinks were awesome! :)
Read CruisinManatee's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SeaSagain
1 review
Jul 2015
Best tour ever! Had 2 tour guides, both were great! Park has much to see, swim and do. Buffet lunch included is awesome and delicious. Highly recommend this excursion tour!
Read SeaSagain's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image branfam4
1 review
Jun 2015
It was okay. Next time I will hope to find a breathtaking excursion. My son swam with the dolphins which is fabulous but the rest of just swam in the pool (boring). There is a beach but not a large walk into the ocean area.... it is deep and you have to go down stairs. Not kid friendly which is why we did the pool. :-(
Read branfam4's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Ilikechicken
1 review
Jun 2015
Cozumel – We did the Chakanaab snorkel and Sea Lion show Chakanaab is a park area that includes beaches, snorkeling, a periodic sea lion show, dolphin and manatee encounters, walking paths, a crocodile exhibit, swimming pools, etc. Our tour started with snorkeling (great fish and underwater items to view), then we had beach time (we ate at the beach side restaurant and then hung out on the beach and in the surf/reef. The guide then took people on a tour through the paths, but we stayed and hung out at the beach. They had a tequila tasting that we skipped too. We finished with the sea lion show (everyone enjoyed) and then headed back. You could just get a cab there, and do you own thing if you wanted. We were late to Cozymel so we did not have much time at the shops in town. This one has a dock so boarding is easy but the lines can get long at the end of the day.
Read Ilikechicken's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bearstartribe
1 review
May 2015
Swam with dolphins and it was all about the pictures. took so long cause everything was pictures! awfully commercial. no education about dolphins etc. just really cheezy! don't recommend. however, the beach was awesome!
Read bearstartribe's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mtc372
1 review
Apr 2015
Definitely a great place to go on an excursion. Took a taxi independently to this location for $12 each way. Entry was $21 USD per person. I recommend doing the tequila tasting they have there for $10 a person, as it was fun and good tequila. The pool by the dolphin discover was a good time and has a swim up bar. There are plenty of places to sit down on the beach, and lots of open chairs including ones in the shade under the straw huts. They servers are attentive, and the food is good. I think it's a better bet to get the food delivered to you on the beach or by the pool than to go to the restaurants. Seemed to be priced better and less Americanized. We did not do it, but it seemed like the perfect place to go swim with the dolphins and it isn't too expensive either. ~$100 a person for a push/pull swim experience. Strongly recommend.
Read mtc372's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: N/A
Member Image mojomorris
16 reviews
Apr 2015
YOWZA! What a great time this was! The snorkeling was superb and our guide Javier was great at explaining things and giving us the tour of the Mayan exhibit, the tequila tasting (nothing like sampling tequila and mescal in the warm sun after you’re tired from snorkeling) and finally he took us to the sea lion exhibit & show. Definitely a good bang for your buck and transportation is included. I enjoyed this SO much more than just souvenir shopping. I would definitely do this same excursion again and just snorkel and do the tequila tasting. I recommend this one for sure!
Read mojomorris's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image K11TEXAS
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Luis made this the very best excursion ever taken. He greeted us and talked about the snorkeling and hubby thought "surf bum". But Luis was very reassuring for first time snorkelers and allowed experienced swimmers freedom to explore. Saw more fish from this shore than when we had previously gone from a boat to the reef. But Luis wasn't just excellent in the water, he was very knowledgeable sharing the cultural history-don't know if he is studying Mayan history but he did an excellent job in explaining the way ancestors lived.
Read K11TEXAS's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image popeyeal
1 review
Apr 2015
The park and our guide Charlie were great. The Mayan village, reconstructed Temple, artifacts and Charlie's narrative provided insight into the Mayan way of life. The Tequila tasting was informative and worth it.
Read popeyeal's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jfairleigh
1 review
Apr 2015
Before leaving home go to the web site and print a coupon, it will save you $2 or $3 on each admission, Cash US dollars, Visa or MC, they don't accept AMAX. Grab a cab at the port and go on your own, no need to book it. Several cabs were waiting at the park for the return trip too. We did the zip line, an extra fee, as was the swim with Dolphin encounter. Don't do the manatee swim not worth the money, beside you can ask to be shown them after the Dolphin encounter and I understand most of the time they will take you over to them. Neat park, good beach and pool, 15 min from port, enjoyed the Dolphin and Zip-lining.
Read Jfairleigh's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image artmanr
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Chakanaab is pretty cool. We took a taxi there and paid the entrance fee. About $21 per person. Taxi is fixed rate from the port and you know in advance the cost based on the size of the party. Cruise ship had packages that include the transport and entry fee to the park. They end up costing about the same. We did it on our own this time. The park is large and has lots to offer. A walking tour of Mayan artifacts and architecture is pretty cool. Also, some wildlife to see such as crocodiles. This place is worth a visit for the cultural aspects. On the activities side, you can pay a fee to do a zip line. Very cool. Kids did it and loved it. Dolphin Experience is another activity to try. Fee of course. You can also swim in a pool or the ocean. Snorkeling is available too. Or just lounge on the beach. 2 restaurants and bars serve reasonably priced food and drinks. Credit cards are accepted.
Read artmanr's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: On our own.
Member Image MediGatoRx
5 reviews
Mar 2015
Arrived early and got prime beach chairs; wife and daughter swam with dolphins and manatees; snorkeling was awesome; food and drink prices were reasonable. Will do again when we go back in July!
Read MediGatoRx's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Excursioneer
Member Image chip60
1 review
Mar 2015
A nice park to spend the day in. Lots to do and see. Booked this online, to do the manatee encounter. This includes use of the park with lockers. Plenty of sunbeds. Sea very calm.
Read chip60's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image prymetyme
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Cross off "Snorkeling" from the bucket list . Cool experience . Also saw a sea lion show after our tequila tasting tour. Still had time to spend on the beach and order some drinks. Beautiful sand and water , so warm and blue. Had a great time and would go there again. Well worth the money.
Read prymetyme's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image usctrojans
1 review
Mar 2015
Visited this park when doing the Dolphin swim. The park is nice but we did not have enough time to explore. The dolphin swim took up a lot of time and were only left with a couple hours to do anything else. Snorkel equipment rental was $15 a person and not worth the money with so little time. Kids were disappointed about this.
Read usctrojans's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.