Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
If you're looking for a day in the sun, venture into Chankanaab National Park. With scuba, snorkeling, a historical walking trail, and not to mention great food, Chankanaab provides the perfect relaxing atmosphere for your time in Cozumel.
Member Image branfam4
1 review
Jun 2015
It was okay. Next time I will hope to find a breathtaking excursion. My son swam with the dolphins which is fabulous but the rest of just swam in the pool (boring). There is a beach but not a large walk into the ocean area.... it is deep and you have to go down stairs. Not kid friendly which is why we did the pool. :-(
Read branfam4's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Ilikechicken
1 review
Jun 2015
Cozumel – We did the Chakanaab snorkel and Sea Lion show Chakanaab is a park area that includes beaches, snorkeling, a periodic sea lion show, dolphin and manatee encounters, walking paths, a crocodile exhibit, swimming pools, etc. Our tour started with snorkeling (great fish and underwater items to view), then we had beach time (we ate at the beach side restaurant and then hung out on the beach and in the surf/reef. The guide then took people on a tour through the paths, but we stayed and hung out at the beach. They had a tequila tasting that we skipped too. We finished with the sea lion show (everyone enjoyed) and then headed back. You could just get a cab there, and do you own thing if you wanted. We were late to Cozymel so we did not have much time at the shops in town. This one has a dock so boarding is easy but the lines can get long at the end of the day.
Read Ilikechicken's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bearstartribe
1 review
May 2015
Swam with dolphins and it was all about the pictures. took so long cause everything was pictures! awfully commercial. no education about dolphins etc. just really cheezy! don't recommend. however, the beach was awesome!
Read bearstartribe's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mtc372
1 review
Apr 2015
Definitely a great place to go on an excursion. Took a taxi independently to this location for $12 each way. Entry was $21 USD per person. I recommend doing the tequila tasting they have there for $10 a person, as it was fun and good tequila. The pool by the dolphin discover was a good time and has a swim up bar. There are plenty of places to sit down on the beach, and lots of open chairs including ones in the shade under the straw huts. They servers are attentive, and the food is good. I think it's a better bet to get the food delivered to you on the beach or by the pool than to go to the restaurants. Seemed to be priced better and less Americanized. We did not do it, but it seemed like the perfect place to go swim with the dolphins and it isn't too expensive either. ~$100 a person for a push/pull swim experience. Strongly recommend.
Read mtc372's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: N/A
Member Image mojomorris
15 reviews
Apr 2015
YOWZA! What a great time this was! The snorkeling was superb and our guide Javier was great at explaining things and giving us the tour of the Mayan exhibit, the tequila tasting (nothing like sampling tequila and mescal in the warm sun after you’re tired from snorkeling) and finally he took us to the sea lion exhibit & show. Definitely a good bang for your buck and transportation is included. I enjoyed this SO much more than just souvenir shopping. I would definitely do this same excursion again and just snorkel and do the tequila tasting. I recommend this one for sure!
Read mojomorris's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image K11TEXAS
1 review
Apr 2015
Luis made this the very best excursion ever taken. He greeted us and talked about the snorkeling and hubby thought "surf bum". But Luis was very reassuring for first time snorkelers and allowed experienced swimmers freedom to explore. Saw more fish from this shore than when we had previously gone from a boat to the reef. But Luis wasn't just excellent in the water, he was very knowledgeable sharing the cultural history-don't know if he is studying Mayan history but he did an excellent job in explaining the way ancestors lived.
Read K11TEXAS's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image popeyeal
1 review
Apr 2015
The park and our guide Charlie were great. The Mayan village, reconstructed Temple, artifacts and Charlie's narrative provided insight into the Mayan way of life. The Tequila tasting was informative and worth it.
Read popeyeal's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jfairleigh
1 review
Apr 2015
Before leaving home go to the web site and print a coupon, it will save you $2 or $3 on each admission, Cash US dollars, Visa or MC, they don't accept AMAX. Grab a cab at the port and go on your own, no need to book it. Several cabs were waiting at the park for the return trip too. We did the zip line, an extra fee, as was the swim with Dolphin encounter. Don't do the manatee swim not worth the money, beside you can ask to be shown them after the Dolphin encounter and I understand most of the time they will take you over to them. Neat park, good beach and pool, 15 min from port, enjoyed the Dolphin and Zip-lining.
Read Jfairleigh's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image artmanr
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Chakanaab is pretty cool. We took a taxi there and paid the entrance fee. About $21 per person. Taxi is fixed rate from the port and you know in advance the cost based on the size of the party. Cruise ship had packages that include the transport and entry fee to the park. They end up costing about the same. We did it on our own this time. The park is large and has lots to offer. A walking tour of Mayan artifacts and architecture is pretty cool. Also, some wildlife to see such as crocodiles. This place is worth a visit for the cultural aspects. On the activities side, you can pay a fee to do a zip line. Very cool. Kids did it and loved it. Dolphin Experience is another activity to try. Fee of course. You can also swim in a pool or the ocean. Snorkeling is available too. Or just lounge on the beach. 2 restaurants and bars serve reasonably priced food and drinks. Credit cards are accepted.
Read artmanr's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: On our own.
Member Image MediGatoRx
4 reviews
Mar 2015
Arrived early and got prime beach chairs; wife and daughter swam with dolphins and manatees; snorkeling was awesome; food and drink prices were reasonable. Will do again when we go back in July!
Read MediGatoRx's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Excursioneer
Member Image chip60
1 review
Mar 2015
A nice park to spend the day in. Lots to do and see. Booked this online, to do the manatee encounter. This includes use of the park with lockers. Plenty of sunbeds. Sea very calm.
Read chip60's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image prymetyme
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Cross off "Snorkeling" from the bucket list . Cool experience . Also saw a sea lion show after our tequila tasting tour. Still had time to spend on the beach and order some drinks. Beautiful sand and water , so warm and blue. Had a great time and would go there again. Well worth the money.
Read prymetyme's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image usctrojans
1 review
Mar 2015
Visited this park when doing the Dolphin swim. The park is nice but we did not have enough time to explore. The dolphin swim took up a lot of time and were only left with a couple hours to do anything else. Snorkel equipment rental was $15 a person and not worth the money with so little time. Kids were disappointed about this.
Read usctrojans's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image terri-eddie
1 review
Mar 2015
Our tour included snorkeling, the Mayan village replica, the botanical gardens, the tequila tasting, the sea lion show, and unlimited buffet lunch and drinks. We would highly recommend this tour. Our guide was very informative and excited to tell us about everything. The pool was very nice, and the lunch was very good.
Read terri-eddie's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tammyjw305
2 reviews
Mar 2015
We caught a taxi to Chankanaab. It was about $13 for 4; set rate. Note your pier name for return later. We had the coupon for Chankanaab from their web site. We explored the ruins; there was someone make tortillas that we got to sample them. Then checked out the lagoon and crocodiles. We brought our own snorkel gear and borrowed the free life jacket. You have to provide one id to borrow one or more. We just brought our passports on shore; for this, I wished we had brought our driver’s licenses instead. Regardless, it worked well. My husband and oldest son snorkeled and enjoyed it. Our youngest enjoyed the pool; an adult has to go in with them – cannot just supervise from the side. We also had a snack from pool side food stand where we could watch the dolphins while eating. We also watched the Sea Lion show. It was in Spanish and English but still challenging to understand. The person speaking did not seem too concerned about being understood. Though just watching the Sea Lions was nice. When we were ready to go, there were taxis available and was called over for us.
Read tammyjw305's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BeccaBelle
1 review
Mar 2015
This was a great Park!! We started out walking around the "lagoon", which is really a giant cenote! It was beautiful, with the fishes and blue-green water!! Then we walked to the crocodiles and checked them out!! Then on to the beach, where we were all fitted with snorkeling equipment, and into the water we went!! The snorkeling only lasted about 45 minutes, and then we were given 1-1/2 hours to lay on the beach. (I would have loved to spend more time snorkeling instead of beaching!). Then it was a walk down the beach to view the dolphin area, and then into the arena for the Sea Lion show - very entertaining!! After that, it was on to the replica Mayan house - interesting! Then we went to the Tequila Tasting (good but low-end Tequila). Then it was back to the front and back on our vans. Since we still had 3 hours in port, we had them drop us off at the shopping area 3/4 of a mile from the pier and we worked our way back!!
Read BeccaBelle's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rrlavigne
1 review
Mar 2015

We went to this park to snorkel and see a sea lion show. The park was clean and beautiful. Snorkeling was awesome and the sea lion show was cute. We also did a tequila tasting and saw some fake Mayan ruins. I'd recommend this excursion.

Read rrlavigne's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SoundsOfSand
2 reviews
Feb 2015

Chankanaab! $12 taxi ride (for up to 4 people) to get there. Then $22 per person to get in. They have a beach, pools, zip lining (extra), snorkeling (around $10 - $15 pp includes snorkel, mask, locker, and life jacket), sea lion show, dolphin & manatee show, ruins, bar, restaurant, etc
Beautiful and safe. Fun getaway!

Read SoundsOfSand's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mdmcghie
1 review
Feb 2015

Chankanaab National Park is very nice, although I only experienced a small part of it, remaining on the beach most of the day. The entrance fee is about $20. We did watch part of a free sea lion show, but it pales in comparison to the shows at Sea World. My wife received a reasonably-priced massage in a large cabana just a few feet from the beach.

Read mdmcghie's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gerbilfur
1 review
Feb 2015

The guides for this excursion were beyond wonderful, however the timing for this excursion is all wrong. After gathering the group and driving to the park, we had an incredibly limited amount of time to spend at the park prior to it closing for the day. Big bummer.

Read gerbilfur's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bethany Beach
11 reviews
Feb 2015

In Cozumel, our snorkeling excursion was cancelled due to low participation. They wanted us to go on another sail, snorkel, and beach but we declined. We decided to instead check out Chankanaab. We have been to Cozumel before even stayed a week but had never checked out this place. Decided to go with the ship excursion which we knew was no doubt a rip off and it was but for the first time wanted to check out how to get there, etc. Well, if you are going there, just take a taxi and there are plenty of taxis at the place to go back. We only wanted to check out the snorkeling from shore. Small square lockers can be rented for $5. There is a huge snorkeling area and we were told to go out beyond the white floating dock. We did and saw about nothing. Then decided to circle back to one end and do a slow snorkel along the shore and it was a decent snorkel - saw lots of different sea life. I would go back there again to snorkel as it is hard to find good shore snorkeling. The ship excursion said it included a Sea Lion show, Tequila Tasting, and a walk through the botanical gardens. Well, actually anyone who pays to get into the park gets can do all of those things so the ship excursion is stretching the point a bit. We didn't do any of those things and after we were done snorkeling we asked to be taken back early. You can do that if you sign a release that you want to leave early land they call and pay for a taxi back to the port.

Read Bethany Beach's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Happy couple 68
1 review
Feb 2015

Yantar and his helper are very good at their jobs. We snorkeled, swam, went on an interesting tour, saw a sea lion show and a tequila history tour with tasting of 6 different grades of tequila.

Read Happy couple 68's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LZorroTheFox
2 reviews
Feb 2015

We booked a ship tour of Discover Mexico and Chankanaab National Park. Not a bad way to while away an afternoon, and the price was okay.

Read LZorroTheFox's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image agomez
1 review
Jan 2015
While we enjoyed ourselves at this excursion there was a bit of misleading info when we booked. It stated this was a shore snorkel with beaches and so we thought we would be able to spend time in and near the shore together as a family. However, the beach for children is in a separate area then the shore snorkel, requiring us to be separated for most of the excursion. We still had fun and the kids enjoyed themselves, just not what we were expecting.
Read agomez's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kdjudd
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2015

This was such a great excursion! The guides were friendly, the meet up location was convenient, and you get such an amazing deal! The park it takes place at is gorgeous and very well maintained. I can't imagine finding a better beach in all of Cozumel. I'm so glad we picked this excursion.

You start off the excursion by spending about an hour snorkeling. The water was clear and there were so many fish to see! The best part was how close they all got. None of them were scared of us. They swam all around us and you could reach out your hand and touch them if you wanted too! There were even Mayan ruins underwater and a few Spanish canons. That was the icing on the cake!

After snorkeling you have a bit of free time to spend on the beach, grabbing a snack, or getting ready for the rest of the tour. Then you all meet back up for the Sea Lion show. Although the show is pretty short it was a lot of fun. The sea lions get up close and personal with the audience. I got so many wonderful pictures!

After the show there is a quick tour of the replica Mayan ruins. It was a bit disappointing that they weren't authentic, but it is a great opportunity to learn about the Mayans and to see how they lived. It was very interesting!

The final bit of the excursion involves a tequila tasting! I expected a few sips of tequila. However, we tried probably 8 different types! It was a lot of fun and definitely exceeded my expectations.
All in all it was a great tour and I would definitely do it again! It was a great way to spend our time in Mexico!

Read kdjudd's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image PandaFan
1 review
Jan 2015

We kind of ran out of time to be able to enjoy the part other then Swimming with the Dolphin, we wanted to do some shopping. I will say the buffet that came with the package was not very good at all, I did enjoy some fresh Papaya. Shopping in Cozumel was the best of all three ports we stopped at.

Read PandaFan's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jcjky
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2015

The tour group - Tripping Cool, was very efficient and our guide was knowledgeable and flexible. We went on the guided tour at 11:00 of the botanical gardens. The rest of the time we spent exploring on our own --- in the water and watching the dolphin encounters.

Read jcjky's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image benjyjim
1 review
Dec 2014

Cozumel: Chankanaab park - $25 one way cab for 6, $21 admission. Then we sprang for the dolphin/manatee encounter which my wife expertly negotiated for $70 pp. The photos are where they really nail you - $194 for the digital DVD of all pics, also negotiated down by wife to $127 (all US$). Excursion from boat was like $120pp I think.
Verdict: expensive either way if you do Chankanaab dolphins - not much difference there.
This was pretty special, once-in-a-lifetime thing to get so up close and personal with the dolphin. The manatee was cool, though brief.
The rest of the park feels like a massive tourist trap - parts were cool, parts were forgettable - I would not go out of my way to get there other than for the dolphins.
Whoever owns that place makes a LOT of cash!!

Read benjyjim's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ricardo87
1 review
Dec 2014

The first port-of-call was Cozumel: this port was well-maintained, but extremely crowded. On the day of my stop, there were 6 ships present. My wife and I did a shore excursion to a local resort, Chankanaab Park, with a dolphin encounter, and snorkeling. This shore excursion stated it had a buffet and unlimited drinks. The drink menu was offered at two locations, which were about 2000 feet from the beach, and was stripped down to include only 5 'custom drinks'. The buffet was just as interesting; there was nacho cheese, hotdogs without buns, and steamed vegetables. Additionally, there was no seating available- after 2 hours of walking around, I was still unable to find a spot on the beach. Upon exit, I realized that the park price was $21 with $16.67 buffet; which was $40 cheaper than what I paid. Carnival informed me that their price-match guarantee was not valid for my claim as my picture of the sign was not sufficient.

Read ricardo87's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gkbair
1 review
Dec 2014

We loved the swim with the Manatees at Chankanaab however after it was over when we went to buy some photos, we were shocked at the pricing. The lady's "best deal" was $40 for one .jpg photo if you can believe it! She started the "negotiation" with $250 for a CD of photos, which had me about fall over. She then lowered it to 20 photos for $120. After coming off of Grand Cayman shore excursion of swimming with the stingrays and only paying $45 for a CD of about 50 photos, they must think we're dopes. We quickly left. The cruiseline didn't have anything to do with this as I booked the excursion independently.

Read gkbair's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Best price cruises . net
Member Image arsiv
1 review
Dec 2014

Manatee encounter was fabulous - trainer was great - even though he was Cowboys fan... He really cared about manatees and it showed. 5.5 for that - even though the photos were very expensive we had been warned to expect it.

Was able to get very reasonably priced bathing suit, when I left mine in the cabin, and t-shirts

Snorkeling afterward was marginal - although the roped in area was big enough to do some nice swimming - not much in the way of fish - underwater bronzes were ok - raft was a plus - 3 stars

Food was good - had the shrimp tacos

Read arsiv's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ibkesha
1 review
Dec 2014

Absolutely beautiful beaches. Although there were about 4 other ships, this location and beach park was not crowded. NAtional Park was beautiful and had replicas od MAyan Ruins

Read ibkesha's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image KellenbergerElgin
2 reviews
Dec 2014

You snorkel for half hour, take a short very informative nature hike, see the crocodiles, watch a sea lion show and best of all, Tequilla Tasting. Afterwards went to Senor Frog’s – enuf said.

Read KellenbergerElgin's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image candy03
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

We looked this with the cruise line for $105 under dolphin swimming. However the port offers this for $89. Though we only purchased dolphin swimming the package came with the manatee swim, sea lion show, the park adventure (including beach and snorkeling) and tequila tasting all which the cruise line charged separately for. We also went zip-lining at the park and I must say everything was excellent! Way more than the price we paid.

Read candy03's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MotownMomma
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

BEAUTIFUL!!! Save yourself almost HALF the price that Carnival charges and grab your own cab and take a ride out there. The beach was phenomenal, the snorkeling great and the staff very friendly!

Read MotownMomma's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lyndtv
2 reviews
Aug 2014

That wasn't the name of where we went .xcaret, an ecological park. Lovely, lots of wildlife, rivers, beach, Mayan culture. It was a long trip, 40 minutes on a ferry, then a walk to a bus and a 15 minute trip to the park. Park itself was great.

Read lyndtv's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jwarren02
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Always love this park. Had a few added features this trip. Sea Lions show was very good. Not too many fish for our snorkel trip but the water was great. The coral was not as good this time. Maybe the time of year. Loved our tour guides. Great day.

Read jwarren02's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cleonm
1 review
May 2014

The water and beaches were beautiful. Snorkeling was fun and they had lots of fish to be seen close to the beaches. The food was about as sad and the food on the ship and very over-priced.

Read cleonm's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image chester19
3 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Charly, our guide was outstanding, took such good care of everyone. IF you take a tour through the ship you don't get hasseled by the vendors trying to sell you excursions as you walk through the shopping plaza. He guided us all the way, was very enthusiastic and friendly, and genuinely wanted us to have a good time. So much to do here. Sea Lion show, you can swim with the dolphins. The value is good,a s it is $11 each way by taxi, and $22 to enter the park, and $12 for snorkeling. I believe we paid $49 each for this tour. Instructions all the way for snorkeling and where everything was in the park. Showers and change rooms, very clean. Ate on the beach, and joined up with the tour at the Sea Lion show. Not quite enough time here, you could definilty go on your own, very close to port. But we got back to the ship after walking around the shops for half an hr, and the torrential rain hit, so glad we came back. A great excursion.

Read chester19's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image chester19
3 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

amazing tour with Charly, he really took good care of us. Avoided us being hassled by everyone else for tours. So much to do at this park. Had an excellent time snorkeling, great visibility, even told everyone how to put it on, and kept a watch on everyone in the group to make sure they were safe are enjoying themselves. Lots to take in at this park, but really good value for the money paid. You could spend the whole day here. Our timing was great,after we got back to the ship, down came a torrential downpour. Would highly recommend this excursion. Cozumel itself looks bleak, as they have never cut down any of the dead trees from the hurricane years ago.

Read chester19's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image orr333
2 reviews
Mar 2014

You can find a $2 off per person coupon online bringing the admission to $19 each. Snorkeling was nice but not a ton of fish. A locker was $5 for all of our stuff. Besides the snorkeling, the Sea Lion show was really fun and there were many other things to do on the grounds. Definitely do this on your own to save money. Cab was $16 each way for 5 people and is $11 for 4 people.

Read orr333's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image travellanamama
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

The kids LOVED the snorkeling at Chankanaab. This was my second trip there. Went last March and again this March because we loved it so much. The older two girls, 15 and 16 went snorkeling and I felt safe knowing that they would be safe in a Taxi back to the ship as I had to take the 11 yr old back since she had such a horrible migraine that started earlier in the day on the smelly ship. She enjoyed the dolphins, but having had the headache and having to take some migraine medicine she needed to be back on the boat to rest. Would definitely return again for a third and many more visits.

Read travellanamama's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ddbiggs
1 review
Mar 2014

Waves were very choppy when we arrived but later settled down a great deal. Lots of beach area to sit and relax and read while the kids play in the sand. Small swimming hole was very crowded by 11:00.

Read ddbiggs's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image leo3646
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Do not miss Chankanaab!...and select always Charlie and Oscar as guides, they are both amazing!...specially Charlie who feel a great love for his island and his mayan ancestors. The park is more than beautiful and friendly and the ocean water of Cozumel is always unique.

Read leo3646's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image adellson
1 review
Jan 2014

Great, had a 'free run' of the place. Just stay in the areas as the tour guides say to go to get your free food and drinks. You are issued a wrist band to identify you and what you are there for to make your excursion problem free. Great...the only complaint is that excursions are far shorter than advertised...wish we could actually be at excursion location longer than we actually got to visit. Keep this in mind!!

Read adellson's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image andydandy325
2 reviews
Dec 2013

We arrived in port and were off the ship around 8am local time to beat the crowds on what we knew was going to be a very crowded day at Chankanaab. We quickly exited the International Pier Complex, grabbed an official taxi from the stand at the pier, and for $11USD the four of us were on the way to Chankanaab! It was $21USD per adult and was totally worth it. We made no reservations and just went for it. It saved us a lot of money going it on our own. While in the park we hopped on to a guided tour with an awesome guide Felipe, who explained all of the Mayan culture and history. The Tequila tasting was great. For $7USD you can get a very strong margarita served in a souvenir clay cup which was cool. The Sea Lion show was fun! We brought our own snorkels, and the snorkeling right from the beach was much better than I anticipated. Amazing day on a budget in Cozumel. Avoided feeling restricted to a ship excursion. Freedom in paradise!

Read andydandy325's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Chankanaab
Member Image jkaba
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Chankanaab park was beautiful, and had abundant marine life to view while snorkeling. The vendors seemed to be competing for our business which was slightly annoying, but overall it was a very good experience. Lots of amenites, and while there were 3 cruise ships in port that day, we did not have a very difficult time in finding a shady spot to hang out while on the beach.

Read jkaba's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image calebc6
1 review
Jun 2013
We enjoyed the water. The beach was just imported sand. The rocks were a little too much to deal with since we had children, but the water was STUNNING! We rented the snorkeling gear and really enjoyed the marine life that was there.
Read calebc6's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Emilio9695
1 review
Jun 2013

Great location to swim with the Dolphins. great photos taken by the company. this location is about 15 mins. from port and you can take a $12 taxi and pay at the location and save 45% from ship prices.

Read Emilio9695's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image polkadots
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Cozumel was my favorite port of call by far. We booked the excursion for the dolphin/manatee encounter at Chankanaab. The dolphins were amazing, and the manatee was neat. They have a free sea lion show that was an adorable hoot. Chankanaab has a very nice beach area with plenty of shady spots to relax. It was very low-stress getting to/from the area - the excursion arranged taxis to take us all to the facility, and whenever we wanted to leave we simply had to report to a certain place at the entrance and they would arrange a taxi to take us back to the port at no additional cost to us - it was included in the excursion fee.

I wish we had owned and brought a waterproof camera with us to document the amazing experiences we had with the dolphins and manatee. The pictures the Chankanaab staff took were very cool, but insanely expensive. I would absolutely do this excursion again, would recommend it to anyone ... and would be sure to bring my own waterproof camera for next time to save money on pictures.

My mother-in-law's curling iron died during our trip. She went to the spa to ask if they had one she could borrow to do her hair for dinner and they weren't very nice about it. In Cozumel on the way back from Chankanaab she and my father-in-law were able to take a taxi to a store called Mega (?) to buy a new one, and the taxi driver waited for them to make the purchase and then drove them back to the port.

Read polkadots's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image haraujo
1 review
Apr 2013
Beautiful beach. Cold beer. Nice prices.
Read haraujo's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gplez90
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Cozumel was my favorite. The locals here aren't as pushy as the locals in Belize either. Here, we did the Royal Dolphin swim at Chankanab. It included swimming with two dolphins, interacting with a manatee, snorkeling, eating authentic Mexican cuisine, a private beach, tequila tasting, and even a crocodile exhibit. It is well worth the $130 each we payed. My only complaint is i wish we would've stayed at the ports longer!
Read Gplez90's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SoundsOfSand
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Cozumel was gorgeous and a favorite port among many. We went to Chankanaab. It was a park that had everything you could want to do. It was $21 per person to get in (there is a coupon for $2 off online you can print and take with you). They had their own private (and very nice) beach, pools, restaurants, snorkeling, ruins, dolphin and manatee show, and sea lion show, among other things. The sea lion show was excellent and definitely worth seeing. We opted to snorkel. They had snorkeling from shore (rocky area). The rental of snorkel equipment was $15 per person and included a snorkel mask and tube, a life jacket, and a locker for your belongings. If you bring your own snorkel gear, I think they let you use the life jackets for free. The snorkeling was nice and had quite a variety of fish to see, even very close to the shore! Chankanaab was only about 5 minutes from the boat and it was $11 total for the 3 of us to ride in a taxi ($11 per ride, so $22 to get there and back). We could still see the ship from the private beach we were on. Very nice, clean, and friendly park and we would definitely go back there again!
Read SoundsOfSand's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 2dogs4cats
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
We only got to spend 2 hours here due to delays earlier in the day that involved Discover Mexico museum and the make-up of our tour group. The snorkeling was average. The food was pricey but good. We will make our own arrangements next time rather than book with the cruise line and will try a different snorkeling location.
Read 2dogs4cats's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BODICERIPPER
1 review
Jan 2013
Our guide Sebastian looked after us well all day and showed us many interesting aspects of Mexican history. Very attentive and polite. He was a very patient young man. The drivers were also very nice and helpful. The folks who sold things at the small stores at Chankanaab were a tad pushy, but no more than any of the other sellers on the island. Probably just a cultural difference. I found the people on Cozumel very polite and friendly. There was a lot of smiling. They seemed quite happy.
Read BODICERIPPER's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dshefter
5 reviews
Dec 2012
My DW and DD did the Royal Dolphin Swim and had a blast. Booked 2-for-1 online and saved $470 for the 4 people who went. You pay $109 for photos, but the savings made the purchase easier to bear. My daughter said it was the highlight of the trip.
Read dshefter's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Directly with Park on Internet
Member Image nkslewis
1 review
Dec 2012
I swam with a dolphin---enough said. It was as amazing as it sounds. I wished we'd just taken a taxi as that would have given us more time in the park after the dolphin experience.
Read nkslewis's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cupcake1010
1 review
Oct 2012
Discover Mexico was ok- could skip and just do Chankannab which had a lot to do. Next time will just do this as didn't have enough time to do all we wanted to do.
Read cupcake1010's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 2Okies
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2012
We did not pre-book an excursion at Chankanaab. We just caught a taxi at the pier ($10 one way per taxi, not per person) and went to the park. It was about 10 minutes from the Puerta Maya pier where the Carnival ships port. It was $26pp to get into the park which included a free t-shirt and a soda or water, all access to the beach and sea lion show. Of course, it doesn't include the dolphin experience, but you can watch others doing it. We enjoyed the snorkeling here. Its very rocky along the shore of this beach, which makes for good snorkeling. We brought our own snorkeling equipment, but there is a place to rent it. The access to the water is by stairs that are built all along their beach. There is one area where you can walk into the water, but the bottom of this area is a little rocky (small rocks) so water shoes are good. But it is shallow there, and good for kids to play or learn to snorkel. There are a couple of places to eat. We shared a chicken nachos and got 2 soft drinks for about $12. The sea lion show was cute, and short. We stayed at the park from about 10:30 til 1:30 and caught a taxi back to the pier where we dropped our stuff off at the ship and then went back to shop at the pier. Puerta Maya has some pretty good shops, and its a very outdoor pretty shopping area. We bought some of the bamboo sheets that the ship advertises. They shipped them back to the states for us, and they arrived a few days after we got home. They are very nice sheets! We probably spent more money shopping in Cozumel than any other place. We enjoyed Chankanaab, but may try another beach next time - just for a different experience. Cozumel is a very friendly place, and one that we never feel threatened or unsafe. Any excursion you do on your own here will be fine. Just pay attention to time, and get back to the ship when you should. The island isn't that big - so that should never be a problem. We love to visit Cozumel.
Read 2Okies's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image celialou
1 review
Apr 2012
We've been to Cozumel several times before. This time we decided to check out Chanakaab. We booked early online to save. We paid $39 for admission to the park, lunch, and snorkeling. We also got to see the manatees, dolphins, and an excellent sea lion show. The sea lions were our favorite part. After the awesome show, they sat us on a bench and the sea lion "kissed" me on the cheek for a picture. It was $15 and totally worth it! Snorkeling was alright. Not the best, but enjoyable enough. The lunch was eh.
Read celialou's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image robmhome
1 review
Apr 2012
We enjoyed Chankanaab Part as part of the dolphin swim we booked through the cruise line. Although it rained pretty hard when we were there it had a good number of things to do. We did rent snorkel gear there and did this on our own until the rain picked up again and clouded the water. You can see colorful fish here but the ocean floor is pretty drab. I wish we could have enjoyed the lounges under the palapas but didn't because of the rain.
Read robmhome's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Westbank is bestbank
3 reviews
Apr 2012
Third time at Chankanaab and it's been remarkable each time. Inexpensive if you travel there and pay at the gate. You get more than you pay for that's for sure...
Read Westbank is bestbank's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ReverendVW
2 reviews
Apr 2012
dune buggy/punta sur/snorkeling through carnival. waste of time for the money. Drive out there yourself, or take a cab.
Read ReverendVW's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RollTidemom
1 review
Apr 2012
took a taxi from the pier - best day in port. Snorkeled, beach, sea lion show The water was beautiful and the sand was gorgeous. Reasonable entrance fee, beer and food priced cheaply and food was good. We plan on going back in April. No need to book this through the ship as it is so easy to travel in Cozumel.
Read RollTidemom's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: on our own -
Member Image gatorgirl75
1 review
Mar 2012
Once again, he loved it. Said there was lots to do and see.
Read gatorgirl75's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tragone
1 review
Mar 2012
we opted for the zip lining and snorkeling at Adventure Park. While the snorkeling was great, the zip lines were a waste of time and money as they were way too short. The beach at this resort was great, and so were the margaritas.
Read tragone's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image scion
1 review
Mar 2012
This was my second time here and not my last. It is wonderful. We floated down an underground river. We saw sea turtles ,dolphins, mantees, birds, butterflies,tropical fish and beautiful flowers. This is the most well done park I have ever seen. I will return to Mexico just to return to Xcaret.
Read scion's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kjhighball
3 reviews
Mar 2012
After our Dolphin Swim, we headed to the Chankanaab Park for snorkeling. The beach there is rocky: the sand is separate from the water by some big rocks. You descend into the water via a staircase. The water was pretty clear, and we saw lots of big fish. There were several restaurants that seemed to have reasonable prices.
Read kjhighball's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fmegan961
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2012
Beautiful place, you will get your monies worth. Book through the park and not the cruise ship.
Read fmegan961's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image happysnorkel
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Exceptionally. Pricey but way-cool. It is basically a huge interactive fun-filled zoo / ecology park. No way to do everything and we will do this again when we can. Highly recommend.
Read happysnorkel's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Merrykalia
1 review
Mar 2012
This was a great excurion......BUT......it took us over an hour and a half to get there, only got to spend 3 hours there, then another hour and a half to return to the ship. We spent as much time commuting as we did there. We will plan to return to XCARET, but as a destination, not an excursion.
Read Merrykalia's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image FreddyFunFunFun
1 review
Feb 2012
The park and the zip line were the same thing. There was also rock climbing on each tower with different levels of difficulty and repelling down the towers. Between all the towers were different bridges some more scary than others without anything to hold on to. The guides really made this trip very fun. They were cheering us on, played some fun music and kept us laughing. Our main guides name was Beto and he was great.
Read FreddyFunFunFun's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dawnvan
1 review
Feb 2012
Chankanaab National park is BEAUTIFUL! The lagoon is full of beautiful fish, beautiful clear waters and a very nice beach although the beach doesn't go into the water there are stairs into the water. they also have a botanical garden it looked very nice but I ran out of time so didn't get to check it out.
Read dawnvan's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image GoldenRose
1 review
Feb 2012
We loved Chankanaab, and would return there again in a minute. This was a wonderful place to spend the day. We did the Dolphin Encounter, with the included Manatee add on, went to the sea lion show and got a kiss from a sea lion afterwards, and relaxed in a tidal pool beach area. Our son thought this was one of the greatest days of his life. The only complaint we had at all was that they take a lot of photos... and they charge you a lot for the photos.
Read GoldenRose's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Willy Hank
1 review
Feb 2012
Interesting
Read Willy Hank's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruising Coverts
1 review
Feb 2012
We wanted to do some snorkeling so we took this trip which took us to this Mexican welcome center that explained there history and culture then they took us to Chankanaab Park which was awesome. We brought our own snorkeling gear and had a lovely Mexican lunch in the park. This was our second time in Conzumel and we loved it very much. Royal Caribbean dropped us off at a different location then Carnival which was nice that it was the same place but you got to see something a little different!
Read Cruising Coverts's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fleetmac01
2 reviews
Mar 2011
Excellent tour. See review.
Read fleetmac01's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.