Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
If you're looking for a day in the sun, venture into Chankanaab National Park. With scuba, snorkeling, a historical walking trail, and not to mention great food, Chankanaab provides the perfect relaxing atmosphere for your time in Cozumel.
Member Image dambyrds
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Great excursion with tons of options and decent food options!
Read dambyrds's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image berdeau
1 review
May 2016
Took a taxi to the park for a relaxing beach/snorkel day
Read berdeau's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: none
Member Image TORQ
2 reviews
May 2016
The food at the buffet was a very bland so if you have spices bring them with you! The snorkeling was absolutely phenomenal but honestly we did not have a lot of time to really experience that park due to the fact that the ship got to the port at noon. And they close at five. So when they through everyone out at five, we headed to Margaritaville
Read TORQ's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mojomorris
17 reviews
May 2016
We did the Chankanaab Beach Snorkeling shore excursion. We had David + Erick from Tripping Cool Group as our guides. What a GREAT time! David was funny, informative and a great guide. The price was great, the snorkeling was absolutely fabulous and I'd recommend this shore excursion and give it 5 stars. For me it was the high point of the whole cruise!
Read mojomorris's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ItaliCuba2005
1 review
Apr 2016
AWESOME! The best! Snorkling there is amazing. Loved the food at the restaurant which is very clean, and the prices are reasonable. There is sea lion show included in the price, you can go if you want. It includes a Tequila tasting, and once you exit the part we got 2 free margaritas at Senor Frog just by showing the sticker we were using. We also saw a Mayan lady making real tortillas. The place is really pretty, white sands, beautiful water. This was our favorite tour.
Read ItaliCuba2005's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Wsterntime
1 review
Apr 2016
This was the most fun excursion. We had excellent funny informative guides, they took our safety very serious and we just had an all around good time.
Read Wsterntime's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image thomasjacobus@aol.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Way too short timewise
Read thomasjacobus@aol.com's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image house_elf
3 reviews
Apr 2016
Chankanaab is so much fun! Our excursion included beach time, snorkel time (if we wanted to), lunch, unlimited open bar (for domestic alcohol only), the sea lion show, tequila tasting, and access to the botanical gardens. At the beginning of the day, we were given the schedule for our particular tour (but not required to stick with the tour, so long as we were back at the meeting point at the departure time). Other add-on activities included swimming with dolphins and zip-lining. Our tour guide was Yantar. He took us on a tour of the botanical gardens and gave us an enlightening overview of Mayan life. The beach area is great! There were tons of beach chairs and the vast majority of the chairs were covered by shade (thatched umbrella coverings). The sand was glorious - very fine. There was a small natural inlet that was the children's area, however there were quite a few rocks in this area that one needs to be mindful of.
Read house_elf's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cintilante
1 review
Apr 2016
Beautiful grounds, great service, lots of lockers, restrooms, three restaurants. Lots of activities, dolphin swim, sea lion show and encounter, clean swimming pool, ziplining and great snorkeling. Only downside is the absurd price of pictures if you choose to swim with dolphins or sea lion. Would definitely go again just to go snorkeling. There are activities for all ages we couldn't do them all in one day.
Read Cintilante's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Chankanaab National Park Website
Member Image penni827
1 review
Apr 2016
We took a taxi from the ship area (only $12 for the 4 of us), only minutes away, great place, nice beach, snorkeling was fantastic, we took our own snorkel gear and they have free vests or you can rent gear. We had a free dolphin and manatee tour and sea lion show. There are some restaurants, mayan relics and you can pay to swim with the dolphins and manatees too. LOVE this place and will be going back! Inexpensive too, about $29. Some people were scuba diving too.
Read penni827's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: none
Member Image lflores30@wi.rr.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Tripping Cool was the company who ran the tour. Our tour guide, Adolfo? Alejandro? was excellent!!!
Read lflores30@wi.rr.com's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Darshan1
12 reviews
Mar 2016
Discover Mexico and Chankanaab Park are an odd combination, but not necessarily a bad one. Chankanaab is probably best for families with kids (swimming, snorkeling, sea lion shows) while Discover Mexico is a modern art museum combined with an impressive display of dioramas of Mexico's most important sites. At Discover Mexico, we also saw a fascinating "dance" by flyers descended from one of Mexico's ancient cultures. They spun on ropes, beginning thirty feet in the air, as they revolved and wound their way to the ground. Our guide, Arturo, took his job seriously, making sure we learned a lot about the various native cultures of Mexico, but he was also quite friendly and organized. I'd recommend this tour.
Read Darshan1's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SerendipityCruiser111
1 review
Jan 2016
Great excursion. Would highly recommend.
Read SerendipityCruiser111's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Algebralovr
5 reviews
Dec 2015
This was really simply a way for two of our party to get to Chankanaab while two others were doing the Dolphin Encounter.
Read Algebralovr's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image boy's mom
6 reviews
Dec 2015
Bring your own towels from the ship (they do not provide any towels at this park). Take a city cab (white with red stripes, right outside the dock), $30 one way for 6 of us. Both our cab drivers were very friendly. At the entrance, since we wanted to zip line there at the park, & the zip lining portion was owned by a third party, we were escorted to their desk, & then had to pay our park entrance in cash (about $21 pp) but was able to pay for zip lining using a cc (about $60 pp, depending on the length you choose). The photos they take of you zip lining was sold as "all or nothing". $60 for the CD. The zip lining was fun (it was our 1st time) & the zip line attendants were very friendly & helpful. They expect a cash tip at the end. There is also a pool, lagoon, beach, sea lion show & restaurant with lots of shade huts, lounge chairs & umbrellas. The park was very clean and the employees were very pleasant.
Read boy's mom's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: went on our own
Member Image Allie67
1 review
Dec 2015
Great place to go. We did not book an excursion but instead just took a taxi to the park and then decided what we wanted to do from there. My husband and daughter ended up scuba diving and my other daughter swam with the manatees.
Read Allie67's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jsdesigns1@comcast.net
1 review
Dec 2015
This excursing was great! It was a short van ride from the dock to the park. First we did snorkeling - not many fish but the guide tried hard! Then there was beach time and you could eat at the beach restaurant (on your own). They also had a Mayan cultural tour and tequila tasting - which we opted not to do, as we wanted to enjoy the beach. We did go to the sea lion show which was fun! A good day for all.
Read jsdesigns1@comcast.net's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JohnCoMo
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Nice park with a ton of activities. Snorkeling wasn't very good but we still had fun.
Read JohnCoMo's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image !cocruising!
6 reviews
Dec 2015
Not bad for the $. Not too much of a beach. Scuba was included. Had a tequila tasting, sea lion show which was really good. Guide Jesus and chocho was really good. Food was reasonable and will take credit card for $20 min purchase
Read !cocruising!'s full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tbmrt
9 reviews
Nov 2015
Snorkeled our favorite spot in Chankanaab National Park the next day. So worth the $22 pp fee. ($2 coupon at their site). Split a cab with another couple so just $6 to get there. $12 for just 2 of us to return to port. Nice molded or wooden chairs with tiki hut umbrellas/tables included. Extremely clean. Saw a seal show in Spanish which was really nice. Adventure of the cruise….There are so many fish, small and large, very close to the easy entry steps to water at this amazing Park. We would never miss this Park at Cozumel. Best snorkeling ever except in an area we visited on a catamaran near Buck Island years ago. I had read that if one brings dog biscuits to draw the fish, your snorkeling would be even better. So I put some dog biscuits in my snorkel vest and open it a bit to take one out to put in my hand to break up occasionally while snorkeling. Wrong move! In a few seconds we were totally surrounded by fish, some pretty large. Beautiful, but they started swimming under our arms, over our heads, up our backs, etc. I dropped the biscuit that was in my hand, but of course they still could smell them in my vest! It felt like we actually were in a bucket of fish. Both of us were bitten a bit (not seriously), but knew it was time to get to shore and get rid of the dogbiscuits and clean vest out. (Later on that day on our ship someone told me that feeding fish in the islands is not permitted) We later headed out again and snorkeled along the beach very far. Fabulous…Lots of colorful fish including some big schools of them. Headed to the lagoon area at the Park and saw two iguanas which I love. Also saw some huge crocodiles in their exhibit. Had the most delicious salsa, chips and fish tacos of my life at their beach restaurant along with some light Tekante beer. Great, friendly service also.
Read tbmrt's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Larry0024
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Thought the price for this tour was a bit expensive. Took a van about 3 miles to the beach, had a bad lunch and a fairly entertaining Sea Lion show. Didn't see as much of Cozumel as i would have liked. If I had another chance, would have done something else.
Read Larry0024's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cliffs56
1 review
Aug 2015
it was hot and dirty. Not much to it.
Read cliffs56's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CruisinManatee
1 review
Aug 2015
Loved it! Beautiful park, snorkeling was awesome, the all inclusive drinks were awesome! :)
Read CruisinManatee's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SeaSagain
1 review
Jul 2015
Best tour ever! Had 2 tour guides, both were great! Park has much to see, swim and do. Buffet lunch included is awesome and delicious. Highly recommend this excursion tour!
Read SeaSagain's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image branfam4
1 review
Jun 2015
It was okay. Next time I will hope to find a breathtaking excursion. My son swam with the dolphins which is fabulous but the rest of just swam in the pool (boring). There is a beach but not a large walk into the ocean area.... it is deep and you have to go down stairs. Not kid friendly which is why we did the pool. :-(
Read branfam4's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.