Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
If you're looking for a day in the sun, venture into Chankanaab National Park. With scuba, snorkeling, a historical walking trail, and not to mention great food, Chankanaab provides the perfect relaxing atmosphere for your time in Cozumel.
Member Image happycruiser6457
1 review
Mar 2017
nice area for snorkeling, included entry to park and a wonderful buffet lunch. lots of things to do and see
Read happycruiser6457's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: shoreexcursioneer
Member Image NYCruiserTwo
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Im not rating it as terrible because the food was tasty. The website is soo deceiving though. Their sand is spread atop what looks like the foundation of an old fort or bldg ruin. After you get down about 4 very high steps, without railing. They have an aluminum set of stairs that are not only painful to try to walk on, but the steps in the water look like a bacterial mass. Only worth 10.00us no more!! Was told the beaches on the other side of the island are the best. Not here or Mr Sanchos...both very rocky.
Read NYCruiserTwo's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Camahr
1 review
Mar 2017
Nice Beach, and snorkel
Read Camahr's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tuitionowed
3 reviews
Mar 2017
Snorkeling! Nice beach with good clean amenities. Food and beverages can be served at your beach chair but only cash is accepted. Food was over-priced for what we received. There were plenty of shady spots. We enjoyed a lesson on tequila along with a tasting. Fun day.
Read tuitionowed's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jensplace
1 review
Mar 2017
We booked the day at the national park with the sea lion show and buffet lunch included. We had guided snorkeling, which was just the right amount of ocean time for me, and I was glad we were close enough to shore where I could see my son (who refused to snorkel after he saw a fish). We had a large group on this excursion and our guide, Rafa, was great at helping us all manage our time and telling us things to do in the park. The buffet lunch was fine, and the open bar was great. Rafa was engaging and fun during the tequila tasting and the sea lion show was very cute. We got back in time to do some shopping before getting back on the ship and getting ready for dinner. In all, this was a great excursion for getting a sample of lots of things in a relaxed atmosphere, with a nice mix of structured activities and down time.
Read jensplace's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Gymnastgurl5659
1 review
Mar 2017
Large park. Swimming areas. Beach areas/lounging areas. Free Wifi. Pool with swim up bar. Option to swim with dolphins, zip-line, etc.
Read Gymnastgurl5659's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tad54
2 reviews
Feb 2017
taxis to and from was $25 total. Decent food, enjoyable staff and swim with the dolphins and meeting the manatees.
Read tad54's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: dtraveler
Member Image WineandRoseLady
6 reviews
Feb 2017
This was billed as a dolphin encounter, which means you stand in the water and touch the dolphin as it goes by doing a number of moves, and being told about the dolphins. After about 40 minutes, you can go have lunch & drinks at a buffet, or make use of the other park facilities. Transportation was included. In retrospect, swimming with the dolphins would have been much more fun.
Read WineandRoseLady's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Larry6905
3 reviews
Feb 2017
cab ride $4 pp if you swim with dolphins they give you cab vouchers. Food was good, service was good and snorkeling was great.
Read Larry6905's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Cab
Member Image RoyaltyC
4 reviews
Feb 2017
Took a taxi there $24 for 7 of us. Park was large. Staff was nice. Enjoyed the sea lion show. There is a small beach for swimming. Wifi was weak. Was able to check email in the early hours before many people show up. Entrance was $19 per person with a coupon printed from their website.
Read RoyaltyC's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nino2jojo
1 review
Jan 2017
Decided to do a shore excursion called the Chankanaab Beach Park & Snorkel With Charly our tour guide who was amazing. It was the perfect day to go snorkeling, the beach was very nice, and don’t forget the tequila tasting. I would highly recommend this excursion. I had the opportunity to take some amazing pictures and had with plenty of time to do shopping and explore before getting back on the boat.
Read nino2jojo's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sewut
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We had an encounter with the manatees and then with the dolphins. There was a mix up with the times or something and I think they killed time by putting us in with the manatees. The buffet was pretty bad. We wasted a lot of time waiting for a dolphin encounter and didn't have time for the sea lion show. We had very little time to snorkel before it was time to leave.
Read sewut's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dcody316
1 review
Jan 2017
It was fun. Rushed and the sea lions was open to everyone...
Read dcody316's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SharonFButts
1 review
Jan 2017
Safe, clean, good snorkeling
Read SharonFButts's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Taxi over
Member Image bayleereann
1 review
Jan 2017
Went on ziplines. Lots of activities, swimming, snorkeling, animals,
Read bayleereann's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cowley_rogers
1 review
Dec 2016
was good shore excursion with snorkelling OK, tequila tasting, and only 10 min cab ride from port. Beach led down steps into 6' water right away so not good for non-swimmers, but great for snorkellers. Only complaint was Tour left resort at 12:45 despite 3:30 on board time, so next time, will look to just take cab on own for $15 (??) and pay $21 Park admission, so we can stay longer.
Read cowley_rogers's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jimbob22
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Took a taxi to Chakinaab. Some activities therein require extra costs. We just did the basic entrance, kids played in the water, we explored the 'ruins', etc. It was a nice time, nothing earth shattering. Maybe more worthwhile if you pay extra to swim with dolphins/manatees.
Read jimbob22's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Badgrbob
1 review
Dec 2016
Took a cab to Chankanaab National Park. We visited here in 2000 and it is completely rebuild after the hurricane. Very nice park to spend the day
Read Badgrbob's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image marschaller
2 reviews
Dec 2016
First challenge was to find a taxi ride. Even though, they have a big sign at the taxi station with the exact prices, the drivers are gold diggers. The sign says one way to Chankanaab park is $12/car. The first driver wanted $100, the second $80, the third $50. When I pointed to the price list, I was told that is per person, that is per mile, that is per kilometer, that is per minute, etc. Finally, we walked away from the main taxi station, and about 200 feet away we found another taxi drivers and they took us there for $10. The park itself is beautiful but only if you want to snorkel and if you can swim. The beach is a rocky beach, and the water is deep right at the shore. It's impossible to do anything there with small children. They have a children area, where the water is not deep but they have only 12 chairs there so good luck to find a free one. They offers free lunch. I don't want to write about the food because someone loves someone hates it - so it too personal. They give free snorkeling gear. Bar prices are higher than the ship's prices. They also have a pool which is good for kids, but honestly, if I go for a beach break, I don't want to swim in a pool...
Read marschaller's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: ShoreExcursioners.com
Member Image vinay2543
1 review
Dec 2016
Great place when on a Shore Excursion to get a Taste of Cozumel in the short time. Has something for everyone, Mayan replicas, Waterfalls, walking trails, Zip Lines, Aerial Obstacle Course, Sea Lion and Dolphin Shows, Kayak, Snorkel, Scuba etc. Loved the Sea Lion show which is included in the entry fee. Rentals are expensive though (Clear Bottom Kayak for $25 per person!!)
Read vinay2543's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Natel
1 review
Dec 2016
Flor "Flower" was our tour guide and she did the most amazing job of all. She took us around the park on a quick tour and then gave us a lesson on how to use the snorkeling equipment. She took us out in the water and showed us a variety of different sea life. We snorkeled for about 45 minutes. Then she gave us an hour and a half to just roam around the park to do our own thing. I went and saw the replicas of the Mayan ruins. I also went to the beautiful lagoon and saw some iguanas. They also have a lot of crocodiles that you could go look at. We met back up with Flor and did a tequila tasting and tried several different kinds of tequila. After that she took us to the sea lion show which was quick but fun. We got back in a taxi and went back to the terminal were we had time for shopping and lunch. The time flew by and before you knew it, it was time to get back on the ship.
Read Natel's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image s.stevens2005
1 review
Dec 2016
great tour with snorkeling. Charlie was an excellent tour person and snorkel guide.
Read s.stevens2005's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Okie123
1 review
Dec 2016
We took a taxi to park and upon arrive went to a shop to get our tickets. This a very simple and had a lovely time in the park with out own waiter. Our trip included snorkel gear and lunch. Voted best day of our cruise
Read Okie123's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shoreexcursioneer
Member Image seaduction
2 reviews
Nov 2016
We loved this park which was very clean; had a great beach with lots of chairs/loungers; had a sea lion show; a tequilla tasting; our guide "Rafael" was fantastic and made guacamole dip for us.
Read seaduction's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image taranchao1107
1 review
Nov 2016
Great Park. $13 cab ride from port. They have snorkeling, dolphins, and sea lions, and walking trails. You can do activities or just have lunch and drinks in the sun. Had a margarita, and no stomach ache like you get in Cancun. Great service at the park. You can also get a massage there for a great price!
Read taranchao1107's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: park itself

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?