Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Chankanaab National Park Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
If you're looking for a day in the sun, venture into Chankanaab National Park. With scuba, snorkeling, a historical walking trail, and not to mention great food, Chankanaab provides the perfect relaxing atmosphere for your time in Cozumel.
Member Image SharonFButts
1 review
Jan 2017
Safe, clean, good snorkeling
Read SharonFButts's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Taxi over
Member Image bayleereann
1 review
Jan 2017
Went on ziplines. Lots of activities, swimming, snorkeling, animals,
Read bayleereann's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cowley_rogers
1 review
Dec 2016
was good shore excursion with snorkelling OK, tequila tasting, and only 10 min cab ride from port. Beach led down steps into 6' water right away so not good for non-swimmers, but great for snorkellers. Only complaint was Tour left resort at 12:45 despite 3:30 on board time, so next time, will look to just take cab on own for $15 (??) and pay $21 Park admission, so we can stay longer.
Read cowley_rogers's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jimbob22
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Took a taxi to Chakinaab. Some activities therein require extra costs. We just did the basic entrance, kids played in the water, we explored the 'ruins', etc. It was a nice time, nothing earth shattering. Maybe more worthwhile if you pay extra to swim with dolphins/manatees.
Read jimbob22's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image marschaller
2 reviews
Dec 2016
First challenge was to find a taxi ride. Even though, they have a big sign at the taxi station with the exact prices, the drivers are gold diggers. The sign says one way to Chankanaab park is $12/car. The first driver wanted $100, the second $80, the third $50. When I pointed to the price list, I was told that is per person, that is per mile, that is per kilometer, that is per minute, etc. Finally, we walked away from the main taxi station, and about 200 feet away we found another taxi drivers and they took us there for $10. The park itself is beautiful but only if you want to snorkel and if you can swim. The beach is a rocky beach, and the water is deep right at the shore. It's impossible to do anything there with small children. They have a children area, where the water is not deep but they have only 12 chairs there so good luck to find a free one. They offers free lunch. I don't want to write about the food because someone loves someone hates it - so it too personal. They give free snorkeling gear. Bar prices are higher than the ship's prices. They also have a pool which is good for kids, but honestly, if I go for a beach break, I don't want to swim in a pool...
Read marschaller's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: ShoreExcursioners.com
Member Image vinay2543
1 review
Dec 2016
Great place when on a Shore Excursion to get a Taste of Cozumel in the short time. Has something for everyone, Mayan replicas, Waterfalls, walking trails, Zip Lines, Aerial Obstacle Course, Sea Lion and Dolphin Shows, Kayak, Snorkel, Scuba etc. Loved the Sea Lion show which is included in the entry fee. Rentals are expensive though (Clear Bottom Kayak for $25 per person!!)
Read vinay2543's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Natel
1 review
Dec 2016
Flor "Flower" was our tour guide and she did the most amazing job of all. She took us around the park on a quick tour and then gave us a lesson on how to use the snorkeling equipment. She took us out in the water and showed us a variety of different sea life. We snorkeled for about 45 minutes. Then she gave us an hour and a half to just roam around the park to do our own thing. I went and saw the replicas of the Mayan ruins. I also went to the beautiful lagoon and saw some iguanas. They also have a lot of crocodiles that you could go look at. We met back up with Flor and did a tequila tasting and tried several different kinds of tequila. After that she took us to the sea lion show which was quick but fun. We got back in a taxi and went back to the terminal were we had time for shopping and lunch. The time flew by and before you knew it, it was time to get back on the ship.
Read Natel's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image s.stevens2005
1 review
Dec 2016
great tour with snorkeling. Charlie was an excellent tour person and snorkel guide.
Read s.stevens2005's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image seaduction
2 reviews
Nov 2016
We loved this park which was very clean; had a great beach with lots of chairs/loungers; had a sea lion show; a tequilla tasting; our guide "Rafael" was fantastic and made guacamole dip for us.
Read seaduction's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image taranchao1107
1 review
Nov 2016
Great Park. $13 cab ride from port. They have snorkeling, dolphins, and sea lions, and walking trails. You can do activities or just have lunch and drinks in the sun. Had a margarita, and no stomach ache like you get in Cancun. Great service at the park. You can also get a massage there for a great price!
Read taranchao1107's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: park itself
Member Image greenblue
1 review
Nov 2016
Nightmare, SCAM. 1) We bought the all inclusive passes for the park to go to Chankanaab dolphins and ziplines 2) When we got there, they changed the prices on the package. 3) Then on the inside (discovery cove), they again denied the kids the dolphin rides after payment based on their height. While, I showed them the kids met the height requirement (based on the height scaled at the counter). They would not refund the ~100$ / person. Then she claimed she did not speak English. 4) Zip line made us purchase new passes again (after I purchased package) 5) Pictures were a rip off - 35$ per picture!!! I CANNOT ACCEPT this as a fair tourist place. 6) While waiting in line on the return trip to cruise - Mr. Oscar was taking cash tips from others so he let them jump the line. He held us back for 30 mins, and we almost missed our ship. This place is a SCAM.
Read greenblue's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DOLPHIN DISCOVERY
Member Image tennmimi
1 review
Oct 2016
From Snorkeling to Sea Lion show and so much more. Awesome tour.
Read tennmimi's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TullMan
1 review
Sep 2016
We enjoyed this. The food was great along with the beach and open bar.
Read TullMan's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image justmaketso
1 review
Sep 2016
The park is wonderful! Angel, Luis and (sorry, I forgot his name!) were wonderful while we were snorkeling!!!! It was amazing.l Food was passable, drinks, too, You will not be sorry with your trip here!!!
Read justmaketso's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bubblemama007
1 review
Sep 2016
Chankanaab is our family's top choice for spending a day in Cozumel. It is a short cab ride from town. You can print out a discount coupon online, if you pay in cash. Otherwise, you pay full price with VISA. The sea lion show is included in the price, as are the deck chairs, swimming pool, life jackets, palapas, gardens, and crocodile rescue view. The small lagoon is an excellent place for walking among the fish. On the day we were there, several larger fish had swam in, over the low barrier. The water is much calmer in the smaller lagoon. Some of the tide pools had a wide variety of sea life. Snorklers who are leary of the ladders and rocks can enter the ocean from the lagoon's low barrier. Vendors are very calm in the park. We were only approached twice by the spa staff and twice by the bar staff. It was a wonderful break! When you arrive, the park has guides. Felipe is the one you want! Hand him your camera, ask for his garden tour, and let him snap all of your pictures. Bring him a $20 for his trouble. These will be, without a doubt, the best pictures of your trip. At the end of the tour, he will take you to the beach, or to the sea lion show. He knows where to seat you, so that you are in the shade AND the first ones onto the stage for the mandatory sea lion kiss photos. They have erected shade and added seats throughout the garden, to make the tours more pleasant for visitors. DO NOT wander the gardens alone. Some of the younger gardening staff will demand tips for very small courtesies. Go with a group or with a guide. The park spa is very economical. If you are wanting a couple's massage or another spa service that is too expensive on the ship. Or back home, check the prices at the park spa. $20 a person for a 30 minute massage. The food is very expensive and not worth the money. Crows are a problem, also, around the restaurant tables. Plan to bring your own water and protein bars. Eat a big breakfast on the ship. Avoid eating at the park, unless you purchase the all inclusive package that includes lunch. Taxis are at the park everyday it is open. For a family of 5, it cost $17 one way.
Read bubblemama007's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tayabur021
1 review
Sep 2016
Took a cab to Chankanaab park and did snorkeling. Beautiful park, plenty of shades.
Read tayabur021's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Marcura
1 review
Aug 2016
Great place to visit.
Read Marcura's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GirlGoneTexan
1 review
Aug 2016
We loved the swim with the sea lions, and the park itself is very clean and nice. Lunch in the restaurant was good but make sure to order off the menu - my son got sick from the buffet. We were very disappointed that they would not negotiate on the photo pricing from our sea lion swim, which was outrageous (over $300!) and wouldn't allow us to take our own photos. That put a damper on the trip for sure.
Read GirlGoneTexan's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image dambyrds
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Great excursion with tons of options and decent food options!
Read dambyrds's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image berdeau
1 review
May 2016
Took a taxi to the park for a relaxing beach/snorkel day
Read berdeau's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: none
Member Image TORQ
2 reviews
May 2016
The food at the buffet was a very bland so if you have spices bring them with you! The snorkeling was absolutely phenomenal but honestly we did not have a lot of time to really experience that park due to the fact that the ship got to the port at noon. And they close at five. So when they through everyone out at five, we headed to Margaritaville
Read TORQ's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mojomorris
18 reviews
May 2016
We did the Chankanaab Beach Snorkeling shore excursion. We had David + Erick from Tripping Cool Group as our guides. What a GREAT time! David was funny, informative and a great guide. The price was great, the snorkeling was absolutely fabulous and I'd recommend this shore excursion and give it 5 stars. For me it was the high point of the whole cruise!
Read mojomorris's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ItaliCuba2005
1 review
Apr 2016
AWESOME! The best! Snorkling there is amazing. Loved the food at the restaurant which is very clean, and the prices are reasonable. There is sea lion show included in the price, you can go if you want. It includes a Tequila tasting, and once you exit the part we got 2 free margaritas at Senor Frog just by showing the sticker we were using. We also saw a Mayan lady making real tortillas. The place is really pretty, white sands, beautiful water. This was our favorite tour.
Read ItaliCuba2005's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Wsterntime
1 review
Apr 2016
This was the most fun excursion. We had excellent funny informative guides, they took our safety very serious and we just had an all around good time.
Read Wsterntime's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image thomasjacobus@aol.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Way too short timewise
Read thomasjacobus@aol.com's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?