Barbados Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Barbados Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Barbados is a thoroughly Caribbean island, complete with lush tropical foliage, colorful homes and a laid-back, "why hurry?" attitude. Get a comprehensive overview on an island tour.
Member Image Hamitchell
1 review
Nov 2016
Glory Tours via Viator took us on a great island overview with sea turtle swim. Fun.
Read Hamitchell's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glory Tours
Member Image tei1997
1 review
Oct 2016
Pretty generic cab ride, but driver was well-informed and nice
Read tei1997's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Glory Tours
Member Image KarenV
1 review
Oct 2016
Some interesting stops at the church, viewpoint and Screw Dock.
Read KarenV's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image TravelingAPor
1 review
Aug 2016
The tour was fantastic We had a full day tour and went to a banana plantation, the volcano with mineral/mud baths and waterfall. We took a water taxi and snorkeled between the pitons. We ate a brunch of exotic tropical fruits & native local foods. All day we had water, rum punch, soda & beer. Excellent all day tour with Cosol Tours.
Read TravelingAPor's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Cosol Tours
Member Image 8austins
2 reviews
Jul 2016
We enjoyed the overview of the island. The guide, Kenmore or Ken More (?), was knowledgeable. He was willing to stop at a monastery that made rum and could only be purchased onsite. It wasn't on the itinerary. Three people wanted it so we stopped. It cost us time at the beach though, but it was nice for them. We stopped at the highlighted placed on the island and stopped for pictures. When we got to the beach we had to agree on a pick up time for him to come back and return us to the ship. IT all worked out. Detractors: we were really three different tours in one (very nice, cool van). He dropped us at the beach. One group was eating there and he had had to stop to charge his cell phone so he could call ahead with their food preferences. One group, like us, was snorkelling with turtles, and another went back to the ship. There wasn't a lot of direction and we were afraid we would miss the ride out to the turtles, so we couldn't enjoy the water while we waited. When we got back, it was time to quickly get the free drink and leave. Kenmore wasn't happy about wet people in his van but he didn't have anything dry for us to sit on, either. Next time we will take a taxi to the Harbor Lights Beach ($15 ride) and rent 2 lounge chairs and umbrella ($15 total) and take THEIR snorkel trip to turtles AND shipwreck for $10! That's what someone else did and we will do in January!
Read 8austins's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Explore Cruise and Travel thru USAA insurance co
Member Image TRULYDETERMINED
1 review
Jun 2016
Great and informative tour guide and enjoyed the shopping and beach.
Read TRULYDETERMINED's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image colewade
4 reviews
Apr 2016
Ted Tours ($60) offered and excellent island tour with a true local that everyone seems to know. Includes rum punch and fish cakes on the half-day tour. Stunning scenery – windmills, mountain tops, rugged coastlines, and historic churches. We even had a short walk around in Speightstown.
Read colewade's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Teds Tours
Member Image Cruiseamateur
1 review
Mar 2016
Great tour
Read Cruiseamateur's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image havcamwiltravel
1 review
Mar 2016
Our favourite excursion on this trip. Comfortable, air-conditioned van for the 4 of us. Johnathan was excellent driver / guide. The cruisetours all centered on Harrison caves, which I'm sure are great but I've been to many caves in my life. We wanted to see more. St. Nicholas Abbey was great (bought a hand-engraved bottle of 5-yr old rum. Yum!). Hunte's Gardens was exceptional. I chose that for my wife but ended up loving this stop as much as she did. Pure serenity & beauty. Bathsheba Beach stop was a picture stop only but worth every minute. Morgan-Lewis windmill & Cherry Tree Hill stops were also great. Highly recommend the tour.
Read havcamwiltravel's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Glory Tours
Member Image scottsrose
1 review
Feb 2016
Carson picked us up at the Taxi stand outside of the cruise port in Bridgetown. Drove through town and made a quick stop where Rihanna grew up on the way to a west coast beach to do some snorkelling with the turtles. We made a quick stop at a supermarket to pick up some rum cake (cheaper than tourist shops). Stopped at the Cuban Memorial dedicated to the victims of the 1976 bombing of a civilian Cuban airliner around Paynes Bay. Visited the oldest church in Barbados St James Parish with it's beautiful stained glass windows and suspended pipe organ. Up to the North tip of the island to Animal Flower Cave where the waves crash onto the rocks below the cliffs. We didn't go into the cave system where you can see anemones in the pools and the cave opens to the Atlantic. Down the east coast to the Morgan Lewis Sugar windmill , continuing on to Bathsheba with its large boulders sitting on the beach. Carson asked us what type of lunch we wanted. We replied when in Barbados, eat like a Barbadian. So making good use of our time Carson called ahead to have lunch waiting for us. We stopped at Gagg's Hill Rum Shop for fried fish (marlin), rice, baked mac n cheese, salad and some Banks Beer. Everyone was very friendly and the food very good! On the way back to the cruise port we fed and held some green monkeys and did some rum tasting at Mount Gay Rums. Overall a jam packed fun day covering most of the island. When looking for a tour guide, we highly recommend Carson. He will take you where ever you want to go and modify your tour however you like.
Read scottsrose's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Carsons Taxi and Tour Service
Member Image Cactus77
2 reviews
Jan 2016
The trip was pleasant enough, but I can't say I'd rush to go back there.
Read Cactus77's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Aislinncursala
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Andromeda Gardens, Bathsheba Beach and Barbadian Black Bellied Sheep Farm. Excellent tour and fantastic tour guide, Victor
Read Aislinncursala's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image WendysMom
9 reviews
Dec 2015
Initially, we had booked an excursion thru Celebrity but we learned that it was not accessible as outlined. So we opted to do a taxi tour instead. We wanted to stop at a store for candy canes, see the St. James Church, and other sites that they suggested. There were four of us, 3 with scooters. We wanted to pay $25 each and agreed to leave two of the scooters behind. The other user is a Disabled Navy Ensign and he needed it. The man at the cab stand said he knew of someone who would do that. He came back and we loaded the scooter in her trunk and set out. We drove to what she said was our first stop - a small stretch of beach with vendors selling jewelry and such, and a café where she urged us to get something to drink. After we got in again, she decided that she needed to get her $50 each and there was an argument about that. We finally paid her. Next stop, the church. Next stop a roadside stand where we could buy more doodads and take a photo of the ocean - with lots of wires in the way. Even though I reminded her that we wanted to stop again for candy canes, she told us we had our three stops so we could check in the cab-stand area. She got nastier and nastier, perhaps because we hadn't purchased anything from her vendors. We had paid her her $50, so we unloaded the scooter and left. As it was, we hadn't been able to use it anyway, and our SIL ended up staying in the cab. No tip! I had loved Barbados, mainly because of a taxi tour we had taken five years earlier - where it was $50 for two of us. We loved learning about that gentleman's Barbados. We will not go there again unless there are better accessible shore excursions. Be aware and make sure, even if you have agreed ahead of time, to pay before you leave and don't get stuck.
Read WendysMom's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Wilma
Member Image Hall Park
1 review
Dec 2015
Good overview of the island with excellent guide/driver Jason
Read Hall Park's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image HUNGRYGREEK
1 review
Nov 2015
Walked out of the port and negotiated a three hour private tour and only had to pay for two hours making the whole trip $70.00 and we chose the southern and western areas so that we could see Bathsheba beach. Our guide was a Master chef for RCCL and was home for two months off and he was a great guide.
Read HUNGRYGREEK's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Beetlelover
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Expensive for what it was.scenery nice very commercialised island
Read Beetlelover's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Golferlel
1 review
Nov 2015
Saw the entire island, experienced local food, local beers, fishing villages, pottery work, heard the history.
Read Golferlel's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lovemusicals
1 review
Nov 2015
3+ hour tour of the island. There were several stops for viewing. A good tour.
Read lovemusicals's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sc6654
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Great, same as beach break
Read sc6654's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: James
Member Image dec1020
1 review
Nov 2015
Nice bus trip, somewhat long.
Read dec1020's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Boopy1226
1 review
Oct 2015
I enjoyed this island the most. Simply beautiful!!!
Read Boopy1226's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MelissaDrew
1 review
Sep 2015
We booked James Taxi Service ahead of time by sending him an email at happiest bond@hotmail.com. He was great! He took us wherever we wanted to go and knew all about the island. He took us around the entire island and stopped at several places with history/views/interesting things, etc. The last part of the tour, he took us to one of the beaches. My husband and I really wanted to stay, but the rest of our party was ready to go back to the ship. He took the others back to the ship and then came back to wait for us on the beach. On the way back to the ship, we saw his dad riding a bike in town selling snow cones. At 72, his dad was in great shape for riding a bike around!! We stopped and James bought us each a snow cone! It was probably my favorite island that we visited. We will definitely look up James the next time we are in Barbados!!
Read MelissaDrew's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: James
Member Image Steve551
9 reviews
Apr 2015
Informative tour - our 3rd visit to Barbados........................................................................................................................................................................
Read Steve551's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image houseflag
9 reviews
Apr 2015
Highlights of Antigua. passengers boarded the 22 seater bus and guide introduced himself told us he was married with one child and we were his children and was not planning to lose anyone! given a brief history of the island, camels the plantations imported to increase production of the sugar cane ( they died) and gave the people employment a taken round various hill top stops introduced us to various plants & herbs used in cooking ,and finally were signing the chorus of a Caribbean song before the end of the trip.excellent tour and the guide was great ambassador for his country.
Read houseflag's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image OCtravelernottourist
1 review
Mar 2015
Although it was nice to see the island, this was not my favorite. We visited a rum factory and tour was informative. A small taste at end. Next a visit to Sudbury Plantation. This is a cool home and interesting to walk through. Next we visited the home/factory of artist who does mahogany carvings. Not a bad tour...probably best for older folks who want something less active.
Read OCtravelernottourist's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?