Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Barbados Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Barbados Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Barbados is a thoroughly Caribbean island, complete with lush tropical foliage, colorful homes and a laid-back, "why hurry?" attitude. Get a comprehensive overview on an island tour.
Member Image TRULYDETERMINED
1 review
Jun 2016
Great and informative tour guide and enjoyed the shopping and beach.
Read TRULYDETERMINED's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image colewade
4 reviews
Apr 2016
Ted Tours ($60) offered and excellent island tour with a true local that everyone seems to know. Includes rum punch and fish cakes on the half-day tour. Stunning scenery – windmills, mountain tops, rugged coastlines, and historic churches. We even had a short walk around in Speightstown.
Read colewade's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Teds Tours
Member Image Cruiseamateur
1 review
Mar 2016
Great tour
Read Cruiseamateur's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image havcamwiltravel
1 review
Mar 2016
Our favourite excursion on this trip. Comfortable, air-conditioned van for the 4 of us. Johnathan was excellent driver / guide. The cruisetours all centered on Harrison caves, which I'm sure are great but I've been to many caves in my life. We wanted to see more. St. Nicholas Abbey was great (bought a hand-engraved bottle of 5-yr old rum. Yum!). Hunte's Gardens was exceptional. I chose that for my wife but ended up loving this stop as much as she did. Pure serenity & beauty. Bathsheba Beach stop was a picture stop only but worth every minute. Morgan-Lewis windmill & Cherry Tree Hill stops were also great. Highly recommend the tour.
Read havcamwiltravel's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Glory Tours
Member Image scottsrose
1 review
Feb 2016
Carson picked us up at the Taxi stand outside of the cruise port in Bridgetown. Drove through town and made a quick stop where Rihanna grew up on the way to a west coast beach to do some snorkelling with the turtles. We made a quick stop at a supermarket to pick up some rum cake (cheaper than tourist shops). Stopped at the Cuban Memorial dedicated to the victims of the 1976 bombing of a civilian Cuban airliner around Paynes Bay. Visited the oldest church in Barbados St James Parish with it's beautiful stained glass windows and suspended pipe organ. Up to the North tip of the island to Animal Flower Cave where the waves crash onto the rocks below the cliffs. We didn't go into the cave system where you can see anemones in the pools and the cave opens to the Atlantic. Down the east coast to the Morgan Lewis Sugar windmill , continuing on to Bathsheba with its large boulders sitting on the beach. Carson asked us what type of lunch we wanted. We replied when in Barbados, eat like a Barbadian. So making good use of our time Carson called ahead to have lunch waiting for us. We stopped at Gagg's Hill Rum Shop for fried fish (marlin), rice, baked mac n cheese, salad and some Banks Beer. Everyone was very friendly and the food very good! On the way back to the cruise port we fed and held some green monkeys and did some rum tasting at Mount Gay Rums. Overall a jam packed fun day covering most of the island. When looking for a tour guide, we highly recommend Carson. He will take you where ever you want to go and modify your tour however you like.
Read scottsrose's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Carsons Taxi and Tour Service
Member Image Cactus77
2 reviews
Jan 2016
The trip was pleasant enough, but I can't say I'd rush to go back there.
Read Cactus77's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Aislinncursala
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Andromeda Gardens, Bathsheba Beach and Barbadian Black Bellied Sheep Farm. Excellent tour and fantastic tour guide, Victor
Read Aislinncursala's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image WendysMom
9 reviews
Dec 2015
Initially, we had booked an excursion thru Celebrity but we learned that it was not accessible as outlined. So we opted to do a taxi tour instead. We wanted to stop at a store for candy canes, see the St. James Church, and other sites that they suggested. There were four of us, 3 with scooters. We wanted to pay $25 each and agreed to leave two of the scooters behind. The other user is a Disabled Navy Ensign and he needed it. The man at the cab stand said he knew of someone who would do that. He came back and we loaded the scooter in her trunk and set out. We drove to what she said was our first stop - a small stretch of beach with vendors selling jewelry and such, and a café where she urged us to get something to drink. After we got in again, she decided that she needed to get her $50 each and there was an argument about that. We finally paid her. Next stop, the church. Next stop a roadside stand where we could buy more doodads and take a photo of the ocean - with lots of wires in the way. Even though I reminded her that we wanted to stop again for candy canes, she told us we had our three stops so we could check in the cab-stand area. She got nastier and nastier, perhaps because we hadn't purchased anything from her vendors. We had paid her her $50, so we unloaded the scooter and left. As it was, we hadn't been able to use it anyway, and our SIL ended up staying in the cab. No tip! I had loved Barbados, mainly because of a taxi tour we had taken five years earlier - where it was $50 for two of us. We loved learning about that gentleman's Barbados. We will not go there again unless there are better accessible shore excursions. Be aware and make sure, even if you have agreed ahead of time, to pay before you leave and don't get stuck.
Read WendysMom's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Wilma
Member Image Hall Park
1 review
Dec 2015
Good overview of the island with excellent guide/driver Jason
Read Hall Park's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image HUNGRYGREEK
1 review
Nov 2015
Walked out of the port and negotiated a three hour private tour and only had to pay for two hours making the whole trip $70.00 and we chose the southern and western areas so that we could see Bathsheba beach. Our guide was a Master chef for RCCL and was home for two months off and he was a great guide.
Read HUNGRYGREEK's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Beetlelover
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Expensive for what it was.scenery nice very commercialised island
Read Beetlelover's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Golferlel
1 review
Nov 2015
Saw the entire island, experienced local food, local beers, fishing villages, pottery work, heard the history.
Read Golferlel's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lovemusicals
1 review
Nov 2015
3+ hour tour of the island. There were several stops for viewing. A good tour.
Read lovemusicals's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sc6654
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Great, same as beach break
Read sc6654's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: James
Member Image dec1020
1 review
Nov 2015
Nice bus trip, somewhat long.
Read dec1020's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Boopy1226
1 review
Oct 2015
I enjoyed this island the most. Simply beautiful!!!
Read Boopy1226's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MelissaDrew
1 review
Sep 2015
We booked James Taxi Service ahead of time by sending him an email at happiest bond@hotmail.com. He was great! He took us wherever we wanted to go and knew all about the island. He took us around the entire island and stopped at several places with history/views/interesting things, etc. The last part of the tour, he took us to one of the beaches. My husband and I really wanted to stay, but the rest of our party was ready to go back to the ship. He took the others back to the ship and then came back to wait for us on the beach. On the way back to the ship, we saw his dad riding a bike in town selling snow cones. At 72, his dad was in great shape for riding a bike around!! We stopped and James bought us each a snow cone! It was probably my favorite island that we visited. We will definitely look up James the next time we are in Barbados!!
Read MelissaDrew's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: James
Member Image Steve551
8 reviews
Apr 2015
Informative tour - our 3rd visit to Barbados........................................................................................................................................................................
Read Steve551's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image houseflag
8 reviews
Apr 2015
Highlights of Antigua. passengers boarded the 22 seater bus and guide introduced himself told us he was married with one child and we were his children and was not planning to lose anyone! given a brief history of the island, camels the plantations imported to increase production of the sugar cane ( they died) and gave the people employment a taken round various hill top stops introduced us to various plants & herbs used in cooking ,and finally were signing the chorus of a Caribbean song before the end of the trip.excellent tour and the guide was great ambassador for his country.
Read houseflag's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image OCtravelernottourist
1 review
Mar 2015
Although it was nice to see the island, this was not my favorite. We visited a rum factory and tour was informative. A small taste at end. Next a visit to Sudbury Plantation. This is a cool home and interesting to walk through. Next we visited the home/factory of artist who does mahogany carvings. Not a bad tour...probably best for older folks who want something less active.
Read OCtravelernottourist's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CruisinCadie
6 reviews
Feb 2015

Exactly what it says, a bus ride around the island with a stop for photos overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.

Read CruisinCadie's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tbmrt
9 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Tyrone was very attentive and took us to many spots on Barbados including a wonderful view of Bathsheba Beach.

Read tbmrt's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Janet Parker
2 reviews
Nov 2014
Very good but must be aware that this finishes at the Airport and long before your time so there is a lot of waiting around. We stopped for lunch which was very enjoyable.
Read Janet Parker's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Traveller29
2 reviews
Nov 2014

Some confusion at the start, visited the old church (too long there), a lot of driving around in "backroads" not too scenic, a couple stops, then back to a beach (which we decided to skip - appeared yucky). At $30, not so good a VFM.

Perhaps it is a reflection of the island, and it's weak economic condition outside of Bridgetown, but we saw a lot of very poor areas.

Read Traveller29's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Scenic
Member Image Traveler1986
1 review
Oct 2014

We booked a private touring company for 4 hours to take five of us to some sites we wanted to go to since we had been to Barbados over 20 years ago. The van did not have any air conditioning and my mother was starting to feel sick from the heat. The driver was going so slow that it took 3 of the 4 hours to get to the North side of the island and then she only took us to places where vendors were selling stuff and wanted $20 to see a Turtle Cave we had no interest in spending the money on. She seemed upset we weren't willing to spend the money on the vendors and tours we had no interest in. Very disappointed and even contacted tour company for a refund.

Read Traveler1986's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: ShoreFox

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.