Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Aruba Beach Break Excursion Reviews

Aruba Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend your day relaxing on the picturesque shores of Aruba. Framed by palm trees and crystal-clear waters, these beaches are the definition of paradise.
Member Image GaNewSeniors
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Nice

Read GaNewSeniors's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image NSAHO79
13 reviews
Mar 2014

This was a beach break with a buffet meal. The ship docked at 2 PM and we had to take a bus to the beach at 2:30. We were on Bus #14 which had no air-conditioning and the bus would not leave until every seat was occupied. We did not arrive at the beach until 3:15 so we headed to the beach to get loungers in the shade and go for a swim. My husband went off snorkelling. By the time I headed to the buffet it was 3:50 PM and I found out that it closed at 4 PM. I basically got leftovers and no desert. I would not recommend this excursion. The beach was nearly all rocks and coral. It would be very easy to fall or twist your ankle getting into the water.

Read NSAHO79's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image brigarlin@rogers.com
1 review
Dec 2013

Good fun with transport in open air bus. Beaches very clean with pristine waters and sandy bottoms.
Cheap beer, its all good.

Read brigarlin@rogers.com's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image parkfyre
2 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2013

This port was absolutely awesome. We took a cab to De Palm Beach and rented an umbrella and chairs and even tried tubing behind a speedboat! The water is turquoise but not so clear due to the high number of swimmers in the area. We enjoyed a day at the beach sipping on drinks, swimming, and letting that cool island breeze relax us. The cab drivers and locals are extremely friendly and fun to talk to. Can't say enough good things about this port!

Read parkfyre's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image pwopp
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Aruba is beautiful. Moomba beach was great. Food and beverage available along with little shops. I only wish we had a longer stay at the beach.

Read pwopp's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mojomorris
13 reviews
Nov 2013

The Kuckoo Kanukoo Beach Break takes you to some of the island highlights and then ends at Palm Beach. You get a lounger but no umbrella so you have to move it into the shade if you don’t want the sun - not a big deal. Good way to spend a few hours.

Read mojomorris's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jrayborn
1 review
Apr 2013
Beautiful beaches on this island, you cannot go wrong by visiting the beach.
Read jrayborn's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: EL Tours
Member Image Nursenort
1 review
Mar 2013
Poor beaches, one with facilities not open
Read Nursenort's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image cmofames
1 review
Feb 2013
We booked the private island excursion in Aruba and it was our favorite day. Not crowded at all and as much food and drink as you desired. Activities included snorkeling, banana boat rides and a small water slide park. The beach was BEAUTIFUL. We had a great time that passed way too quickly. We got to the island by bus and ferry and it was pretty painless. We were back early enough to do a little shopping before getting back on ship.
Read cmofames's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rhonda819
2 reviews
Feb 2013
DePalm Island was very nice. Great snorkling, drinks were good, as well as the food. The banana boat ride was a blast. Great time.
Read rhonda819's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruiserGVMN
1 review
Feb 2013
De Palm Island - all inclusive - snorkel, lunch
Read CruiserGVMN's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image plastic2244
1 review
Feb 2013
will go there again
Read plastic2244's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image plastic2244
1 review
Feb 2013
WOW
Read plastic2244's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 4chunitCruiser
1 review
Jan 2013
DePalm Island Snorkel: The trip was well organized and they had it together on the island. Plenty of food and cocktails to order. Beach and snorkel were excellent. I did not feel that I was getting a great deal of culture as this was my first time to Aruba and the island is sort of man-made amusement but for a short time in port I do not know where it could have been better spent.
Read 4chunitCruiser's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image lisamarch
1 review
Jan 2013
I went on Best of Aruba plus Beach Break. Everyone was off the ship and on the motor coach about 45 minutes early, so we left early. We got 45 minutes extra because we still got back as scheduled! We went to rock formations, and the natural bridge. Neat to see the neighborhoods. Very informational and friendly guide/driver. We saw the lighthouse - it's a lighthouse. The key part of the excursion was the beach. Two hours at a beach that offered something for everyone. I spent $3 on a beach chair for my stuff and then spent 90 minutes in the water. Sandy and beautiful. There was a restaurant and bar and all kinds of water sports if you were interested, from para sailing to big inflatable things that a powerboat would drag you on. I thought the tour included the aloe plant farm, but we didn't go there, but really, if I were doing it again, it would be full time at the beach.
Read lisamarch's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Hvacguy131
3 reviews
Jan 2013
Rented a car in port from a local car rental place for $50 for the day. Nice enough car with AC. Went to baby beach and did a little sight seeing. Nice little beach with locals playing in the water. Very blue water!! Little cool out so the ladies didn't go swimming. Went down the coast and went to the natural bridge area. Some incredible scenery with the huge waves crashing on shore. Continued on to see the casabari rock formations which was pretty neat. Rough stairs and climbing might not be for the elderly at this spot. Huge boulders in the middle of a neighborhood. Headed up to the Arashi beach area. Nice spot with pretty water but unfortunately every time we got out to go swimming after this point it rained on us. Girls wanted none of that so we skipped most of the beach time we had been hoping for. Beautiful sandy beaches that are definitely worth seeing. Note if you rent a car; the roads have little to no road markers which make navigatin even with a map very difficult. Wasted at least an hour of the day getting lost on the roads. Ugh!! Good thing we were in port til 10 PM.
Read Hvacguy131's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruise4msjg
1 review
Dec 2012
We took a cab to de palm pier and went Tubing! Was 20$/ person and our family of 4 loved it! The driver took pictures for us, and went at a pace suitable for our small children. We later walked around near port- nearby the little market is a great place to buy Caribbean souvenirs- 4/$1.00!! Later wished we bought more there.
Read cruise4msjg's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sheekar
1 review
Dec 2012
Save your money and take a taxi instead. Much cheaper and better service. Aruba is beautiful with their velvet sand and majestic beaches.
Read sheekar's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Phoenix cruiser
3 reviews
Dec 2012
No fault of the tour operator, just that it was very windy with rough surf making for a poor beach experience.
Read Phoenix cruiser's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image frostfreevacation
1 review
Dec 2012
Went to De Palm island and loved it. Wish we could have stayed longer. Good food, everyone got a beach chair, life guards watching people, lots to do, beautiful scenery and fish
Read frostfreevacation's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Cancruizer
1 review
Dec 2012
Aruba was fun. We went to Palm beach which was very nice and my kids and husband went jetskiing and had a great time. Lots of hustle and bustle in the port area, more than we thought so we were a bit surprised. We were expecting somewhat more upscale a feeling (like Grand Cayman or Bermuda) and it was a bit kitschy, imho.
Read Cancruizer's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Maryrickp
1 review
Dec 2012
Great day - snorkeling, buffet, open bar, banana boat - FUN!
Read Maryrickp's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image suepell
1 review
Nov 2012
Was not the beaches listed online. Suppose to be 3 beaches and ended up being 2 neither of which was listed. Snorkeling was ok. Palm beach was enjoyable tho not the original beach.
Read suepell's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pkrchkr
4 reviews
Nov 2012
We booked the De Palm Island beach break.. it iwas a great place to visit.. Chicken Fingers, Hot dogs and Burgers with fries on the menu and free open bar. There is 3 Lagoons to choose from all have dead corral bases so there is a hard bottom wear water shoes when possible.. Snorkelling is available .. lots of fish to see but lots of Garbage on the bottoms.. not ver clean .. Bird poop on the chairs and now personal chair service from the bar..This one was just Ok for us but the scenery of Arubas manin Island would bring us back
Read pkrchkr's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mjbelen
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Took island tour which was nice but only had an hour at the beach which was shorter than advertised.
Read mjbelen's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image snowcrabby
2 reviews
Nov 2012
De Palm Island beach was great for the amount of time allowed. However you could not get enough time to do all the activities you paid for, therefor this was not a good value. The island traffic is overcrowded during ship stops which affected how long we were able to stay there. Travel time 2 hours, just took too much away from the beach time. Not worth the money unless you can get there and back quick.
Read snowcrabby's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Cruizinjunkie
3 reviews
Aug 2012
This is a fun tour with interaction from all guests. The beach and resort visited is very nice. Kukukunukoo Party bus. The guide was great!
Read Cruizinjunkie's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image RevRodney
3 reviews
Apr 2012
Depalma Island was awesome and I highly recommend this excursion!!
Read RevRodney's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bwhaler
1 review
Apr 2012
Facility was clean, food and beverages include in excursion price. Snorkeling was at best ok.
Read Bwhaler's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image J Horn
1 review
Apr 2012
Water was off of a film set
Read J Horn's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Okie Pirate
2 reviews
Mar 2012
We took a taxi to Palm Beach, the fee was reasonable. He dropped us off at the Westin hotel and we walked through to the beach. The beach was free, but if you used a chair someone would come up and charge you a few bucks. Make sure they are with the hotel staff. The water was very pretty, one of the better beaches I've seen. It was very windy though with the trade winds and the sand blew a lot. The water was cold at first this time of year but you get used to it. There's lots of beach activities also you can book on the beach. I liked Aruba even though it has had its problems. It is kind of like Curacao in that there are a lot of modern businesses and franchises. Both places seemed to have their act together as far as Caribbean Islands go. There's some really tall casino hotels near Palm beach that you can see from a distance. I would stay in Aruba at a resort if we ever find a good deal. We didn't like having to leave that beach and get back on the ship.
Read Okie Pirate's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image tstamm
1 review
Mar 2012
De Palma Island is great for kids and a good excursion for the money. The people are very friendly. Snorkeling is great! Try the snorkeling as soon as you get there. This place does get very crowded when cruise ships are in, but it is great fun. Lots of people, so if you are looking for a quiet place this is not for you. Eagle beach would be much better. Having 3 teenage boys - this was a fantastic option. They were never bored! : )
Read tstamm's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kw525
1 review
Feb 2012
Great day at the water park! Very much worth the cost, and something for all ages.
Read kw525's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ibchupacabra
1 review
Dec 2011
Per the tour operator, they tried to cancel, but princess insisted the tour take place. I would guess it was to get as many passengers off the ship as possible to allow for further sanitizing.
Read ibchupacabra's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MarkusDY
4 reviews
Dec 2011
De-Palm Island Beach Break was ok... but the facilities are tired. The food isn't great and the alcohol isn't much to write home about. The smell and noise of the refinery behind the island is quite off-putting.
Read MarkusDY's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.