Aruba Semi Sub Tour Excursion Reviews

Aruba Semi Sub Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This unique vessel, similar to a glass bottom boat, is perfect for viewing Aruba's beautiful coral formations and tropical fish while in the hull. This is a relaxing underwater observatory perfect for day on the seas.
Member Image mowilliams1
1 review
Mar 2017
We enjoyed the ride to the submarine and the tour of the reef. The tour cost a lot more than it's worth. The price is too high. We saw better fish when we snorkeled in Bonnaire.
Read mowilliams1's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image musman
2 reviews
Feb 2017
In Aruba, we took the Sea and See tour. This starts on an air conditioned coach which takes us from the port area through the town and past the high-rise resorts. On the northern side of the island we stopped to see the lighthouse. Great views from the area without going inside the lighthouse. We then went back to the resort area and boarded a boat to take us out to a mini submarine. This is really a special boat that the center has a glass enclosed viewing area below the water level. This gave us great views of a sunken ship and many beautiful fish. Next the land tour took us to the Natural Bridge. This bridge collapsed in 2005 but the remains of the bridge and a large picture is there. There is also a Baby natural bridge which is still in good shape. This is a beautiful area to view and a must see when in Aruba. Next we stopped at the Natural rock formations. When volcanic eruptions formed this island, this area was formed by huge smooth rocks (some as large as a small house) being pushed to the surface and stacked on top of each other. We were able to climb many of these formations which afforded great views of the island.
Read musman's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image stanandnan
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Visibility not as good as it was in Hawaii
Read stanandnan's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AllenO
1 review
Dec 2016
Great time. We did the full submarine tour which takes you to 140 ft.
Read AllenO's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image moo17j2002
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Island tour beforehand then the semi-sub. Going over the wreck of the German cargo ship was excellent.
Read moo17j2002's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image gamevod
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Sub at shipwreck. Not really that much to see. Decent tour of island.
Read gamevod's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TABG
5 reviews
Oct 2016
The tour was alright but not really what we were expecting. The boat appeared old and the person talking seemed bored and uninterested.
Read TABG's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image U2 fan
1 review
Apr 2016
Old SeaWorld boat that takes you over the wreck of an German ship that was scuttled by crew in WW2.
Read U2 fan's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image WanderingTheWorld
4 reviews
Dec 2015
Even in clear water, it hard to see much.
Read WanderingTheWorld's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image steelercop
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Very good tour of the island sites as well as the ride on the "sub" over the wreck of the Antilles. Very good information and folklore. Guide again was very personable and interesting.

Read steelercop's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pmckee7
2 reviews
Mar 2014

Good tour with the semi-sub to see the sunken ship. Then a long drive around the island in a bus. We usually do that part with a taxi, and would probably chose that option again. Given the length of the tour though, it was a pretty good value.

Read pmckee7's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image FamilyTravels4
1 review
Jul 2013

AR04-Sea & See Island Tour-Great excursion

Read FamilyTravels4's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Outdoorguy236
1 review
Jan 2013
Seas were a bit tricky changing from the tender to the sub due to the weather but once under water the views were remarkable. Rather expensive at $98.00 pp but a wonderful experience.
Read Outdoorguy236's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image energizer0_0
3 reviews
Jan 2013
Very windy and muddy waters day ... could hardly see a thing.
Read energizer0_0's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cdnjma
2 reviews
Dec 2012
This was a 4-stop tour; Ayo & Casibari Rock formations, Baby Natural Bridge, semi-sub and California Light House. The rock formation has a big sign in front of it, "climb at your own risk". Steep climb in confined spaces and a steep stairway back down on the other side of the rock. Nice views once up on top. The Baby Natural Bridge has a nice view with the open water and waves. Took some great photos. We opted not to go on the semi-sub due to the heat and instead spent that hour or so cooling off in a beach restaurant/bar and taking our own walking tour of the immediate area. The California Light House stop was more of a rest stop than anything else. We paid $1.00 US to use the facilities since the staff person there would not take the $1 local coinage.
Read cdnjma's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image OnTheWaterNow
1 review
Dec 2012
The tour was ok. Our tour guide had little excitement for her job. She repeated information as if it was a script that she was reading from. She was a little on the nasty side getting angry at us when we were about 2 minutes late coming down from a high hill she recommended we climb. The sub trip was interesting but the ship had no air and it was quite hot. For anyone even remotely prone to motion sickness, it was hard to stay focused on the tour.
Read OnTheWaterNow's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Jonhaz
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Good too short
Read Jonhaz's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LJ Pia
1 review
Sep 2012
Atlantis submarine--not well organized. Listed as Easy. Had to walk almost 1/4 mile to boat that takes us out to the sub. Since the boat was on the same side as ship but further down dock, it would have been just as easy for us to be shuttled to the boat. Tedious boat ride out to sub--about 20 minutes. This boat is like a "hot box" with Plexiglas surrounding top and sides with limited window openings. Not pleasant. Sub was very crowded; windows lower than seat so that had to bend over to peer out. Hard for taller people. Coral was drab--not colorful. Fish were colorful; saw 2 Moray Eels; One turtle. On returning to dock after another hot boat ride, security gate was locked. We waiting 10-15 minutes for "security" to come unlock gate so could do the long walk back to the ship. I do not recommend this tour. I have taken a similar submarine excursion in Jamaica that was much more comfortable and better handled. Really enjoyed that one and felt it was worthwhile.
Read LJ Pia's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Crusin Kelly
1 review
Apr 2012
The semi-submersible boat was interesting -- but most of the viewing of the submerged shipwreck was on the starboard side -- I was sitting on the port side and without standing up and trying to share the window with my fellow passenger, I would not have seen much. The land portion was interesting, the California lighthouse, the fallen natural bridge and the smaller baby bridge, and the Casibari rock formations were sights to see. Try a Balashi beer at the refreshment stand at the lighthouse -- brewed locally there in Aruba. There were many resort hotels on the island that would make for a nice week's vacation.
Read Crusin Kelly's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Shirley Brown
1 review
Mar 2012
Due to poor sea conditons the underwater view was poor.
Read Shirley Brown's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image CodyCoyote
1 review
Jan 2012
Aruba is GORGEOUS. We took an air conditioned bus ride and saw the islands main sites. The last stop was on the beach, with a ride in a "semi-sub". Its a boat with seats five feet below the water line and big windows. A beautiful way to see shipwrecks and fish and a reef without getting wet.
Read CodyCoyote's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?