Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas St. John Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas St. John Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for an afternoon on the smallest, quietest, least populated and most secluded of the three U.S. Virgin Islands.
Member Image luroee
1 review
Apr 2016
since we had heard that St. John was AMAZING, we did an excursion that took us to the island of St. John. We had planned to go straight to Trunk Bay and snorkel, but since that excursion was cancelled, we had to pick another one. This tour took us to some of the national parks and beaches of St. John. It was such a GORGEOUS island. Seriously, everything about it is beautiful. However, our taxi driver apparently decided that he didn’t need to fill up his gas tank before he took the 20+ of us on a tour of an island, so his taxi ran out of gas right before we were going to head back to Trunk Bay…I think he blamed it on the battery? Everyone saw through his lie, and he said that other people would be by to pick us up in about 20 minutes. When the other guys FINALLY came around to pick us up, he insisted that we stop by Cinnamon Bay to use the restroom – it was quite odd. By the time we got to Trunk Bay, we had already wasted an hour, leaving everyone a bit irked and impatient.
Read luroee's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image roberts_nanna
1 review
Mar 2016
Gave a good tour but after a bit we asked to be dropped off at Blackbeards Castle. We did the tour, did the skyride, ate lunch then shopping and back to the ship.
Read roberts_nanna's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: TripAdvors
Member Image tiger-91
1 review
Mar 2016
In an open-air taxi. People didn't want to leave benches at observation points because of inconvenient egress/ingress and could see fine from inside. But those of us on the other couldn't see anything. So it happened. The driver stopped at several observation points and described history or explained what islands and resorts we were seeing. As we passed beaches, resorts, neighborhoods, etc. he announced what we were passing. We then turned around and basically came back the same route, although non-stop.
Read tiger-91's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chisholmag
1 review
Feb 2016
Have done this trip twice to spend the day at Trunk Bay Beach. The Beach is beautiful and the water wonderful. Always good to get off of St. Thomas when there are lots of ships in port
Read chisholmag's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Vatraveler53
1 review
Dec 2015
Very pretty island. Everything was closed as it was Xmas
Read Vatraveler53's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Southwoods
5 reviews
Dec 2015
Ferried over to St. John, and then was free to walk and shop for a couple hours before returning the ferry. The ferry ride, itself, was good, as we sat outside allowing the wind to tossle our hair as we enjoyed the wonderful St. Thomas coastline en route to St. John. The boat captain talked on and on, where only from the inside seating arena could a person hear well. We could just hear the droning of his voice, and that is all, and that was quite alright for us. Unfortunately, on the return journey, our ears could pick up easier some of what he was saying, and it got very political...not something we found favorable to the day's otherwise good experience on beautiful St. John. The shopping there, by the way, was very nice. Private little shops with many locally made items mixed in with imported items. Much of what we found was high quality, but the price reasonable.
Read Southwoods's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image stillwater53189
1 review
Dec 2015
Booked independent. $10p/p shared taxi tide each way. Amazing time, def worth the price. Drinks and food were amazing! http://newhorizons.daysails.com/index.php?l=t&pageStewardLink=2919
Read stillwater53189's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: New Horizons Snorkel Adventure
Member Image MAGSMALONE
1 review
Oct 2015
St Thomas has to be the most beautiful Island in the world,
Read MAGSMALONE's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: local operator
Member Image Shoshana5
1 review
Sep 2015
St. John tour was very disappointing. We walked for an hour in the forest and spent 20 min by the beach instead of and hour an 10 min. We wanted to relax and enjoy the beach. The minute we got there it was time to leave.
Read Shoshana5's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruising Makes Me Happy
1 review
Aug 2015
I inadvertently listed our excursion under Miami. OOOPS!!! We did the St. John Beach Escape, which took us by boat (about 45 minutes) from St. Thomas to St. John. Then about a 10 minute (very scenic drive) to Trunk Bay, which was incredible. Once there, we only had 1 hour and 40 minutes MAX for beach/snorkel time. This was way too short, which is why I gave the excursion an average rating. Almost all on the tour didn't feel like it was worth the money due to the short beach time. The beach time should be at least 2 1/2 hours. The crew aboard the shuttle boat to/from St. John/St. Thomas were awesome. Great tour -- just needs to be LONGER!!!
Read Cruising Makes Me Happy's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cturley
1 review
Jul 2015
Trunk bay snorkeling. Very good would highly recommend it
Read Cturley's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image davidwyant
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice tour
Read davidwyant's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sonvoltken6
8 reviews
Apr 2015
We loved St. John and intend on visiting next time we go to St. Thomas. Trunk Bay is a great place to swim and snorkel. Get a locker and an umbrella to stay out of the sun.
Read sonvoltken6's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Shelly&Jack
1 review
Apr 2015
Just a ferry ride to St. John and a taxi to the beach. The beach is run by the U.S. National Park Service. Do not expect efficient service when renting chairs. A life guard is stationed at the beach.
Read Shelly&Jack's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image delacruz
1 review
Apr 2015
We took the ‘St John’s On Your Own’ Royal Caribbean Excursion. It’s so much easier (and no more costly) to board the boat to St Johns right at the pier rather than worry about the timing of getting to Red Hook, the ferry to Cruz Bay, and back. Fair warning to anyone unable to take the motion on a smaller boat – it was a wet and rocky ride there and back. All of the passengers from the different St Johns tours ride over together, wearing different color wristbands. After disembarking at Cruz Bay we shared a safari taxi with several others and headed to Trunk Bay. Entry to the Virgin Islands National Park at Trunk Bay is $4 pp. We rented a couple of chairs (they are the low to the ground beach chairs, not chaise lounges. Rental was $5 per chair, but heads up that there is a $25 deposit CC or cash for each chair and a deposit for anything you can rent – snorkel gear, etc.). The food at the grill was adequate – burgers (meat and veggie, chicken sandwiches, hot dogs, fries, etc. It’s nice having decent restrooms, showers and changing facilities available. There were taxis waiting to head back to Cruz Bay, but we made the mistake of not following our instincts to wait and not get into a smaller taxi that 3 other couples were waiting in. Once we sat down, we filled the 2 benches, but the driver insisted there was room for another couple, so we were really squeezed – and they looked like they were about to slide out the back! Once back on board the ‘Painkillers’ began flowing, ‘lubing’ us up to buy their t-shirts and caps. The crew was fantastic and I think they are from Cool Boats USVI.
Read delacruz's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Roger_le_Frog
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We went to St John by boat from St Thomas and did almost a complete tour of the island using an open Taxi. Most of the island is a National park with wonderful public beaches. It definitively gives us a desire to visit again.
Read Roger_le_Frog's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2ndtimerDawn
1 review
Apr 2015
Our boat ride to St. John was great. We loved all the information that the captain shared with us. St. John is beautiful and we went to the beach and snorkeled. Had plenty of time.
Read 2ndtimerDawn's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sherriemb
1 review
Apr 2015
Ferry ride to St John...then you are on your own for the day. So, there is extra expense to get to whatever beach you want to visit. Free rum punch on the way back was great!
Read sherriemb's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PHXCruiser27
1 review
Apr 2015
St. John was the most beautiful island on the cruise. The beaches here are unbelievable. Would do Trunk Bay snorkel trip next time. Trunk Bay is usually in top ten beach category.
Read PHXCruiser27's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image debkaysmith
7 reviews
Mar 2015
This tour was the only disappointment of our trip. It was underwhelming and over-hyped I believe. The trip over was decent, though it was raining. The rhetoric from the captain was a bit much. We saw him later arguing in the town square with the local police. That was a put-off too. Probably not enough time to spend at the beach, and too much time to spend in the teeny-tiny port area.
Read debkaysmith's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sean.t@outlook.com
1 review
Mar 2015
This was our third time in St' Thomas s we thought it best to go and visit St. John and we are glad we did. You take a 45 minute ferry ride to St. John then board an open air truck/taxi. This island is absolutely gorgeous and has some of the best beaches in the world (although you just get to take pictures of them). Good value for the money.
Read sean.t@outlook.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CatsRKool
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Safari bus tour. Glad we went so we know never to book a vacation there: the water is beautiful but we found the island a bit too desolate for our taste. I was ready to leave after three hours. And the guide on the ferry from St. Thomas to St. John gabbed the entire time over the PA system. Meh. I wouldn't go back.
Read CatsRKool's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image daisydook
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Great excursion but most of it was spent on the boat getting to St. John and going around the island. Was ready to be there. Also, still had to take cab to beach to snorkel. Very disappointed in the state of the reef at Trunk Bay. Snorkeled there years ago and the reef is now non-existent.
Read daisydook's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ssy24
1 review
Mar 2015
This tour was Awesome! The ride to the beach was a bit long but the scenery was nice. The beach (Trunk Bay) was beautiful and peaceful. Everything was organized very well and we all felt very safe.
Read ssy24's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image emcbeebee@comcast.net
2 reviews
Mar 2015
We booked the St. John Ultimate Island & Nat'l Park Beach Excursion. The only reason I gave it a low rating, was because you just don't have time to enjoy yourself. It takes 45 min. to get to St. John by ferry over a very choppy water. Take your Dramamine. St. John is beautiful. I can't complain, but the bus driver was a bit rude, and there was a whole lot of confusion when you get to Trunk Bay. If you don't want to pay $6 more dollars for a taxi back, then you stay on the bus and you don't get to enjoy Trunk Bay.I would have liked to have at least spend 15 min. there, but the bus driver wouldn't let you. Anyway maybe I will return someday, and just stay on the island.Until they change this excursion take something else.
Read emcbeebee@comcast.net's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.