St. Thomas St. John Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas St. John Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for an afternoon on the smallest, quietest, least populated and most secluded of the three U.S. Virgin Islands.
Member Image justmej44
2 reviews
Mar 2017
I enjoyed seeing a different island. The tour driver was friendly, funny, and knowledgeable about the area. The tour was just the right length of time, but sadly it poured rain when we arrived back in St. Thomas, so we missed spending time there.
Read justmej44's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MidnightBuffetFan
1 review
Feb 2017
We did a ferry ride to St John with time at Trunk Bay. The ferry, "Island Girl," picked us up right next to the cruise ship - very easy! - and we loved the informative ride. Good mix of information on natural features and celebrity houses. Trunk Bay itself is marvelous. I was worried it would be too crowded, but we found a great spot under a tree and just enjoyed the day. We brought a stroller (I know, to the beach!) - it was actually perfect for letting our daughter nap under the tree, because she wouldn't have been able to use a rental beach chair. Transportation to and from the ferry at St John is via open air safari Jeep type things. Fun way to ride (but no car seats!)
Read MidnightBuffetFan's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image seafarerliz
1 review
Feb 2017
This should have been a good tour, and to be fair the majority of our fellow passengers had a really good guide. Once off the ferry we were told to follow that man, which we did. He led us to a little bus which had long bench seats in the back which were already full. We started to look for another bus but he insisted we get in behind him (his bus had a crew cab behind the driver) this meant my friend who is 91 years old and only 4'8" tall had to crawl in as there was no step. He never helped her at all. Then to add insult to injury he made another 2 adults get in with us, 4 adults in a seat for 3 people! Everything he was asked he said he didn't know. He also told us we were not scheduled to stop at the old sugar refinery but as a favour he would take us there. It clearly stated on our tickets that this was part of the tour. I complained to the Shore Excursion team when we got back and they were horrified and actually gave us a small credit for having such a poor experience. I hope they complained to the Island and had this so called guide reprimanded and re-educated.
Read seafarerliz's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image clairopt
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Very short tour. Boat ride was probably more enjoyable. Not recommended to those that are prone to sea sickness.
Read clairopt's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cementhands
4 reviews
Jan 2017
Booked through RCL, beach was great trunk bay, but could not snorkel, because of rough waves. Did enjoy the water, pounding waves were fun, good work out. Shore excursion guy, not nice, no info, ??? I don't know why he has that job.
Read cementhands's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mistertoaster
10 reviews
Jan 2017
We have been to St. Thomas before, so we took an excursion to St. John's. Good choice. St. John's is predominantly U.S. Park land. Consequently, the terrain is unspoiled by development. If you want to see a relatively undeveloped Island in its natural state, this is the place
Read mistertoaster's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rds2
1 review
Jan 2017
45 minute boat ride to island; hour and 3/4 tour of island in open air vehicle (with cover). Number of stops to enjoy view and take pictures, including remains of a sugar mill.
Read rds2's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bunnyann
1 review
Dec 2016
Took the tour with a catamaran over,cruise around the island ,and road tour.
Read bunnyann's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Naplescruiser1955
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Totally awesome. St Johns is so beautiful! The vegetation is amazing! Lovely. On the ferry ride back we passed Bill Murray's house on Dt Thomas & he came out and waved to us! Great picture op! So fun!
Read Naplescruiser1955's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mermaid rock
6 reviews
Dec 2016
This tour was well worth the cost! We had a great cruise on a ferry boat and saw homes like one that belonged to Carol Burnett and Michael Jackson. Trunk Bay Beach is one of the 10 best in the world . It is unique with calm water for great swimming but a super snorkel area close by a large rock out from the shore. Our only disappointment was that Elvis who was asked to take the overload (us) of tourists did not stop for us to get a pic when he said that he would on the return trip and he had a perfect spot at the lookout to do it. He was reliable at making sure we got back on his bus. However, if you want great photos , do the tour without the beach break as they stop a lot
Read Mermaid rock's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ezstreet
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Loved the open air van! The boat ride back was a challenge as it rained pretty hard most of the way back, but fun nonetheless! St. Johns is beautiful and we would liked to have spent more time there. Must go back!
Read ezstreet's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image do_not_spindle
2 reviews
Dec 2016
1st time in St Johns. Lovely island. Ferry returned after "last tender", but no problems getting back.
Read do_not_spindle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image flashcat1993
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Our tour guide was wonderful - stopping many times for pictures. The ship, however, apparently wasn't aware that everyone was going to need to get back on the ship at 1:30pm and left hundreds and hundreds of us on the pier standing in the hot sun all trying to get back on through one entrance. They finally opened a second one.
Read flashcat1993's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lcimba
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Very nice scenic tour, but we only got about half the time ashore that we should have gotten because the ferry boat was late.
Read lcimba's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gramme
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Very nice place to visit. Wish could have stayed longer to explore. Next time I will take the public ferry to the island and explore on my own.
Read Gramme's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BikeHike&Float
1 review
Dec 2016
While the beginning of the tour was good, for the last half of the tour we were dropped off at a beach and were expected to take a taxi back to meet the ferry to our ship. Since the excursions through the ship generally cost more than independently-booked excursions, AND there's a guarantee that they will get you back to the ship on time, I expected better service than just being dropped off at a beach to grab our own taxi. I was VERY disappointed in the level of service provided on this excursion.
Read BikeHike&Float's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Trish Nowici
1 review
Nov 2016
Rushed, crammed, no time to go to visitor's center or shop in the village. Ferry was late. Cruise ship had little time in port.
Read Trish Nowici's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BishopP
1 review
Nov 2016
St. John "On Our Own". Shuttle to St. John for several free hours and back to St. Thomas
Read BishopP's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Auburn1998
2 reviews
Nov 2016
There is no more beautiful place on earth (in my opinion) than St. John. Go to Trunk Bay or Cinnamon Bay.
Read Auburn1998's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cheeseheads4ever
1 review
Nov 2016
Took ferry over to St John. Was nice then took a tour on our own with Dans Taxi on our own.. was excellent. He was very informative.
Read cheeseheads4ever's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image atlgapdo
1 review
Nov 2016
For the shore excursion we booked through RCL on St. Thomas, no guide from the ship even showed up to tell us what the tour was all about for the day. Although the brochure tells you what it entails but at least, someone from the ship could have told us more in details as to what to expect for the day. Once we were on the bus, we had to find out from the driver where he was taking us next! The 5 Star Island tour was pathetic and a waste of money. It began with a shopping tour, then to Megan beach, which was practically a local public beach and looked so unimpressive that not too many people on our bus bothered to swim! Then another drive up the mountain to an overlook deck behind a shop for you to take pictures. That was all for the tour of St. Thomas!
Read atlgapdo's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pboeckmann
1 review
Nov 2016
We simply paid for the boat ride to St. John..."St. John's on your own" was the name of the excursion. From the dock we took a cab to Truck Bay! Breathtaking beach. Again, a small fee was required for admittance, but that kept peddlers away. You could rent chairs and snorkeling equipment. Changing rooms and showers were available and nicely kept. Closest thing to heaven I have ever experienced! Highly recommend!
Read pboeckmann's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image onesportygal
1 review
Oct 2016
Was fun.. A lot of walking in case you have trouble walking, not handicap accessible .
Read onesportygal's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sealx
2 reviews
Sep 2016
The St. John tour was very nice, and Chris, our guide was very informative. It is clear that he loves his home and loves to share it's beauty. I do wish, however, that we had done the St. John Snorkel excursion, as the water is lovely, and on the land tour, you make a very brief stop at a beach.
Read sealx's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sunandbeach
1 review
Jul 2016
Great fun. The hike isn't too hard and the beaches are beautiful on St John
Read Sunandbeach's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?