St. Thomas St. John Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas St. John Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for an afternoon on the smallest, quietest, least populated and most secluded of the three U.S. Virgin Islands.
Member Image clairopt
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Very short tour. Boat ride was probably more enjoyable. Not recommended to those that are prone to sea sickness.
Read clairopt's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cementhands
4 reviews
Jan 2017
Booked through RCL, beach was great trunk bay, but could not snorkel, because of rough waves. Did enjoy the water, pounding waves were fun, good work out. Shore excursion guy, not nice, no info, ??? I don't know why he has that job.
Read cementhands's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mistertoaster
10 reviews
Jan 2017
We have been to St. Thomas before, so we took an excursion to St. John's. Good choice. St. John's is predominantly U.S. Park land. Consequently, the terrain is unspoiled by development. If you want to see a relatively undeveloped Island in its natural state, this is the place
Read mistertoaster's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rds2
1 review
Jan 2017
45 minute boat ride to island; hour and 3/4 tour of island in open air vehicle (with cover). Number of stops to enjoy view and take pictures, including remains of a sugar mill.
Read rds2's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bunnyann
1 review
Dec 2016
Took the tour with a catamaran over,cruise around the island ,and road tour.
Read bunnyann's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Naplescruiser1955
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Totally awesome. St Johns is so beautiful! The vegetation is amazing! Lovely. On the ferry ride back we passed Bill Murray's house on Dt Thomas & he came out and waved to us! Great picture op! So fun!
Read Naplescruiser1955's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mermaid rock
6 reviews
Dec 2016
This tour was well worth the cost! We had a great cruise on a ferry boat and saw homes like one that belonged to Carol Burnett and Michael Jackson. Trunk Bay Beach is one of the 10 best in the world . It is unique with calm water for great swimming but a super snorkel area close by a large rock out from the shore. Our only disappointment was that Elvis who was asked to take the overload (us) of tourists did not stop for us to get a pic when he said that he would on the return trip and he had a perfect spot at the lookout to do it. He was reliable at making sure we got back on his bus. However, if you want great photos , do the tour without the beach break as they stop a lot
Read Mermaid rock's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ezstreet
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Loved the open air van! The boat ride back was a challenge as it rained pretty hard most of the way back, but fun nonetheless! St. Johns is beautiful and we would liked to have spent more time there. Must go back!
Read ezstreet's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image do_not_spindle
2 reviews
Dec 2016
1st time in St Johns. Lovely island. Ferry returned after "last tender", but no problems getting back.
Read do_not_spindle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image flashcat1993
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Our tour guide was wonderful - stopping many times for pictures. The ship, however, apparently wasn't aware that everyone was going to need to get back on the ship at 1:30pm and left hundreds and hundreds of us on the pier standing in the hot sun all trying to get back on through one entrance. They finally opened a second one.
Read flashcat1993's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lcimba
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Very nice scenic tour, but we only got about half the time ashore that we should have gotten because the ferry boat was late.
Read lcimba's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gramme
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Very nice place to visit. Wish could have stayed longer to explore. Next time I will take the public ferry to the island and explore on my own.
Read Gramme's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BikeHike&Float
1 review
Dec 2016
While the beginning of the tour was good, for the last half of the tour we were dropped off at a beach and were expected to take a taxi back to meet the ferry to our ship. Since the excursions through the ship generally cost more than independently-booked excursions, AND there's a guarantee that they will get you back to the ship on time, I expected better service than just being dropped off at a beach to grab our own taxi. I was VERY disappointed in the level of service provided on this excursion.
Read BikeHike&Float's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Trish Nowici
1 review
Nov 2016
Rushed, crammed, no time to go to visitor's center or shop in the village. Ferry was late. Cruise ship had little time in port.
Read Trish Nowici's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BishopP
1 review
Nov 2016
St. John "On Our Own". Shuttle to St. John for several free hours and back to St. Thomas
Read BishopP's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Auburn1998
2 reviews
Nov 2016
There is no more beautiful place on earth (in my opinion) than St. John. Go to Trunk Bay or Cinnamon Bay.
Read Auburn1998's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cheeseheads4ever
1 review
Nov 2016
Took ferry over to St John. Was nice then took a tour on our own with Dans Taxi on our own.. was excellent. He was very informative.
Read cheeseheads4ever's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image atlgapdo
1 review
Nov 2016
For the shore excursion we booked through RCL on St. Thomas, no guide from the ship even showed up to tell us what the tour was all about for the day. Although the brochure tells you what it entails but at least, someone from the ship could have told us more in details as to what to expect for the day. Once we were on the bus, we had to find out from the driver where he was taking us next! The 5 Star Island tour was pathetic and a waste of money. It began with a shopping tour, then to Megan beach, which was practically a local public beach and looked so unimpressive that not too many people on our bus bothered to swim! Then another drive up the mountain to an overlook deck behind a shop for you to take pictures. That was all for the tour of St. Thomas!
Read atlgapdo's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pboeckmann
1 review
Nov 2016
We simply paid for the boat ride to St. John..."St. John's on your own" was the name of the excursion. From the dock we took a cab to Truck Bay! Breathtaking beach. Again, a small fee was required for admittance, but that kept peddlers away. You could rent chairs and snorkeling equipment. Changing rooms and showers were available and nicely kept. Closest thing to heaven I have ever experienced! Highly recommend!
Read pboeckmann's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image onesportygal
1 review
Oct 2016
Was fun.. A lot of walking in case you have trouble walking, not handicap accessible .
Read onesportygal's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sealx
2 reviews
Sep 2016
The St. John tour was very nice, and Chris, our guide was very informative. It is clear that he loves his home and loves to share it's beauty. I do wish, however, that we had done the St. John Snorkel excursion, as the water is lovely, and on the land tour, you make a very brief stop at a beach.
Read sealx's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sunandbeach
1 review
Jul 2016
Great fun. The hike isn't too hard and the beaches are beautiful on St John
Read Sunandbeach's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dsa181920
1 review
Jul 2016
We have been to St. Thomas several times so we chose to do the St. John’s Island Tour as it was something that my mother could do with us. We were one of the first excursion groups off the ship. The first part of the excursion was a boat trip over to St. John’s Island. The boat crew pointed out interesting places on St. Thomas as we traveled across the water. We sat inside the boat and could easily see from both sides of the windows. Many people chose to sit outside along the sides of the boat. If you do not like to get wet, do not choose to sit outside. The tour continued on St. John’s Island in a safari bus. We saw several beautiful beaches, views from overlooks, and the ruins of a sugar mill. St. John’s Island has beautiful beaches. There is a restroom stop halfway through the tour at a campground. When we returned to the marina, there was about 30 minutes for to go to the shops on the island. After the boat took us back to St. Thomas, we went through the shops in the port area. This area was not too crowded as there was only one other ship in port that day.
Read dsa181920's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image djpereziii
1 review
Jun 2016
In this tour you take a ferry to St. John and you're then free to do as you please for a few hours. We boarded a ferry at the port in St. Thomas and were dropped off in St. John. At the terminal we took a taxi (rates are regulated and printed on a sheet in the window behind the driver) to Caneel Bay. We spent a couple of hours at the beautiful, crystal clear beach and then headed back to the terminal to grab the returning ferry. The beach at Caneel Bay is amazing. Apparently not a lot of people know about it because it was pretty empty while we were there. It is also 5 minutes away from the ferry terminal so you don't waste time. The only thing is that while the beach is public, the chairs belong to the resort, so you should plan on avoiding using the chairs. Take towels from the ship. We had a great time. The cost of this tour is $39/adult and $35/child. The round trip taxi fare was $10 per person, not including tip. The ferry ride to St. John is about 30 minutes. We got back to the ship around 1pm, had lunch, took a shower, and still had plenty of time to go shopping in St. Thomas.
Read djpereziii's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dlkendrick
1 review
Jun 2016
Beautiful island
Read dlkendrick's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?