St. Thomas St. John Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas St. John Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for an afternoon on the smallest, quietest, least populated and most secluded of the three U.S. Virgin Islands.
Member Image Sunandbeach
1 review
Jul 2016
Great fun. The hike isn't too hard and the beaches are beautiful on St John
Read Sunandbeach's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dsa181920
1 review
Jul 2016
We have been to St. Thomas several times so we chose to do the St. John’s Island Tour as it was something that my mother could do with us. We were one of the first excursion groups off the ship. The first part of the excursion was a boat trip over to St. John’s Island. The boat crew pointed out interesting places on St. Thomas as we traveled across the water. We sat inside the boat and could easily see from both sides of the windows. Many people chose to sit outside along the sides of the boat. If you do not like to get wet, do not choose to sit outside. The tour continued on St. John’s Island in a safari bus. We saw several beautiful beaches, views from overlooks, and the ruins of a sugar mill. St. John’s Island has beautiful beaches. There is a restroom stop halfway through the tour at a campground. When we returned to the marina, there was about 30 minutes for to go to the shops on the island. After the boat took us back to St. Thomas, we went through the shops in the port area. This area was not too crowded as there was only one other ship in port that day.
Read dsa181920's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image djpereziii
1 review
Jun 2016
In this tour you take a ferry to St. John and you're then free to do as you please for a few hours. We boarded a ferry at the port in St. Thomas and were dropped off in St. John. At the terminal we took a taxi (rates are regulated and printed on a sheet in the window behind the driver) to Caneel Bay. We spent a couple of hours at the beautiful, crystal clear beach and then headed back to the terminal to grab the returning ferry. The beach at Caneel Bay is amazing. Apparently not a lot of people know about it because it was pretty empty while we were there. It is also 5 minutes away from the ferry terminal so you don't waste time. The only thing is that while the beach is public, the chairs belong to the resort, so you should plan on avoiding using the chairs. Take towels from the ship. We had a great time. The cost of this tour is $39/adult and $35/child. The round trip taxi fare was $10 per person, not including tip. The ferry ride to St. John is about 30 minutes. We got back to the ship around 1pm, had lunch, took a shower, and still had plenty of time to go shopping in St. Thomas.
Read djpereziii's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dlkendrick
1 review
Jun 2016
Beautiful island
Read dlkendrick's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TSWK
1 review
May 2016
Would give a 0 if I could
Read TSWK's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image defaz
2 reviews
May 2016
The Virgin Islands National Park is worth seeing, not on the scale of our western parks but nice none the less.
Read defaz's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Gabcruiser
1 review
Apr 2016
This was St. John on your own excursion. We didn't leave till 12:00 on the boat to St. John. We were told to be back to get in the boat at 5:00. We waited another 30 minutes before the boat was there.
Read Gabcruiser's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Wava
2 reviews
Apr 2016
We loved the boat ride to St. John. The tour was interesting and comfortable.
Read Wava's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ja2nowak
1 review
Apr 2016
It's a beautiful island with a interesting history.
Read ja2nowak's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image luroee
1 review
Apr 2016
since we had heard that St. John was AMAZING, we did an excursion that took us to the island of St. John. We had planned to go straight to Trunk Bay and snorkel, but since that excursion was cancelled, we had to pick another one. This tour took us to some of the national parks and beaches of St. John. It was such a GORGEOUS island. Seriously, everything about it is beautiful. However, our taxi driver apparently decided that he didn’t need to fill up his gas tank before he took the 20+ of us on a tour of an island, so his taxi ran out of gas right before we were going to head back to Trunk Bay…I think he blamed it on the battery? Everyone saw through his lie, and he said that other people would be by to pick us up in about 20 minutes. When the other guys FINALLY came around to pick us up, he insisted that we stop by Cinnamon Bay to use the restroom – it was quite odd. By the time we got to Trunk Bay, we had already wasted an hour, leaving everyone a bit irked and impatient.
Read luroee's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image roberts_nanna
1 review
Mar 2016
Gave a good tour but after a bit we asked to be dropped off at Blackbeards Castle. We did the tour, did the skyride, ate lunch then shopping and back to the ship.
Read roberts_nanna's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: TripAdvors
Member Image tiger-91
1 review
Mar 2016
In an open-air taxi. People didn't want to leave benches at observation points because of inconvenient egress/ingress and could see fine from inside. But those of us on the other couldn't see anything. So it happened. The driver stopped at several observation points and described history or explained what islands and resorts we were seeing. As we passed beaches, resorts, neighborhoods, etc. he announced what we were passing. We then turned around and basically came back the same route, although non-stop.
Read tiger-91's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chisholmag
1 review
Feb 2016
Have done this trip twice to spend the day at Trunk Bay Beach. The Beach is beautiful and the water wonderful. Always good to get off of St. Thomas when there are lots of ships in port
Read chisholmag's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Vatraveler53
1 review
Dec 2015
Very pretty island. Everything was closed as it was Xmas
Read Vatraveler53's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Southwoods
5 reviews
Dec 2015
Ferried over to St. John, and then was free to walk and shop for a couple hours before returning the ferry. The ferry ride, itself, was good, as we sat outside allowing the wind to tossle our hair as we enjoyed the wonderful St. Thomas coastline en route to St. John. The boat captain talked on and on, where only from the inside seating arena could a person hear well. We could just hear the droning of his voice, and that is all, and that was quite alright for us. Unfortunately, on the return journey, our ears could pick up easier some of what he was saying, and it got very political...not something we found favorable to the day's otherwise good experience on beautiful St. John. The shopping there, by the way, was very nice. Private little shops with many locally made items mixed in with imported items. Much of what we found was high quality, but the price reasonable.
Read Southwoods's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image stillwater53189
1 review
Dec 2015
Booked independent. $10p/p shared taxi tide each way. Amazing time, def worth the price. Drinks and food were amazing! http://newhorizons.daysails.com/index.php?l=t&pageStewardLink=2919
Read stillwater53189's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: New Horizons Snorkel Adventure
Member Image MAGSMALONE
1 review
Oct 2015
St Thomas has to be the most beautiful Island in the world,
Read MAGSMALONE's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: local operator
Member Image Shoshana5
1 review
Sep 2015
St. John tour was very disappointing. We walked for an hour in the forest and spent 20 min by the beach instead of and hour an 10 min. We wanted to relax and enjoy the beach. The minute we got there it was time to leave.
Read Shoshana5's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruising Makes Me Happy
1 review
Aug 2015
I inadvertently listed our excursion under Miami. OOOPS!!! We did the St. John Beach Escape, which took us by boat (about 45 minutes) from St. Thomas to St. John. Then about a 10 minute (very scenic drive) to Trunk Bay, which was incredible. Once there, we only had 1 hour and 40 minutes MAX for beach/snorkel time. This was way too short, which is why I gave the excursion an average rating. Almost all on the tour didn't feel like it was worth the money due to the short beach time. The beach time should be at least 2 1/2 hours. The crew aboard the shuttle boat to/from St. John/St. Thomas were awesome. Great tour -- just needs to be LONGER!!!
Read Cruising Makes Me Happy's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cturley
1 review
Jul 2015
Trunk bay snorkeling. Very good would highly recommend it
Read Cturley's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image davidwyant
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice tour
Read davidwyant's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sonvoltken6
8 reviews
Apr 2015
We loved St. John and intend on visiting next time we go to St. Thomas. Trunk Bay is a great place to swim and snorkel. Get a locker and an umbrella to stay out of the sun.
Read sonvoltken6's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Shelly&Jack
1 review
Apr 2015
Just a ferry ride to St. John and a taxi to the beach. The beach is run by the U.S. National Park Service. Do not expect efficient service when renting chairs. A life guard is stationed at the beach.
Read Shelly&Jack's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image delacruz
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We took the ‘St John’s On Your Own’ Royal Caribbean Excursion. It’s so much easier (and no more costly) to board the boat to St Johns right at the pier rather than worry about the timing of getting to Red Hook, the ferry to Cruz Bay, and back. Fair warning to anyone unable to take the motion on a smaller boat – it was a wet and rocky ride there and back. All of the passengers from the different St Johns tours ride over together, wearing different color wristbands. After disembarking at Cruz Bay we shared a safari taxi with several others and headed to Trunk Bay. Entry to the Virgin Islands National Park at Trunk Bay is $4 pp. We rented a couple of chairs (they are the low to the ground beach chairs, not chaise lounges. Rental was $5 per chair, but heads up that there is a $25 deposit CC or cash for each chair and a deposit for anything you can rent – snorkel gear, etc.). The food at the grill was adequate – burgers (meat and veggie, chicken sandwiches, hot dogs, fries, etc. It’s nice having decent restrooms, showers and changing facilities available. There were taxis waiting to head back to Cruz Bay, but we made the mistake of not following our instincts to wait and not get into a smaller taxi that 3 other couples were waiting in. Once we sat down, we filled the 2 benches, but the driver insisted there was room for another couple, so we were really squeezed – and they looked like they were about to slide out the back! Once back on board the ‘Painkillers’ began flowing, ‘lubing’ us up to buy their t-shirts and caps. The crew was fantastic and I think they are from Cool Boats USVI.
Read delacruz's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Roger_le_Frog
3 reviews
Apr 2015
We went to St John by boat from St Thomas and did almost a complete tour of the island using an open Taxi. Most of the island is a National park with wonderful public beaches. It definitively gives us a desire to visit again.
Read Roger_le_Frog's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?