St. Thomas St. John Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas St. John Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for an afternoon on the smallest, quietest, least populated and most secluded of the three U.S. Virgin Islands.
Member Image internetwhiz
2 reviews
May 2017
St. John's tour of the island and went to Trunk Bay to swim...needed more time!
Read internetwhiz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kwebster58
7 reviews
Apr 2017
St. John - on your own - allows for lots of time at Trunk Bay. This is easy to get to Trunk Bay from the ferry stop.
Read kwebster58's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image STST263
1 review
Apr 2017
Definitely could have done this on our own, paid a lot less and could have been more in control of our time. St. John was amazingly beautiful. But I was hoping to have a little time in St. Thomas for shopping, but that was not possible with the excursion.
Read STST263's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Beachside395
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Too many people and the entire time on the beach at Trunk Bay was too short. By the time we got there and got our snorkel equipment there was about 90 minutes left. Rush, rush. Try something else.
Read Beachside395's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Wintrich
1 review
Mar 2017
Captain Morgan Ship and staff were wonderful
Read Wintrich's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MsBlondie
1 review
Mar 2017
Again, didn't live up to the description. We took a boat (generic boat, not a catamaran) to St. John, and walked to a small beach. The beach and water were absolutely beautiful.
Read MsBlondie's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SherryLK714
2 reviews
Mar 2017
We took a ferry from St. Thomas to St. John - booked "St. John On Your Own" on the ship. St. John is a stunningly beautiful island! Have your camera ready for some amazing scenery. Went to Trunk Bay - awesome beach! They have a bar and food stand available. No vendors at all on this beach. Snorkeling not so great, but enjoyed swimming and relaxing on the beach. There is a great shopping area right across from where you get the ferry. Would recommend visiting this gorgeous island!
Read SherryLK714's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bandrich
3 reviews
Mar 2017
Wow. Guide was knowledgeable. Walk was relaxing not at all difficult. Beach was beautiful. Wonderfully surprised by jumping in with my mask and being surrounded by yellow tail snappers, pin fish, a trigger like fish and tons of baby fish right off the beach.
Read bandrich's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image scott_r_nelson
1 review
Mar 2017
Wished afterwards we had taken an excursion with a couple hours on the beach. Had decent weather that day, so it would have been nice. But it was beautiful scenery. The guide did a very good job.
Read scott_r_nelson's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image justmej44
2 reviews
Mar 2017
I enjoyed seeing a different island. The tour driver was friendly, funny, and knowledgeable about the area. The tour was just the right length of time, but sadly it poured rain when we arrived back in St. Thomas, so we missed spending time there.
Read justmej44's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FranfromFL
1 review
Mar 2017
This was listed as a four hour tour. We had a LONG wait for the ferry boat to show up to take us to St. John. It took us two hours to get there! Then we only had a one hour tour and then another hour back. If the ferry boat had been on time, I think the tour on St. John would have been much longer. We got the condensed version. St. John is my favorite island and I feel like we were gypped.
Read FranfromFL's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MidnightBuffetFan
1 review
Feb 2017
We did a ferry ride to St John with time at Trunk Bay. The ferry, "Island Girl," picked us up right next to the cruise ship - very easy! - and we loved the informative ride. Good mix of information on natural features and celebrity houses. Trunk Bay itself is marvelous. I was worried it would be too crowded, but we found a great spot under a tree and just enjoyed the day. We brought a stroller (I know, to the beach!) - it was actually perfect for letting our daughter nap under the tree, because she wouldn't have been able to use a rental beach chair. Transportation to and from the ferry at St John is via open air safari Jeep type things. Fun way to ride (but no car seats!)
Read MidnightBuffetFan's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image seafarerliz
1 review
Feb 2017
This should have been a good tour, and to be fair the majority of our fellow passengers had a really good guide. Once off the ferry we were told to follow that man, which we did. He led us to a little bus which had long bench seats in the back which were already full. We started to look for another bus but he insisted we get in behind him (his bus had a crew cab behind the driver) this meant my friend who is 91 years old and only 4'8" tall had to crawl in as there was no step. He never helped her at all. Then to add insult to injury he made another 2 adults get in with us, 4 adults in a seat for 3 people! Everything he was asked he said he didn't know. He also told us we were not scheduled to stop at the old sugar refinery but as a favour he would take us there. It clearly stated on our tickets that this was part of the tour. I complained to the Shore Excursion team when we got back and they were horrified and actually gave us a small credit for having such a poor experience. I hope they complained to the Island and had this so called guide reprimanded and re-educated.
Read seafarerliz's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image clairopt
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Very short tour. Boat ride was probably more enjoyable. Not recommended to those that are prone to sea sickness.
Read clairopt's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cementhands
4 reviews
Jan 2017
Booked through RCL, beach was great trunk bay, but could not snorkel, because of rough waves. Did enjoy the water, pounding waves were fun, good work out. Shore excursion guy, not nice, no info, ??? I don't know why he has that job.
Read cementhands's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mistertoaster
10 reviews
Jan 2017
We have been to St. Thomas before, so we took an excursion to St. John's. Good choice. St. John's is predominantly U.S. Park land. Consequently, the terrain is unspoiled by development. If you want to see a relatively undeveloped Island in its natural state, this is the place
Read mistertoaster's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rds2
1 review
Jan 2017
45 minute boat ride to island; hour and 3/4 tour of island in open air vehicle (with cover). Number of stops to enjoy view and take pictures, including remains of a sugar mill.
Read rds2's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bunnyann
1 review
Dec 2016
Took the tour with a catamaran over,cruise around the island ,and road tour.
Read bunnyann's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Naplescruiser1955
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Totally awesome. St Johns is so beautiful! The vegetation is amazing! Lovely. On the ferry ride back we passed Bill Murray's house on Dt Thomas & he came out and waved to us! Great picture op! So fun!
Read Naplescruiser1955's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mermaid rock
6 reviews
Dec 2016
This tour was well worth the cost! We had a great cruise on a ferry boat and saw homes like one that belonged to Carol Burnett and Michael Jackson. Trunk Bay Beach is one of the 10 best in the world . It is unique with calm water for great swimming but a super snorkel area close by a large rock out from the shore. Our only disappointment was that Elvis who was asked to take the overload (us) of tourists did not stop for us to get a pic when he said that he would on the return trip and he had a perfect spot at the lookout to do it. He was reliable at making sure we got back on his bus. However, if you want great photos , do the tour without the beach break as they stop a lot
Read Mermaid rock's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ezstreet
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Loved the open air van! The boat ride back was a challenge as it rained pretty hard most of the way back, but fun nonetheless! St. Johns is beautiful and we would liked to have spent more time there. Must go back!
Read ezstreet's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image do_not_spindle
2 reviews
Dec 2016
1st time in St Johns. Lovely island. Ferry returned after "last tender", but no problems getting back.
Read do_not_spindle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image flashcat1993
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Our tour guide was wonderful - stopping many times for pictures. The ship, however, apparently wasn't aware that everyone was going to need to get back on the ship at 1:30pm and left hundreds and hundreds of us on the pier standing in the hot sun all trying to get back on through one entrance. They finally opened a second one.
Read flashcat1993's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lcimba
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Very nice scenic tour, but we only got about half the time ashore that we should have gotten because the ferry boat was late.
Read lcimba's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gramme
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Very nice place to visit. Wish could have stayed longer to explore. Next time I will take the public ferry to the island and explore on my own.
Read Gramme's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?