St. Thomas St. John Snorkel/Sail Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas St. John Snorkel/Sail cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for a relaxing afternoon on and in the water; offshore cays and reefs make St. John a premier stop for snorkeling.
Member Image ElGrande
1 review
Mar 2017
Fun, crew was excellent. Snorkeling views aren't as good as Caymans or Belize, but we had a good time overall.
Read ElGrande's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Lovecruisestoo
4 reviews
Feb 2017
Very nice and beautiful scenery ... but a bit too crowded.
Read Lovecruisestoo's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Counsel
1 review
Feb 2017
Transported from the dock to St. Johns in a "cattlecar" like ferry boat, and transported to a beach with VERY limited shade. Snorkeled in a crowded triangular area. Not much to see...
Read Counsel's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rosiegirl2
3 reviews
Feb 2017
We've done this excursion on the Champagne Cat several times before. Once again, we had a great day...these guys do a fantastic job all the way around. Very safety-conscious, yet fun-loving trio of guys. We saw plenty of fish at Honeymoon Bay. The dock is about a 20-minute ride from the ship, and the excursion includes an open-air shuttle ride.
Read rosiegirl2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Trend
7 reviews
Feb 2017
Snorkelling was ok as rough seas stopped us from getting to St.Joh's But the crew and Kathleen's gourmet lunch made for a wonderful day out.
Read Trend's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: High Pockets Sailing
Member Image rachelj
1 review
Feb 2017
The snorkeling was just ok, but the catamaran to St. John was great. The crew was attentive and a lot of fun.
Read rachelj's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BEMan
1 review
Feb 2017
Buck Island Catamaran and snorkel...great crew and scenic trip...sea state not too rough for the trip, but rough enough so that we didn't see too much underwater. Weather factor and no reflection on the crew.
Read BEMan's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cbspence33
1 review
Jan 2017
Great excursion to St John to snorkel. The ferry ride was nice and we then boarded a shuttle to the beach. The snorkeling there was great with the prettiest beach I've ever been on.
Read cbspence33's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image OBX Cruisers
1 review
Jan 2017
“St. John National Park Catamaran Sail & Snorkel” (4.5 hours) Long ride in open-air “jitney” over bumpy roads on St. Thomas to board catamaran. Really enjoyed the “sail” and time on Honeymoon Beach on St. John. Transferred to beach via dinghy. (A possible problem for mobility impaired as it was “rocking and rolling” as we climbed into the dinghy from the ship’s ladder.) Beach was beautiful and some spread out towels while others rented beach lounge chairs. Saw snorkelers from this same company, the “St. John Champagne Cat,” but our tour off the “Star” wasn’t provided snorkel gear and we were discouraged from snorkeling with our own masks and snorkels. Catamaran crew didn’t want to discuss the reason. We had been told earlier when we arrived on the “Star” that the tour would no longer include snorkeling. Not sure why but no partial refund offered. Notice that the excursion description on the Viking web site still says “Sail & Snorkel” so you may want to check whether this was only a temporary situation.
Read OBX Cruisers's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Jdlowers
1 review
Jan 2017
Nice catamaran. Clean snorkel equipment. Fun and engaging staff!
Read Jdlowers's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Susanr50
1 review
Jan 2017
Crew very attentive, professional about safety (snorkeling) comfortable boat, good equipment. Very safe and fun experience. We sailed to Honeymoon Beach great location, beautiful beach. Drinks and snacks great. Could have been more snacks available.
Read Susanr50's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image donnakmc
1 review
Dec 2016
Snorkeled and sailed on the Castaway Girl III, with captain Jolene and crew. Best excursion of the cruise by far. Professional, organized, plenty of fish and turtles to see at the snorkel site. Great time sailing back to port with rum punch and champagne.
Read donnakmc's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image mystang52
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Snorkeling site was fair. Beach looked pretty but we chose this for the snorkeling so never made it to the beach.
Read mystang52's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dotlady505
1 review
Dec 2016
Wonderful crew who were capable, careful and informative. The catamaran was very well maintained and the head, perfectly clean. The crew made sure the experience was safe as well as lots of fun.
Read dotlady505's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kzf3m8
reviews
Dec 2016
Outbound was fine but there was confusion for return ferry. We had 4 different guides/drivers - outbound ferry, taxi to park, snorkel at park, same taxi back to dock, different return ferry. No one could figure out or tell us what was going on. Besides that, the snorkeling was poor. Very few fish, cloudy water. Trunk Bay is beautiful.
Read kzf3m8's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image MarkNLynn
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Great trip with experienced crew and catamaran. Went to two different snorkel sites and then got to have rum punch drinks on way back. Very entertaining and fun trip. Water was a bit choppy to enjoy the snorkeling but we did see turtles and fish and a shipwreck.
Read MarkNLynn's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image jmatechuk
1 review
Dec 2016
Boarded a fantastic Pirate ship and off we sailed to Christmas Cove (approx.35 min): We set anchor off an uninhabited islet for swimming and snorkeling with many friendly sea turtles. There were a few other boats anchored but we has no difficulty running into other people as some of the reviews stated. Next stop was Honeymoon Beach where we opted to swim ashore. Soft white sand beaches welcomed us to a great BBQ Lunch, (all included). We enjoyed chicken, ribs, veggies and salads at lunch and hit the beach volley ball court to play with a few locals right after. Had a great time! Finally back on the boat, the rum was really flowing! Lots of drinks. laughs & great music.
Read jmatechuk's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image esp13
3 reviews
Dec 2016
We did the St. John's Champagne Sail and Snorkel excursion booked through NCL. The boat captain (Theresa) and crew (Brandon and Connor) were friendly and a lot of fun. The sail over was great and the snorkeling was a lot of fun. The party really begins on the way back and we had a blast. Can't recommend this enough.
Read esp13's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FraudBroad
7 reviews
Dec 2016
Champagne catamaran snorkel, sail to St John. One of the best excursions we've ever done!
Read FraudBroad's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Youngcruiser16
1 review
Dec 2016
Chartered a sailboat for the day to go around St. John with Capt, Mike on Morningstar. Highly recommend, pricey but worth it.
Read Youngcruiser16's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Morningstar
Member Image marcolisa
4 reviews
Nov 2016
Catamaran champagne sail to St. John with snorkeling was awesome!!
Read marcolisa's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sameringer
1 review
Nov 2016
Friendly operators. The boat was a little crowded for my taste. The weather was nice. Snorkeling not as good as years ago when I was there.
Read sameringer's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Loyal2Royal83
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We did the Buck Island sail/snorkel. The crew of the "Stars and Stripes" catamaran was incredible. They were very attentive towards everyone, very engaged in the group, and were constantly asking if we had enough to eat/drink (provided free).
Read Loyal2Royal83's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SeasthedayNJ
1 review
Oct 2016
It was a 30 minute or so ride to the eastern side of St. Thomas. The ride was interesting, but long. When we finally arrived, we boarded the Adventurer Catamaran and we were on our way to St John. It was a beautiful and informative 40 minute cruise to St John's beach where we snorkled and took a beach break. The waters were clearer than when we snorkeled in Antigua, our tour guide told us the best places to swim to see more colorful fish. We spend about 1.5 hrs here before climbing back on board for some champagne, rum punch, cheese and fresh bread (all included in excursion price). We took a nice slow ride back to the dock, we even saw a dolphin directly under the net of the catamaran! couldn't whip out the camera quick enough though. That was AWESOME! I recommend this tour for sure.
Read SeasthedayNJ's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image juliabech
1 review
Oct 2016
Not very well organized. rude local guide. Not good equipment. Nice beach. clear water
Read juliabech's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?