St. Thomas St. John Snorkel/Sail Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas St. John Snorkel/Sail cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for a relaxing afternoon on and in the water; offshore cays and reefs make St. John a premier stop for snorkeling.
Member Image mystang52
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Snorkeling site was fair. Beach looked pretty but we chose this for the snorkeling so never made it to the beach.
Read mystang52's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dotlady505
1 review
Dec 2016
Wonderful crew who were capable, careful and informative. The catamaran was very well maintained and the head, perfectly clean. The crew made sure the experience was safe as well as lots of fun.
Read dotlady505's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kzf3m8
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Outbound was fine but there was confusion for return ferry. We had 4 different guides/drivers - outbound ferry, taxi to park, snorkel at park, same taxi back to dock, different return ferry. No one could figure out or tell us what was going on. Besides that, the snorkeling was poor. Very few fish, cloudy water. Trunk Bay is beautiful.
Read kzf3m8's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jmatechuk
1 review
Dec 2016
Boarded a fantastic Pirate ship and off we sailed to Christmas Cove (approx.35 min): We set anchor off an uninhabited islet for swimming and snorkeling with many friendly sea turtles. There were a few other boats anchored but we has no difficulty running into other people as some of the reviews stated. Next stop was Honeymoon Beach where we opted to swim ashore. Soft white sand beaches welcomed us to a great BBQ Lunch, (all included). We enjoyed chicken, ribs, veggies and salads at lunch and hit the beach volley ball court to play with a few locals right after. Had a great time! Finally back on the boat, the rum was really flowing! Lots of drinks. laughs & great music.
Read jmatechuk's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image esp13
3 reviews
Dec 2016
We did the St. John's Champagne Sail and Snorkel excursion booked through NCL. The boat captain (Theresa) and crew (Brandon and Connor) were friendly and a lot of fun. The sail over was great and the snorkeling was a lot of fun. The party really begins on the way back and we had a blast. Can't recommend this enough.
Read esp13's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Youngcruiser16
1 review
Dec 2016
Chartered a sailboat for the day to go around St. John with Capt, Mike on Morningstar. Highly recommend, pricey but worth it.
Read Youngcruiser16's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Morningstar
Member Image marcolisa
4 reviews
Nov 2016
Catamaran champagne sail to St. John with snorkeling was awesome!!
Read marcolisa's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Loyal2Royal83
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We did the Buck Island sail/snorkel. The crew of the "Stars and Stripes" catamaran was incredible. They were very attentive towards everyone, very engaged in the group, and were constantly asking if we had enough to eat/drink (provided free).
Read Loyal2Royal83's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SeasthedayNJ
1 review
Oct 2016
It was a 30 minute or so ride to the eastern side of St. Thomas. The ride was interesting, but long. When we finally arrived, we boarded the Adventurer Catamaran and we were on our way to St John. It was a beautiful and informative 40 minute cruise to St John's beach where we snorkled and took a beach break. The waters were clearer than when we snorkeled in Antigua, our tour guide told us the best places to swim to see more colorful fish. We spend about 1.5 hrs here before climbing back on board for some champagne, rum punch, cheese and fresh bread (all included in excursion price). We took a nice slow ride back to the dock, we even saw a dolphin directly under the net of the catamaran! couldn't whip out the camera quick enough though. That was AWESOME! I recommend this tour for sure.
Read SeasthedayNJ's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image juliabech
1 review
Oct 2016
Not very well organized. rude local guide. Not good equipment. Nice beach. clear water
Read juliabech's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Leah9481
1 review
Aug 2016
A lot of fun and service was great.
Read Leah9481's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jetsetsun
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Went to trunk bay very nice time.
Read jetsetsun's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lmleclaire
1 review
Jul 2016
a little scary how they clean the masks, bring your own. Water is incredible, great time
Read lmleclaire's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image charmsfan
1 review
Jun 2016
No real reef...little to see snorkeling, but crew was great, and we had fun.
Read charmsfan's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dspoore
1 review
Jun 2016
Beautiful Trunk Bay is a favorite!
Read dspoore's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image grannytravels
1 review
Jun 2016
Within walking distance of the dock we sailed with Dana and Nicki....boat decal was a four leafed clover. Within the general review, I described this experience.
Read grannytravels's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Expedia
Member Image seanfedak135
1 review
Jun 2016
Definitely book this trip!
Read seanfedak135's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image iceman2a
1 review
May 2016
Wanted to snorkel Trunk Bay, with 12 people decided to book through ship but this can be done on your own if you want more time at the beach!
Read iceman2a's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Drwilson
1 review
May 2016
Crew did a good job.. Didn't really see many fish
Read Drwilson's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rick8560
1 review
May 2016
Short bus ride from dock to marina where the catamaran was docked. Then 40minute sale to St. John with a great 3 man crew who were excellent seamen and knowledgeable about the islands and their history.
Read rick8560's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gatorgirlsam
1 review
Apr 2016
Great time to a Beautiful Island. Didn't see a lot of marine life though :(
Read gatorgirlsam's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image terran_explr
7 reviews
Apr 2016
It's too bad that the coral life has been declining over the years. Overall, the tour was enjoyable. The vendor for the St. John Scenic Cruise, Trunk Bay Beach & Snorkel shore excursion (#STT830A) did not handle the crowds well. When we returned to the dock in St. Cruz Bay to catch the boat back to the dock in St. Thomas, we were herded into a narrow area behind a metal fence. Latecomers stayed outside the fence, and got to board the boat first, while we had to squeeze back through the narrow gate.
Read terran_explr's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Krazylady
1 review
Mar 2016
Enjoyed our day, the crew were very nice. Had fun snorkling.
Read Krazylady's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GrammaPatti
2 reviews
Feb 2016
a beautiful day and a beautiful sail. The catamaran was large and the beach where the ship moored was lovely. Not much fish did I see but I still say this trip was worth it. Drinks flowed generously on the way back. Very nice and helpful crew.
Read GrammaPatti's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 2springers2
2 reviews
Feb 2016
very relaxing, great beach, nice shop and very good food
Read 2springers2's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?