Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas St. John Snorkel/Sail Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas St. John Snorkel/Sail cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Sail from St. Thomas to nearby St. John for a relaxing afternoon on and in the water; offshore cays and reefs make St. John a premier stop for snorkeling.
Member Image lmleclaire
1 review
Jul 2016
a little scary how they clean the masks, bring your own. Water is incredible, great time
Read lmleclaire's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image charmsfan
1 review
Jun 2016
No real reef...little to see snorkeling, but crew was great, and we had fun.
Read charmsfan's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dspoore
1 review
Jun 2016
Beautiful Trunk Bay is a favorite!
Read dspoore's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image grannytravels
1 review
Jun 2016
Within walking distance of the dock we sailed with Dana and Nicki....boat decal was a four leafed clover. Within the general review, I described this experience.
Read grannytravels's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Expedia
Member Image seanfedak135
1 review
Jun 2016
Definitely book this trip!
Read seanfedak135's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image iceman2a
1 review
May 2016
Wanted to snorkel Trunk Bay, with 12 people decided to book through ship but this can be done on your own if you want more time at the beach!
Read iceman2a's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Drwilson
1 review
May 2016
Crew did a good job.. Didn't really see many fish
Read Drwilson's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rick8560
1 review
May 2016
Short bus ride from dock to marina where the catamaran was docked. Then 40minute sale to St. John with a great 3 man crew who were excellent seamen and knowledgeable about the islands and their history.
Read rick8560's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gatorgirlsam
1 review
Apr 2016
Great time to a Beautiful Island. Didn't see a lot of marine life though :(
Read gatorgirlsam's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image terran_explr
7 reviews
Apr 2016
It's too bad that the coral life has been declining over the years. Overall, the tour was enjoyable. The vendor for the St. John Scenic Cruise, Trunk Bay Beach & Snorkel shore excursion (#STT830A) did not handle the crowds well. When we returned to the dock in St. Cruz Bay to catch the boat back to the dock in St. Thomas, we were herded into a narrow area behind a metal fence. Latecomers stayed outside the fence, and got to board the boat first, while we had to squeeze back through the narrow gate.
Read terran_explr's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Krazylady
1 review
Mar 2016
Enjoyed our day, the crew were very nice. Had fun snorkling.
Read Krazylady's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GrammaPatti
2 reviews
Feb 2016
a beautiful day and a beautiful sail. The catamaran was large and the beach where the ship moored was lovely. Not much fish did I see but I still say this trip was worth it. Drinks flowed generously on the way back. Very nice and helpful crew.
Read GrammaPatti's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 2springers2
1 review
Feb 2016
very relaxing, great beach, nice shop and very good food
Read 2springers2's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisin'Chills
3 reviews
Feb 2016
Fun catamaran tour to St. John for a little bit of snorkeling (less than 1 hour in the water, only downside). Good guides, nice fairly quiet snorkel spot, easy on/off the catamaran via ladder that submerges. This particular tour ("champagne sail and snorkel") offered various refreshments on the return trip including rum punch (of course), champagne, beer, or juice, as well as cheese and baguettes.
Read Cruisin'Chills's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lrcarib
1 review
Jan 2016
This was are only excursion we booked with the cruise line because they are so expensive and many things you can do on your own; however, we did the St John Catamaran Champagne and Snorkel trip and absolutely loved it. Highly recommend. After a bus ride over to the marina you board a catamaran with about 30 other people and sail over the St. John to snorkel. For the return trip they hoist the sails and serve plenty of champagne and small snacks. It was truly a prefect day.
Read lrcarib's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Vizla76
1 review
Jan 2016
Took our own excursions. Hawks Nest & Maho (St. John - snorkeling)
Read Vizla76's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Myself
Member Image vinandpam
1 review
Jan 2016
very poor quality although the kids tried they weren't that funny,didnt really get to see st johns,the snorkeling was ok
Read vinandpam's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dfwhgsfan
2 reviews
Jan 2016
We had a leisurely sail over to St. Johns and I believe it was honeymoon beach and snorkeled. There were lots of fish and we also saw a sea turtle. We then had lunch and went to another area for our 2nd snorkel stop. Lots of neat fish and this time we saw a couple of squid. Since we were the only 2 from the ship on this excursion, the crew did a great job getting us back in time to get a cab so we could get back to the ship on time.
Read dfwhgsfan's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image jstachel
1 review
Dec 2015
St. John Trunk Bay - beautiful beach, just not long enough.
Read jstachel's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image theBrosher
1 review
Nov 2015
So glad we booked this excursion! It was exactly what we wanted for our last Port. We docked at a port farther out of town. We were transported all through St Thomas and over the hills, a great way to see the island. We then boarded a catamaran and made our way over to the island of St. John. Here we were able to snorkel for an hour over a pretty extensive area. We saw a sea turtle!! Definitely a highlight of our trip. Once the hour was up, we sailed back to St. Thomas with drinks (alcoholic and non) and snacks provided. The crew was amazing. Knowledge and funny, they made the trip.
Read theBrosher's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sarnette
1 review
Nov 2015
Crew on the Catamaran were awesome and provided great information about the area. Had a great time.
Read sarnette's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BuffaloPhil
1 review
Nov 2015
We planned this excursion completely on our own. It was great... and it was easy. We took a taxi right off the ship that took us to the St. John's ferry and, from the ferry, a taxi took us to the St. John beach. We had a great time snorkeling and relaxing (very clear waters) and got back to the ship in plenty of time.
Read BuffaloPhil's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image caffeinefreak1
1 review
Nov 2015
amazing the crew was great and the only excursion to include unlimited drinks once you were done snorkeling.
Read caffeinefreak1's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image brandy4598
1 review
Oct 2015
We had a good time; but the snorkeling was not that good. And, they could have given us a little longer at the beach without us being late back to the ship (you're only there for about an hour). I probably wouldn't book this tour again.
Read brandy4598's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lesliecrcbb
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Be sure to listen and you will be fine. The water was beautiful. We saw Kenny Chesnee's house. My husband loved the snorkeling. The Champagne was freeflowing on the way back. Very lovely. Captian Theresa was awesome.
Read lesliecrcbb's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.