Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Paradise Point Skyride Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Paradise Point Skyride cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy panoramic views of the port's harbor and mountains from 700 feet above sea level on a Paradise Point Skyride in St. Thomas.
Member Image Texasramblinreck
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Great tour

Read Texasramblinreck's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JAGR
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

Well worth the money. Spectacular view and close by the ship

Read JAGR's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mychickadee
1 review
Feb 2014

Beautiful view from mountain top of Charlotte Amalie, they had a free parrot show at top of mountain which was very good.

Couldn't fit everything in on St. Thomas, it was a choice between going to mountain top or going over to St. John's would do St. John's next time.

Read mychickadee's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: part of taxi tour
Member Image Caribbeancruisern
1 review
Apr 2013
I have done this on a prior cruise--disappointed that it was under construction so not as much available to see.
Read Caribbeancruisern's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jacklego
1 review
Feb 2013
Short ride up the hill to the lookout. The view is nice, but it is about the same as going to Blackbeard's castle. Blackbeard's is a cheaper cab ride and there is much more to see at the top. Still, a good view and opportunity for good photos. St Thomas is very beautiful.
Read jacklego's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image plastic2244
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
Great views
Read plastic2244's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carnival kid
3 reviews
Jan 2013
Just walk up only $23.00 not $29.00 through ship really nice great view, and stuff to buy and see takes up 2 hrs then we just went shopping down bye the tents first
Read carnival kid's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: walked up
Member Image Catlade
1 review
Jan 2013
Do not go on the Paradise Point skyride. $22.00 to take you up for a photo . Nature trails closed and no birds or wildlife.
Read Catlade's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Steve551
5 reviews
Dec 2012
It was okay. Nice views from the top.
Read Steve551's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image OpalGem
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2012
Paradise Point Skyride - very nice. You get a great view of St. Thomas and the islands surrounding. It goes to the top of the mountain and you can walk around and take pictures.
Read OpalGem's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Addictedtocruises
1 review
Dec 2012
Enjoyed this even though we have done it before. It is the best spot for photographs. Unfortunately the nature walk and other areas were under construction but it was still worth the $.
Read Addictedtocruises's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lovefuninthesun
4 reviews
Nov 2012
It's not flashy, but you can't beat that view! Go first thing upon arrival to ST to avoid long lines later in the day.
Read Lovefuninthesun's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image CathyI8205
1 review
Nov 2012
The Skyride was cancelled. We rebooked a bus tour. They went from one flea market to the next. Was not very interesting.
Read CathyI8205's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image HipCruiser
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2012
This excursion was wonderful, if you like to walk/explore! We should have booked through Carnival's excursion desk -- it was cheaper on board than it was when we purchased tickets at the Skyride booth. When you reach Paradise Point, a 5minute ride via cable tram (don't do this if you're claustrophobic or afraid of heights!), you can either relax and have a drink at the mountain-top bar, OR you can climb further up the mountain for spectacular views of the ship port and neighboring islands. This is NOT recommended for those who cannot climb a lot of stairs or walk a lot.
Read HipCruiser's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image rotorhead1
1 review
Oct 2012
Not too bad. Some shopping at the top.
Read rotorhead1's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bcsinger25
2 reviews
Sep 2012
A new owner has taken over. Added a Ferris Wheel which is really nice! However, some shops have been closed and bird show is now down at the Butterfly Farm. Several of the lookout trails were closed due to messy construction. Still a gorgeous view!
Read bcsinger25's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image seasickcruisefan
2 reviews
Sep 2012
This was our favorite port. Our first stop was the Paradise Point tram. Wow, you get the most amazing views from there! There's a bar and some shopping at the top as well as some animals to see and a ferris wheel. It's a little run down, but still nice to do. Everyone we encountered there were VERY friendly. After that we hopped in a taxi and made our way to Coki Beach. WOW. This was the best snorkeling we'd ever seen. Nice small beach, with waiters to bring food and drink. You can also rent snorkel gear there and they have showers so you can wash off the salt before you leave. Our cab driver picked us back up at our agreed upon time then took us on a island tour and stopped several times so we could take pictures - even Blackbeard's castle. Again, we did this all on our own. There was no need to book these through the ship. We saved a boat-load (pun intended) of money this way.
Read seasickcruisefan's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Rational Adult
1 review
Aug 2012
This skyride is terrific! The view is truly amazing. We loved it and spent some time sitting up there. There is a little cafe where you can order food and beverages. Get their early! Head there at a fast pace immediately when you can get off the ship to get ahead of the line. It's walkable, but is several blocks. By getting there early you can save more of your day for other things instead of waiting in long lines.
Read Rational Adult's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image LukeWarmwater
3 reviews
Jun 2012
MEH! (That's the current vernacular young people use for "Indifference") This "Sky ride to Paradise" is a waste of money. We took a cab ride around the island that gave us great views and took us to all the hot spots. Paradise is just a high point on a hill that barely over looks the bay. There actually is a building roof that obstructs some of the view. The gondola is operated by just 2 guys, one at the bottom and one at the top, and someone selling tickets in the booth. Save your money pay a taxi to take you to see the sights, Paradise isn't worth it.
Read LukeWarmwater's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image near the beach
6 reviews
Jun 2012
It was the first thing we did in this port. It was a short walk from the ship. Great view from the top. Worth the experience. Once back down we had time to connect with out next excursion.
Read near the beach's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image hobbesey
2 reviews
Apr 2012
In St. Thomas, we did things on our own. There are open air large bus/cabs that will take you to the center of the shopping district. We also went out to Coral World to play with Omar the Sea Lion. It was a fun experience. St. Thomas is beautiful. Beware of the cab ride back from Coral World over the mountain. I'm used to New York City cab drivers and that trip was nerve racking.
Read hobbesey's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mimi&poppy
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2012
Our tour drove up the Skyline Drive to the Mountain Top where we could view the area islands and Magen's Bay. The scenery was spectacular.
Read mimi&poppy's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image luvmycarnival
1 review
Apr 2012
Long walk, lots of stairs, no smoking on mountain, except for parking lot.
Read luvmycarnival's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image No1Blount
1 review
Mar 2012
Amazing cable car ride to top of mountain. Awesome views, had lunch at the restaurant. Would love to stop here again!
Read No1Blount's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ytrap2007
1 review
Mar 2012
My advice is to hire a private cab (about $25 per person) because you get more for your money and you will experience more magnificent views and points of interest. This excursion (Skyride) was a waste of money. First of all, it is rated as an "easy" excursion and there were many stairs to climb in the heat. If you are fit and in top health, you will have no problem. However, it was hard for my family.
Read ytrap2007's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image NC_is_Home
1 review
Feb 2012
The Skyride was ok, it needed ventilation in the car. Very warm inside. Yet still a beautiful view.
Read NC_is_Home's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.