Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Sitka Sea Otter and Wildlife Quest Excursion Reviews

Sitka Sea Otter and Wildlife Quest cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This wildlife tour is a great way to take in Alaska's varied flora and fauna from the comfort of a guided boat.
Member Image Cynthiaschaefer
1 review
Jul 2015
This was an afternoon tour and conducted by a family owned tour boat company. Again, everyone on board was from the Navigator. It was very family oriented, and very hands-on (they had live starfish and other sea creatures to hold in your hands and examine). They provided binoculars to everyone, and there was food and facilities on board the ship. They went out of their way to make sure we saw as many otters, seals and whales as we could. We were running behind schedule at the end, so the boat simply cruised over to our ship and we got off right at the gangplank. Our boat sailed shortly after this.
Read Cynthiaschaefer's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image izzielu61
1 review
Jun 2015
The weather was awful! I know that isn't the fault of the cruise line or the excursion staff, but rain, rough seas and wind really make the excursion uncomfortable and hard to get any pictures.
Read izzielu61's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image captainarby
1 review
Jun 2015
Bit of a disappointment. Not much in the way of wildlife. It was there, barely.
Read captainarby's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bittner.joanne@gmail.com
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Good tour but bad weather. Walked around the town first and visited the Russian Church.
Read bittner.joanne@gmail.com's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Pat1961
1 review
Jun 2015
We saw sea otters swimming together, bald eagles, a bear from a distance on an island. Very enjoyable excursion. Also, saw Sitka from the water. Sitka in itself really isn't that impressive. However, we quickly walked to the National Park by the pier prior to the excursion, and would have liked to spend more time there if we could have.
Read Pat1961's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image ihbprincess
1 review
May 2015
Perfect weather so we saw a beautiful, magical island and plenty of wildlife. Highly recommend.
Read ihbprincess's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image MKS2015
1 review
May 2015
We saw whales and otter and even some bears from a distance. Had some boat trouble but they handled it well (we had to evacuate the original boat and take another one to shore after a drive shaft broke). Mechanical issues aside, it was a GREAT excursion.
Read MKS2015's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image poolwife
2 reviews
May 2015
Excellent tour with a good naturalist on board. Seemed more like a whale watching tour though which isn't bad at all just didn't expect it to go so much into open ocean.
Read poolwife's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Carlsarge
1 review
Jun 2014

This was a very nice boat ride in the bay. We saw whales, a grizzly bear in a meadow, and many sea otters. Bald eagles were everywhere. This excursion also went to the bear and raptors sanctuaries.
This was well worth the dollars spent.

Read Carlsarge's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tasdiwine
1 review
Jun 2014

fun trip,saw otters,whales and eagles

Read tasdiwine's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image TexasDavid7
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

One of our best tours ever. This tour company [Allen Marine] has tours in several cities that we have been on and they never disappoint. On this adventure we saw lots of wildlife including Sea Otters, Bald Eagles, and Humpback Whales. There was plenty of fine scenery and very cool but sunshiny weather. NO rain! The boat we went on met us at the ship, not on the dock. It was large, dry, and warm if you stayed on the lower deck. For the adventurous type, there was an upper deck that got you closer to nature as well as giving you a red nose! On board was a marine biologist/historian. There were also binoculars to use. Also there is a snack bar and two restrooms.

Read TexasDavid7's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image seminolegal
1 review
Jul 2013

Good- we saw a what along with lots of sea otters!

Read seminolegal's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image singlechannel
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Saw lots of otters and other critters. Comfortable boat.
Read singlechannel's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image golfer4798
1 review
Jul 2012
Excellent naturalist, nice boat, great wildlife viewing.
Read golfer4798's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Molliemcgree
1 review
Jul 2012
Excellent - comfortable catamaran, good binoculars provided, calm water allowed us to go further than usual and saw more - including a huge raft of otter, a pair of orca, and many, many variety of birds.
Read Molliemcgree's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image djparker
1 review
Jun 2012
The viewing opportunities for the disabled is non existence for the boat portion of this excursion. Even though Allen Marine posts on their brochures that standing is not recommended, they don't enforce it. This particular day, the seas were rough and husband could not stand, so he spent the whole boat tour seeing only people which to me had no value and was an expensive boat ride. The fortress of the bear, saved this tour somewhat, but I felt that more than a half an hour should have been allowed for this portion of the tour.
Read djparker's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image brydee
1 review
May 2012
We saw whales,sea otter, eagles, jellyfish. They gave us tasty salmon on crackers and a muffin for breakfast. Smooth ride on the boat.
Read brydee's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.