Sitka Sea Otter and Wildlife Quest Excursion Reviews

Sitka Sea Otter and Wildlife Quest cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This wildlife tour is a great way to take in Alaska's varied flora and fauna from the comfort of a guided boat.
Member Image erikerik
1 review
Aug 2016
Would have preferred to spend longer at the Raptor Center and the Fortress of the Bears.
Read erikerik's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image markam
1 review
Jul 2016
VERY informative, friendly and capable captain. Think his name was Sonny. Boat was very clean, comfortable and safe. Say many whales and a few otters.
Read markam's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Sitka Wildlife Tours.
Member Image Katgal98
1 review
Jul 2016
This was a good tour on a very comfortable catamaran. Unfortunately, it was quite rough that day. We didn't see any whales but did see sea lions and eagles. The crew and guides were excellent.
Read Katgal98's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image happycruisingcouple.
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent. Saw more than expected-orcas and even a humpback breaching next to the boat!
Read happycruisingcouple.'s full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image charliesavino@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Outstanding all the way. Sitka Raptor Center was great. Saw humpback whales, sea otter, sea lions and seals.
Read charliesavino@gmail.com's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image AustinDude
2 reviews
Jul 2016
It was pretty good, but felt a little rushed. They tried to cover lots of ground, so we couldn’t spend much time in any one place.
Read AustinDude's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image mujerlinda
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Beautiful bay and cool houses on the bay. We saw bald eagles, sea lions, otters, and got a small glimpse of a hump back whale. Sitka has good shops and I was so glad we did a good bit of shopping there as some of the later ports were full of jewelry shops and nothing that really struck me as being made in Alaska.
Read mujerlinda's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Furfoot
2 reviews
Jun 2016
It was good and the crew was nice. Nothing spectacular though.
Read Furfoot's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image drkitkat123
2 reviews
Jun 2016
saw lots of wildlife
Read drkitkat123's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image love2fish40
1 review
May 2016
The weather was not the best so we only saw the otters and a lot of eagles. But the guides were great and they even had someone going along the edge of the boat cleaning the rain from the windows.
Read love2fish40's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image gfgramma
2 reviews
May 2016
Although we couldn't see any of the whales breaching, we did get some shots of the partial tails and blows. It was a rainy, windy day, so Mother Nature did not cooperate!
Read gfgramma's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image swapilot
4 reviews
May 2016
Although we didn't see a lot of wildlife, we saw everything that was promised--whales, otters, eagles and bears. The crew was very informative and enjoyable.
Read swapilot's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image catwrangler4
1 review
May 2016
Employees were great and saw lots of wildlife.
Read catwrangler4's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cynthiaschaefer
1 review
Jul 2015
This was an afternoon tour and conducted by a family owned tour boat company. Again, everyone on board was from the Navigator. It was very family oriented, and very hands-on (they had live starfish and other sea creatures to hold in your hands and examine). They provided binoculars to everyone, and there was food and facilities on board the ship. They went out of their way to make sure we saw as many otters, seals and whales as we could. We were running behind schedule at the end, so the boat simply cruised over to our ship and we got off right at the gangplank. Our boat sailed shortly after this.
Read Cynthiaschaefer's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image izzielu61
1 review
Jun 2015
The weather was awful! I know that isn't the fault of the cruise line or the excursion staff, but rain, rough seas and wind really make the excursion uncomfortable and hard to get any pictures.
Read izzielu61's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image captainarby
1 review
Jun 2015
Bit of a disappointment. Not much in the way of wildlife. It was there, barely.
Read captainarby's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bittner.joanne@gmail.com
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Good tour but bad weather. Walked around the town first and visited the Russian Church.
Read bittner.joanne@gmail.com's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ProvWoman31
1 review
Jun 2015
The HIGHLIGHT of our entire trip!! Captain Paul was an exceptional tour guide -- extremely knowledgeable and very personable! It was truly like hanging out with an old friend. The boat is small and allows for a more personalized tour of the Sitka sights and Captain Paul is second-to-none! Even with the stormy weather we experienced that day, we still saw so much wildlife and were thoroughly entertained with Paul's stories of his own adventures in the region -- we greatly enjoyed ourselves and were not ready for the 4 hours to be over. This tour leaves you wanting more, which is why our family is returning and yes, we already booked again with Gallant! Best excursion Sitka has to offer!!
Read ProvWoman31's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Paul Davis, Gallant Adventures
Member Image Pat1961
1 review
Jun 2015
We saw sea otters swimming together, bald eagles, a bear from a distance on an island. Very enjoyable excursion. Also, saw Sitka from the water. Sitka in itself really isn't that impressive. However, we quickly walked to the National Park by the pier prior to the excursion, and would have liked to spend more time there if we could have.
Read Pat1961's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image ihbprincess
1 review
May 2015
Perfect weather so we saw a beautiful, magical island and plenty of wildlife. Highly recommend.
Read ihbprincess's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image MKS2015
1 review
May 2015
We saw whales and otter and even some bears from a distance. Had some boat trouble but they handled it well (we had to evacuate the original boat and take another one to shore after a drive shaft broke). Mechanical issues aside, it was a GREAT excursion.
Read MKS2015's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image poolwife
2 reviews
May 2015
Excellent tour with a good naturalist on board. Seemed more like a whale watching tour though which isn't bad at all just didn't expect it to go so much into open ocean.
Read poolwife's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Carlsarge
1 review
Jun 2014

This was a very nice boat ride in the bay. We saw whales, a grizzly bear in a meadow, and many sea otters. Bald eagles were everywhere. This excursion also went to the bear and raptors sanctuaries.
This was well worth the dollars spent.

Read Carlsarge's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tasdiwine
1 review
Jun 2014

fun trip,saw otters,whales and eagles

Read tasdiwine's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image TexasDavid7
3 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

One of our best tours ever. This tour company [Allen Marine] has tours in several cities that we have been on and they never disappoint. On this adventure we saw lots of wildlife including Sea Otters, Bald Eagles, and Humpback Whales. There was plenty of fine scenery and very cool but sunshiny weather. NO rain! The boat we went on met us at the ship, not on the dock. It was large, dry, and warm if you stayed on the lower deck. For the adventurous type, there was an upper deck that got you closer to nature as well as giving you a red nose! On board was a marine biologist/historian. There were also binoculars to use. Also there is a snack bar and two restrooms.

Read TexasDavid7's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?