Portland (Maine) Kennebunkport Excursion Reviews

Portland (Maine) Kennebunkport cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The small seaside town of Kennebunkport makes for a nice afternoon trip. It's one of the most popular destinations and is often frequented by popular American families (The Bush's), so be on the lookout -- you may see past Presidents!
Member Image DEW58
1 review
Aug 2016
Enjoyed the ride and the Wedding Cake House
Read DEW58's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mar_53
1 review
Aug 2016
Enjoyable, short, drive. Pretty town. Easy walking and interesting shops over @3 blocks. Remarkable scenery and good bus guide and naration.
Read Mar_53's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Uncle Al95670
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Tour of Portland, Portland Head light, Kennebunkport, including the Bush vacation home. Had almost 2 hours free time in Kennebunkport for shopping and lunch. Very good tour.
Read Uncle Al95670's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kdub24
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Our tour, called "The Best of Maine," included Kennebunkport, a lobster boat outing, lunch, and then the Portland Head lighthouse. All were splendid.
Read kdub24's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Clamshell
1 review
Oct 2015
Nice ride to K-port. No foliage due to drought, but enjoyable. Van with 10 of us in it. K-port would not be the place I'd want to live. Crazy with tour busses and expensive shops full of stuff I wouldn't want to have to carry home. Bush compound nice to look at. Whoopie. We don't live like that!!!
Read Clamshell's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image KarlS
6 reviews
Oct 2015
Kennebunkport is very nice, but the excursion limited off-the-coach time to only an hour, which wasn't enough time. The coach provided was strictly third-world-country poor, with several seat backs that were broken and stuck in half-reclined position, dirty coach windows, and an engine vibration and roar in the rear of the coach we couldn't hear our on-board guide's voice. Disappointed.
Read KarlS's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image busyone
4 reviews
Sep 2015
Land portion of tour was very enjoyable. We saw limited amounts of fall color, and the tour guide gave interesting narrative. Good seafood available for lunch. Unfortunately, the cruise was too foggy to see much.
Read busyone's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kedmond@live.com
1 review
Sep 2015
Loved it!
Read kedmond@live.com's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Americanand proud
1 review
Aug 2015
Really, it was just OK. Long ride to Kennebunkport where you can only see the Bush compound far from the road where you get a look for about 30 seconds as bus passes. Guide did a nice job pointing out some unusual homes. Town is small and you have to fight for a quick lunch and shopping. If I had to do it over I'd pass.
Read Americanand proud's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tnndcruiser
5 reviews
Aug 2015
Kennebunkport was pretty and quaint. Glad we chose Scenic Route Maine Tour company for this excursion. We got to see and stop and do things that the tour buses from the ship couldn't do.
Read tnndcruiser's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Scenic Route Maine Tour
Member Image LovingTheHighSeas
1 review
Jun 2015
Our tour guide was excellent. She was very friendly and knowledgeable, being a life-long resident of the area. She was very accommodating and flexible with the groups' wishes for the tour. Kennebunkport is an awesome, quaint, picturesque place to visit!
Read LovingTheHighSeas's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Scenic Route Maine Tours
Member Image travel_gal123
1 review
Jun 2015
Loved seeing Portland Headlight and Kennebunkport. Driving by Walker Point was extra special. Love the Bushes!!
Read travel_gal123's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RIDGELYCRUZER
2 reviews
Oct 2014

NIce tour of Portland, Portland Head Light House and Kennebunkport....just a little too long being on the bus.

Read RIDGELYCRUZER's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image June DeMarco
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Great guide and driver (Marylee and John) - Beautiful scenery and extremely historical and informative!

Read June DeMarco's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dragonesque
4 reviews
Sep 2014

(This also appears in my main cruise review.)
Back in Maine, and back to another beautiful picture-taking adventure. This stop in Portland offered several interesting-sounding excursions, but we decided to go to Kennebunkport. This is a very, very popular tour – there were 9 buses, all going to the same place. The ship was docked a long way away from the bus-boarding area (they did have a few guys with golf carts who assisted those who couldn't walk the distance), and tour embarkation was kind of rushed, resulting in my family getting split up onto two different buses due to some miscommunications. However, the tour was totally worth it. Our guide Jay and driver John started us out on open highway with trees turning colors on both sides. The little town of Kennebunkport simply could not take the onslaught of so much traffic and buses; although they were happy for business, I’m sure the locals were quite annoyed at the jams we caused. Beautiful stores and merchandise, but only 90 minutes to shop. Clearly, with that many people in this little town, 90 minutes does not offer much time to do anything. You either pick shopping or pick a place to eat. Wish we had more time here.

The rest of the tour resulted in more lovely pictures and a drive-by of the Bush compound; since they were in residence, we had to take a drive-by picture. I would recommend this to anyone, but book early in order to get a spot. Keep in mind that they do load up the buses, so, most likely, you will have to sit two to a seat.

Read Dragonesque's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wdlnds58
5 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

This tour took you around the sights of Portland and then on to Kennebunkport. You see many of the sights from the bus, which are clean and comfortable. We had a great guide who was informative and friendly. They do let you out at a few stops, with lunch in Kennebunkport. We ate at Allison's (lobster roll and clam strips) which was good and enjoyed some shopping there.

Read wdlnds58's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image maachi
6 reviews
Aug 2013

excellent tour which showed us kennebunkport city followed by ocean drive and visit past the george bush summer home and various other Victorian homes

Read maachi's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ohiocruiser
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Kennebunkport was great

Read Ohiocruiser's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hillbilly1
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Great guide Bill I believe.  Not enough time for shopping

Read hillbilly1's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nancylc
1 review
Oct 2012

Before we did the Kennenbunkport tour we got off the ship and bought two tickets for the city bus tour (there is a stand on the dock where you can purchase each ticket for $5.00 each.) We took the bus around to get aquainted, shopped in some of the cute little shops close by and had lunch at Allsions. Lunch was very dissapointing. We had the lobster roll and lobster bisque and there was about a teapsoon of lobster in the roll. Allisons was on the main strip of restaurants, maybe we just chose the wrong one. Loved Loved Loved the Kennebunkport Tour! Kennebunkport is adorable and we went during the fall foliage season so it had beautiful colors! Quaint little shop and wonderful homemade blueberry pie ala mode at all the restaurants! The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly.

Read nancylc's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CRUISEBOY305
8 reviews
Oct 2012
Last port was Portland. I did the Best of Portland and Kennebunkport. Great tour, except it was very foggy in Portland so it was very hard to site see. Once we got to Kennebunkport the weather was gorgeous. Like Bar Harbor, Kennebunkport has lots of quaint little shops, restaurants and coffee shops. We drove by the Bush Family Compound. In Kennebunkport I had lunch at Bartley's Dockside. Great little restaurant right on the main road. Had the Lobster Roll which was fantastic. Mrs. B, who is one of the owners, makes the blueberry pies herself which is delicious.
Read CRUISEBOY305's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Hoyaken
1 review
Sep 2012

Recommended. Good scenery, shops and dining.

Read Hoyaken's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?