Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Portland (Maine) Kennebunkport Excursion Reviews

Portland (Maine) Kennebunkport cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The small seaside town of Kennebunkport makes for a nice afternoon trip. It's one of the most popular destinations and is often frequented by popular American families (The Bush's), so be on the lookout -- you may see past Presidents!
Member Image RIDGELYCRUZER
1 review
Oct 2014

NIce tour of Portland, Portland Head Light House and Kennebunkport....just a little too long being on the bus.

Read RIDGELYCRUZER's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image June DeMarco
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Great guide and driver (Marylee and John) - Beautiful scenery and extremely historical and informative!

Read June DeMarco's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Dragonesque
4 reviews
Sep 2014

(This also appears in my main cruise review.)
Back in Maine, and back to another beautiful picture-taking adventure. This stop in Portland offered several interesting-sounding excursions, but we decided to go to Kennebunkport. This is a very, very popular tour – there were 9 buses, all going to the same place. The ship was docked a long way away from the bus-boarding area (they did have a few guys with golf carts who assisted those who couldn't walk the distance), and tour embarkation was kind of rushed, resulting in my family getting split up onto two different buses due to some miscommunications. However, the tour was totally worth it. Our guide Jay and driver John started us out on open highway with trees turning colors on both sides. The little town of Kennebunkport simply could not take the onslaught of so much traffic and buses; although they were happy for business, I’m sure the locals were quite annoyed at the jams we caused. Beautiful stores and merchandise, but only 90 minutes to shop. Clearly, with that many people in this little town, 90 minutes does not offer much time to do anything. You either pick shopping or pick a place to eat. Wish we had more time here.

The rest of the tour resulted in more lovely pictures and a drive-by of the Bush compound; since they were in residence, we had to take a drive-by picture. I would recommend this to anyone, but book early in order to get a spot. Keep in mind that they do load up the buses, so, most likely, you will have to sit two to a seat.

Read Dragonesque's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wdlnds58
5 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

This tour took you around the sights of Portland and then on to Kennebunkport. You see many of the sights from the bus, which are clean and comfortable. We had a great guide who was informative and friendly. They do let you out at a few stops, with lunch in Kennebunkport. We ate at Allison's (lobster roll and clam strips) which was good and enjoyed some shopping there.

Read wdlnds58's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image maachi
4 reviews
Aug 2013

excellent tour which showed us kennebunkport city followed by ocean drive and visit past the george bush summer home and various other Victorian homes

Read maachi's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ohiocruiser
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Kennebunkport was great

Read Ohiocruiser's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hillbilly1
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Great guide Bill I believe.  Not enough time for shopping

Read hillbilly1's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image nancylc
1 review
Oct 2012

Before we did the Kennenbunkport tour we got off the ship and bought two tickets for the city bus tour (there is a stand on the dock where you can purchase each ticket for $5.00 each.) We took the bus around to get aquainted, shopped in some of the cute little shops close by and had lunch at Allsions. Lunch was very dissapointing. We had the lobster roll and lobster bisque and there was about a teapsoon of lobster in the roll. Allisons was on the main strip of restaurants, maybe we just chose the wrong one. Loved Loved Loved the Kennebunkport Tour! Kennebunkport is adorable and we went during the fall foliage season so it had beautiful colors! Quaint little shop and wonderful homemade blueberry pie ala mode at all the restaurants! The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly.

Read nancylc's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image CRUISEBOY305
8 reviews
Oct 2012
Last port was Portland. I did the Best of Portland and Kennebunkport. Great tour, except it was very foggy in Portland so it was very hard to site see. Once we got to Kennebunkport the weather was gorgeous. Like Bar Harbor, Kennebunkport has lots of quaint little shops, restaurants and coffee shops. We drove by the Bush Family Compound. In Kennebunkport I had lunch at Bartley's Dockside. Great little restaurant right on the main road. Had the Lobster Roll which was fantastic. Mrs. B, who is one of the owners, makes the blueberry pies herself which is delicious.
Read CRUISEBOY305's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Hoyaken
1 review
Sep 2012
Recommended. Good scenery, shops and dining.
Read Hoyaken's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.