Newport Cliff Walk Excursion Reviews

Newport Cliff Walk cruise excursion
Overall Rating
For an unusual and sight-filled expedition, no trip to Newport is complete without a guided cliff walk.
Member Image yourit1234
1 review
Oct 2016
An amazing walk
Read yourit1234's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image optiman32
4 reviews
Sep 2016
Great local guide and driver. Showed us the historical parts of the city and cliff walk before our tour of Chateau Sur-Mer which was amazing
Read optiman32's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Newport private tours
Member Image rsato
11 reviews
Sep 2016
Nice walk along the shore with views of the mansions built during an earlier era. We toured the Vanderbilt's Breakers which was interesting.
Read rsato's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ricardo13
1 review
Sep 2016
Nice
Read Ricardo13's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image whatwillksaid
1 review
Sep 2016
This tour focused more on the house than the cliff walk & the tour guides didn't do a great job of making it interesting. I also didn't enjoy how commericial Newport was in comparision to the other ports.
Read whatwillksaid's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Gardener222
7 reviews
Jun 2014

Best most informative memorable tour of the trip. the guide, a retired naval officer shared historical stories about the Newport society and current happenings in Newport. She was enthusiastic and was approachable. Of all our tours her enthusiasm, knowledge and friendliness stands out.

Read Gardener222's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Jst4fun137
1 review
Sep 2013

3 homes, The Elms. Breakers and Marble House with the servant life tour and lunch for 49.00 The cliff walk you can do on your own

Read Jst4fun137's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: The Preservation Society
Member Image oboebbr
1 review
Jun 2012
This is a stunning walk to help burn off some of the cruise ship calories! It gets rough in the southern part, so probably best not to be in a hurry if you want to do the whole walk. The views are stunning and I'm not talking about the backs of the Newport Mansions that you will see along the way. The ocean, the geology, the flora and fauna all make it understandable why everyone loves Newport.
Read oboebbr's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gemini0660
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Breathtakingly beautiful views but VERY hot...many parts of walk were blocked by overgrowth.
Read gemini0660's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Newport Visitor's Center
Member Image Kat_Cruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
While the cliff walk was very interesting, the day was extremely hot and for some reason the guides decided to extend the walk when I think most people would have been happy to just head on to the mansion to get out of the sun and heat. Unfortunately, the original group was split in two and we got a guide who must have been very new. She had to consult her notes frequently, didn't know the answer to a lot of questions and often repeated herself along the walk. Still she was pleasant as could be. and the walk was pretty.
Read Kat_Cruiser's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?