Boston Duck Tour Excursion Reviews

Boston Duck Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
For a totally unique touring experience, hop on board one of Boston's amphibious duck boats.
Member Image TexasDavid7
3 reviews
Oct 2016
A bit long on the tour thru town but good fun on a long water run.
Read TexasDavid7's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dossbig
1 review
Oct 2016
Good tour on Charles River
Read dossbig's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Edgewater601
1 review
Oct 2016
Good tour for a brief overall view of Boston proper. After the tour, we set out on our own.
Read Edgewater601's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lattelady
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Fun way to see some highlights
Read lattelady's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mimijes
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Interesting and fun. Tour guide was a character!
Read mimijes's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Boston Duck Tour
Member Image joenicola
1 review
Sep 2016
Entertaining and informative.
Read joenicola's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Paul.Mellott
1 review
Sep 2016
Interesting. The guides knew alot of history, and shared it freely. Pretty good tour.
Read Paul.Mellott's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image aamons
3 reviews
Apr 2016
The Boston Duck Tours are excellent! Coast Guard licensed captains are well versed in Boston lore and history and do a super job of providing just the right amount of commentary without droning on and on. We have taken a Boston Duck Tour before (from the Prudential Center) and saw a new part of Boston leaving from the port. Excellent value and tons of fun - especially when quacking at other Duck Tour vessels.
Read aamons's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Alaska_addict
2 reviews
Nov 2015
very bumpy and hard to hear the commentary if you sit in the back
Read Alaska_addict's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image busyone
4 reviews
Sep 2015
Duck Tour gave good overview of city. Our driver had good knowledge of the area and shared many interesting facts with us during the tour.
Read busyone's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image laura8951
2 reviews
Sep 2015
The ship was supposed to dock until 2 PM, which I already thought was a late start. Because of issues with the propulsion motor and headwinds, we did not actually dock until 4 PM, causing many of the excursions to be cancelled. My Freedom Trail walking tour was cancelled, but I was able to get on the Boston Duck tour. The guide was informative, interesting, and funny. The tour gave a good overview of the city, but not an in-depth one as the vehicle was moving most of the time. The best part was when the truck became a boat and we drove into the Charles River. Overall, the excursion felt rushed with no time for lingering or getting souvenirs. Because all of the passengers were on just a few tours, there was a huge backup returning to the ship. Carnival did open a second gangplank, but it did not help those of us already waiting in line
Read laura8951's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jeannie Baby
1 review
Jul 2015
We travelled by Duck, an old military vechile that one can drive or go into the water. It was fantastic to drive into Lake Charles. Boston is clean and great.
Read Jeannie Baby's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image ivygirl210
1 review
Apr 2015
Loved it. We took a cab from the ship. ($25) Seats a bit too small but our driver/duck guide, Mack was great. Lots of history. Fun to drive into the river. He let the children on the boat actually steer while in water. They seemed to enjoy. Cab back to ship was only $17. Go figure.
Read ivygirl210's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Careena
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

It was an interesting tour both on land and sea. Our tour guide was PJ & she was very upbeat and kept us well informed while injecting a lot of humor. The duck was comfortable and all were able to see. It was an interesting tour as well as enjoyable. A nice way to spend a couple of hours.

Read Careena's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Wanetadrift
3 reviews
Sep 2014

Wow what a town Boston is! So much history and sights. Our tour guide called himself the "Codfather" and was most interesting , fun, and knowledgable of the history The Duck went into the Charles River and we did a little tour on the water and he let anyone who wanted to drive the duck. If wanted he would drop you at Quincy's square and you could taxi or shuttle back at about $12 per person or you could hoof it in 40 minutes. Boston is like NYC on a smaller scale, lots of buildings, no parking, lot of traffic and people. Enjoyed this excursion a lot.

Read Wanetadrift's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BlueRiband
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Horrible heavy rain and traffic, but the tour turned out to be a good choice under the circumstances. Nice ride on the Charles River and the driver allowed those who wanted to steer the boat in the water the chance to do so.

Read BlueRiband's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image VacationsRme
3 reviews
Oct 2013

This was a fun trip. We only drove by the sights and got a small view of this beautiful town. We choose this due to lack of walking mobility with my Dad. Good choice if you have problems walking.

Read VacationsRme's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Clappy
1 review
Sep 2013

We took a Duck Tour in Boston which was a couple of hours long and focused mainly on the historical sites around the city. Since this is not really my "thing" I found it really boring; however, my husband really enjoyed it.

Read Clappy's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tlcalldritt
1 review
Sep 2013

Boston - We did the duck tour and our driver/tour guide was funny, knowledgeable and we saw many sites. We chose to get off @ Faniel Hall and The Quincy Market - Great place to see history and eat lunch! We bought a bus ticket back to the pier ahead of time, but when boarding the bus, we realized that they let anyone with a Princess cruisecard on the bus for a ride back to the pier - $20 wasted!

Read tlcalldritt's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image gemini0660
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Love the Duck Boats (always do this tour if offered!) the driver/guide was hysterically funny...well worth the $$.
Read gemini0660's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Boston Duck Boat Tours
Member Image cfcsarg
5 reviews
Not Rated
May 2012
First time on a duck tour. Wonderful and different!
Read cfcsarg's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?