Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Port Canaveral Cocoa Beach Excursion Reviews

Port Canaveral Cocoa Beach cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Established in the 1800’s in the center of the famed Indian River, Cocoa Beach, accessible from Port Canaveral, offers a sight into old Florida.
Member Image mopeygoff
1 review
Aug 2014

Our first stop, Port Canaveral, we chose to do the beach day. Getting off the ship was a breeze, but then we boarded the bus. The bus had a broken air conditioner. Heat and no air conditioning is a bad combination for northerners like us. My fiancee felt like she was going to pass out and we barely made it to the 7-11 next door to the drop off point. We had to buy a bunch of water and rehydrate and stand in the air for a while before we could go down to the beach. The return trip had air conditioning, so that was fine.

There was a rental place right on the beach. The people were super friendly. You could rent an umbrella, 2 chairs, and a boogie board for $40 (total, you get $10.00 back).

Read mopeygoff's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image blackshadrack
1 review
May 2014

Either we were let out at the low rent end or the beach is just trashy. After walking on to the sand in our barefeet we had to hurry up and put on our water shoes because the sand was FULL of ground up seashells and walking in your bare feet was hazardous. Before the beach we went to Cocoa Village and outside of places to eat, all of the shops look like they were in your grandparents basement. Nothing even worthwhile mentioning.

Read blackshadrack's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image susonka
1 review
May 2014

This is a nice beach. It reminds me of the Jersey shore as opposed to a white sand Caribbean beach. It was a little crowded, but we found a spot with no problem. The water is a little rough with a lot of waves - my 5 year old loved it. The water was nice and warm. We had no problem getting on the shuttle back and forth to the ship. We had a very short wait both times. The shops around the beach are normal gift shops and some chain stores like Walgreens. We went through the Ron Jon gift store where there are some good deals to be found.

Read susonka's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 1stcruiseandwithoutthekid
1 review
Mar 2014

Horrible, complete waste of time

Read 1stcruiseandwithoutthekid's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Skell
2 reviews
Feb 2014

we just went to the beach after stopping at ron jons and it is a huge store but it was nice to see even though i didnt buy anything. everything is really expensive. we went across the street and got cheap souvenirs and bathing suits.

Read Skell's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image thezeit
1 review
Nov 2013

Weather seemed nice at ship but was very blowy at beach so didn't stay long. Can rent chairs. Beach a block from where shuttle leaves you off. Nothing much else. Should have stayed on ship. NASA tours looked nice but pricey. Disneyworld, etc. seem too far away and too short for money.

Read thezeit's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Edster8
1 review
Jun 2013

On the third day, we docked in Port Canaveral, Florida where they had this one excursion called the:
"Coco Beach Shopping Shuttle" and there was a variety of things that you could do, there was a "Ron Jon Surf Shop where there was a big fish tank and there was a shark in there and also other kinds of fish. There was a McDonalds right down the street if you and your kids were hungry and there would be a Shuttle Bus that you would take to the Shopping place, it would take you approximately 10 to 15 minutes.

Read Edster8's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jpanda1
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

A short ride to the beach. The tour guides did show us some of the area as we drove and they were very amusing. They even gave out tips for going to the beach.

Read jpanda1's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image j_jozwick
1 review
Apr 2013
Was just ok. Beach is dirty and small but kids loved it. Shops all around and easy beach rentals available.
Read j_jozwick's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image srroth
1 review
Mar 2013
It was cold and we did not stay there for very long.
Read srroth's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image DrDiggz
1 review
Feb 2013
Quick bus ride to the Ron Jon Surf shop and coco beach. Simple and easily worth the 15 bucks.
Read DrDiggz's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ssgmike
4 reviews
Feb 2013
wife loved shopping as this was part of air boat.
Read ssgmike's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image CTJoeCruiser
3 reviews
Jan 2013
Booked Shuttle b/w Cocoa Beach, Cocoa Village, & Ship through Carnival with Tour operator. Transportation was a good deal @ $17 per person for unlimited use throughout the day. Cocoa Village was nothing to write home about. Cocoa Beach seemed nice, including the pier ... we just didn't have a great weather day. Would go back to Cocoa Beach on a "good beach day"!
Read CTJoeCruiser's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Cliffy204
1 review
Jan 2013
We booked the Beach excursion for $17/person and liked it. We did a lot of shopping on the main strip and going to the beach. The highlight was sitting on the beach watching the 20 something girl trying to feed the seagulls and getting attacked by the swarm that came.
Read Cliffy204's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Cjnerin424
1 review
Jan 2013
My husband and his buddy decided to book an excursion for surf lessons at Ron Jon's surf school. They had a great time, and since the excursion was booked through Carnival, they provided transportation. My girlfriend & I decided we were going to catch a cab over to Cocoa beach to meet up with our boys. Getting off the ship, there were people more than willing to help us to get where we needed. Cabs were lined up outside to take anyone where they needed to go. It was $6 per person for cab fare, which wasn't bad at all. We were dropped off right on Cocoa beach where we were able to walk along side the water on a beautiful sunny day. The water was a little chilly, so we opted to lay on the beach and catch some rays. We even had time to grab a bite to eat at Captain J's, a nice restaurant right on the beach. That was also my first time having gator tails!!
Read Cjnerin424's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image argyllsock
1 review
Dec 2012
Did what it was supposed to to do - get us from the port to the beach. Other than the beach, there is nothing to do in Cocoa Beach.
Read argyllsock's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Terribet
1 review
Dec 2012
Crowded bus dropped us off near Ron Jon Surf Shop. Did some shopping (we needed a corkscrew) and then went to the beach. Water was too cold to swim in and beach was crowded. Nothing interesting to do or see on the beach. Had a nice lunch at the Sandbar Sports Grill. Note: if you say yes to your picture being taken - it will cost you :(
Read Terribet's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image czar from afar
2 reviews
Dec 2012
We took a bus off the cruise ship to the Cocoa Beach Surf Company and arranged for private surf lessons. It was a great way to spend the day, and I learned that we are a family of naturals.
Read czar from afar's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image whosonacruise
1 review
Dec 2012
We took the shuttle into Cocoa Beach. Comfortable, air-conditioned coach. About a 20 minute ride. They dropped us off near the Ron Jon Surf Shop. A very short walk to the beach, or to the public restroom facilities. There is also a CVS pharmacy, a Walgreens, and a 7-11 all within walking distance. There is an option to take another shuttle over to Cocoa Village, which we had done on a previous cruise; however even though Cocoa Village is pretty, we just didn't find much to do there. So, this time we spent a very relaxing few hours lazing on the beach in rented beach chairs, reading, strolling along the surf, and generally enjoying the scene. We also had a bit of excitement when what turned out to be a secret US Air Force unmanned spacecraft was launched from Cape Canaveral, causing a loud roar and a dramatic trail of smoke high in the sky. We liked that the shuttle ran to and from the cruise terminal every 30 minutes, so it was very convenient to leave when you felt like it. Overall, we feel that this inexpensive excursion is a great alternative to a more expensive and/or planned activity.
Read whosonacruise's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MrBanana1240
4 reviews
Nov 2012
The people on the bus gave us some information on what we were driving by. It was a great way to get out and do something. And only $18 (10 for me and 8 for my son) I recommend it. Also try the surf lessons if you are interested.
Read MrBanana1240's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MrBanana1240
4 reviews
Nov 2012
Cheap shuttle to Ron Jon. You can visit anywhere. On nice days, go to the beach. It is worth it.
Read MrBanana1240's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Copperdog62
1 review
Oct 2012
Shuttle was easy to find and very convenient way to get to Cocoa Beach...Was only $12 pp. There is a shopping area, beach and other low key places to visit there...plus the return shuttle comes every 15-30 minutes!
Read Copperdog62's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ssstacie
1 review
Sep 2012
FUn beach! TOok a cab easily there and back. Cabs wait at the beach.
Read ssstacie's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Cab
Member Image ariesmom
1 review
Aug 2012
Can't say enough about Ron Jon Surf School!!! They were fantastic! Had both kids up on their boards on the first try. Worth every penny! Friendly, open instructors on a lovely stretch of beach, what's not to like.
Read ariesmom's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Grandmaduckie
1 review
Jun 2012
Cocoa Beach was nice. We had use of their umbrellas. Shopped at Bealls Outlet and found some good bargains.
Read Grandmaduckie's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Not Sure
Member Image Icecreammaker
1 review
May 2012
We opted to take a shuttle to Cocoa Beach because we wanted to lay on the beach and do some swimming. The weather was hot and nice. We had fun shopping at the Ron Jon surf shop, not much else to there but it was nice.
Read Icecreammaker's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image oneduck
4 reviews
Mar 2012
It is just a bus ride to Ron Jon and Coco Beach, but it is quick and efficient and you can come back anytime you want of course up until 6 pm when the ship was leaving at 9 pm that night
Read oneduck's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image limeyalchemist
2 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2012
Our excursions were low key this year since this was our second visit in 12 months. In Florida we caught a taxi to Ron Jon's Cape Caribe resort thanks to my B-i-L. Great place to have an excursion, NCL; only 10 mins from the ship to a beautiful water park. Cab ride cost us $5 pp to get there, but only $3 pp to get back...very odd. Cheap day out. Great water park amenities including huge water slide, volleyball net over the pool, lazy river, etc. Food was expensive though. This was NOT an organized shore excursion, we arranged it ourselves privately. I believe the resort allows day pass purchases.
Read limeyalchemist's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image johndeere02
1 review
Mar 2012
It was easy getting off the ship and right onto the shuttle bus. It dropped us off and picked us up right between Ron Jon's Surf Shop and Cocoa Beach.
Read johndeere02's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lynda Glass
1 review
Mar 2012
Close by, good relaxing day, great weather. Really nice place
Read Lynda Glass's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image johnnyga
4 reviews
Jan 2012
Efficient but expensive for a short bus ride. Too cold to spend too much time on the beach. Manatee boat ride was sold out months before the cruise. Very disappointed in that.
Read johnnyga's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image galian84
3 reviews
Dec 2011
Maybe it was the weather (it was cold down in Florida!) but it definitely wasn't a beach day. Gray skies and cold water...we spent most of our time sitting idly on the beach and wandering around the area. It was nice to see where "I Dream of Jeannie" took place, though!
Read galian84's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.