Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Port Canaveral (Orlando) Cocoa Beach Excursion Reviews

Port Canaveral (Orlando) Cocoa Beach cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Established in the 1800’s in the center of the famed Indian River, Cocoa Beach, accessible from Port Canaveral, offers a sight into old Florida.
Member Image Jilly65
1 review
Aug 2015
Not very exciting. Just your average beach.
Read Jilly65's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SunLover70
1 review
Aug 2015
The instructor seemed to add another surfer to the group that was not part of the lesson group when he had 6 already. The other person did not have the shirt that those in the lesson were required to wear. He seemed to give that person more attention than the people in the actual lesson.
Read SunLover70's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image croozr
2 reviews
Jul 2015
it wasn't anything special. Just a regular beach. Not many fun things to do there since everything is somewhat distant from the port.
Read croozr's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CantWaitToCrz
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Easy shuttle to get a couple blocks away from a public beach and popular shopping stores.
Read CantWaitToCrz's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Marrietta
1 review
Jun 2015
Just a beach! Had wanted to go to Kennedy Space Center but they only offered 9 hr tours......much too long
Read Marrietta's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pchun
1 review
Jun 2015
Beach wasn't what we expected. The sand was not soft like you'd expect from the tropical setting.
Read pchun's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image crystalclearwater65
1 review
May 2015
There is absolutely NOTHING at the port itself. Took the shuttle to cocoa beach... Very expensive and not worth it at all. Wish I had stayed on ship.
Read crystalclearwater65's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image garden flower
1 review
May 2015
Went to the beach and shopped beautiful weather. The weather was nice and we walked around a lot it got very, very hot , we took some pics and looked for our friends, we did not find them.
Read garden flower's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: 88
Member Image tiredlady
1 review
May 2015
We took the combination beach and village bus. Tour guides were nice - told us a little about the area. Buses had decent a/c - it was VERY hot and humid when we were there. Bus schedule had us back early. Could have used a little more beach time.
Read tiredlady's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rtroino506@aol.com
1 review
May 2015
Not impressed at all. Very strong waves, and not shade, not trees. It is a ghost town, just the beach, only one restaurant. Was very windy that day.not many stores neither
Read rtroino506@aol.com's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image finsup01
7 reviews
Apr 2015
Not worth seeing. Went to the beach and found ourselves in the middle of a drug deal going on on the boardwalk. Went to the public restrooms and heard strange noises being made by two men. Left the beach, got back on the bus and went back to the ship. If we were to go back we would go to the space center but would like it if they had less than an eight hour tour of the facility.
Read finsup01's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rosiep30
1 review
Apr 2015
It was tourist shopping. The weather was uncooperative so we cut it short and went back to the ship........................... We took advantage and ran to Walgreen to get some last minute things we had forgotten.
Read Rosiep30's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Twokidsandamortgage
1 review
Apr 2015
Great value, well organized.At $16 for adults and $12 for kids, it couldn't be beat. The beach is beautiful, but the waves may be a bit much for some smaller children.
Read Twokidsandamortgage's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Debz6037
1 review
Apr 2015
Spent a great day at the beach. Saw a rocket being launched which took us by surprise. I also had my picture taken with a blue macaw parrot. It was great !
Read Debz6037's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SandChair53
1 review
Apr 2015
Its a beach if you like to sit on the beach all day, its great. Visit the Ron Jon shop, it was pretty cool. It rained so we needed to clear the beach much early than we would have liked unfortunately. All in all a good beach day.
Read SandChair53's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jcvcruiser
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Went to Ron Jon Surf Shop to pick up T-shirts and flip flops then to Walgreens to get snacks, etc., Decided a quick bus trip to Coca Beach was the way to go rather than hail a local taxi.
Read jcvcruiser's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pJSnow12
1 review
Apr 2015
There is transportation once you get off the boat. We took a small bus over to the beach and there is a place to get chairs and an umbrella and you can just go find your spot and relax.
Read pJSnow12's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mochach1p
1 review
Mar 2015
The first stop was a Ron Jons or something like that....I had never heard of it nor would I have paid to be taken to a store. Nothing special in the area at all, spent 45 minutes there then they raved about taking us to a hardware store downtown. I didn't get off the bus because I was so disappointed with the excursion. The majority of people on the bus agreed. I was told that I would have to get off the bus back at Ron Jons and wait in line for another bus to take me back to the ship. I asked for my money back when I returned and was told no because there were no refunds for excursions.
Read Mochach1p's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rory2004
1 review
Mar 2015
The beach had sand fleas which pretty much everyone e was complaining about unless you had lots of big spray. The water was nice though but the "no see ems" kind of wrecked the experience. If you do go do try the surfing.
Read Rory2004's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Coke98
2 reviews
Mar 2015
We waited at the Terminal in a smelly parking area for an hour 1/2 to leave which left us 3 hours for the Beach and Village. If your on the Breakaway these ports suck at handling Mega-Ships!
Read Coke98's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SteveD24
1 review
Mar 2015
Family booked a van shuttle ($8 RT) at the cruise terminal, that took us to a fun shopping center, in Coco Beach. Highlight was $1 mararitas. It was only a shot two block walk, to the beach. Beach was nice. Had fun body surfing, and, sun bathing. Brought towels from ship, and, a beach blanket, from home.
Read SteveD24's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Koochigoo
1 review
Mar 2015

RCCL controls the port so you have to book with them or you can't get anywhere. No other taxi or shuttles allowed to go in there.

Read Koochigoo's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Shepperd
1 review
Dec 2014

Cocoa Beach has a few shops offering the same style "craft show" clothing and jewelry. A few restaurants /bars which were not open and three ice cream shops. Best option to pick-up inexpensive snacks and soda at the 7/11 shop.

Read Shepperd's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kernie968
3 reviews
Dec 2014

The Cocoa Beach excursion is good if you want to pick up some souvenirs from Florida, but that is it. We were dropped off at a store and did not even know which way to go to find the beach. The beach we found did not have a changing area or bathroom. We spent a few minutes on the beach,went back to the shops and went back to the ship. It took us longer to get off the ship and get the bus, than the time we spent a Cocoa Beach. Was not fun and wished we had just stayed on the ship.

Read kernie968's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sunkissed13
2 reviews
Oct 2014

cocoa beach and city is a tourist trap, not worth the trip, ride or fuss. should have stayed on the ship which was empty.

Read sunkissed13's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: 888 Cab company
Member Image mopeygoff
1 review
Aug 2014

Our first stop, Port Canaveral, we chose to do the beach day. Getting off the ship was a breeze, but then we boarded the bus. The bus had a broken air conditioner. Heat and no air conditioning is a bad combination for northerners like us. My fiancee felt like she was going to pass out and we barely made it to the 7-11 next door to the drop off point. We had to buy a bunch of water and rehydrate and stand in the air for a while before we could go down to the beach. The return trip had air conditioning, so that was fine.

There was a rental place right on the beach. The people were super friendly. You could rent an umbrella, 2 chairs, and a boogie board for $40 (total, you get $10.00 back).

Read mopeygoff's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image blackshadrack
1 review
May 2014

Either we were let out at the low rent end or the beach is just trashy. After walking on to the sand in our barefeet we had to hurry up and put on our water shoes because the sand was FULL of ground up seashells and walking in your bare feet was hazardous. Before the beach we went to Cocoa Village and outside of places to eat, all of the shops look like they were in your grandparents basement. Nothing even worthwhile mentioning.

Read blackshadrack's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image !cocruising!
5 reviews
May 2014

Too crowded. Good waves, surfing was nice - little scary at times. You can rent chair ; umbrella pretty much it all. I would not do it again. Hardly any place to even put your stuff on the beach - it was that crowded.

Read !cocruising!'s full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image susonka
1 review
May 2014

This is a nice beach. It reminds me of the Jersey shore as opposed to a white sand Caribbean beach. It was a little crowded, but we found a spot with no problem. The water is a little rough with a lot of waves - my 5 year old loved it. The water was nice and warm. We had no problem getting on the shuttle back and forth to the ship. We had a very short wait both times. The shops around the beach are normal gift shops and some chain stores like Walgreens. We went through the Ron Jon gift store where there are some good deals to be found.

Read susonka's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 1stcruiseandwithoutthekid
1 review
Mar 2014

Horrible, complete waste of time

Read 1stcruiseandwithoutthekid's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Skell
2 reviews
Feb 2014

we just went to the beach after stopping at ron jons and it is a huge store but it was nice to see even though i didnt buy anything. everything is really expensive. we went across the street and got cheap souvenirs and bathing suits.

Read Skell's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image thezeit
2 reviews
Nov 2013

Weather seemed nice at ship but was very blowy at beach so didn't stay long. Can rent chairs. Beach a block from where shuttle leaves you off. Nothing much else. Should have stayed on ship. NASA tours looked nice but pricey. Disneyworld, etc. seem too far away and too short for money.

Read thezeit's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Edster8
1 review
Jun 2013

On the third day, we docked in Port Canaveral, Florida where they had this one excursion called the:
"Coco Beach Shopping Shuttle" and there was a variety of things that you could do, there was a "Ron Jon Surf Shop where there was a big fish tank and there was a shark in there and also other kinds of fish. There was a McDonalds right down the street if you and your kids were hungry and there would be a Shuttle Bus that you would take to the Shopping place, it would take you approximately 10 to 15 minutes.

Read Edster8's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jpanda1
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

A short ride to the beach. The tour guides did show us some of the area as we drove and they were very amusing. They even gave out tips for going to the beach.

Read jpanda1's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image j_jozwick
1 review
Apr 2013
Was just ok. Beach is dirty and small but kids loved it. Shops all around and easy beach rentals available.
Read j_jozwick's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image srroth
1 review
Mar 2013
It was cold and we did not stay there for very long.
Read srroth's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image DrDiggz
1 review
Feb 2013
Quick bus ride to the Ron Jon Surf shop and coco beach. Simple and easily worth the 15 bucks.
Read DrDiggz's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ssgmike
4 reviews
Feb 2013
wife loved shopping as this was part of air boat.
Read ssgmike's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CTJoeCruiser
3 reviews
Jan 2013
Booked Shuttle b/w Cocoa Beach, Cocoa Village, & Ship through Carnival with Tour operator. Transportation was a good deal @ $17 per person for unlimited use throughout the day. Cocoa Village was nothing to write home about. Cocoa Beach seemed nice, including the pier ... we just didn't have a great weather day. Would go back to Cocoa Beach on a "good beach day"!
Read CTJoeCruiser's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cliffy204
1 review
Jan 2013
We booked the Beach excursion for $17/person and liked it. We did a lot of shopping on the main strip and going to the beach. The highlight was sitting on the beach watching the 20 something girl trying to feed the seagulls and getting attacked by the swarm that came.
Read Cliffy204's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cjnerin424
1 review
Jan 2013
My husband and his buddy decided to book an excursion for surf lessons at Ron Jon's surf school. They had a great time, and since the excursion was booked through Carnival, they provided transportation. My girlfriend & I decided we were going to catch a cab over to Cocoa beach to meet up with our boys. Getting off the ship, there were people more than willing to help us to get where we needed. Cabs were lined up outside to take anyone where they needed to go. It was $6 per person for cab fare, which wasn't bad at all. We were dropped off right on Cocoa beach where we were able to walk along side the water on a beautiful sunny day. The water was a little chilly, so we opted to lay on the beach and catch some rays. We even had time to grab a bite to eat at Captain J's, a nice restaurant right on the beach. That was also my first time having gator tails!!
Read Cjnerin424's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image argyllsock
1 review
Dec 2012
Did what it was supposed to to do - get us from the port to the beach. Other than the beach, there is nothing to do in Cocoa Beach.
Read argyllsock's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Terribet
1 review
Dec 2012
Crowded bus dropped us off near Ron Jon Surf Shop. Did some shopping (we needed a corkscrew) and then went to the beach. Water was too cold to swim in and beach was crowded. Nothing interesting to do or see on the beach. Had a nice lunch at the Sandbar Sports Grill. Note: if you say yes to your picture being taken - it will cost you :(
Read Terribet's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image czar from afar
2 reviews
Dec 2012
We took a bus off the cruise ship to the Cocoa Beach Surf Company and arranged for private surf lessons. It was a great way to spend the day, and I learned that we are a family of naturals.
Read czar from afar's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image whosonacruise
1 review
Dec 2012
We took the shuttle into Cocoa Beach. Comfortable, air-conditioned coach. About a 20 minute ride. They dropped us off near the Ron Jon Surf Shop. A very short walk to the beach, or to the public restroom facilities. There is also a CVS pharmacy, a Walgreens, and a 7-11 all within walking distance. There is an option to take another shuttle over to Cocoa Village, which we had done on a previous cruise; however even though Cocoa Village is pretty, we just didn't find much to do there. So, this time we spent a very relaxing few hours lazing on the beach in rented beach chairs, reading, strolling along the surf, and generally enjoying the scene. We also had a bit of excitement when what turned out to be a secret US Air Force unmanned spacecraft was launched from Cape Canaveral, causing a loud roar and a dramatic trail of smoke high in the sky. We liked that the shuttle ran to and from the cruise terminal every 30 minutes, so it was very convenient to leave when you felt like it. Overall, we feel that this inexpensive excursion is a great alternative to a more expensive and/or planned activity.
Read whosonacruise's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MrBanana1240
4 reviews
Nov 2012
The people on the bus gave us some information on what we were driving by. It was a great way to get out and do something. And only $18 (10 for me and 8 for my son) I recommend it. Also try the surf lessons if you are interested.
Read MrBanana1240's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MrBanana1240
4 reviews
Nov 2012
Cheap shuttle to Ron Jon. You can visit anywhere. On nice days, go to the beach. It is worth it.
Read MrBanana1240's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Copperdog62
1 review
Oct 2012
Shuttle was easy to find and very convenient way to get to Cocoa Beach...Was only $12 pp. There is a shopping area, beach and other low key places to visit there...plus the return shuttle comes every 15-30 minutes!
Read Copperdog62's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ssstacie
1 review
Sep 2012
FUn beach! TOok a cab easily there and back. Cabs wait at the beach.
Read ssstacie's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Cab
Member Image ariesmom
1 review
Aug 2012
Can't say enough about Ron Jon Surf School!!! They were fantastic! Had both kids up on their boards on the first try. Worth every penny! Friendly, open instructors on a lovely stretch of beach, what's not to like.
Read ariesmom's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Grandmaduckie
1 review
Jun 2012
Cocoa Beach was nice. We had use of their umbrellas. Shopped at Bealls Outlet and found some good bargains.
Read Grandmaduckie's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Not Sure
Member Image Icecreammaker
1 review
May 2012
We opted to take a shuttle to Cocoa Beach because we wanted to lay on the beach and do some swimming. The weather was hot and nice. We had fun shopping at the Ron Jon surf shop, not much else to there but it was nice.
Read Icecreammaker's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image oneduck
4 reviews
Mar 2012
It is just a bus ride to Ron Jon and Coco Beach, but it is quick and efficient and you can come back anytime you want of course up until 6 pm when the ship was leaving at 9 pm that night
Read oneduck's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image limeyalchemist
2 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2012
Our excursions were low key this year since this was our second visit in 12 months. In Florida we caught a taxi to Ron Jon's Cape Caribe resort thanks to my B-i-L. Great place to have an excursion, NCL; only 10 mins from the ship to a beautiful water park. Cab ride cost us $5 pp to get there, but only $3 pp to get back...very odd. Cheap day out. Great water park amenities including huge water slide, volleyball net over the pool, lazy river, etc. Food was expensive though. This was NOT an organized shore excursion, we arranged it ourselves privately. I believe the resort allows day pass purchases.
Read limeyalchemist's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image johndeere02
1 review
Mar 2012
It was easy getting off the ship and right onto the shuttle bus. It dropped us off and picked us up right between Ron Jon's Surf Shop and Cocoa Beach.
Read johndeere02's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lynda Glass
1 review
Mar 2012
Close by, good relaxing day, great weather. Really nice place
Read Lynda Glass's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image johnnyga
4 reviews
Jan 2012
Efficient but expensive for a short bus ride. Too cold to spend too much time on the beach. Manatee boat ride was sold out months before the cruise. Very disappointed in that.
Read johnnyga's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image galian84
3 reviews
Dec 2011
Maybe it was the weather (it was cold down in Florida!) but it definitely wasn't a beach day. Gray skies and cold water...we spent most of our time sitting idly on the beach and wandering around the area. It was nice to see where "I Dream of Jeannie" took place, though!
Read galian84's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.