Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Turk Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Grand Turk Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Peek below the surface of Grand Turk's clear blue water for a glimpse at the Atlantic Ocean's bewildering variety of fascinating marine life.
Member Image cruiser@gmail.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Ultimate Snorkeling was great.
Read cruiser@gmail.com's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image GBpedsRN4life
1 review
Mar 2016
We've been here several times as well and we usually just hang out at MArgaritaville and the beach right near the cruise pier. This time we wanted to they a boat trip for open water snorkeling, but of course did not want to pay the cruise excursion prices. We walked off the pier and through the welcome center and headed for the beach in front of Margaritaville. We started walking down the beach and looked for a roped off area where private tour boats are beached on shore. We found a real gem of a family run business called "Exclusive Escapes." It's small and no frills. Faithanne welcomes you on the beach. She's a Wisconsin native who's now living the good life on Grand Turk. (Jealous!!!) She checked us in and fitted us with all our needed gear. We shared the boat trip with one other family. Her husband and his friend are the captains: Capt. Ed and Capt. Eric. We felt COMPLETELY safe with them. They are retired coast guard and police officer, who have lived all their lives on the water. We made two snorkel stops for the $45 each price. They get in the water with you at each stop to keep you safe and show you where to look. They feed the fish so they come close. Gosh, we had a fabulous time and sipped a little rum punch on the way back to shore. Back at the beach, we wanted to continue the fun, so we used their power snorkel Sea-Doo motors for more shore snorkeling. What a BLAST! We had lunch at Jack's Shack on the beach. I thought it was just OK. I think we'll go into town for lunch instead next time. Then it was time to lounge in the shade for a while with some tropical drinks until ship departure time. We always love Grand Turk!
Read GBpedsRN4life's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Exclusive Escapes Grand Turk
Member Image ATLCruiseCat
4 reviews
Feb 2016
Chukka Tours Ultimate Snorkel Adventure - Horseshoe Reef and The Wall. It was a nice excursion, excellent snorkeling and great scenery. Great value for time and what we were able to see. Would do it again.
Read ATLCruiseCat's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SuperdudeAbides
1 review
Dec 2015
Great excursion, well administered, good time.
Read SuperdudeAbides's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image psychopharmacist
2 reviews
Dec 2015
As expected. The staff was friendly and courteous. Thanks!
Read psychopharmacist's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image theBrosher
1 review
Nov 2015
We booked the Ultimate Snorkelling trip. We were taken to 2 spots - one over "The Wall" which is a 7000 foot drop off and another spot over a coral reef closer to shore. There were 100's of fish to see and the guides were out feeding the fish to create quite the show! The guides were very friendly and knowledgable. The only downfall? It went by too quickly!
Read theBrosher's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image SusieKIslandGirl
1 review
Oct 2015
Our 2 hour snorkel trip with Blue Water Divers was great. The boat takes only a small number of people so we didn't have a bunch of swim fins in our face. The tour leaders had checked out several sites before our trip so we had the best spots for the day.
Read SusieKIslandGirl's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Blue Water Divers
Member Image Reddebbil
1 review
Aug 2015
This excursion was combined with the sting ray swim. Snorkeling was difficult even for those in good physical condition and the experienced, as the current was quite strong that day. The reefs were not as spectacular as we had hoped, but we did see some beautiful fish. The staff was very helpful with those who were less experienced.
Read Reddebbil's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image barryalkis
1 review
Aug 2015
Everything was great. The captain and crew were terrific
Read barryalkis's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 08DesertRat
2 reviews
Jul 2015
The absolute best excursion ever! Snorkeling was for all levels. The crew was very attentive and careful. Then, the private beach and the rum punch and a dance party on the way back...with more and more rum punch.
Read 08DesertRat's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Cruiser119
1 review
Jul 2015
fun time,
Read Cruiser119's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Floridalovecruising
1 review
Jun 2015
Great snorkeling, great catamaran, great private beach
Read Floridalovecruising's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Txsinglegal53
1 review
Jun 2015
Very professional
Read Txsinglegal53's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image atlcruizr
5 reviews
May 2015
Very pretty reefs, but the water is very shallow in some places. It was hard with the rough water not to accidentally touch the corals. The equipment was not in great shape either. Lots of people complaining of leaking masks. For the price we paid, I would still go again, perhaps on a day when the water isn't so rough..
Read atlcruizr's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JAG500
5 reviews
May 2015
all okay but spoilt by choppy seas. equipment, staff etc. were spot on. reef nice but not pleasant in the water so people didnt stay in very long. easy access to water
Read JAG500's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pandapatter@gmail.com
1 review
May 2015
Our guides were extremely knowledgeable and the equipment was in great condition. Instructions were very detailed. They knew exactly where to take us for fantastic viewing -- fish, coral reefs, etc. A little expensive for the time spent in the water but well worth the cost.
Read pandapatter@gmail.com's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image struss26
1 review
May 2015
We did the Ultimate Snorkeling Adventure through the cruise line which was through Chukka and it was amazing. They took us to a beautiful area where we were able to see lots of corals and many types of different fish at there 7000 foot drop off. They then took us to another location where we got experience a sand shark up close and personal as our guide wrangled him up for all of us to touch. The crew was a lot of fun!
Read struss26's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dobo62
3 reviews
May 2015
Power snorkeling was very exciting. The guides were very good.
Read dobo62's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MiddleCruiserKatchpot
1 review
Apr 2015
Power Snorkeling Adventure. We saw Dolphins! It seems very intimidating at first, but it's worth it. The guides are very professional and helpful and give great instruction on how to use the power snorkel.
Read MiddleCruiserKatchpot's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image eteno1
1 review
Mar 2015
We had 2 stops. The price was fine and the boat was ok. The crew for the excursion just was not very lively. We have snorkeled many times in the past with better crews. After we we all went to Margaritaville it was fun but very expensive to eat and drink. Oh, well your on vacation.
Read eteno1's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image travelladybug
1 review
Feb 2015

We took the ultimate snorkeling tour (2 hours) for $49/person. This is about the same cost as if I went on shore and did it independently. As it turned out, it was better to book on the ship because where the ship docked looked like a tourist enclosed outpost which a long beach and stores specific to cruise ship tourists. We ended up on a Catamaran which was professionally operated(they include every snorkel equipment of good quality) and we stopped in two areas for a 30-40minute snorkel. One was to the famous wall where I am sure the diving would have been very good, but the snorkeling was just okay. They had to feed the fish to get them to come over. The second place had more coral and we did see a nurse shark. It was not the best snorkeling in terms of coral and fish but still enjoyable and worth doing. Just note that if you are part of the morning snorkel group, it will take a long time to get off the ship due to issues with disembarkation logistics. Everyone seemed to be getting off the ship at the same time.

Read travelladybug's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image vmarin01
3 reviews
Jan 2015
I was too nervous to go in the water but my husband went in. The water was a little choppy that day and in deeper water, which I wasn't expecting-so I chickened out. People snorkled for about 20-30 minutes. Rum Runners were abundant and packed a punch!! Be careful drinking them:) We went out to the sand and lounged for a little while. It was beautiful! The catamaran was lots of fun whether or not you decide to snorkel. Highly recommend!
Read vmarin01's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image thepancakes
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Captain Daniel and JJ were excellent. Our group of 7 had the boat to ourselves to tour Gibbs Cay. The island was so fun to explore with the crab tracks that looked like a highway, beautiful conch shells unlike any we have ever seen, and snorkeling. We noticed the cruise ship trips with 40 people and they all rushed to snorkel to the same spot, completely missing the island shelling and wildlife. The value of this trip was incredible and they even stopped at another spot away from all the cruise folks for a bit more snorkeling.

Read thepancakes's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Crystal Seas Adventures
Member Image Sisu75
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2015

First time ever on a catamaran and snorkelling! So much fun! I was a little nervous to snorkel. Didn't know how I would feel once in the water with all the fish swimming around. However, it turns out that is was an incredible experience! I highly recommend snorkelling if you get the opportunity to do it. Just beautiful and peaceful to see all the colourful fish everywhere.

After snorkelling we sailed to a private beach on the catamaran. The crew was friendly and turned up the tunes so people could dance and have a great time. The beach was gorgeous and they offered refreshments like rum punch or juice and some snacks for no extra charge. It was a great time.

My bathing suit cover-up blew into the water on the ride back to the ship and one of the kind crew members dove in and retrieved it for me. I was so grateful! Very fun excursion, and I can't wait to do it again!

Read Sisu75's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruzeboy48
2 reviews
Jan 2015

While the Bahamian Islands have some excellent snorkeling, the Gran Truk Ultimate snorkeling experience is sad. The boat, crew, and equipment were great, but the reef is heavily silted, and appeared to be dying. The fish species were few in variety and number, though the water was very clear (it had been very calm for days). There wasn’t much activity at the wall site. We’ve snorkeled around the world and this was a sub-par snorkeling experience. Find another dive site.

Read cruzeboy48's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.